氣候智能珊瑚礁和流域管理使用波多黎各瓜尼卡灣流域的適應設計工具

地點

瓜尼卡灣流域和鄰近的珊瑚礁,波多黎各,美國

所面臨的挑戰

珊瑚礁在波多黎各。 照片©Kemit-Amon Lewis

預計氣候變化將在波多黎各西南部以多種方式對流域和下游珊瑚礁健康產生不利影響。 這些變化可能會加劇現有和未來的生態系統退化。 迄今為止考慮或實施的珊瑚礁管理行動一般側重於現有的局部壓力因素,而不考慮氣候變化的影響。 遺憾的是,旨在處理歷史條件的管理行動可能無法在氣候變化下表現得更好,甚至哪些行動優先實施也可能因氣候變化而改變。 因此,挑戰是系統和透明地設計氣候智能流域和珊瑚礁管理行動。

所採取的行動

適應設計工具 (設計工具)通過考慮氣候變化對生態系統壓力因素的影響以及對有效管理的影響,幫助珊瑚礁管理者將氣候智能設計納入其管理活動。 設計工具包括一系列活動(見下圖),其中包含用於(a)確定氣候變化對管理行動有效性的影響的工作表,並考慮應根據這些影響對行動進行哪些變更,以及(b)確定現有計劃中的差距,並集體討論填補這些空白的新行動。

適應設計工具流程圖顯示了設計工具中的活動以及氣候智能管理行動的進展(來自適應設計工具:珊瑚和氣候適應規劃)。

適應設計工具流程圖顯示了設計工具中的活動以及氣候智能管理行動的進展(來自 適應設計工具:珊瑚和氣候適應規劃).管理行動預篩選
為了準備使用適應設計工具,波多黎各團隊必須決定關注哪些管理行動。 為此,他們從多個來源編制了一份潛在的瓜尼卡灣流域和珊瑚礁管理行動清單:以前的流域管理計劃(流域保護中心2008),當地研討會和論壇,以及與當地流域管理人員的討論。 該最終清單僅包含影響珊瑚礁健康且對氣候變化敏感的特定,離散行動,總計40行動。 從那些中,選擇了12動作。 之所以選擇這些行動,是因為有足夠的信息,Guánica規劃人員對此感興趣,並且沒有必要在項目之前進行珊瑚礁恢復力評估。 八項行動側重於流域衛生,兩項側重於沿海棲息地,兩項側重於珊瑚礁群落。

接下來,該團隊通過設計工具的Activity 1進行12管理操作。 在這個階段的工作中,一個團隊成員主要收集資源,根據需要與專家交談,並完成每個操作的工作表。 這需要每次操作大約3-4小時,隨著更多信息的出現,在接下來的幾個月中花費了更多的時間來修改操作。 工作表包含以下主題:

工作表1A

  • 目標壓力源
  • 氣候變化對壓力源的影響
  • 氣候變化影響的時間
  • 對有效性指標的影響和影響時間的影響以及如何衡量它們
  • 筆記

工作表1B

  • 管理行動有效性的變化是由於:氣候對目標壓力源的影響
  • 管理行動有效性的變化是由於:氣候對管理行動的影響
  • 使用操作的時間範圍或約束
  • 需要做出哪些改變才能適應行動
  • 修訂後的管理行動
  • 筆記

許多以流域為重點的行動對於工作表1A來說是相似的(因為氣候變化對目標壓力源的影響是相似的)但是對於工作表1B來說是不同的。 完成活動1後,所有操作都完成了補充輸出1(數據缺口/信息需求)。 這構成了使用設計工具的“粗略切割”,因為強調通過工具執行許多操作而不是在一些操作中實現非常詳細。 我們與Ridge to Reefs(RtR)和Protectores de Cuencas(PdC)共同進行了“粗略切割”,這些組織致力於修訂流域管理計劃。 然後,這些組織可以選擇他們想要實施哪些氣候智能管理行動(氣候智能循環的步驟5)。

在完成“粗略切割”後,12行動也被簡化為摘要版本,其中包括:原始管理行動和目標壓力源,氣候變化對目標壓力源的影響,氣候變化對管理的影響行動(直接和間接),修訂的氣候智能管理行動和參考。 雖然這些省略了我們在“粗略切割”期間產生的許多重要信息,但它們更易於進行溝通和決策。

下一階段是“深切”,之所以這麼稱呼是因為在與項目團隊成員選擇的兩組主題專家的協助討論中,更詳細地考慮了更少的行動。 這是為實施具體行動做準備。 一組四位專家在流域行動中使用了設計工具“使用引水結構和減流措施(例如,水吧,香根草和岩石檢查水壩,涵洞)來管理咖啡種植園土路中的沉積物”。 另外五位專家組使用該工具對兩個珊瑚礁採取行動:1)“收集珊瑚並建立基於水族館的珊瑚苗圃”,以及2)“在珊瑚礁上養殖水族館養殖的珊瑚”。 根據這些領域的專家的可用性,它們對珊瑚礁和流域管理的重要性以及與團隊討論其優先行動的選擇來選擇行動。 請注意,第一次珊瑚礁活動是“粗切”的一部分,但第二次不是因為確定它將從珊瑚礁恢復力評估中受益,而這種評估尚未在那時進行。

