المناهج المتكاملة الأخرى

الغواصين في برنامج TNC Hawai'i الذين يجرون تقييما للصمود على طول ساحل جزيرة West Hawai'i. فوتو © ديفيد سلاتر

ركزت جهود الإدارة بشكل تقليدي على الإنتاجية (إدارة الموارد) أو الحفظ (حماية التنوع البيولوجي). ومع ذلك ، فإن الوضع الحالي - دعا أزمة من قبل بعض الخبراء المرجع - يطالب بنهج أكثر شمولية وتكاملي لإدارة الشعاب المرجانية يشمل أيضًا أصحاب المصلحة في عمليات صنع القرار.

تقدم الأقسام التالية عدة مناهج متكاملة للإدارة بالإضافة إلى الإدارة القائمة على النتائج التي يمكن أن تساعد المديرين على التعامل مع أوجه الترابط المعقدة في أنظمة الشعاب المرجانية وتحقيق التوازن بين الاحتياجات قصيرة الأجل للمجتمع مع الولاية الطويلة الأجل للاستدامة.

النظام البيئي للشعاب المرجانية

يمتد النظام البيئي للشعاب المرجانية إلى ما وراء حدوده المادية ليشمل الموائل المجاورة التي يتفاعل معها ، خاصة قاع الأعشاب البحرية ، وبحيرات الشعاب المرجانية ، وأشجار المانغروف التي توفر مشاتل أسماك مهمة. يجب اعتبار كل هذه الموائل المرتبطة وإدارتها كأجزاء من وحدة وظيفية واحدة. صور © Stephanie Wear / TNC

الإدارة المستندة إلى النظام الإيكولوجي (EBM) هي نهج إدارة متكامل يأخذ في الاعتبار النظام البيئي بأكمله ، بما في ذلك البشر. تدرس EBM التأثيرات والتفاعلات التراكمية للأنشطة البشرية على النظام البيئي بأكمله. بينما هناك الكثير تعاريف EBM، يمكن تحديد هدفها ببساطة: الحفاظ على نظام بيئي في حالة صحية ومنتجة ومرنة حتى يتمكن من توفير الخدمات التي يريدها ويحتاجها البشر. تتميز EBM بالتركيز على حماية بنية النظام الإيكولوجي وعمله والعمليات الرئيسية ، بدلاً من التركيز على بعض الأنواع الرئيسية أو مؤشرات حالة النظام. كما أنه قائم على المكان لأنه يركز على نظام بيئي معين ومجموعة الأنشطة التي تؤثر عليه. تحسب EBM صراحةً الترابط بين الأنظمة ، مثل الهواء والبر والجو ، وتهدف إلى دمج المنظورات الإيكولوجية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية والمؤسسية ، مع الاعتراف بترابطها القوي. الإدارة القائمة على النظام الإيكولوجي مبنية على ثمانية عناصر أساسية: المرجع
 

  • استدامة - دعم خدمات النظام البيئي عبر الأجيال القادمة.
  • الأهداف - أهداف قابلة للقياس تحدد العمليات والنتائج المستقبلية.
  • النماذج البيئية السليمة والتفاهم - البحث على جميع مستويات التنظيم البيئي يوفر فهم العمليات والتفاعلات الشاملة.
  • التعقيد والترابط - يعزز التنوع البيولوجي والتعقيد الهيكلي النظم الإيكولوجية من الاضطرابات ودعم التكيف مع التغيير طويل الأجل.
  • الطابع الديناميكي للنظم الإيكولوجية - التغيير والتطور متأصلان في النظم الإيكولوجية ، وتركز مناهج EBM على عمليات النظام بدلاً من السعي للحفاظ على حالة نظام الجسيمات.
  • السياق والحجم - تعمل عمليات النظام الإيكولوجي على نطاق واسع من المقاييس المكانية والزمانية ، بحيث يكون سلوك النظام سياقيًا للغاية. تحتاج أساليب EBM إلى تصميمها لظروف محلية محددة.
  • البشر كعناصر النظام البيئي - تدرك إدارة النظام الإيكولوجي تأثير البشر على النظم الإيكولوجية ، والعكس صحيح.
  • القدرة على التكيف والمساءلة - فهم وظيفة النظام الإيكولوجي وسلوكه يتطوران ، وغالبًا ما يتم اتخاذ القرارات بمعرفة غير كاملة. يجب اعتبار الإدارة كفرضيات يتم اختبارها وتحسينها في نهج التعلم المستمر.
نهج النظام البيئي

