關於我們

Kosrae,密克羅尼西亞。 照片©尼克霍爾

珊瑚礁恢復力網絡將海洋資源管理者與信息,專家,資源和技能建設機會聯繫起來,以加速和利用解決方案,改善世界各地珊瑚礁和珊瑚礁漁業的保護和恢復。 該網絡是由領導的伙伴關係大自然保護協會 它由超過1,500成員組成,並由數十個成員支持 夥伴 和跨國公司的工作人員,以及100在珊瑚礁,漁業,氣候變化,溝通等方面的全球專家,他們都是培訓師,顧問和內容審查員。

我們的工作

該網絡加強了成員有效管理受海洋變暖,漂白,沿海開發,污染,過度捕撈和海洋化學變化威脅的珊瑚礁的能力。 為實現這一目標,我們:

  • 綜合併分享最新的科學和管理策略,以使繁忙的管理者受到啟發和了解。 我們的網站由全球專家更新,包含關鍵主題的最新信息,易於搜索的彈性科學期刊文章摘要,以及突出成功管理策略和科學新應用的案例研究。
  • 將經理和專家聯繫起來,分享資源和經驗教訓,從而為管理決策提供信息和改進,並激發更多的合作。 通過網絡託管的學習交流,培訓和海洋資源管理“熱門話題”的互動網絡研討會,親自和在線建立聯繫。 我們還主辦網絡論壇,這是一個在線會員專用討論論壇,經理和從業者可以分享想法和資源,並提出問題。
  • 提供培訓和種子資金,以啟動教育,監測和減少威脅項目。 培訓和支持,幫助管理人員將抵禦能力概念納入其管理戰略和監管政策,並鼓勵在區域內和跨區域增加知識共享。

最新消息

註冊我們的通訊 獲取有關最新科學和戰略,新案例研究和期刊摘要,即將舉行的網絡研討會以及全球珊瑚新聞亮點的信息。 要瀏覽以前推薦的網絡新聞,請訪問我們的 新聞頁面.

我們的影響

在15年,網絡在將珊瑚礁的科學和理論信息轉化為資源管理者的操作知識,工具和指南方面發揮了關鍵作用:政府,非政府組織和負責管理珊瑚礁及其提供的服務的社區領導者。

4,740

在線和/或面對面接受過培訓的經理和從業人員

50

管理人員的項目在資金支持下啟動 文獻

180,000+

人們每年訪問我們的在線工具包 文獻

認識經理

雖然有許多故事需要講述,但網絡的支持是什麼以及它如何轉化為改善珊瑚健康的實際行動。

經理聚焦
經理聚焦
經理聚焦
經理聚焦

認識我們的員工

佩特拉麥高恩

佩特拉麥高恩

全球海洋珊瑚礁夥伴關係主任

佩特拉負責領導該網絡的全球能力建設工作,並管理NOAA-珊瑚礁保護計劃/ TNC夥伴關係的實施,以支持佛羅里達州,美屬維爾京群島,波多黎各,夏威夷的珊瑚礁管理者和保護夥伴的努力。我,美屬薩摩亞,北馬里亞納群島聯邦和關島,以保護和可持續地管理他們的珊瑚礁。 此前,佩特拉曾在夏威夷州水產資源部(DAR)工作,負責管理該州的珊瑚礁保護戰略,包括規劃和實施夏威夷群島主要海洋管理區以及製定以社區為基礎的管理舉措。加強全州的執法力度。 她擁有華盛頓大學海洋事務碩士學位,並在西非幾內亞比紹進行了論文工作。

克里斯汀玉米

克里斯汀玉米

海洋保護戰略牽頭,夏威夷計劃和珊瑚礁恢復力網絡

克里斯汀指導網絡通信,幫助組織和領導培訓,並與經理合作,培養戰略溝通和其他主題的技能。 對於TNC夏威夷項目,她制定並實施了溝通策略,以支持海洋保護實踐和政策。 克里斯汀的跨學科環境背景融合了溝通,政策,管理和研究。 職業亮點包括:支持夏威夷和北馬里亞納群島的珊瑚礁社會營銷活動; 為維爾京群島國家公園之友管理環境方案; 並開展有關珊瑚礁健康,瀕危魚類以及將人類感知納入漁業管理的項目的實地和實驗室研究。 克里斯汀擁有杜克大學的沿海環境管理碩士學位。 她也是一位專業的油畫家。

Elizabeth Shaver博士

Elizabeth Shaver博士

珊瑚礁恢復計劃科學負責人,加勒比計劃

利茲率先為該網絡開發新的珊瑚礁恢復力科學,資源和夥伴關係。 作為前Network員工,Liz協助開發了以前版本的Toolkit,並且是Network的Restoration Module的主要作者。 Liz與跨國公司加勒比計劃,其他跨國公司區域辦事處以及世界各地的外部合作夥伴(如珊瑚恢復聯盟)密切合作,以綜合和分享以科學為基礎的最佳做法,目前她的重點是開發和實施新的珊瑚礁恢復在線課程(即將推出!)。 Liz擁有杜克大學海洋科學與保護博士學位,在那裡她進行了實地試驗,大規模珊瑚礁調查和經理問卷調查,以確定生態相互作用如何影響珊瑚礁管理策略。 她的研究包括珊瑚捕食,氣候變化和漂白,多種壓力因素,物種促進以及珊瑚礁和其他海洋棲息地的恢復。