每個專家組審查的具體行動改變了與每個專家組舉行的三次會議。 對於珊瑚苗圃/外包小組而言,針對上次會議關於植入目的嚴重影響項目實施方式的意見,在目的和地點採取了更具體的行動。 在最後一次珊瑚會議上討論的行動是:1)“收集珊瑚用於在水族館珊瑚苗圃中繁殖,用於珊瑚礁恢復項目以加強海岸保護並減少吉利根島海岸線的侵蝕”,以及2)“外植苗圃 - 在吉利根島養殖珊瑚,加強海岸保護,減少海岸線侵蝕“。 流域專家組的重點是特定流域(Fulladoza流域)的引水結構。 正在對“深度削減”的討論進行分析。

使用的適應設計工具組件:
活動1:是的
活動2:部分
補充活動1:是的
補充活動2:正在進行中

審議的行動數量:
“粗剪”:12動作
“深切”:3行動

參加人數:
“粗剪”:1的主要參與者,在其他一些人的幫助下
“Deep cut”:4-5專家

它有多成功?

這個項目有多種成功。 最直接的是項目團隊在多大程度上更加了解氣候變化對管理規劃的影響。 這是通過將流程規劃人員和項目團隊的其他成員使用設計工具的過程實現的。 其他成功指標將來需要進行評估,包括:該研究納入管理計劃的程度以及設計工具的產出在相關時間框架內支持適應氣候變化的程度,並支持實現管理目標。

經驗教訓和建議

  • 使用專家小組時,請確保節省足夠的時間來介紹工具和學習系統。 這可能是一小時甚至是90分鐘。
  • 與專家小組合作時,要使行動被視為非常具體,或準備在討論期間使其更具體。 啟動行動越具體,專家就能越深入。 特異性可以來自目的,位置,時間等。
  • 在使用專家小組時,對它們進行“粗略切割”是有幫助的,而不是使用空白工作表。
  • 氣候變化對壓力源有類似影響的行動可以有類似的工作表1A條目。 但是,工作表1A條目仍然不同,因為操作不同。 工作表1B條目將更加不同。
  • 準備回到“粗剪”期間已經完成的行動,以便在新行動開始時對其進行進一步的更改。

資金摘要

美國環境保護局:空氣,氣候和能源國家研究計劃

牽頭組織

美國環境保護署

夥伴

Tetra Tech,Inc。
Ridge to Reefs,Inc。
Protectores de Cuencas

資料庫

生態系統管理的氣候智能設計:珊瑚礁的測試應用
適應設計工具:可下載的指南,工作表和示例
適應設計工具在線課程

Climate-Smart Coral Reef and Watershed Management Using the Adaptation Design Tool in Guánica Bay Watershed, Puerto Rico

 

Location

Guánica Bay watershed and adjacent reefs, Puerto Rico, United States

The challenge

Coral reef in Puerto Rico. Photo © Kemit-Amon Lewis

Climate change is expected to adversely impact watershed and downstream coral reef health in many ways in southwest Puerto Rico. These changes will likely compound existing and future ecosystem degradation. Management actions for coral reefs considered or implemented so far have generally focused on existing, local stressors without incorporating climate change’s effects. Unfortunately, management actions designed to handle historical conditions may not perform as well as intended under climate change, and even which actions are prioritized for implementation may be altered by climate change. Thus, the challenge is systematically and transparently designing climate-smart watershed and coral reef management actions.

Actions taken

The Adaptation Design Tool (the Design Tool) helps coral reef managers incorporate climate-smart design into their management activities by considering the effects of climate change on ecosystem stressors and implications for effective management. The Design Tool consists of a series of activities (see diagram below) with worksheets that are used to (a) identify climate change impacts on the effectiveness of your management actions and consider what changes should be made to the actions based on those impacts, and (b) identify gaps in an existing plan and brainstorm new actions to fill those gaps.

The Adaptation Design Tool flow chart shows the activities in the Design Tool and the progression to climate-smart management actions (from Adaptation Design Tool: Corals and Climate Adaptation Planning).

The Adaptation Design Tool flow chart shows the activities in the Design Tool and the progression to climate-smart management actions (from Adaptation Design Tool: Corals and Climate Adaptation Planning).

Management action pre-screening
To prepare for using the Adaptation Design Tool, the Puerto Rico team had to decide which management actions to focus on. To do that, they compiled a list of potential Guánica Bay watershed and reef management actions from multiple sources: the previous watershed management plan (Center for Watershed Protection 2008), local workshops and forums, and discussions with local watershed managers. This final list contained only specific, discrete actions that affect reef health and are sensitive to climate change, totaling about 40 actions. From those, 12 actions were selected. These actions were chosen because there was sufficient information, there was interest from the Guánica planners, and it was not necessary to have a reef resilience assessment in advance of the project. Eight actions focused on watershed health, two focused on coastal habitat, and two focused on reef communities.

