評估碳儲量

礁石和美洲紅樹鳥瞰圖在波納佩,密克羅尼西亞。 照片©Jez O'Hare

已經制定了評估碳儲存,封存率以及退化的濕地和海草床潛在排放的指南。 文獻 有關更多信息,請參閱下面的參考資

評估碳儲量和排放所需的數據可能包括:

  • 現有沿海碳庫存
  • 轉換生態系統的排放估算
  • 藍色碳生態系統的國家清單
  • 藍碳生態系統喪失的類型和速度
  • 砍伐森林,退化和藍色碳生態系統喪失的威脅和驅動因素,包括氣候變化的影響,特別是海平面上升

評估碳儲量需要繪圖,土壤/生物質樣品採集和分析,監測碳流入和流出系統,以及確定管理活動中避免的排放。 文獻 值得注意的是,藍碳生態系統包含一個以上的碳庫,當它們加在一起時,就等於總碳庫。

例如,紅樹林通常分為5碳庫:

  • 地上生物量
  • 地下生物量
  • 朽木
  • 土壤碳(通常是最大的碳庫)
許多工具可用於量化藍碳。 照片©Tim Calver

許多工具可用於量化藍碳。 請參閱下面的資源部分。 照片©Tim Calver

確定要測量的池取決於系統,可用資源和項目目標。 例如,測量紅樹林中的碳儲量以產生碳信用額將需要不同的協議來測量溫帶海草草甸的碳儲量,以通知海洋保護區設計。 文獻 有關如何評估碳庫的指導,請參閱 沿海藍碳測量,評估和分析新手冊 和頁面35 沿海濕地碳項目交付的指導原則.

區分本地碳源(CO2 直接與大氣或水柱隔離)和其他區域的碳(CO2 固定在現場運輸和存放的景觀的其他地方)。 此外,項目應考慮到CO的重要來源和匯2 (二氧化碳),CH4 (甲烷)和N.2O(一氧化二氮)由於項目活動和行動導致沉積物供應中斷或改變水文導致附近的溫室氣體排放(生態洩漏)。 區分和核算本土和異地碳的程序在 潮汐濕地和海草恢復的VCS方法。

要收集用於估算碳含量的現場樣本,需要一系列技術專業知識和工具。 例如,可以使用低技術方法(例如,將PVC管道驅動到軟泥中)或高科技方法(例如,在潛水時將氣動取芯裝置鑽入海草床沉積物中)來收集土壤樣本。

某些站點可能僅在特定時間(例如,在高潮或低潮時)可用,因此數據收集的時間是重要的考慮因素。 收集樣品後,必須使用實驗室分析量化生物物理參數,以估算總碳庫。 實驗室分析可能需要與研究機構合作。

在一個時間點收集和分析碳樣本提供了一個參考點,海洋管理者可以隨後測量後續的庫存評估(每年一次,每五到十年一次,視情況而定),或與威脅分析結合使用確定碳信用額的潛力。 文獻 這使管理人員可以計算在該時間範圍內進入或離開系統的碳量,並可能將碳儲量的波動與土地利用的變化聯繫起來(即森林砍伐或築壩影響沉積物流向海岸)。 有關詳細方法,請參閱Howard等人。 (2014)。 文獻

Assessing Carbon Stocks

MENUMENU

Guidance for assessing carbon stocks, sequestration rates, and potential emissions from degraded wetlands and seagrass beds has been developed. ref See the Resources section below for more information.

Data needed for assessing carbon stocks and emissions may include:

  • Existing coastal carbon stocks
  • Estimates of emissions from converted ecosystems
  • National inventories for blue carbon ecosystems
  • Types and rates of loss of blue carbon ecosystems
  • Threats and drivers of deforestation, degradation and loss of blue carbon ecosystems including the impacts of climate change, particularly sea-level rise

Assessing carbon stocks requires mapping, soil/biomass sample collection and analysis, monitoring carbon movement into and out of the system, and determining emissions avoided from management activities. ref It is important to note that blue carbon ecosystems contain more than one carbon pool, which when added together, equals the total carbon stock.

For example, a mangrove forest is typically divided into 5 carbon pools:

  • aboveground biomass
  • belowground biomass
  • deadwood
  • litter
  • soil carbon (usually the largest carbon pool)
Many tools are available for quantifying blue carbon. Photo © Tim Calver

Many tools are available for quantifying blue carbon. See the resources section below. Photo © Tim Calver

Determining which pools to measure depends on the system, the resources available, and the goal of the project. For example, measuring carbon stocks in a mangrove forest with the goal of generating carbon credits will require different protocols from measuring carbon stocks in a temperate seagrass meadow to inform marine protected area design. ref For guidance on how to assess carbon pools, see the New Manual for Measuring, Assessing, and Analyzing Coastal Blue Carbon and page 35 of Guiding Principles for Delivering Coastal Wetland Carbon Projects.

It is important to differentiate between local sources of carbon (CO2 sequestered directly from the atmosphere or water column) and carbon from other areas (CO2 fixed elsewhere in the landscape that is transported and deposited on site). Further, projects should account for significant sources and sinks of CO2 (carbon dioxide), CH4 (methane), and N2O (nitrous oxide) due to project activities and actions that result in disruption of sediment supply or modified hydrology that result in nearby greenhouse gas emissions (ecological leakage). Procedures for distinguishing and accounting for autochthonous and allochthonous carbon are provided within the VCS Methodology for Tidal Wetland and Seagrass Restoration.

To collect field samples for estimating the carbon content, a range of technical expertise and tools are required. For example, soil samples can be collected using low‐tech methods (e.g., driving a PVC pipe into soft mud), or high-tech methods (e.g., drilling a pneumatic coring device into a seagrass bed sediment while on scuba).

Some sites may only be available at certain times (e.g., during high or low tide), thus timing of data collection is an important consideration. Once samples are collected, biophysical parameters must be quantified using laboratory analyses to estimate the total carbon pool. Lab analysis may require collaborations with research institutions.

Collecting and analyzing carbon samples at one point in time provides a reference point that marine managers can then measure subsequent stock assessments against (once a year to once every five to ten years depending on the situation), or use in combination with a threat analysis to determine the potential for carbon credits. ref This allows managers to calculate the amount of carbon entering or leaving the system within that timeframe and possibly link fluctuations in carbon stock to changes in land use (i.e. deforestation or damming which impact sediment flow to the coasts). For detailed methods see Howard et al. (2014). ref

Translate »