تقييم تأثيرات إعصار 2017 على الشعاب المرجانية في بورتوريكو

 

المدينة:

بورتوريكو ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

التحدي

في سبتمبر 2017 ، دمر إعصاران إيرما وماريا جزر بورتوريكو. بالإضافة إلى التأثيرات التي خلفتها الأعاصير على اليابسة ، كان لها أيضًا تأثيرات كبيرة على الشعاب المرجانية في بورتوريكو ، والتي تمثل خط الدفاع الأول للجزيرة ضد موجات العواصف والفيضانات. أفادت المسوحات المخصصة التي أجريت بعد الأعاصير عن أضرار تراوحت بين رؤوس الشعاب المرجانية الكبيرة التي انقلبت أو قذفت في الرمال إلى دفن وكسر واسع النطاق. على وجه الخصوص ، أدرجت أسماء غابات كثيفة معروفة سابقًا لقانون بناء الشعاب المرجانية والأنواع المهددة بالانقراض (ESA) المرجان elkhorn (Acropora palmata) أظهر الكسر مستعمرة كبيرة بسبب التشكل المتفرعة الأنواع وموقعها على الشعاب المرجانية باعتباره كسر موجة الطبيعية. كما لوحظت أضرار جسيمة للشعاب المرجانية من جنس بناء الشعاب المرجانية في منطقة البحر الكاريبي Orbicella النيابة. (نجمة المرجان) ، والتي هي أيضا الأنواع المدرجة في وكالة الفضاء الأوروبية بالإضافة إلى الأنواع المرجانية الأخرى. وبالتالي ، كلفت الفيدرالية نوا بإجراء تقييم على مستوى الجزيرة لآثار الأعاصير على الشعاب المرجانية.

شظايا مكسورة ومخلوعة من الشعاب المرجانية (Acropora palmataبعد الاعصار. الصورة © NOAA

بالإضافة إلى تقييم حالة الشعاب المرجانية في بورتوريكو بعد إعصاري إيرما وماريا ، كلفت الفيدرالية نوا بإجراء فرز طارئ لإنقاذ وإعادة مرجان حي لا يزال قابلاً للتطبيق. وقد أظهرت التجربة السابقة أن الشعاب المرجانية التي تأثرت جسديًا لديها فرصة أكبر بكثير للبقاء على قيد الحياة من تلك التي تركت دون اتصال. سوف يستغرق الأمر عقودًا لإعادة نمو الشعاب المرجانية الكبيرة التي تأثرت ، مقابل دقائق لإعادة ربطها بالشعاب المرجانية. وبالتالي ، بالتزامن مع التقييم ، تم إجراء فرز طارئ لمواقع الشعاب المرجانية شديدة التأثير.

ما مجموعه 414,354 م2 من الشعاب المرجانية وأكثر من 86,000 الشعاب المرجانية تم مسحها في مواقع 153 عبر بورتوريكو بين فبراير 25 ومايو 7 ، 2018. تم إعادة ربط ما يقرب من شظايا 9,760 المرجانية أو مستعمرات الشعاب المرجانية المكسورة إلى الشعاب المرجانية في مواقع 69 في مناطق الشمال الشرقي والشمالي وفيكيس بين فبراير ويونيو 2018.

الإجراءات المتخذة

قامت NOAA ، وإدارة الموارد الطبيعية لبورتوريكو ، و SeaVentures بتقييم الشعاب المرجانية الضحلة المحيطة ببورتوريكو ، كما أجرت عملية تثبيت الفرز للشعاب المرجانية المهجورة. استخدمنا تصميم أخذ العينات الاحتمالية للتقييم للسماح للاستدلالات الإحصائية من العينات إلى النظام البيئي للشعاب المرجانية أكبر من المحتمل أن يكون قد تضررت من الأعاصير. غطى إطار العينة جميع الشعاب المرجانية المائية الضحلة المعروفة المحيطة بالبر الرئيسي لبورتوريكو وفيكيس وكوليبرا والجزر الواقعة داخل ممر NE Reserve. تم تكييف شبكة أخذ العينات ، التي تتكون من خلايا فردية تقيس 50 x 50 m ، من إطار نموذج البرنامج الوطني لرصد الشعاب المرجانية (NCRMP) التابع لـ NOAA ، والذي تم استخدامه منذ 2014 لمراقبة الشعاب المرجانية والأسماك المحيطة ببورتوريكو. في هذا الجهد ، تم تضييق إطار العينة للتركيز على الموائل التي يسيطر عليها المرجان في أعماق أقل من 7 متر (م) ، والتي كانت الأكثر تأثراً بناءً على استطلاعات الاستطلاع. لزيادة كفاءة أخذ العينات وضمان التمثيل من جميع أنحاء الجزر ، تم تقسيم إطار العينة حسب مسار العاصفة وموائل الشعاب المرجانية المنفصلة والمنطقة الجغرافية.

