溫暖的海洋

螞蟻環礁,波納佩,密克羅尼西亞。 照片©尼克霍爾

海表溫度變化的預測(SST)

人類活動,如燃燒化石燃料,水泥生產和森林砍伐,增加了我們大氣中的溫室氣體濃度。 二氧化碳和其他熱量捕獲氣體的積累增加了大氣溫度,使自0.9以來的地球溫度升高~1880°C,並預計2-4°C之間會進一步加熱2100,這主要是由於人類活動造成的。 文獻 這種增加導致海洋溫度相應增加,特別是在海洋表面。 溫暖的海洋也可能導致更強大的海洋 風暴 並增加 海平面,這可以顯著影響珊瑚礁生態系統。

全球平均表面溫度從1950變為2100。 對於場景RCP2.6(藍色)和RCP8.5(紅色),顯示了不確定性(陰影)和投影的度量。 資料來源:IPCC 2013

全球平均表面溫度從1950變為2100。 對於場景RCP2.6(藍色)和RCP8.5(紅色),顯示了不確定性(陰影)和投影的度量。 圖片©IPCC 2013

對珊瑚礁生態系統的影響

珊瑚可以承受狹窄的環境條件,並且接近其耐熱性的上限。 因此,珊瑚對海水溫度的變化非常敏感。 異常高的海洋溫度(例如海溫1-2°C大於夏季平均最大值)可能導致 珊瑚漂白, 文獻 並可能導致珊瑚死亡,珊瑚覆蓋率下降和其他珊瑚礁棲息生物種群的變化。 如果熱應力減少,珊瑚可能會恢復,但如果壓力持續,就會發生死亡。 升高的SST也導致發病率增加 珊瑚病.

升高的海溫和高太陽輻照度與大規模珊瑚有關 大規模漂白事件. 文獻 由於SST在全球氣候變化下繼續變暖,預計大規模漂白事件的頻率和嚴重程度將增加,導致對全球珊瑚礁未來的主要擔憂。 文獻 氣候預測表明,2050之後每年都會超過珊瑚的熱閾值,如果不是更早的話。 文獻

由廣泛的漂白和生長受損引起的珊瑚礁退化可能對包括紅樹林和海草系統在內的鄰近生態系統產生不利影響,這些生態系統依靠珊瑚礁提供庇護而免受波浪作用。 預計熱應力還會導致分佈變化,有性生殖方式的變化以及紅樹林和海草的生長速率和新陳代謝發生變化。 文獻 升高的溫度可能會增加競爭性藻類的生長,這些藻類可能會過度生長海藻並減少生存所需的可用陽光。

珊瑚礁的能力 適應或適應 目前,全球變暖是一個研究課題。 文獻 儘管一些研究表明可能進行熱適應和/或馴化,但由於預計全球變暖的速度將加快以及熱事件的不穩定性,珊瑚適應/適應變暖的能力尚不確定。 文獻

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Warming Seas

(ALL INTERNAL, but LIMITED EXTERNAL RIGHTS - CONTRACT ON FILE) Aerial view of Ant Atoll. Ant Atoll lies 18 miles west of the island of Pohnpei in Micronesia and is in line to become a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve due to its high levels of biodiversity and abundance of endemic species of marine birds and fishes. Federated States of Micronesia. Life in Micronesia has been shaped by the islands’ remoteness and the rich resources of their lands and seas. Yet this dependence makes islanders especially vulnerable to environmental threats, such as rising sea levels, pollution, deforestation and unsustainable fishing. The Nature Conservancy is working with both local government and NGOs to conserve resources and meet the future needs of the population through a program known as the Micronesia Challenge. PHOTO CREDIT: © Nick Hall

Projections of Changes in Sea-Surface Temperature (SST)

Human activities, such as the burning of fossil fuels, cement production, and deforestation, have increased greenhouse gas concentrations in our atmosphere. The accumulation of carbon dioxide and other heat-trapping gasses has increased atmospheric temperatures, warming the Earth ~0.9°C since 1880, and projected to further warm it between 2-4°C by 2100, mostly due to human activity. ref This increase has led to a corresponding increase in ocean temperatures, particularly in the surface of the ocean. Warmer oceans may also lead to more powerful storms and increases in sea level, which can dramatically affect coral reef ecosystems.

Global average surface temperature change from 1950 to 2100. Measure of uncertainty (shading) and projections are shown for scenarios RCP2.6 (blue) and RCP8.5 (red). Source: IPCC 2013

Global average surface temperature change from 1950 to 2100. Measure of uncertainty (shading) and projections are shown for scenarios RCP2.6 (blue) and RCP8.5 (red). Image © IPCC 2013

Impacts on Coral Reef Ecosystems

Corals can tolerate a narrow range of environmental conditions and live near the upper limit of their thermal tolerance. Therefore, corals are very sensitive to changes in sea temperature. Abnormally high ocean temperatures (e.g., sea temperatures 1–2°C greater than average summer maxima) can cause coral bleaching, ref and can result in coral mortality, declines in coral cover and shifts in the population of other reef-dwelling organisms. If the thermal stress decreases, corals may recover, but if the stress is sustained, mortality can occur. Elevated SSTs also lead to increases in the incidence of coral disease.

Elevated SSTs combined with high solar irradiance have been linked to large scale coral large-scale bleaching events. ref The frequency and severity of large-scale bleaching events are expected to increase as SSTs continue to warm under global climate change, leading to major concerns about the future of coral reefs worldwide. ref Climate projections suggest that thermal thresholds for corals will be exceeded annually after 2050, if not sooner. ref

The degradation of coral reefs caused by widespread bleaching and impaired growth may adversely affect adjacent ecosystems including mangrove and seagrass systems that depend on the reefs to provide shelter from wave action. Thermal stress is also projected to result in distribution shifts, changes in patterns of sexual reproduction, and altered growth rates and metabolism for mangroves and seagrasses. ref Elevated temperatures may increase the growth of competitive algae which can overgrow seagrasses and reduce the available sunlight needed for survival.

The ability of coral reefs to acclimate or adapt to global warming is currently a topic of research. ref While some studies suggest that thermal adaptation and/or acclimatization is possible, the ability of corals to adapt/acclimate to warming is uncertain due to the speed at which global warming is projected to increase and the erratic nature of thermal events. ref