藍碳的好處

礁石和美洲紅樹鳥瞰圖在波納佩,密克羅尼西亞。 照片©Jez O'Hare

藍色碳生態系統對許多沿海社區非常重要,因為它們提供了寶貴的利益。

除了碳儲存效益外,藍碳生態系統還為當地經濟提供就業和收入,改善水質,支持健康漁業,並提供沿海保護。 紅樹林充當天然屏障 - 它們穩定海岸線並減少波浪能量,以減少風暴潮和海平面上升對沿海社區的洪水風險(圖1)。 海草草甸在其根部捕獲懸浮的沉積物,這增加了光衰減,改善了水質並減少了侵蝕。 沿海濕地吸收污染物(如重金屬,養分,懸浮物),從而有助於保持水質並防止富營養化。 這些生態系統提供重要的苗圃棲息地和繁殖場,以支持漁業和各種娛樂機會(如浮潛,休閒釣魚和划船,以及生態旅遊)。

以下圖片突出了紅樹林的好處:

紅樹林提供的生態系統服務

紅樹林提供的生態系統服務。 資料來源:濕地國際2016

保護一公頃紅樹林的好處

保護一公頃紅樹林的好處。 資料來源:保護國際

研究表明,對於擁有紅樹林的發展中國家的國民經濟而言,紅樹林提供的生態系統服務每年每公頃估計價值為33,000-57,000。 文獻

  • Siikamäki等。 (2012)對紅樹林損失的預計碳排放量和避免排放的成本進行了全球估算; 他們發現,考慮到近期碳補償的市場價格和減少其他來源排放的成本,保護紅樹林的碳是一個經濟上可行的主張。 文獻
  • 印度尼西亞的一項研究發現,印度尼西亞紅樹林含有14十億公噸碳(PgC),佔全球沿海碳儲量的三分之一。 文獻 印度尼西亞的紅樹林砍伐造成了100萬公噸CO的損失2每年。 通過避免紅樹林砍伐,印度尼西亞可以通過26將其減排目標的四分之一達到2020%。 文獻
  • 埃斯特拉達等人。 (2015)評估了巴西東南部紅樹林碳儲存和封存的經濟價值,發現平均值因紅樹林類型而異(例如,19.00±10.00 US $ ha - 1 yr - 1 對於盆地森林和高潮間帶至82.28±32.10 US $ ha - 1 yr - 1 適用於邊緣森林和低潮間帶。 作者估計這些紅樹林的碳固存總值每年為455,827美元。 文獻 有關藍碳生態系統生態系統服務的其他信息,請參閱下面的參考資料部分。

Blue Carbon Benefits

MENUMENU

Blue carbon ecosystems are very important to many coastal communities because of the valuable benefits that they provide.

In addition to their carbon storage benefits, blue carbon ecosystems also provide jobs and income to local economies, improve water quality, support healthy fisheries, and provide coastal protection. Mangroves act as natural barriers – they stabilize shorelines and reduce wave energy to reduce flood risk to coastal communities from storm surge and sea-level rise (Figure 1). Seagrass meadows trap suspended sediments in their roots which increases light attenuation, improves water quality, and reduces erosion. Coastal wetlands absorb pollutants (e.g., heavy metals, nutrients, suspended matter) thus helping to maintain water quality and prevent eutrophication. These ecosystems provide important nursery habitat and breeding grounds to support fisheries and a variety of recreational opportunities (e.g., snorkeling, recreational fishing and boating, and ecotourism).

The following graphics highlight the benefits of mangroves:

Ecosystem services provided by Mangroves

Ecosystem services provided by Mangroves. Source: Wetlands International 2016

Benefits of protecting one hectare of mangrove forest

Benefits of protecting one hectare of mangrove forest. Source: Conservation International

Research suggests that the ecosystem services that mangroves provide are worth an estimated US$33,000-57,000 per hectare per year to the national economies of developing countries with mangroves. ref

  • Siikamäki et al. (2012) developed global estimates of the projected carbon emissions from mangrove loss and the cost of avoiding the emissions; they found that given the recent range of market prices for carbon offsets and the cost of reducing emissions from other sources, protecting mangroves for their carbon is an economically viable proposition. ref
  • A study in Indonesia found that Indonesian mangroves contain 14 billion metric tonnes of carbon (PgC) representing one third of global coastal carbon stocks. ref Mangrove deforestation in Indonesia results in a loss of 190 million metric tonnes of CO2annually. By avoiding mangrove deforestation, Indonesia could reach a quarter of its emissions reduction target of 26% by 2020. ref
  • Estrada et al. (2015) assessed the economic value of carbon storage and sequestration in mangroves in southeastern Brazil and found that mean values varied based on mangrove type (e.g., 19.00 ± 10.00 US$ ha−1 yr−1 for basin forests and high intertidal to 82.28 ± 32.10 US$ ha−1 yr−1 for fringe forests and low intertidal). The authors estimated the total carbon sequestration value of these mangroves to be US$455,827 annually. ref See the Resources section below for additional information on the ecosystem services of blue carbon ecosystems.
Translate »