風暴模式的變化

螞蟻環礁,波納佩,密克羅尼西亞。 照片©尼克霍爾

對風暴模式變化的預測

颶風弗朗西斯9月份接近佛羅里達,2004。 圖片由NASA和NOAA提供。

颶風弗朗西斯9月份接近佛羅里達,2004。 圖片由NASA和NOAA提供。

科學家們很難確定氣候變化(特別是變暖)是否導致了熱帶風暴模式的變化。 這是由於熱帶風暴的頻率和強度的自然變化很大(例如,由於 厄爾尼諾南方濤動),這使長期趨勢的檢測及其歸因於增加的溫室氣體變得複雜。 其他因素包括熱帶風暴全球歷史記錄的可用性和質量的限制,數據觀測方法的不一致性,事件的局部性以及進行研究的有限區域。

自1970中期以來,全球對颶風潛在破壞性的估計顯示出與熱帶海表溫度增加密切相關的上升趨勢。 文獻 自4以來,強颶風(5和75類)的數量增加了約1970%,其中印度,北太平洋和西南太平洋的颶風增幅最大。 在過去十年中,北大西洋的颶風頻率也高於正常水平。 然而,觀察旋風的能力的提高可能會使這些估計產生偏差。 文獻

儘管存在這些挑戰,但基於高分辨率模型的許多未來預測表明,人為變暖可能導致全球熱帶風暴平均更加強烈(2強度增加11-2100%)。 雖然一些研究表明熱帶氣旋的全球平均頻率一直在下降,但預計最激烈的氣旋頻率將大幅增加。 文獻

對珊瑚礁生態系統的影響

如果熱帶風暴的強度增加,那麼珊瑚礁需要更長的時間才能從風暴事件之間的衝擊中恢復。 風暴的直接物理影響包括侵蝕和/或移除珊瑚礁框架,大量珊瑚的移位,珊瑚破壞以及碎片造成的珊瑚疤痕。 不斷增加的風暴影響也可能導致脆弱的分支物種(導致珊瑚礁的大多數結構複雜性)比大型珊瑚的比例下降得更快,導致受影響的珊瑚礁的結構複雜性較低。 文獻

風暴有時可以使珊瑚受益

大風暴實際上對珊瑚礁有益。 例如,颶風可以通過短期降低當地海水溫度來減輕珊瑚白化,從而減少熱應激。 文獻 颶風還可以減少更容易受到熱應激的珊瑚群落的豐度(例如,分枝和表格群落),這些珊瑚群落可以主導很少遭受風暴的珊瑚礁,從而減少未來風暴造成進一步破壞的可能性。 熱帶風暴還可以暫時清除過多的大型藻類,這可能會限制珊瑚的繁殖和生長,儘管颶風後對珊瑚的覆蓋和營養物質的攪動可能會導致向藻類主導的群落轉移。 文獻 顯然,損壞和冷卻的結合可以在珊瑚礁動力學中發揮重要作用。 文獻

此外,由於洪水事件增多,沿海流域的淡水和溶解營養物的陸地徑流,以及沉積物運輸的變化(導致珊瑚窒息),強風暴也可能導致更大的珊瑚損害。 當風暴強度變得更加頻繁時,珊瑚骷髏很可能變得更容易受到破壞 海洋酸化 因此更容易受到風暴的破壞。 文獻

珊瑚礁上的風暴破壞非常不完整 文獻 由於風暴強度,大小和運動方面的巨大差異。 在風暴的直接路徑上移除整個珊瑚露頭(超過10s到100s的米),到更多避風區域的個體集體破壞,可能會造成損害。 文獻 干擾歷史,珊瑚覆蓋水平,珊瑚群落類型以及暴露和循環等環境因素也可能造成損害。 文獻

恢復也是高度可變的,取決於許多因素的相互作用,例如乾擾的規模,存活珊瑚的幼蟲的可用性,珊瑚沉降的基質的可用性,以及乾擾時存在的珊瑚群落的類型。文獻 風暴模式的變化也威脅到相關的珊瑚礁棲息地,如紅樹林。 例如,大風暴影響導致加勒比地區的紅樹林死亡率很高。 文獻