تم الاعتراف بالحاجة إلى دراسة أوسع للقضايا البيئية وقضايا النظام البيئي في مصايد الأسماك. Photo © Ned Deloach / Marine Photobank

يدعو نهج النظام الإيكولوجي لإدارة مصايد الأسماك (EAFM) إلى اتباع نهج شامل لإدارة الموارد يعترف بصيانة وظائف وخدمات النظام الإيكولوجي كهدف أساسي لإدارة مصايد الأسماك. يشترك نظام EAFM في العديد من المبادئ مع الإدارة القائمة على النظام الإيكولوجي (EBM) ، ولكن مع التركيز بشكل خاص على إدارة استخدامات موارد مصايد الأسماك. يدمج نظام EAFM بشكل صريح المجموعة الأوسع نطاقاً من المنافع المتعلقة بمصايد الأسماك المستمدة من النظام البيئي في اعتبارات الإدارة ، بما في ذلك الاستخدامات الأخرى - المتضاربة في كثير من الأحيان - للموارد البحرية. كما أن لديها تركيزًا قويًا على دمج أوجه عدم اليقين والتنوع والتغييرات المتوقعة في إدارة مصايد الأسماك. يتضمن EAFM نهجًا احترازيًا يشمل النظام بأكمله ، بدلاً من أن يكون مدفوعًا بهدف بسيط يتمثل في تعظيم حصاد الأنواع المستهدفة. يزيد نهج النظام الإيكولوجي بشكل كبير من التوافق في أهداف الإدارة بين مصايد الأسماك وحفظ الشعاب المرجانية ، مما قد يسمح بنهج تعاوني مع التركيز المشترك على بناء قدرة الشعاب المرجانية على الصمود.

مصايد الأسماك

يمكن دمج أهداف حفظ التنوع البيولوجي وإنتاجية مصايد الأسماك في إطار تخطيط واحد. الصورة © كريس سوفيرت

يخلق ظهور EAFM العديد من الفرص لمديري الشعاب المرجانية للعمل مع مديري مصايد الأسماك في الحفاظ على النظم البيئية للشعاب المرجانية. تكتسب EAFM مكانة بارزة ويتم اعتمادها بشكل متزايد في السياسات الوطنية لمصايد الأسماك. هذا هو النهج الأساسي لإدارة مصايد الأسماك الذي تدعو إليه منظمة الأغذية والزراعة (الفاو) التابعة للأمم المتحدة للامتثال للاتفاقية مدونة السلوك لمنظمة الأغذية والزراعة بشأن الصيد الرشيد. حددت المنظمة المبادئ التالية للـ EAFM:

  • يجب إدارة مصايد الأسماك للحد من تأثيرها على النظام البيئي إلى أقصى حد ممكن.
  • يجب الحفاظ على العلاقات البيئية بين الأنواع التي يتم حصادها والاعتماد عليها والأنواع المرتبطة بها.
  • يجب أن تكون تدابير الإدارة متوافقة عبر التوزيع الكامل للمورد (عبر الولايات القضائية وخطط الإدارة).
  • ينبغي تطبيق النهج التحوطي لأن المعرفة بالنظم الإيكولوجية غير كاملة.
  • يجب أن تضمن الإدارة كلاً من رفاهية الإنسان والنظام الإيكولوجي والإنصاف.

