簡介

礁石和美洲紅樹鳥瞰圖在波納佩,密克羅尼西亞。 照片©Jez O'Hare

什麼是藍碳?

藍碳是指沿海和海洋生態系統螯合,儲存和釋放的碳。 沿海藍碳生態系統(如紅樹林,鹽沼和海草)在碳的封存和長期儲存中發揮著關鍵作用,從而有助於減少氣候變化的影響。

藍碳生態系統

藍色碳生態系統(從左到右)紅樹林,潮汐沼澤和海草草甸; 資料來源:Howard等。 2017; 照片從左到右©Rachel Docherty / Flickr Creative Commons,Trond Larsen,Miguel Angel Mateo

除南極洲外,每個大陸沿岸都有藍色碳生態系統。 紅樹林生長在熱帶和亞熱帶海岸的潮間帶,潮汐沼澤發生在從亞北極到熱帶的避風海岸線上,雖然大部分位於溫帶地區,並且在除南極洲以外的所有大陸的沿海水域都有海草。

藍色碳生態系統的全球分佈; 資料來源:藍碳倡議。

藍色碳生態系統的全球分佈; 資料來源:藍碳倡議。

這些生態系統從大氣和海洋中去除碳,並將其儲存在葉子,莖,枝,根以及下面的沉積物中。

碳通過沿海濕地的光合作用(綠色箭頭)捕獲,在那裡它被隔離成木質生物質和土壤(紅色箭頭)或呼吸回到大氣中(黑色箭頭)。 資料來源:Howard等人修改。 2017。

碳通過沿海濕地的光合作用(綠色箭頭)捕獲,在那裡它被隔離成木質生物質和土壤(紅色箭頭)或呼吸回到大氣中(黑色箭頭)。 資料來源:Howard等人修改。 2017。

在每個區域的基礎上,這些生態系統比大多數陸地森林更有效的碳匯(Mcleod等人,2011; Pan等人,2011;下圖)。

陸地森林土壤和沿海植被生態系統沉積物中C螯合的平均長期速率(g C m-2 yr-1)。 誤差棒表示最大累積率。 注意y軸的對數標度。 資料來源:Mcleod等。 2011

陸地森林土壤和沿海植被生態系統沉積物中C螯合的平均長期速率(g C m-2 yr-1)。 誤差棒表示最大累積率。 注意y軸的對數標度。 資料來源:Mcleod等。 2011

紅樹林與陸地森林的碳封存。 資料來源:保護國際

紅樹林與陸地森林的碳封存。 資料來源:保護國際

與陸地土壤不同,藍色碳生態系統下面的沉積物主要是厭氧(沒有氧氣)。 因此,沉積物中的碳分解非常緩慢,可以儲存數百至數千年。 文獻 此外,許多藍碳系統中的高鹽度限制了甲烷的產生,這是一種有效的溫室氣體。 文獻 最後,與陸地和淡水系統不同,藍碳系統不會被碳飽和,因為當維持生態系統健康時,沉積物會隨著海平面上升而垂直增加。 文獻 因此,沉積物中的碳固存速率和沈積物碳彙的大小可能會隨著時間的推移而持續增加。 文獻 這些過程表明藍色碳生態系統在減緩(碳封存)和適應(響應海平面上升的垂直增長;濕地還減少波浪能量和海平面上升和風暴潮的影響)中發揮重要作用。 這些過程表明藍色碳生態系統在減緩(碳封存)和適應(響應海平面上升的垂直增長;濕地還減少波浪能量和海平面上升和風暴潮的影響)中發揮重要作用。

儘管藍色碳生態系統的面積比陸地森林小得多,但它們對長期碳固存的總貢獻與陸地生態系統類型的碳匯相當。 儘管地上生物量較小且藍色碳生態系統的面積覆蓋較小,但由於沉積物中有機碳固存率較高,它們有可能對長期碳固存作出重大貢獻。

雖然它們是地球上碳含量最高的生態系統,但它們也受到高度威脅。 一旦它們被降解或破壞,它們儲存的碳就可以釋放到大氣和海洋中,並可能成為氣候變化的主要驅動因素。 文獻 例如,當濕地被排幹用於開發時,土壤中的微生物作用(之前被潮汐淹沒所抑制)會氧化碳並將其作為CO排放到大氣中。2。 藍碳損失率每年從0.7 - 7%(取決於植被類型和位置),得到0.23-2.25億Mg的CO2 釋放。 文獻 因此,藍碳生態系統的保護,恢復和可持續利用對於確保其碳固存效益得以保持至關重要,此外還有許多額外的好處。

Introduction

MENUMENU

What is blue carbon?