تتألف مسوحات التقييم ، المصممة لتكون سريعة ولكن الكمية قدر الإمكان ، من نوعين من مسوحات الغواصين في المياه: مسح عبر المسح ومسح متنقل. استندت مواقع المسح العرضي على تصميم العينة العشوائية الطبقية الموصوفة أعلاه للسماح بالتمثيل الإحصائي للمناطق التي لم يتم مسحها. قام الغواصون بإجراء مسح عبر الخطوط في إحداثيات الموقع المحددة مسبقًا. قدمت الدراسة الاستقصائية المتنقلة نظرة عامة على مساحة أكبر خارج منطقة التقييم التي قد يكون لها آثار. كما أجريت مسوحات متنقلة في مواقع غير عشوائية على علم بمعرفة الخبراء بالغطاء المرجاني العالي للأنواع ذات الأولوية أو الضرر المتوقع.

لكل موقع تقييم ومنطقة مسح متنقلة ، صنف الغواصون الأضرار التي لحقت بالموقع ، والأضرار التي لحقت بالشعاب المرجانية و / أو الإطار ، والمحتملة كموقع الفرز ، واحتمال كموقع ترميم طويل الأجل. ضمن مناطق المسح ، قام الغواصون بتقدير أنواع الشعاب المرجانية وفئة الحجم والضرر ونوع الضرر والمرض. لكلا المسحين ، لوحظت مساحة المسح ، وسجلت نقاط GPS أو المسارات ، وتم جمع صور الموقع. تم تسجيل البيانات في قاعدة البيانات المكانية وتحميلها في يفتح في نافذة جديدةArcGISOnline Dashboard / Storymap في غضون أيام 1-3 لإبلاغ فريق الفرز بالمواقع المحتملة التي تحتاج إلى فرز.

بورتوريكو تقييم الأعاصير وخريطة مشروع قصة الفرز. © NOAA

يمكن أن تظل نسبة من الشعاب المرجانية المفككة أو المجزأة بسبب الإعصار حية في القاع ، ولكنها معرضة لخطر السقوط بفعل موجات العاصفة اللاحقة ، والتي ستستمر في تقليل كمية الشعاب المرجانية الحية على الشعاب المرجانية. من خلال إجراء فرز الشعاب المرجانية ، تم إعادة ربط هذه الشعاب المرجانية الرخوة المعرضة للخطر بطبقة الشعاب المرجانية لتقليل الضرر الإجمالي للإعصار على النطاقات المحلية. تم إجراء الفرز في المواقع التي تم تحديدها بأعلى مستوى من الضرر من خلال استطلاعات الاستطلاع والتقييم الرسمي مع التركيز على المواقع ذات التكلفة الأعلى. قام فريق لا يقل عن 4 غواصين مدربين بالإبحار إلى موقع الفرز المحدد مسبقًا ومعدات مُعدّة (مثل الصناديق وأكياس الرفع) والمواد (مثل الأسمنت والمارمولينا) لأنشطة الفرز. تم إجراء الاستعدادات بناءً على الأعداد والأحجام والأنواع المتوقعة من الشعاب المرجانية التي سيتم إعادة توصيلها في موقع معين. بمجرد وصول الغواصين إلى الماء ، وزعوا أنفسهم حول الموقع لبدء أنشطة الفرز. تم تحديد المواقع المناسبة ذات القاع الصلب المفتوح لإعادة ربط الشعاب المرجانية السائبة وتجنب إزعاج الشعاب المرجانية الموجودة غير التالفة. تم تخزين الشعاب المرجانية والشظايا مؤقتًا بالقرب من مواقع الاستعادة قبل إعادة التركيب. تم استخدام الأسمنت لإعادة ربط المرجان بالركيزة. تم تنظيف سطح الشعاب المرجانية من طحالب العشب والرواسب قبل إعادة الربط لتوفير التصاق ناجح للأسمنت. تم أيضًا تحميل البيانات المكانية من الفرز (# الشعاب المرجانية ، المنطقة) في ملف يفتح في نافذة جديدةArcGISOnline Dashboard.

