المُقدّمة

المنظر الهوائي، بسبب، ثنية للشراع، أيضا، شجر المانغروف، إلى داخل، Pohnpei، مايكرونيزيا. الصورة © Jez O'Hare

ما هو الكربون الأزرق؟

يشير الكربون الأزرق إلى الكربون الذي يتم عزله وتخزينه وإطلاقه بواسطة النظم البيئية الساحلية والبحرية. تلعب النظم البيئية الساحلية للكربون الأزرق (مثل أشجار المانغروف والمستنقعات المالحة والأعشاب البحرية) دورًا مهمًا في عزل الكربون وتخزينه على المدى الطويل ، مما يساعد على تقليل آثار تغير المناخ.

النظم الايكولوجية للكربون الأزرق

النظم البيئية للكربون الأزرق (من الأعلى إلى الأسفل): غابات المانغروف ومستنقعات المد والجزر ومروج الأعشاب البحرية. المصدر: Howard et al. 2017. الصور من أعلى إلى أسفل © Rachel Docherty / Flickr Creative Commons، Trond Larsen، Miguel Angel Mateo

تم العثور على النظم البيئية للكربون الأزرق على طول سواحل كل قارة باستثناء القارة القطبية الجنوبية. تنمو أشجار المنغروف في منطقة المد والجزر للشواطئ الاستوائية وشبه الاستوائية ، وتحدث مستنقعات المد والجزر على السواحل المحمية من شبه القطب الشمالي إلى المناطق الاستوائية ، على الرغم من أن معظمها في المناطق المعتدلة ، وتوجد الأعشاب البحرية في المياه الساحلية لجميع القارات باستثناء القارة القطبية الجنوبية.

التوزيع العالمي للنظم الإيكولوجية للكربون الأزرق ؛ المصدر: مبادرة الكربون الأزرق.

التوزيع العالمي للنظم البيئية للكربون الأزرق. المصدر: مبادرة الكربون الأزرق

هذه النظم الإيكولوجية تزيل الكربون من الغلاف الجوي والمحيطات ، وتخزينها في أوراقها والسيقان والفروع والجذور وكذلك الرواسب الكامنة.

يتم الحصول على الكربون من خلال عملية التمثيل الضوئي (السهام الخضراء) في الأراضي الرطبة الساحلية حيث يتم عزلها في الكتلة الحيوية الخشبية والتربة (السهام الحمراء) أو التنفس مرة أخرى في الغلاف الجوي (السهام السوداء). المصدر: تم التعديل من هوارد وآخرون. 2017.

يتم التقاط الكربون عن طريق التمثيل الضوئي (الأسهم الخضراء) في الأراضي الرطبة الساحلية حيث يتم عزله في الكتلة الحيوية الخشبية والتربة (الأسهم الحمراء) أو إعادة التنفس إلى الغلاف الجوي (الأسهم السوداء). المصدر: معدل من Howard et al. 2017

على أساس كل منطقة ، تعد هذه النظم البيئية أحواض الكربون أكثر كفاءة من معظم الغابات الأرضية (Mcleod et al. 2011 ، Pan et al. 2011 ، الأشكال أدناه).

يعني المعدلات طويلة الأجل لعزل C (g C m – 2 yr – 1) في التربة في الغابات الأرضية والرواسب في النظم الايكولوجية النباتية الساحلية. أشرطة الخطأ تشير إلى معدلات التراكم القصوى. لاحظ مقياس لوغاريتمي المحور ص. المصدر: Mcleod et al. 2011

متوسط ​​المعدلات طويلة الأجل لعزل الكربون (g C · m - 2 yr -1) في التربة في الغابات الأرضية والرواسب في النظم الإيكولوجية النباتية الساحلية. تشير أشرطة الخطأ إلى معدلات التراكم القصوى. لاحظ المقياس اللوغاريتمي للمحور y. المصدر: Mcleod et al. 2011