Next, the team worked through Activity 1 of the Design Tool for the 12 management actions. For this phase of work, one team member primarily gathered resources, talked with experts as needed, and completed the worksheets for each action. This took about 3-4 hours per action, with a few more hours spent revising actions over the following months as more information became available. The worksheets cover the following topics:

Worksheet 1A

  • Target stressor(s)
  • Climate change effects on stressors
  • Timing of climate change effects
  • Implications of effects on stressors and timing of effects for effectiveness metrics & how to measure them
  • Notes

Worksheet 1B

  • Changes in effectiveness of management action due to:  climate impacts on target stressor
  • Changes in effectiveness of management action due to: climate impacts on management action
  • Time frame or constraint for using the action
  • What changes are needed to adapt the action
  • Revised management action
  • Notes

Many of the watershed-focused actions were similar for Worksheet 1A (because the climate change effects on target stressors were similar) but diverged for Worksheet 1B. Following completion of Activity 1, Supplementary Output 1 (data gaps/information needs) was completed for all actions. This constituted a “rough cut” using the Design Tool because of the emphasis on putting many actions through the Tool over achieving great detail in a few actions. We shared the “rough cut” with Ridge to Reefs (RtR) and Protectores de Cuencas (PdC), the organizations working on a revised watershed management plan. These organizations can then select which climate-smart management actions they want to implement (Step 5 of climate-smart cycle).

Following completion of the “rough cut”, the 12 actions were also condensed into a summary version that included: the original management action and target stressor(s), climate change effects on target stressor(s), impacts of climate change on the management action (direct and indirect), revised climate-smart management action, and references. Although these omit a lot of important information we generated during the “rough cut”, they are more accessible for communication and decision making.

The next phase was the “deep cut”, so called because fewer actions were considered in greater detail during facilitated discussions with two groups of subject matter experts that were chosen by project team members. This was in preparation for implementation of specific actions. One group of four experts used the Design Tool on the watershed action “Use water diversion structures and flow reduction practices (e.g., water bars, vetiver and rock check dams, culverts) to manage sediment from coffee plantation dirt roads”. The other expert group of five experts used the Tool on two reef actions: 1) “Collect corals and establish aquarium-based coral nurseries”, and 2) “Outplant the aquarium-raised corals on reefs”. Actions were chosen based on the availability of experts in those areas, their importance for reef and watershed management, and discussions with the team about their priority actions. Note that the first reef action was part of the “rough cut” but the second was not because it was determined it would benefit from having a reef resilience assessment, which had not been conducted at that point.

The specific actions examined by each expert group changed over the three meetings that were held with each. For the coral nursery/outplanting group, the actions were made more specific in purpose and location in response to comments from the previous meeting about the purpose of the outplanting heavily affecting how the project is implemented. The actions discussed in the final coral meeting were: 1) “Collect corals for propagation in aquarium-based coral nurseries, for use in reef restoration projects to enhance coastal protection and reduce erosion of Gilligan’s Island’s coastline”, and 2) “Outplant nursery-raised corals at Gilligan’s Island to enhance coastal protection and reduce coastline erosion”. The watershed expert group focused on water diversion structures in a particular watershed (Fulladoza watershed). Analysis of the discussions from the “deep cuts” is ongoing.

Components of Adaptation Design Tool used:
Activity 1: Yes
Activity 2: Partially
Supplementary Activity 1: Yes
Supplementary Activity 2: In progress

Number of actions considered:
“Rough cut”: 12 actions
“Deep cut”: 3 actions

Number of participants:
“Rough cut”: 1 main participant, with help from a few others
“Deep cut”: 4-5 experts

How successful has it been?

There are multiple kinds of success for this project. The most immediate is the extent to which the project team is made more aware of the impacts of climate change on management planning. This has been achieved by the process of using the Design Tool with watershed planners and other members of the project team. Other indicators of success will need to be evaluated in the future, including: the extent to which this study is incorporated into the management plan and the extent to which the output from the Design Tool supports adaptation to climate change over relevant time frames and supports achievement of management objectives.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations

  • When working with expert panels, make sure to save ample time to introduce the Tool and the study system. This could be an hour or even 90 minutes.
  • When working with expert panels, make the actions being considered very specific, or be prepared to make them more specific during the discussion. The more specific the starting action is, the more deeply the experts will be able to engage. Specificity can come from purpose, location, timing, etc.
  • When working with expert panels, it is helpful to have a “rough cut” for them to work from, rather than having blank worksheets.
  • Actions with similar effects of climate change on stressors can have similar Worksheet 1A entries. However, Worksheet 1A entries will still be different because the actions are different. Worksheet 1B entries will be more different.
  • Be prepared to return to actions already completed during the “rough cut” to make further changes to them as new actions are worked on.

Funding summary

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency: Air, Climate, and Energy National Research Program

Lead organization

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Partners

Tetra Tech, Inc.
Ridge to Reefs, Inc.
Protectores de Cuencas

Resources

Climate-Smart Design for Ecosystem Management: A Test Application for Coral Reefs
Adaptation Design Tool: Downloadable guide, worksheets, and examples
Adaptation Design Tool Online Course