قام فريق الفرز بتنويع مخبأ الشعاب المرجانية قبل إعادة ربطها بالشعاب المرجانية (Vieques South Bank). الصورة © NOAA

ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟

لم يتم إجراء مراقبة كمية بعد الفرز. أظهرت الزيارات غير الرسمية للموقع بقاء الشعاب المرجانية المعاد ربطها.

الدروس المستفادة والتوصيات

تشمل الدروس المستفادة من هذا المشروع:

  • في بعض الحالات ، لم يكن الموئل في الموقع المتضرر مناسبًا لإعادة ربط الشعاب المرجانية التالفة (أي اختزل إلى ركام). في تلك الحالات ، تم جمع شظايا الشعاب المرجانية ونقلها إلى موقع بديل مناسب بشكل أفضل للبقاء طويل الأجل للشعاب المرجانية.
  • إن وجود شخص مخصص لإدخال البيانات قد أدى إلى تسريع عملية إدخال البيانات وسهل عملية نقل المعلومات بسرعة بين فرق التقييم وإدخال البيانات.
  • كان الطقس خارج الموسم تحديا.
  • الكمي للتقييم وفرز سمحت لعملية صارمة علميا.
  • بعد الأعاصير ، انقضى ما يقرب من شهر 6 قبل بدء المشروع. بعد ذلك استعمرت الطحالب توقيع هيكل عظمي أبيض ناصع للشعاب الميتة مؤخراً. لذلك ، فإن تقييم الأضرار التي توفرها هذه الدراسة متحفظة.

ملخص التمويل

تم توفير التمويل للمشروع من قبل الوكالة الفيدرالية لإدارة الطوارئ (FEMA) والإدارة الوطنية للمحيطات والغلاف الجوي (NOAA)

المنظمات الرائدة

يفتح في نافذة جديدةالإدارة الوطنية الأمريكية للمحيطات والغلاف الجوي (NOAA)
يفتح في نافذة جديدةإدارة الموارد الطبيعية والبيئية في بورتوريكو (DRNA)

الشركاء

يفتح في نافذة جديدةSeaVentures، Inc.

الموارد

يفتح في نافذة جديدةتقييم إعصار الشعاب المرجانية والفرز في لوحة معلومات ArcGISOnline بورتوريكو

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Assessment of 2017 Hurricane Impacts to Coral Reefs in Puerto Rico

 

Location

Puerto Rico, USA

The challenge

In September 2017, Hurricanes Irma and Maria devastated the islands of Puerto Rico. In addition to the impacts the hurricanes had on land, they also had significant effects on Puerto Rico’s coral reefs, which are the island’s first line of defense against storm waves and flooding. Ad hoc surveys conducted after the hurricanes reported damage ranging from large coral heads being overturned or tossed into sand to extensive burial and breakage. In particular, known previously-dense thickets of the reef-building and Endangered Species Act (ESA) listed elkhorn coral (Acropora palmata) showed significant colony breakage due to the species’ branching morphology and location on the reef as a natural wave break. Extensive damage was also observed to corals from the major Caribbean reef-building genus Orbicella spp. (star coral), that are also ESA-listed species in addition to other coral species. Thus, FEMA assigned NOAA to conduct an island-wide assessment of the impacts of the hurricanes on the coral reefs.

Broken and dislodged fragments of elkhorn coral (Acropora palmata) after the hurricane. Photo © NOAA

In addition to assessing the status of Puerto Rico’s coral reefs after Hurricanes Irma and Maria, FEMA assigned NOAA to conduct emergency triage to salvage and reattach live corals that were still viable. Previous experience has shown that corals that have been physically impacted have a significantly greater chance of survival than those left unattached. It would take decades to regrow the large corals that were impacted, versus minutes to reattach it to the reef. Thus, concurrent with the assessment, emergency triage of highly-impacted reef sites was conducted.

A total of 414,354 m2 of coral reef and over 86,000 corals were surveyed at 153 sites across Puerto Rico between February 25 and May 7, 2018. Approximately 9,760 coral fragments or broken coral colonies were reattached to the reef at 69 sites in the Northeast, North, and Vieques regions between February and June 2018.