تتضمن EAFM أربع خطوات تخطيط رئيسية:

  1. بدء ونطاق - تسأل هذه الخطوة المديرين: ما الذي ستديره وما هي الأهداف التي تريد تحقيقها؟
  2. تحديد الأصول والقضايا والأولوية - هذه الخطوة تتطلب من المديرين تحديد جميع القضايا ذات الصلة لمصايد الأسماك وتحديد أي منهم يحتاجون إلى تدخل الإدارة المباشر لمصايد الأسماك لتحقيق أهدافها.
  3. تطوير نظام EAFM - تعمل هذه الخطوة على تحديد أنسب مجموعة من الترتيبات الإدارية والمؤسسية اللازمة لتحقيق الأهداف.
  4. إضفاء الطابع المؤسسي والمراقبة ومراجعة الأداء - تؤسس هذه الخطوة نظام الإدارة الجديد وتستعرض أدائه.
الإدارة الساحلية المتكاملة

دمج احتياجات النظم الإيكولوجية الساحلية والبشر والعمليات الطبيعية يمكن أن يؤدي إلى خطة شبكة MPA ناجحة. الصورة © Stephanie Wear / TNC

غالبًا ما تحدث الشعاب المرجانية داخل المنطقة الساحلية المعقدة والمترابطة للغاية. يمكن للأنشطة داخل المنطقة الساحلية (مثل التنمية الحضرية والزراعة وإدارة الأنهار) أن تؤثر بشكل كبير على صحة الشعاب المرجانية. 

إدارة المناطق الساحلية (CZM) ، والتي تسمى أيضًا الإدارة المتكاملة للمناطق الساحلية (ICZM) ، هي عملية حوكمة يمكن أن تساعد مديري الشعاب المرجانية على ضمان وضع خطط التنمية والإدارة للمنطقة الساحلية في أهداف بيئية واجتماعية تتعلق بالشعاب المرجانية. يوفر CZM إطارًا قانونيًا ومؤسسيًا يهدف إلى دعم الجهود المبذولة لزيادة الفوائد التي توفرها المنطقة الساحلية ، بما في ذلك الشعاب المرجانية ، مع التقليل إلى أدنى حد من النزاعات والآثار الضارة للأنشطة على بعضها البعض ، وعلى الموارد ، وعلى البيئة.المرجع وتتمثل السمات الرئيسية لعمليات CZM في أنها تنطوي على مشاركة نشطة من جانب المتضررين بقرارات التخطيط والتخطيط للمناطق الساحلية ، وأنها متعددة التخصصات ومتعددة القطاعات.

غالبًا ما يتم تحقيق CZM من خلال نهج التخطيط المكاني ، وفي هذا الصدد يمكن أن يكون لها الكثير من القواسم المشتركة مع التخطيط المكاني البحري (MSP). يمكن أن تشمل CZM أيضًا مناطق مستجمعات المياه (مستجمعات المياه) ، وبالتالي يمكن أن تتداخل معها إدارة مستجمعات المياه أو "التلال إلى الشعاب". بشكل عام ، ومع ذلك ، يقتصر عمليا CZM على الموائل والأشكال الأرضية المعترف بها بسهولة باسم "الساحل" ، مع التعريفات المكانية في كثير من الأحيان تتماشى مع الحدود الإدارية أو القضائية.

تشمل الاستراتيجيات الخاصة بنهج CZM لحماية الشعاب المرجانية ما يلي:

