性別平等

礁石和美洲紅樹鳥瞰圖在波納佩,密克羅尼西亞。 照片©Jez O'Hare

解決藍碳項目中性別平等的最佳實踐

什麼是性別? 文獻

性別 不僅僅是男女之間,男孩和女孩之間的生理差異。 性別定義了在特定社會中成為男人或女人,男孩或女孩意味著什麼,並且指的是所學習的男女之間的社會差異,雖然根深蒂固在每一種文化中,但隨著時間的推移變化,並且廣泛文化內和文化之間的差異。 “性別”以及階級,種族和其他社會因素決定了任何文化中婦女,男子,男孩和女孩的角色,權力和資源,因為個人有不同的經濟,社會和政治機會,以及他們的地位在經濟,社會和政治機構中佔有一席之地

為何將性別納入藍碳項目

  • 有助於使項目充分了解當地環境,現有漏洞和能力。
  • 有助於確保項目活動與不同社會環境中的男性和女性相關。
  • 幫助從業者和社區了解性別群體在管理海洋資源方面可以發揮不同作用的原因和方式,可能會以不同方式容易受到海洋資源利用變化的影響,以及這種情況如何隨著時間的推移而發生變化
  • 有助於確保決策權在不同社會群體之間更均勻地分配。
  • 有必要為改變長期存在的根深蒂固的發展障礙作出貢獻

越來越多的證據表明,將性別納入保護項目可以增加保護對所有人和自然的益處。 重要的是尋找機會,不僅要為弱勢群體賦權,而且要提供分享知識,觀念和經驗的空間,並避免加劇現有的不平等。

所羅門群島Arnavon社區海洋保護區的KAWAKI婦女。 雖然當地社區的男性參與了20多年的社區保護官員工作,但女性才剛剛開始在那裡擔任正式職務。 KAWAKI的成立旨在將婦女團結在保護,文化和社區周圍,為子女創造更美好的未來。 照片©Tim Calver

所羅門群島Arnavon社區海洋保護區的KAWAKI婦女。 雖然當地社區的男性參與了20多年的社區保護官員工作,但女性才剛剛開始在那裡擔任正式職務。 KAWAKI的成立旨在將婦女團結在保護,文化和社區周圍,為子女創造更美好的未來。 照片©Tim Calver

與任何發展或保護干預一樣,除非努力有意識地吸引婦女和男子,否則婦女有可能被排除在協商,規劃和管理之外,這反過來可能會加劇現有的性別不平等。 改善紅樹林等藍碳生態系統管理的努力也不例外。 例如,有證據表明,女性比任何其他用戶群更依賴紅樹林, 文獻 並且特別依賴於他們提供的服務,例如柴火和近岸漁業,以支持他們的生計。 雖然女性參與並有權參與規劃過程並決定其紅樹林的管理至關重要,但事實往往並非如此。

為了使進程真正具有參與性並促進男女平等的投入,需要解決婦女參與的若干潛在障礙; 這些可能包括一些國家婦女的​​識字率較低,參加研討會的旅行難度增加(例如從安全或成本角度來看)或此類事件的時間與婦女通常承擔較大比例的職責之間可能發生的衝突。家庭責任(例如與托兒,老人護理等有關)。 此外,一旦藍碳項目投入運營並通過碳市場籌集資金,這些利益的分配也將存在不公平的風險,包括獲得有關如何分配這些資金的決策機會,以及獲得資金本身。 據報導,這種現象與REDD +有關, 文獻 並且可以預期在藍碳環境中。

在2017 藍碳行為準則 已開發。 “行為準則”描述的行為可以幫助確保包容性和公平的獲取和利益分享,而不論性別,種族,能力,年齡,語言,宗教,社會經濟地位或國籍。 然而,“行為準則”是一項自願承諾,需要開展更多工作,以提高對未能確保藍碳項目具有性別敏感性的風險的認識,並充分考慮男性和女性以及弱勢群體的不同需求,優勢和前景。 。

性別平等計劃和設計倡議的良好做法

  • 在規劃藍碳活動之前或之前分析性別和其他對電力的影響,以確保充分了解社區中不同層次的權力,脆弱性,知識和能力
  • 收集按性別分列的項目活動/評估數據
  • 分析性別角色和關係變化的驅動因素 - 隨著時間的推移,電力動態如何隨著氣候變化的壓力和壓力以及其他因素而變化
    • 可以在獨立性別分析的背景下實現,或者在早期或儘早將性別納入氣候脆弱性和能力分析(或類似的練習)
  • 確保在項目週期的所有階段都包括性別因素:根據當地情況量身定制方法和工具,確保適合應對當地性別動態
  • 協調人需要了解權力動態,他們的聲音可能沒有被聽到,或者誰可能不會發出聲音,並找到解決代表權力不平衡的方法
  • 應該從一開始就創建安全空間(有時是女性專用空間)
  • 確定在項目溝通中公平分析男性和女性的步驟
  • 根據與性別相關的資格和經驗評估潛在的項目合作夥伴
  • 與項目受益者一起,設計和開發一個系統,以確保項目效益(包括決策機會,培訓和資金流動)公平地惠及婦女和男子以及弱勢群體