Actions taken

NOAA, Puerto Rico Department of Natural Resources, and SeaVentures assessed shallow coral reefs surrounding Puerto Rico and conducted triage stabilization of dislodged corals. We used a probabilistic sampling design for the assessment to allow for statistical inferences from samples to the larger coral reef ecosystem likely to have been damaged by hurricanes. The sample frame covered all known shallow water coral reefs surrounding mainland Puerto Rico, Vieques, Culebra, and the islands within the NE Reserve corridor. The sampling grid, consisting of individual cells measuring 50 x 50 m, was adapted from NOAA’s National Coral Reef Monitoring Program (NCRMP) sample frame, which has been used since 2014 to monitor corals and fishes surrounding Puerto Rico. For this effort, the sample frame was narrowed to focus on coral-dominated habitats in depths less than 7 meters (m), which were those most impacted based on reconnaissance surveys. To increase sampling efficiency and ensure representation from around the islands, the sample frame was stratified by the storm path, discrete coral reef habitats, and geographic region.

The assessment surveys, designed to be as rapid yet quantitative as possible, consisted of two types of in-water diver surveys: a transect survey and a roving survey. The transect survey sites were based on the stratified random sample design described above to allow for statistical representation of areas that have not been surveyed. Divers conducted a line-transect survey at pre-selected site coordinates. The roving survey provided an overview of a larger area outside of the assessment transect that may have had impacts. Roving surveys were also conducted at nonrandom locations informed by expert knowledge of high coral cover of priority species or expected damage.

For each assessment site and roving survey area, divers classified damage to site, damage to corals and/or framework, potential as a triage site, and potential as a long-term restoration site. Within survey areas, divers quantified coral species and size class, damage and type of damage, and disease. For both surveys, survey area was noted, GPS points or tracks recorded, and site photographs were collected. Data were recorded into a spatial database and uploaded into an ArcGISOnline Dashboard/Storymap within 1-3 days to inform the triage team about potential sites needing triage.

Puerto Rico Hurricane Assessment and Triage Project Story Map. © NOAA

A proportion of corals broken loose or fragmented by the hurricane can remain alive on the bottom, but are at risk of being tumbled by subsequent storm waves, which will continue to reduce the amount of live coral on a reef. By conducting coral triage, these loose at-risk corals were reattached to the reef substratum to minimize the overall hurricane damage at local scales. Triage was conducted at sites identified with the highest level of damage by both reconnaissance and formal assessment surveys focusing on locations with the highest cost benefit. A team of no less than 4 trained divers navigated to the predetermined triage site and prepared gear (e.g., crates, lift bags) and materials (e.g. cement, marmolina) for triage activities. Preparations were made based on the expected numbers, sizes, and species of corals to be reattached at the particular site. Once in the water, divers distributed themselves around the site to begin triage activities. Appropriate locations with open hardbottom were identified to reattach loose corals and avoid disturbing the existing undamaged corals present. Corals and fragments were temporarily cached near restoration locations prior to reattachment. Cement was used to re-attach corals to the substrate. The reef surface was cleaned of turf algae and sediment prior to reattachment to provide for successful adhesion of cement. Spatial data from triage (# corals, area) were also uploaded into the ArcGISOnline Dashboard.

Triage team divers cache corals prior to reattaching them to the reef (Vieques South Bank). Photo © NOAA

How successful has it been?

No quantitative post-triage monitoring has yet been conducted. Informal site visits have shown survival of re-attached corals.

Lessons learned and recommendations

Lessons learned from this project include:

  • In some cases, the habitat at the damaged site was not suitable for reattaching the damaged corals (i.e. reduced to rubble). In those cases, the coral fragments were collected and moved to an alternative site better-suited for long-term survival of the corals.
  • Having a dedicated data-entry person sped up the data-entry process and facilitated a quick information transfer between the assessment and data-entry teams.
  • Off-season weather was challenging.
  • Quantification of the assessment and triage allowed for a scientifically rigorous process.
  • After the hurricanes, approximately 6 months elapsed prior to the start of the project. The bright-white skeleton signature of recently-dead coral had subsequently been colonized by algae. Therefore, the damage assessment provided by this study is conservative.

Funding summary

Funding for the project was provided by the United States Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

Lead organizations

United States National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Puerto Rico Department of Natural and Environmental Resources (DRNA)

Partners

SeaVentures, Inc.

Resources

Hurricane Coral Reef Assessment and Triage in Puerto Rico ArcGISOnline Dashboard