Changes in Storm Patterns

(ALL INTERNAL, but LIMITED EXTERNAL RIGHTS - CONTRACT ON FILE) Aerial view of Ant Atoll. Ant Atoll lies 18 miles west of the island of Pohnpei in Micronesia and is in line to become a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve due to its high levels of biodiversity and abundance of endemic species of marine birds and fishes. Federated States of Micronesia. Life in Micronesia has been shaped by the islands’ remoteness and the rich resources of their lands and seas. Yet this dependence makes islanders especially vulnerable to environmental threats, such as rising sea levels, pollution, deforestation and unsustainable fishing. The Nature Conservancy is working with both local government and NGOs to conserve resources and meet the future needs of the population through a program known as the Micronesia Challenge. PHOTO CREDIT: © Nick Hall

Projections of Changes in Storm Patterns

Hurricane Frances approaches Florida in September, 2004. Image courtesy NASA and NOAA.

Hurricane Frances approaches Florida in September, 2004. Image courtesy NASA and NOAA.

Scientists have a difficult time determining whether climate change (particularly warming) has led to changes in tropical storm patterns. This is due to the large natural variability in the frequency and intensity of tropical storms (e.g., due to the El Niño Southern Oscillation), which complicate the detection of long-term trends and their attribution to increasing greenhouse gases. Other factors include limitations in the availability and quality of global historical records of tropical storms, inconsistency in data observation methods, the localized nature of the events, and the limited areas where studies have been conducted.

Since the mid 1970’s, global estimates of the potential destructiveness of hurricanes show an upward trend strongly correlated with increasing tropical sea-surface temperature. ref The number of strong hurricanes (Category 4 and 5) increased by about 75% since 1970, with the largest increases observed in the Indian, North and Southwest Pacific Oceans. The frequency of hurricanes in the North Atlantic has also been above normal over the last decade. However, improvements in our ability to observe cyclones may have biased these estimates. ref

Despite these challenges, many future projections based on high-resolution models suggest that anthropogenic warming may cause tropical storms globally to be more intense on average (with intensity increases of 2–11% by 2100). While some studies consistently project decreases in the globally averaged frequency of tropical cyclones, substantial increases are projected in the frequency of the most intense cyclones. ref

Impacts on Coral Reef Ecosystems

If tropical storms increase in intensity, then coral reefs will need longer times for recovery from impacts between storm events. Direct physical impacts from storms include erosion and/or removal of the reef framework, dislodgement of massive corals, coral breakage, and coral scarring by debris. Increasing storm impacts are also likely to cause fragile branching species (responsible for most structural complexity on reefs) to decline more rapidly than the proportion of massive corals, resulting in low structural complexity on impacted reefs. ref

Storms can sometimes benefit corals

Large storms can actually be beneficial to coral reefs. For example, hurricanes can mitigate coral bleaching by causing short-term reductions in local sea temperatures, thus reducing thermal stress. ref Hurricanes can also reduce the abundance of coral colonies more susceptible to thermal stress, (e.g., branching and tabular colonies) which can dominate reefs that rarely experience storms, thus reducing the potential for future storms to cause further damage. Tropical storms can also temporarily remove excessive macroalgae, which can restrict coral recruitment and growth, although post-hurricane damage to coral cover and stirring of nutrients may lead to shifts to algal-dominated communities. ref Clearly the combination of damage and cooling can play an important role in reef dynamics. ref

 

In addition, stronger storms may also lead to greater coral damage due to increased flooding events, associated terrestrial runoff of freshwater and dissolved nutrients from coastal watersheds, and changes in sediment transport (leading to smothering of corals). When the intensity of storms becomes more frequent, coral skeletons are likely to become more susceptible to breakage under ocean acidification and therefore more susceptible to storm damage. ref

Storm damage on coral reefs is extremely patchy ref due to the substantial differences between storms in terms of their intensities, size, and movement. Damage can vary from removal of entire coral outcrops (over 10s to 100s of meters) in the direct path of a storm, to individual colony damage in more sheltered areas. ref  Damage may also be driven by disturbance history, level of coral cover, type of coral community, and environmental factors such as exposure and circulation. ref

Recovery is also highly variable and depends upon interactions of numerous factors, e.g., scale of the disturbance, availability of larvae from surviving corals, availability of substrate for coral settlement, and the type of coral community that existed at the time of the disturbance.ref  Changes in storm patterns also threaten associated coral reef habitats such as mangroves. For instance, large storm impacts have resulted in massive mangrove mortality in the Caribbean. ref