融入國家政策

礁石和美洲紅樹鳥瞰圖在波納佩,密克羅尼西亞。 照片©Jez O'Hare

各國越來越多地尋求減少溫室氣體(GHG)排放,並通過保護和恢復藍色碳生態系統來促進減緩和適應氣候變化。 在過去十年中,已經取得進展,支持將藍碳生態系統納入國家和地方政策。 根據“巴黎協定”,減緩和適應行動有資格納入每個國家的國家自主貢獻(NDCs)。

對163提交的國家數據中心的分析表明,28國家在減緩方面提到了沿海濕地,59國家包括沿海生態系統和沿海地區的適應戰略。 文獻

“聯合國氣候變化框架公約”(UNFCCC)為各國報告了應對氣候變化的計劃行動和進展提供了若干機制。 除了國家數據中心,各國還可以在其國家適應計劃(NAPs),國家適應行動計劃(NAPAs)和國家適當的減緩行動(NAMAs)中納入藍碳生態系統。

減緩國家數據中心的機會 - 國家溫室氣體清單

為了製定具體的政策和管理對策,並向國家和全球溫室氣體賬戶提供嚴格的數字,藍碳生態系統需要納入各國根據“聯合國氣候變化框架公約”提交的官方溫室氣體清單。 一個關鍵的機會是各國將沿海濕地納入國家碳清單(作為指導,參見IPCC 2013濕地補充,為內陸和沿海濕地提供溫室氣體核算方法,並支持將這些生態系統的排放和清除納入國家溫室氣體清單) 。 通過將這些生態系統納入國家清單,藍色碳生態系統的減緩潛力將被納入評估通過全球採伐過程實現“巴黎協定”目標的全球進展。

森林機制中的紅樹林

如果一個國家將紅樹林定義為森林,紅樹林保護和恢復工作可以納入UNFCCC森林機制,如REDD +,並作為LULUCF活動的一部分。 如果土壤是使用IPCC關鍵類別分析定義的重要來源或匯,如紅樹林,土壤碳也將包括在REDD +或LULUCF的會計方法中。

紅樹林保護和恢復可以包括在REDD +項目中。 照片©Tim Calver

紅樹林保護和恢復可以包括在REDD +項目中。 照片©Tim Calver

適合本國

適合本國的緩解行動(國家適當的減緩行動)是發展中國家開展氣候減緩項目的機會,這些項目也側重於社會效益。 適合本國的緩解行動包括藍土碳在土地利用變化方面的努力,沿海生態系統的保護和恢復活動。 鑑於沿海濕地提供的多種社會效益,這些生態系統可以很好地納入其中。

適應NDC機會 - 國家適應計劃/國家適應行動方案

國家適應行動計劃(NAPAs)提供了一個流程,以滿足最不發達國家(LDCs)迫切和迫切需要,以適應氣候變化。 國家適應計劃(NAP)使締約方能夠確定中期和長期適應需求,並製定和實施戰略和計劃以滿足這些需求。 許多締約方已在其國家行動方案/國家適應行動方案中考慮沿海濕地。

有關其他UNFCCC機制中藍碳的更多信息,請參閱第4節 沿海藍碳生態系統:國家自主貢獻的機會.

包含藍碳的步驟 國家氣候變化減緩 努力是:

  • 制定國家藍碳行動計劃,概述具體的國情,機遇,需求和限制
  • 對藍碳生態系統進行國家碳評估和生態及社會經濟評估
  • 將國家成本效益分析(包括藍碳活動)納入國家氣候變化減緩戰略
  • 沿海地區碳相關金融和活動的身份識別效益
  • 在藍色碳彙和水庫的排放和清除方面建立技術,政策和體制方面的能力
  • 開展社區意識活動

將藍色碳生態系統納入國家政策的當前挑戰包括碳儲量,排放和清除的不完整數據,目前海草仍然不屬於任何報告,會計或NDC框架。 文獻 但是,來自諸如此類的團體的支持 藍碳倡議藍碳國際夥伴關係 正在幫助將藍碳生態系統更充分地納入國家政策。

Integration into National Policies

MENUMENU

Countries are increasingly seeking to reduce their greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions and contribute to climate change mitigation and adaptation by protecting and restoring blue carbon ecosystems. Over the last decade, progress has been made to support the integration of blue carbon ecosystem into national and subnational policies. Under the Paris Agreement, mitigation and adaptation actions are eligible to be included in each country’s Nationally Determined Contribution (NDCs).

