فوائد الكربون الأزرق

المنظر الهوائي، بسبب، ثنية للشراع، أيضا، شجر المانغروف، إلى داخل، Pohnpei، مايكرونيزيا. الصورة © Jez O'Hare

تعتبر النظم الإيكولوجية للكربون الأزرق مهمة للغاية للعديد من المجتمعات الساحلية بسبب الفوائد القيمة التي توفرها.

بالإضافة إلى فوائد تخزين الكربون الخاصة بها ، توفر النظم الإيكولوجية للكربون الأزرق الوظائف والدخل أيضًا للاقتصاديات المحلية ، وتعمل على تحسين جودة المياه ودعم المصايد الصحية وتوفير الحماية الساحلية. تعمل أشجار المانغروف كحواجز طبيعية - فهي تعمل على استقرار السواحل وتحد من طاقة الأمواج لتقليل مخاطر الفيضان على المجتمعات الساحلية من ارتفاع العواصف وارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر (الشكل 1). تحبس مروج الأعشاب البحرية رواسب معلقة في جذورها مما يزيد من توهين الضوء ويحسن نوعية المياه ويقلل من التآكل. تمتص الأراضي الرطبة الساحلية الملوثات (مثل المعادن الثقيلة والمواد المغذية والمواد المعلقة) مما يساعد على الحفاظ على جودة المياه ومنع التخثث. توفر هذه النظم الإيكولوجية موائل حضانة هامة ومناطق تكاثر لدعم مصايد الأسماك ومجموعة متنوعة من الفرص الترفيهية (مثل الغطس والصيد الترفيهي وركوب القوارب والسياحة البيئية).

توضح الرسومات التالية فوائد أشجار المانغروف:

خدمات النظام البيئي التي تقدمها المانغروف

خدمات النظام البيئي التي تقدمها المانغروف. المصدر: الأراضي الرطبة الدولية 2016

فوائد حماية هكتار واحد من غابات المنغروف

فوائد حماية هكتار واحد من غابات المنغروف. المصدر: الحفظ الدولي

تشير البحوث إلى أن خدمات النظام الإيكولوجي التي توفرها أشجار المانغروف تساوي 33,000-57,000 من دولارات الولايات المتحدة لكل هكتار في السنة للاقتصادات الوطنية للبلدان النامية التي توجد بها أشجار المانغروف. المرجع

  • Siikamäki et al. (2012) وضعت تقديرات عالمية لانبعاثات الكربون المتوقعة من فقدان غابات المانغروف وتكلفة تجنب الانبعاثات ؛ ووجدوا أنه بالنظر إلى النطاق الأخير لأسعار السوق لتعويضات الكربون وتكلفة تخفيض الانبعاثات من المصادر الأخرى ، فإن حماية أشجار المانغروف من الكربون هو اقتراح ناجح اقتصاديًا. المرجع
  • وجدت دراسة في إندونيسيا أن أشجار المانغروف الإندونيسية تحتوي على 14 مليار طن متري من الكربون (PgC) تمثل ثلث مخزون الكربون الساحلي العالمي. المرجع إزالة غابات المانغروف في إندونيسيا تؤدي إلى خسارة 190 مليون طن متري من ثاني أكسيد الكربون2سنويا. من خلال تجنب إزالة غابات المانغروف ، يمكن أن تصل إندونيسيا إلى ربع هدفها لخفض الانبعاثات بنسبة 26٪ بواسطة 2020. المرجع
  • استرادا وآخرون. (2015) قام بتقييم القيمة الاقتصادية لتخزين الكربون وعزله في أشجار المانغروف في جنوب شرق البرازيل ووجد أن متوسط ​​القيم يتغير وفقًا لنوع المانغروف (على سبيل المثال ، 19.00 ± 10.00 US $ ha-1 yr-1 للغابات الحوض والمد والجزر عالية إلى 82.28 ± 32.10 دولار أمريكي هكتار-1 yr-1 للغابات الهامشية والمد والجزر المنخفضة). قدّر المؤلفون إجمالي قيمة عزل الكربون لهذه المنغروف بمبلغ 455,827 دولار أمريكي سنويًا. المرجع راجع قسم الموارد أدناه للحصول على معلومات إضافية حول خدمات النظام البيئي للنظم الإيكولوجية للكربون الأزرق.

Blue Carbon Benefits

MENUMENU

Blue carbon ecosystems are very important to many coastal communities because of the valuable benefits that they provide.

In addition to their carbon storage benefits, blue carbon ecosystems also provide jobs and income to local economies, improve water quality, support healthy fisheries, and provide coastal protection. Mangroves act as natural barriers – they stabilize shorelines and reduce wave energy to reduce flood risk to coastal communities from storm surge and sea-level rise (Figure 1). Seagrass meadows trap suspended sediments in their roots which increases light attenuation, improves water quality, and reduces erosion. Coastal wetlands absorb pollutants (e.g., heavy metals, nutrients, suspended matter) thus helping to maintain water quality and prevent eutrophication. These ecosystems provide important nursery habitat and breeding grounds to support fisheries and a variety of recreational opportunities (e.g., snorkeling, recreational fishing and boating, and ecotourism).

The following graphics highlight the benefits of mangroves:

Ecosystem services provided by Mangroves

Ecosystem services provided by Mangroves. Source: Wetlands International 2016

Benefits of protecting one hectare of mangrove forest

Benefits of protecting one hectare of mangrove forest. Source: Conservation International

Research suggests that the ecosystem services that mangroves provide are worth an estimated US$33,000-57,000 per hectare per year to the national economies of developing countries with mangroves. ref

  • Siikamäki et al. (2012) developed global estimates of the projected carbon emissions from mangrove loss and the cost of avoiding the emissions; they found that given the recent range of market prices for carbon offsets and the cost of reducing emissions from other sources, protecting mangroves for their carbon is an economically viable proposition. ref
  • A study in Indonesia found that Indonesian mangroves contain 14 billion metric tonnes of carbon (PgC) representing one third of global coastal carbon stocks. ref Mangrove deforestation in Indonesia results in a loss of 190 million metric tonnes of CO2annually. By avoiding mangrove deforestation, Indonesia could reach a quarter of its emissions reduction target of 26% by 2020. ref
  • Estrada et al. (2015) assessed the economic value of carbon storage and sequestration in mangroves in southeastern Brazil and found that mean values varied based on mangrove type (e.g., 19.00 ± 10.00 US$ ha−1 yr−1 for basin forests and high intertidal to 82.28 ± 32.10 US$ ha−1 yr−1 for fringe forests and low intertidal). The authors estimated the total carbon sequestration value of these mangroves to be US$455,827 annually. ref See the Resources section below for additional information on the ecosystem services of blue carbon ecosystems.
Translate »