عزل الكربون في غابات المانغروف مقابل الغابات الأرضية. المصدر: الحفظ الدولي

على عكس التربة الأرضية ، فإن الرواسب الكامنة في النظم الإيكولوجية للكربون الأزرق هي عبارة عن لاهوائية إلى حد كبير (بدون أكسجين). لذلك ، يتحلل الكربون الموجود في الرواسب ببطء شديد ويمكن تخزينه لمئات إلى آلاف السنين. المرجع بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن الملوحة العالية في العديد من أنظمة الكربون الأزرق تحد من إنتاج الميثان ، وهو أحد غازات الدفيئة القوية. المرجع أخيرًا ، على عكس أنظمة الأرض والمياه العذبة ، لا تصبح أنظمة الكربون الأزرق مشبعة بالكربون لأن الرواسب تتراكم رأسياً استجابة لارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر ، عندما يتم الحفاظ على صحة النظام الإيكولوجي. المرجع لذلك ، فإن معدل عزل الكربون في الرواسب وحجم حوض الكربون الرواسب قد يستمر في الزيادة بمرور الوقت. المرجع  توضح هذه العمليات الدور المهم الذي تلعبه النظم البيئية للكربون الأزرق في كل من التخفيف (عزل الكربون) والتكيف (التراكم الرأسي استجابة لارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر ؛ كما تقلل الأراضي الرطبة طاقة الأمواج وتأثيرات ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر وعرام العواصف).

على الرغم من أن النظم الإيكولوجية للكربون الأزرق تمثل مساحة أقل بكثير من غابات الأرض ، فإن مساهمتها الإجمالية في عزل الكربون على المدى الطويل يمكن مقارنتها بالوعات الكربون في أنواع النظم الإيكولوجية الأرضية. على الرغم من التغطية الأحيائية الأصغر حجماً وتغطية المساحات للنظم الإيكولوجية للكربون الأزرق ، فإن لديها القدرة على المساهمة بشكل كبير في عزل الكربون على المدى الطويل الناتج عن ارتفاع معدل تنحية الكربون العضوي في الرواسب.

في حين أنها من أكثر النظم البيئية الغنية بالكربون على وجه الأرض ، إلا أنها مهددة بشدة. بمجرد تدهورها أو تدميرها ، يمكن إطلاق الكربون المخزن في الجو والمحيط ويمكن أن يكون محركًا رئيسيًا لتغير المناخ. المرجع على سبيل المثال ، عندما يتم تجفيف الأراضي الرطبة من أجل التنمية ، تعمل الحركة الميكروبية في التربة ، والتي كانت تمنع سابقًا بسبب غمر المد والجزر ، على أكسدة الكربون وتنبعث منه في الغلاف الجوي باعتباره ثاني أكسيد الكربون2. تتراوح معدلات فقدان الكربون الأزرق من 0.7 إلى 7٪ سنويًا (اعتمادًا على نوع الغطاء النباتي والموقع) ، مما ينتج عنه 0.23-2.25 مليار ميغاغرام من ثاني أكسيد الكربون2 صدر. المرجع لذلك ، يعد الحفاظ على النظم الإيكولوجية للكربون الأزرق واستعادتها واستخدامها المستدام أمرًا ضروريًا لضمان الحفاظ على فوائد عزل الكربون ، بالإضافة إلى العديد من الفوائد الإضافية التي توفرها.

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس

Introduction

MENUMENU

What is blue carbon?

Blue carbon refers to the carbon sequestered, stored, and released by coastal and marine ecosystems. Coastal blue carbon ecosystems (e.g., mangroves, salt marshes, and seagrasses) play a critical role in the sequestration and long-term storage of carbon, thus helping to reduce the impacts of climate change.

Blue carbon ecosystems

Blue carbon ecosystems (left to right) mangroves, tidal marshes, and seagrass meadows; Source: Howard et al. 2017; Photos left to right © Rachel Docherty/Flickr Creative Commons, Trond Larsen, Miguel Angel Mateo

Blue carbon ecosystems are found along the coasts of every continent except Antarctica.  Mangroves grow in the intertidal zone of tropical and subtropical shores, tidal marshes occur on sheltered coastlines from the sub-arctic to the tropics, though mostly in temperate zones, and seagrasses are found in coastal waters of all continents except Antarctica.