Blue carbon refers to the carbon sequestered, stored, and released by coastal and marine ecosystems. Coastal blue carbon ecosystems (e.g., mangroves, salt marshes, and seagrasses) play a critical role in the sequestration and long-term storage of carbon, thus helping to reduce the impacts of climate change.

Blue carbon ecosystems

Blue carbon ecosystems (left to right) mangroves, tidal marshes, and seagrass meadows; Source: Howard et al. 2017; Photos left to right © Rachel Docherty/Flickr Creative Commons, Trond Larsen, Miguel Angel Mateo

Blue carbon ecosystems are found along the coasts of every continent except Antarctica.  Mangroves grow in the intertidal zone of tropical and subtropical shores, tidal marshes occur on sheltered coastlines from the sub-arctic to the tropics, though mostly in temperate zones, and seagrasses are found in coastal waters of all continents except Antarctica.

Global Distribution of Blue Carbon Ecosystems; Source: The Blue Carbon Initiative.

Global Distribution of Blue Carbon Ecosystems; Source: The Blue Carbon Initiative.

These ecosystems remove carbon from the atmosphere and oceans, and store it in their leaves, stems, branches, roots as well as the underlying sediments.

Carbon gets captured via photosynthesis (green arrows) in coastal wetlands where it gets sequestered into woody biomass and soil (red arrows) or respired back into the atmosphere (black arrows). Source: Modified from Howard et al. 2017.

Carbon gets captured via photosynthesis (green arrows) in coastal wetlands where it gets sequestered into woody biomass and soil (red arrows) or respired back into the atmosphere (black arrows). Source: Modified from Howard et al. 2017.

On a per area basis, these ecosystems are more efficient carbon sinks than most terrestrial forests (Mcleod et al. 2011; Pan et al. 2011; Figures below).

Mean long-term rates of C sequestration (g C m–2 yr–1) in soils in terrestrial forests and sediments in coastal vegetated ecosystems. Error bars indicate maximum rates of accumulation. Note the logarithmic scale of the y axis. Source: Mcleod et al. 2011

Mean long-term rates of C sequestration (g C m–2 yr–1) in soils in terrestrial forests and sediments in coastal vegetated ecosystems. Error bars indicate maximum rates of accumulation. Note the logarithmic scale of the y axis. Source: Mcleod et al. 2011

Carbon sequestration in mangroves vs. terrestrial forests. Source: Conservation International

Carbon sequestration in mangroves vs. terrestrial forests. Source: Conservation International

Unlike terrestrial soils, the sediments underlying blue carbon ecosystems are largely anaerobic (without oxygen). Therefore, the carbon in the sediments decomposes very slowly and can be stored for hundreds to thousands of years. ref Additionally, the high salinity in many blue carbon systems limits methane production, a potent GHG. ref Finally, unlike terrestrial and freshwater systems, blue carbon systems do not become saturated with carbon because sediments accrete vertically in response to rising sea level, when ecosystem health is maintained. ref  Therefore, the rate of carbon sequestration in sediments and the size of the sediment carbon sink may continue to increase over time. ref  Such processes demonstrate the important role that blue carbon ecosystems play in both mitigation (carbon sequestration) and adaptation (vertical accretion in response to sea-level rise; wetlands also reduce wave energy and impacts of sea-level rise and storm surge). Such processes demonstrate the important role that blue carbon ecosystems play in both mitigation (carbon sequestration) and adaptation (vertical accretion in response to sea-level rise; wetlands also reduce wave energy and impacts of sea-level rise and storm surge).

Although blue carbon ecosystems represent a much smaller area than terrestrial forests, their total contribution to long-term carbon sequestration is comparable to carbon sinks in terrestrial ecosystem types. Despite the smaller aboveground biomass and areal coverage of blue carbon ecosystems, they have the potential to contribute substantially to long-term carbon sequestration resulting from the higher rate of organic carbon sequestration in sediments.

While they are some of the most carbon-rich ecosystems on Earth, they also are highly threatened. Once they are degraded or destroyed, their stored carbon can be released into the atmosphere and ocean and can be a major driver of climate change. ref For example, when wetlands are drained for development, microbial action in the soil, previously inhibited by tidal inundation, oxidizes the carbon and emits it to the atmosphere as CO2. Rates of blue carbon loss range from 0.7 – 7% annually (depending on vegetation type and location), resulting in 0.23-2.25 billion Mg of CO2 released. ref Therefore, the conservation, restoration, and sustainable use of blue carbon ecosystems is essential to ensure that their carbon sequestration benefits are maintained, in addition to the many additional benefits that they provide.

Translate »