生態系統損失

礁石和美洲紅樹鳥瞰圖在波納佩,密克羅尼西亞。 照片©Jez O'Hare

由於人類活動,藍色碳生態系統(紅樹林,鹽沼和海草)在全球範圍內退化和破壞。 常見原因包括:用於建築的土地複墾,木材和開發的砍伐,轉換為水產養殖池塘,陸地和海洋污染以及沿海開發。 來自農業,淤積和開發的養分徑流導致海草減少,並且疏浚,填充,堤防,排水和入侵物種破壞了紅樹林和鹽沼。 預計這些影響將持續下去,並可能因氣候變化和人口增長而加劇。

氣候變化可通過改變其總面積,組成,生長和生產力以及地上和地下生物量的分配來影響藍碳匯及其固碳潛力。 文獻 例如,海平面上升會侵蝕和淹沒紅樹林和鹽沼,並增加海草草甸上方的水深,從而減少光照以支持植物生長。 海水溫度升高也可能導致海草草甸的直接損失。

一個古老的碼頭和紅樹林的遺跡被海平面上升所淹沒

格林納達格倫維爾灣海平面上升淹沒了舊碼頭和紅樹林的遺跡。 照片©Marjo Aho

藍碳生態系統是地球上受威脅最嚴重的生態系統。 在340,000-980,000之間每年都會被銷毀。 文獻

藍碳生態系統的損失百分比:

  • 20% 紅樹林 (自1980以來); 30-50%(自1940以來) 文獻
  • 25% 沼澤 自1880以來 文獻
  • 29% 海草 草地已經丟失(自1879以來) 文獻


藍碳生態系統的損失率為每年0.7 - 7%。 文獻 當它們被降解或丟失時,沉積物中被隔離的碳可以作為二氧化碳釋放到沿海水域和大氣中。 例如,每年從退化的沿海生態系統中釋放1.02億噸二氧化碳,相當於全球熱帶森林砍伐的19%排放量。 文獻

Ecosystem Loss

MENUMENU

Blue carbon ecosystems (mangroves, saltmarshes, and seagrass) are degraded and destroyed globally due to human activities. Common causes include: reclamation of land for construction, deforestation for timber and development, conversion to aquaculture ponds, terrestrial and marine pollution, and coastal development. Nutrient runoff from agriculture, siltation, and development have led to seagrass decline, and mangroves and salt marshes have been damaged by dredging, filling, diking, drainage and invasive species. These impacts are expected to continue and will likely be exacerbated by climate change and population growth.

Climate change can affect blue carbon sinks and their sequestration potential through alterations in their total area, composition, growth and productivity, and allocation of above- and below ground biomass. ref For example, sea-level rise can erode and flood mangroves and salt marshes, and increase water depths above seagrass meadows, thus reducing light to support plant growth. Increased seawater temperatures may also lead to direct losses of seagrass meadows.

Remnants of an old pier and mangrove being inundated by rising sea level

Remnants of an old pier and mangrove being inundated by rising sea level at Grenville Bay, Grenada. Photo © Marjo Aho

Blue carbon ecosystems are some of the most threatened ecosystems on Earth. Between 340,000-980,000 ha are destroyed annually. ref

Percent loss for blue carbon ecosystems:

  • 20% of mangroves (since 1980’s); 30-50% (since 1940’s) ref
  • 25% of marshes since 1880’s ref
  • 29% of seagrass meadows have been lost (since 1879) ref

 
Blue carbon ecosystem loss rates range from 0.7 – 7% annually. ref When they are degraded or lost, the carbon that had been sequestered in sediments can be released as carbon dioxide into coastal waters and the atmosphere. For example, 1.02 billion tons of carbon dioxide are being released annually from degraded coastal ecosystems, equivalent to 19% of emissions from tropical deforestation globally. ref

Translate »