An analysis of the 163 submitted NDCs showed that 28 countries include a reference to coastal wetlands in terms of mitigation and 59 countries include coastal ecosystems and the coastal zone in their adaptation strategies. ref

The United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) has a number of mechanisms for countries to report planned actions and progress on addressing climate change. In addition to the NDCs, countries can include blue carbon ecosystems in their National Adaptation Plans (NAPs), National Adaptation Programmes of Actions (NAPAs), and Nationally Appropriate Mitigation Actions (NAMAs).

Mitigation NDC Opportunities – National GHG Inventories

To develop concrete policy and management responses, and to provide rigorous numbers into national and global greenhouse gas accounts, blue carbon ecosystems need to become included in the official GHG inventories that countries submit under the UNFCCC. A key opportunity is for countries to include coastal wetlands in national carbon inventories (for guidance, see the IPCC 2013 Wetlands Supplement which provides GHG accounting methodologies for inland and coastal wetlands and supports the inclusion of emissions and removals from these ecosystems in national GHG inventories). By including these ecosystems into national inventories, the mitigation potential of blue carbon ecosystems will be integrated into assessing global progress towards achieving the goals of the Paris Agreement through the Global Stocktake process.

Mangroves in Forest Mechanisms

Mangrove conservation and restoration efforts can be incorporated in UNFCCC forest mechanisms such as REDD+ and as part of LULUCF activities if a country defines mangroves as a forest. If soils are a significant source or sink as defined using IPCC key category analysis, like in mangrove forests, soil carbon will also be included in the accounting methodologies of REDD+ or LULUCF.

Mangrove forest conservation and restoration can be included in REDD+ projects. Photo © Tim Calver

Mangrove forest conservation and restoration can be included in REDD+ projects. Photo © Tim Calver

NAMAs

NAMAs (Nationally Appropriate Mitigation Actions) are opportunities for developing countries to conduct climate mitigation projects that also have a focus on social benefits. NAMAs include blue carbon efforts in land-use change, conservation and restoration activities in coastal ecosystems. Given the multiple social benefits provided by coastal wetlands, these ecosystems are well positioned to be included.

Adaptation NDC Opportunities – NAPs/NAPAs

Nationally Adaptation Programs for Action (NAPAs) provide a process to respond to urgent and immediate needs of Least Developed Countries (LDCs) to adapt to climate change. National Adaptation Plans (NAPs) enable Parties to identify medium- and long-term adaptation needs and develop and implement strategies and programmes to address those needs. Coastal wetlands are already considered by many Parties within their NAPs/NAPAs.

For more information on blue carbon in other UNFCCC mechanisms, see section 4 of Coastal Blue Carbon Ecosystems: Opportunities for Nationally Determined Contributions.

Steps to include blue carbon in national climate change mitigation efforts are:

  • Develop national blue carbon action plans, outlining specific national circumstances, opportunities, needs and limits
  • Conduct national carbon assessments and ecological and socio-economic assessments of blue carbon ecosystems
  • Conduct national cost-benefit analysis including blue carbon activities into national climate change mitigation strategies
  • ID benefits of carbon-related finance and activities in coastal areas
  • Build capacity on technical, policy and institutional aspects of emissions and removals from blue carbon sinks and reservoirs
  • Conduct community awareness activities

Current challenges of integrating blue carbon ecosystems into national policies include the incomplete data of carbon stock, emissions, and removal, and currently seagrasses remain outside any reporting, accounting, or NDC framework. ref However, support from groups such as the Blue Carbon Initiative and the International Partnership for Blue Carbon are helping to incorporate blue carbon ecosystems more fully into national policies.

Translate »