Global Distribution of Blue Carbon Ecosystems; Source: The Blue Carbon Initiative.

Global Distribution of Blue Carbon Ecosystems; Source: The Blue Carbon Initiative.

These ecosystems remove carbon from the atmosphere and oceans, and store it in their leaves, stems, branches, roots as well as the underlying sediments.

Carbon gets captured via photosynthesis (green arrows) in coastal wetlands where it gets sequestered into woody biomass and soil (red arrows) or respired back into the atmosphere (black arrows). Source: Modified from Howard et al. 2017.

Carbon gets captured via photosynthesis (green arrows) in coastal wetlands where it gets sequestered into woody biomass and soil (red arrows) or respired back into the atmosphere (black arrows). Source: Modified from Howard et al. 2017.

On a per area basis, these ecosystems are more efficient carbon sinks than most terrestrial forests (Mcleod et al. 2011; Pan et al. 2011; Figures below).

Mean long-term rates of C sequestration (g C m–2 yr–1) in soils in terrestrial forests and sediments in coastal vegetated ecosystems. Error bars indicate maximum rates of accumulation. Note the logarithmic scale of the y axis. Source: Mcleod et al. 2011

Mean long-term rates of C sequestration (g C m–2 yr–1) in soils in terrestrial forests and sediments in coastal vegetated ecosystems. Error bars indicate maximum rates of accumulation. Note the logarithmic scale of the y axis. Source: Mcleod et al. 2011

Carbon sequestration in mangroves vs. terrestrial forests. Source: Conservation International

Carbon sequestration in mangroves vs. terrestrial forests. Source: Conservation International

Unlike terrestrial soils, the sediments underlying blue carbon ecosystems are largely anaerobic (without oxygen). Therefore, the carbon in the sediments decomposes very slowly and can be stored for hundreds to thousands of years. ref Additionally, the high salinity in many blue carbon systems limits methane production, a potent GHG. ref Finally, unlike terrestrial and freshwater systems, blue carbon systems do not become saturated with carbon because sediments accrete vertically in response to rising sea level, when ecosystem health is maintained. ref  Therefore, the rate of carbon sequestration in sediments and the size of the sediment carbon sink may continue to increase over time. ref  Such processes demonstrate the important role that blue carbon ecosystems play in both mitigation (carbon sequestration) and adaptation (vertical accretion in response to sea-level rise; wetlands also reduce wave energy and impacts of sea-level rise and storm surge). Such processes demonstrate the important role that blue carbon ecosystems play in both mitigation (carbon sequestration) and adaptation (vertical accretion in response to sea-level rise; wetlands also reduce wave energy and impacts of sea-level rise and storm surge).

Although blue carbon ecosystems represent a much smaller area than terrestrial forests, their total contribution to long-term carbon sequestration is comparable to carbon sinks in terrestrial ecosystem types. Despite the smaller aboveground biomass and areal coverage of blue carbon ecosystems, they have the potential to contribute substantially to long-term carbon sequestration resulting from the higher rate of organic carbon sequestration in sediments.

While they are some of the most carbon-rich ecosystems on Earth, they also are highly threatened. Once they are degraded or destroyed, their stored carbon can be released into the atmosphere and ocean and can be a major driver of climate change. ref For example, when wetlands are drained for development, microbial action in the soil, previously inhibited by tidal inundation, oxidizes the carbon and emits it to the atmosphere as CO2. Rates of blue carbon loss range from 0.7 – 7% annually (depending on vegetation type and location), resulting in 0.23-2.25 billion Mg of CO2 released. ref Therefore, the conservation, restoration, and sustainable use of blue carbon ecosystems is essential to ensure that their carbon sequestration benefits are maintained, in addition to the many additional benefits that they provide.

Translate »