  • تحديد ما إذا كانت المبادئ التقليدية أو تدابير إدارة الموارد موجودة وما إذا كان تنفيذها المناسب يمكن أن يعزز إدارة الموارد الساحلية.
  • إشراك المجتمعات المحلية لاستخراج المعارف القصصية والتقليدية ، وإشراك أصحاب المصلحة المحليين في تخطيط السياسات وتنفيذها ، وخلق دعم محلي لسياسات الإدارة الساحلية.
  • جرد البيئات الساحلية والموارد والبرامج للتعرف على وتحسين الصحة وإدارة البيئة الساحلية بشكل أفضل.
  • تحديد الأهداف قصيرة الأجل وطويلة الأجل التي تتطلب التنمية الساحلية بما يتفق مع الحفاظ على البيئة وخلق استراتيجية لإدارة المناطق الساحلية.
  • إنشاء وإنفاذ إطار قانوني ومؤسسي قوي ، بما في ذلك الحوافز الاقتصادية لتعزيز السلوكيات والنتائج المرجوة.
  • تطوير دائرة قوية لإدارة المناطق الساحلية وشراكات على المستويات المحلية والإقليمية والوطنية.
  • إنشاء المناطق البحرية المحمية (MPAs) ، بما في ذلك المحميات غير المأخوذة لحماية الأنواع والأنظمة الإيكولوجية ذات القيمة الخاصة والمحافظة عليها وإدارتها على نحو مستدام (ويشمل ذلك الأنواع والموائل المهددة).
  • إجراء تقييمات الأثر البيئي (EIAs) لجميع مشاريع التنمية في القطاعات الأرضية والمائية في المنطقة الساحلية.
  • تقييم ورصد الملوثات في عمود الماء والتخطيط للسيطرة على التلوث.
التخطيط المكاني مع المجتمع

يستخدم العلماء والوكالات والمنظمات بشكل متزايد نُهج التخطيط المنهجي لتحديد مكان وكيفية تخصيص الجهد في الحفظ والإدارة ، وخاصة على المستويات الإقليمية. الصورة © Mark Godfrey / TNC

التخطيط المكاني البحري (MSP) هو نهج منسق لتحديد مكان حدوث الأنشطة البشرية في المحيط لتقليل النزاعات بين أصحاب المصلحة ، وتعظيم الفوائد التي يحصل عليها الناس من المحيط ، والمساعدة في الحفاظ على الموائل البحرية الصحية. تم تعريف MSP على أنها "عملية تحليل وتخصيص أجزاء من المساحات البحرية ثلاثية الأبعاد لاستخدامات محددة ، لتحقيق الأهداف البيئية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية التي يتم تحديدها عادة من خلال العملية السياسية". الناتج الرئيسي لعملية MSP المرجع عادة ما تكون خطة أو رؤية شاملة لمنطقة بحرية ، بما في ذلك تخطيط التنفيذ والإدارة. عادة ما يكون MSP هو النهج المستخدم لتحقيق أهداف الإدارة القائمة على النظام الإيكولوجي (EBM) وإدارة المناطق الساحلية (CZM).

تشمل العديد من فوائد استخدام MSP كأداة لتحقيق EBM و CZM:

  • يعالج الأهداف الاجتماعية والثقافية والاقتصادية والبيئية بنهج كلي
  • يدمج الأهداف البحرية (بين السياسات وبين مستويات التخطيط المختلفة)
  • يحسن اختيار الموقع للتطوير أو الحفظ ؛ نهج أكثر استراتيجية واستباقية توفر فوائد طويلة الأجل
  • يدعم الإدارة المنسقة على نطاق النظم الإيكولوجية وكذلك الولايات القضائية السياسية
  • يقلل من النزاعات بين الاستخدامات في المنطقة البحرية
  • يقلل من مخاطر الأنشطة البحرية التي تضر النظم الإيكولوجية البحرية بما في ذلك تحسين النظر في الآثار التراكمية

10 خطوات أوصت بها UNSECO للتخطيط المكاني البحري

  • الخطوة 1: تحديد الحاجة وتأسيس السلطة
  • الخطوة 2: الحصول على الدعم المالي
  • الخطوة 3: تنظيم العملية (التخطيط المسبق)
  • الخطوة 4: تنظيم مشاركة أصحاب المصلحة
  • الخطوة 5: تحديد وتحليل الظروف الحالية
  • الخطوة 6: تحديد وتحليل الظروف المستقبلية
  • الخطوة 7: تطوير والموافقة على خطة الإدارة المكانية
  • الخطوة 8: تنفيذ وإنفاذ خطة الإدارة المكانية
  • الخطوة 9: مراقبة وتقييم الأداء
  • الخطوة 10: تكييف عملية الإدارة المكانية البحرية