案例研究:Mangoro Market Meri

大自然保護協會一直與巴布亞新幾內亞的當地婦女合作,持續管理他們的紅樹林,改善他們的收入和生計。 在2017晚期,TNC召集了一個社區婦女,政府代表和紅樹林專家研討會,以改善巴布亞新幾內亞的紅樹林管理。 向社區婦女提供金融知識,小企業管理,品牌和營銷方面的培訓,以支持將可持續紅樹林管理目標轉變為為自己和社區創造收入的機制。 婦女們制定了一份商業計劃, 曼戈羅市場梅里 (紅樹林市場女性) 根據沿海漁業,生態旅遊和藍碳的當地市場,制定短期,中期和長期目標。

米爾恩灣紅樹林研討會。 照片@大自然保護協會

米爾恩灣紅樹林研討會。 照片@大自然保護協會

從“性別敏感”轉向“性別變革”方法

將性別觀點納入主流的主要目標是設計和實施以下發展項目,方案和政策:

  1. 不要強化現有的性別不平等(性別中立)
  2. 試圖糾正現有的性別不平等(性別敏感)
  3. 試圖重新定義女性和男性的性別角色和關係(性別積極/變革)

任何特定項目中性別觀點的整合程度可視為一個連續統一體(改編自Eckman,2002; in 聯合國婦女署):

性別消極性別中立性別敏感性別積極性別變革
加強性別不平等以實現預期的發展成果。 使用強調性別不平等的性別規範,角色和陳規定型觀念性別不被認為與發展成果相關
性別規範,角色和關係不受影響(惡化或改善)
性別是實現既定發展目標的手段
在達到項目目標所需的範圍內解決性別規範,角色和資源獲取問題
性別是實現積極發展成果的關鍵
改變性別規範,角色和資源獲取是項目成果的關鍵組成部分
性別對於促進性別平等和實現積極的發展成果至關重要
改變不平等的性別關係,以促進共享權力,控制資源,決策和支持賦予婦女權力

Gender Equity

MENUMENU

Best Practices for Addressing Gender Equity in Blue Carbon Projects

What is Gender? ref

Gender is more than biological differences between men and women, boys and girls. Gender defines what it means to be a man or woman, boy or girl in a given society, and refers to the social differences between men and women that are learned, and though deeply-rooted in every culture, changeable over time, and have wide variations within and between cultures. “Gender” along with class, race, and other social factors, determines the roles, power and resources for women, men, boys and girls in any culture, as individuals have different access to economic, social and political opportunities, and what status they hold within economic, social and political institutions.

Why Integrate Gender into Blue Carbon Projects

  • helps to ground the project in a good understanding of the local context, existing vulnerabilities, and capacities.
  • helps to ensure project activities are relevant to both men and women in different social settings.
  • helps practitioners and communities understand why and how gender groups can play different roles in managing marine resources, can be vulnerable to changes in marine resource use in different ways, and how this can change over time.
  • helps to ensure decision-making power is more equally distributed between different social groups.
  • is necessary to contribute to the transformation of long-standing, deeply-rooted barriers to development

There is growing evidence that integrating gender into conservation projects can increase the benefits of conservation for all people and nature. It is important to look for opportunities, not only to empower vulnerable groups, but to provide a space to share knowledge, perceptions, and experiences, and to avoid exacerbating existing inequalities.

KAWAKI women at the Arnavon Community Marine Conservation Area in the Solomon Islands. Although men from local communities have been involved for 20 years as community conservation officers, women are just beginning to have a formal role there. KAWAKI was formed with the vision of uniting women around conservation, culture and community to create a better future for their children. Photo © Tim Calver

KAWAKI women at the Arnavon Community Marine Conservation Area in the Solomon Islands. Although men from local communities have been involved for 20 years as community conservation officers, women are just beginning to have a formal role there. KAWAKI was formed with the vision of uniting women around conservation, culture and community to create a better future for their children. Photo © Tim Calver

As with any development or conservation intervention, unless efforts are made to deliberately engage women as well as men, there is a tendency for women to be left out of consultation, planning and management, which can in turn amplify existing gender inequalities. Efforts to improve the management of blue carbon ecosystems such as mangroves, are no different. For example, there is evidence that women depend upon mangroves more than any other user group, ref and are particularly dependent on the services they provide, such as firewood and near-shore fisheries, to support their livelihoods. While it is critical that women are engaged and empowered to participate in planning processes and make decisions about the management of their mangroves, this is often not the case.