切麗瓦格納

切麗瓦格納

全球海洋珊瑚礁恢復力計劃協調員

切麗協調網絡 發展 Toolkit,網絡研討會和培訓s到 支持佛羅里達州,美屬維爾京群島,波多黎各,夏威夷,美屬薩摩亞,北馬里亞納群島聯邦和關島的珊瑚礁管理者和保護夥伴的努力。 在加入Global之前 海洋 團隊,她工作 評估該組織小規模水產養殖項目環境可持續性的計劃 世界魚類 馬來西亞中心。 她還致力於評估加拿大溫哥華自然資本項目沿海物種的漁業風險。 她擁有華盛頓大學海洋事務碩士學位,專注於菲律賓的海洋資源利用和基於社區的海洋保護區管理。

About Us

The Reef Resilience Network connects marine resource managers with information, experts, resources, and skill-building opportunities to accelerate and leverage solutions for improved conservation and restoration of coral reefs and reef fisheries around the world. The Network is a partnership led by The Nature Conservancy that is comprised of more than 1,500 members, and supported by dozens of partners and TNC staff, as well as over 100 global experts in coral reefs, fisheries, climate change, communication, and more who serve as trainers, advisors, and content reviewers.

How We Work

The Network strengthens members’ ability to effectively manage coral reefs threatened by warming seas, bleaching, coastal development, pollution, overfishing, and changes in ocean chemistry. To achieve this, we:

  • Synthesize and share the latest science and management strategies to keep busy managers inspired and in-the-know. Our website is updated by global experts and features the latest information on key topics, easily searchable summaries of journal articles featuring resilience science, and case studies highlighting successful management strategies and new application of science.
  • Connect managers and experts to share resources and lessons learned that inform and improve management decisions and inspire greater collaborations. Connections are made both in person and online through Network-hosted learning exchanges, trainings, and interactive webinars on “hot topics” in marine resource management. We also host the Network Forum, an online member-only discussion forum where managers and practitioners can share ideas and resources, and ask questions.
  • Provide training and seed funding to launch education, monitoring, and threat-reduction projects. Training and support to help managers incorporate resilience concepts into their management strategies and regulatory policies, and encourage increased knowledge-sharing within and across regions.

Latest News

Sign up for our newsletter to receive information on the latest science and strategies, new case studies and journal summaries, upcoming webinars, and highlights of coral news around the world. To explore previously featured Network news, visit our News page.

Our Impact

For 15 years, the Network has played a critical role in transforming scientific and theoretical information about reefs into operational knowledge, tools, and guidance for resource managers: the government, NGO, and community leaders tasked with managing reefs and the services they provide.

4,120

Managers and practitioners who have received training online and/or in-person

50

Managers’ projects launched with funding support ref

180,000+

People access our online toolkit annually ref

Meet the Managers

While there are many stories to tell, here is what support from the Network looks like and how it translates into real action for improved coral health.

Manager Spotlight
Manager Spotlight
Manager Spotlight
Manager Spotlight

Meet Our Staff

Petra MacGowan

Petra MacGowan

Reef Resilience Program Manager, Global Oceans

Petra is responsible for leading the global capacity building efforts of the Network and managing implementation of the NOAA-Coral Reef Conservation Program/TNC partnership to support the efforts of coral reef managers and conservation partners in Florida, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, Hawai‘i, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and Guam to protect and sustainably manage their coral reefs. Previously, Petra worked for the State of Hawai‘i Division of Aquatic Resources (DAR) where she managed the State’s coral reef conservation strategies including the planning and implementation of marine managed areas in the Main Hawaiian Islands and the development of community-based management initiatives to enhance enforcement efforts statewide. She holds a Master’s of Marine Affairs from the University of Washington where she conducted her thesis work in Guinea-Bissau, West Africa.

Kristen Maize

Kristen Maize

Strategic Communication Manager, Hawai‘i Program

Kristen guides Network communications, helps organize and lead trainings, and works with managers to build skills in strategic communication and other topics. For TNC Hawai‘i Program, she develops and implements communication strategies to support marine conservation practice and policy. Kristen’s interdisciplinary environmental background is a blend of communication, policy, management, and research. Career highlights include: supporting coral reef social marketing campaigns in Hawai‘i and the Northern Mariana Islands; managing environmental programs for Friends of Virgin Islands National Park; and conducting field and lab research on projects related to coral reef health, endangered species of fish, and incorporating human perception into fisheries management. Kristen has a coastal environmental management master’s degree from Duke University. She is also a professional oil painter.

Dr. Elizabeth Shaver

Dr. Elizabeth Shaver

Reef Resilience Coral Restoration Lead

Liz coordinates the Network’s content and partnerships focused on reef restoration practices. As a former Network employee, Liz assisted in the development of previous versions of the Toolkit and was the lead author on the Network’s Restoration Module. Liz works closely with partners from the Coral Restoration Consortium and Reef Restoration and Adaptation Program to synthesize and share new science and best practices, a webinar series, and the development of a new online course (coming soon!). Liz holds a PhD in Marine Science and Conservation from Duke University, where she conducted field experiments, large-scale reef surveys, and manager questionnaires to identify how ecological interactions affect coral reef management strategies. Her research has included coral predation, climate change and bleaching, multiple stressors, species facilitations, and the restoration of coral reefs and other marine habitats.

Cherie Wagner

Cherie Wagner

Reef Resilience Program Coordinator, Global Oceans

Cherie coordinates the Network developing the Toolkit, webinars, and trainings to support the efforts of coral reef managers and conservation partners in Florida, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, Hawai‘i, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and Guam. Before joining the Global Ocean Team, she worked on a plan for evaluating the environmental sustainability of the organization’s small-scale aquaculture projects at the WorldFish Center in Malaysia. She also worked on assessing the risk of fisheries on coastal species in Vancouver, Canada for the Natural Capital Project. She has a Master’s degree in Marine Affairs from the University of Washington where she focused on marine resource use and community-based marine protected area management in the Philippines. 

Translate »