 
يمكن أن تساعد عملية التخطيط المكاني البحري في حل بعض أكبر التحديات المرتبطة بالطبيعة "المفتوحة الوصول" أو "الشائعة" لاستخدام الموارد البحرية (والإفراط في استخدامها!). ومع ذلك ، لكي تكون الخطة متوسطة الأجل فعالة ، يجب تنفيذها مع التزام قوي بالعمل والمشاركة والمتابعة. يجب أن يكون التخطيط المكاني البحري عملية تكرارية مستمرة تتضمن مشاركة أصحاب المصلحة مما يؤدي إلى نتائج الإدارة.

 

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس

Integrated Approaches

Management efforts have conventionally focused on either productivity (resource management) or conservation (biodiversity protection). However, the current situation — called a crisis by some experts ref — is demanding a more holistic and integrative approach to coral reef management that also includes stakeholders in the decision-making processes.

The following sections introduce several other integrated approaches to management in addition to RBM that can help managers deal with the complex interdependencies in coral reef systems and balance the short-term needs of society with the longer-term mandate for sustainability.

reef ecosystem

The reef ecosystem extends beyond its physical boundary to include the neighboring habitats with which it interacts, especially seagrass beds, back-reef lagoons, and mangroves which provide important fish nurseries. All these linked habitats must be considered and managed as parts of a single functional unit. Photos © Stephanie Wear/TNC

Ecosystem based management (EBM) is an integrated management approach that considers the entire ecosystem, including humans.  EBM takes into account the cumulative impacts and interactions of the range of human activities on the whole ecosystem. While there are many definitions of EBM, its goal can be simply stated: to maintain an ecosystem in a healthy, productive, and resilient condition so that it can provide the services humans want and need. EBM is characterized by an emphasis on the protection of ecosystem structure, functioning and key processes, rather than just a few key species or indicators of system state. It is also place-based as it focuses on a specific ecosystem and the range of activities affecting it. EBM explicitly accounts for the interconnectedness among systems, such as between air, land and sea, and it aims to integrate ecological, social, economic and institutional perspectives, recognizing their strong interdependencies. Ecosystem-based management is built around eight core elements: ref

  • Sustainability — Sustaining ecosystem services through future generations.
  • Goals — Measurable goals that specify future processes and outcomes.
  • Sound ecological models and understanding — Research at all levels of ecological organization provides the understanding of processes and cross-scale interactions.
  • Complexity and connectedness — Biological diversity and structural complexity strengthen ecosystems against disturbance and support adaptation to long-term change.
  • Dynamic character of ecosystems — Change and evolution are inherent in ecosystems, and EBM approaches focus on system processes rather than aiming to preserve a particulate system state.
  • Context and scale — Ecosystem processes operate over a wide range of spatial and temporal scales, so that system behavior is highly contextual. EBM approaches need to be designed for specific local circumstances.
  • Humans as ecosystem components — Ecosystem management recognizes the influence of humans on ecosystems, and vice versa.
  • Adaptability and accountability — Understanding of ecosystem function and behavior are evolving, and decisions are often made with incomplete knowledge. Management must be viewed as hypotheses to be tested and improved in a continuous learning approach.
ecosystem approach

The need for a wider consideration of environmental and ecosystem issues in fisheries has been acknowledged. Photo © Ned Deloach/Marine Photobank

The Ecosystem Approach to Fisheries Management (EAFM) advocates a holistic approach to resource management that recognizes maintenance of ecosystem functions and services as a primary objective for fisheries management. EAFM shares many principles with ecosystem-based management (EBM), but with a particular focus on management of uses of fisheries resources. EAFM explicitly integrates the broader set of fisheries-related benefits derived from the ecosystem into management considerations, including other — often conflicting — uses of marine resources. It also has a strong focus on incorporating uncertainties, variability and predicted changes into fisheries management. EAFM involves a precautionary approach that encompasses the whole system, rather than being driven by a simple goal of maximizing harvest of a target species. The ecosystem approach greatly increases the alignment in management objectives between fisheries and reef conservation, potentially allowing for a collaborative approach with a shared focus on building reef resilience.