In order for processes to be truly participatory and to facilitate inputs equally from both women and men, there are several potential barriers to women’s participation that need to be addressed; these can include lower rates of literacy in women in some countries, increased difficulty with travel to attend participatory workshops (e.g. from a safety or cost perspective) or potential clashes between the timing of such events and duties for which women typically bear a greater proportion of the household responsibility (e.g. in relation to childcare, elder care, etc.). Moreover, once blue carbon projects are operational and generating funding through the carbon market, there is also a risk that the distribution of these benefits will be inequitable, including access to decision-making opportunities about how these funds are allocated, as well as access to the funds themselves. This phenomenon has been reported in relation to REDD+, ref and can be expected in the blue carbon context as well.

In 2017, a Blue Carbon Code of Conduct  was developed. The Code of Conduct describes behaviors that can help to ensure inclusive and equitable access and benefit sharing irrespective of gender, ethnicity, ability, age, language, religion, socioeconomic status or nationality. The Code of Conduct is a voluntary commitment however, and more work is needed to increase awareness of the risks of failing to ensure blue carbon projects are gender-responsive and adequately consider the different needs, strengths and perspectives of men and women, and vulnerable groups.

Good Practices in Planning and Designing Initiatives for Gender Equity

  • Analyze gender and other influences on power before, or in the early stages of planning blue carbon activities to ensure a solid understanding of the different levels of power, vulnerabilities, knowledge, and capacities in the community
  • Collect sex disaggregated data for project activities/evaluation
  • Analyze drivers of change in gender roles and relations – how power dynamics shift in response to the pressures and stresses of climate change, and other factors, over time
    • can be achieved in the context of a standalone gender analysis, or by integrating gender into climate vulnerability and capacity analysis (or similar exercises) early on, or as early as possible
  • Ensure gender considerations are included at all stages in the project cycle: Tailoring methods and tools to the local context, ensuring that are appropriate for responding to local gender dynamics
  • Facilitators need to be aware of power dynamics and whose voices may not be heard or who may not raise their voice, and find ways to address power imbalances in representation
  • Safe spaces (sometimes women-only spaces) should be created right from the beginning
  • Identify steps to profile both men and women equitably in project communications
  • Assess potential project partners in terms of gender-related qualifications and experience
  • Together with project beneficiaries, design and develop a system to ensure that project benefits (including decision-making opportunities, training, and financial flows) benefit women and men, and vulnerable groups, equitably

 

Case study: Mangoro Market Meri

The Nature Conservancy has been working with local women across Papua New Guinea to sustainably manage their mangroves and improve their incomes and livelihoods. In late 2017, TNC convened a workshop of community women, government representatives and mangrove experts to improve mangrove management across PNG. The community women were provided with training in financial literacy, small business management, branding and marketing to support turning their goals for sustainable mangrove management into a mechanism to generate income, for themselves and their communities. The women developed a business plan, Mangoro Market Meri (Mangrove Market Women) with short, medium and long-term goals, based on local markets for coastal fisheries, ecotourism and blue carbon.

Milne Bay Mangrove Workshop. Photo @ The Nature Conservancy

Milne Bay Mangrove Workshop. Photo @ The Nature Conservancy

 

Moving from “Gender-sensitive” to “Gender-transformative” Approaches

The primary objective behind gender mainstreaming is to design and implement development projects, programs and policies that:

  1. Do not reinforce existing gender inequalities (Gender Neutral)
  2. Attempt to redress existing gender inequalities (Gender Sensitive)
  3. Attempt to re-define women and men’s gender roles and relations (Gender Positive / Transformative)

The degree of integration of a gender perspective in any given project can be seen as a continuum (adapted from Eckman, 2002; in UN Women):

Gender NegativeGender NeutralGender SensitiveGender PositiveGender Transformative
Gender inequalities are reinforced to achieve desired development outcomes. Uses gender norms, roles and stereotypes that reinforce gender inequalitiesGender is not considered relevant to development outcome
Gender norms, roles and relations are not affected (worsened or improved)
Gender is a means to reach set development goals
Addressing gender norms, roles and access to resources in so far as needed to reach project goals
Gender is central to achieving positive development outcomes
Changing gender norms, roles and access to resources a key component of project outcomes
Gender is central to promoting gender equality and achieving positive development outcomes
Transforming unequal gender relations to promote shared power, control of resources, decision-making, and support for women’s empowerment

 

Translate »