fisheries

Biodiversity conservation and fisheries productivity objectives can be integrated in a single planning framework. Photo © Chris Seufert

The emergence of EAFM creates many opportunities for coral reef managers to work with fisheries managers in the conservation of reef ecosystems. EAFM is gaining prominence and increasingly being adopted in national fisheries policies. It is the principle approach to fisheries management advocated by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations to comply with the FAO Code of Conduct for Responsible Fisheries. FAO have identified the following principles for EAFM:

  • Fisheries should be managed to limit their impact on the ecosystem to the extent possible.
  • Ecological relationships between harvested, dependent and associated species should be maintained.
  • Management measures should be compatible across the entire distribution of the resource (across jurisdictions and management plans).
  • The precautionary approach should be applied because the knowledge on ecosystems is incomplete.
  • Governance should ensure both human and ecosystem wellbeing and equity.

EAFM includes four main planning steps:

  1. Initiation and scope — This step asks managers: What are you going to manage and what objectives do you want to achieve?
  2. Identification of assets, issues, and priority — This step requires managers to identify all of the relevant issues for the fishery and determine which of them need direct management intervention for the fishery to achieve its objectives.
  3. Development of the EAF management system — This step works to determine the most appropriate set of management and institutional arrangements needed to achieve the objectives.
  4. Institutionalization, monitoring, and performance review — This step establishes the new management system and reviews its performance.
integrated coastal management

Integrating the needs of coastal ecosystems, humans and natural processes can result in a successful MPA Network plan. Photo © Stephanie Wear/TNC

Coral reefs often occur within the complex and highly interconnected coastal zone. Activities within the coastal zone, including urban development, agriculture and river management, can be major influences on the health of coral reefs. 

Coastal zone management (CZM), also termed integrated coastal zone management (ICZM), is a process of governance that can help coral reef managers ensure development and management plans for the coastal zone incorporate environmental and social goals relating to coral reefs. CZM provides a legal and institutional framework that aims to support efforts to maximize the benefits provided by the coastal zone, including coral reefs, while minimizing conflicts and harmful effects of activities upon each other, on resources and on the environment.ref Key features of CZM processes are that they involve active participation by those affected by coastal zone management and planning decisions, and that they are inter-disciplinary and inter-sectorial.

CZM is often achieved through spatial planning approaches, and in this regard it can have much in common with marine spatial planning (MSP). CZM can also include areas of watersheds (river catchments), and therefore can overlap with watershed or ‘ridge-to-reef’ management. Generally, however, CZM is practically limited to the habitats and landforms readily recognized as ‘the coast’, with spatial definitions often aligning with administrative or jurisdictional boundaries.

Strategies for a CZM approach to protecting coral reefs include:

  • Determine whether traditional principles or resource management measures exist and whether their appropriate implementation could enhance coastal resource management.
  • Engage local communities to extract anecdotal and traditional knowledge, to involve local stakeholders in policy planning and implementation, and to create local support for coastal management policies.
  • Inventory coastal environments, resources, and programs to learn about, improve the health, and better manage the coastal environment.
  • Determine short-term and long-term goals that call for coastal development consistent with the preservation of the environment and create a strategy for coastal zone management.
  • Create and enforce a strong legal and institutional framework, including economic incentives to reinforce desired behaviors and outcomes.
  • Develop a strong coastal management constituency and partnerships at the local, regional and national levels.
  • Establish Marine Protected Areas (MPAs), including no-take reserves, to protect, preserve and sustainably manage species and ecosystems of special value (this includes threatened species and habitats).
  • Perform Environmental Impact Assessments (EIAs) of all development projects in the terrestrial and aquatic sections of the coastal zone.
  • Assess and monitor pollutants in the water column and make a plan for pollution control.
spatial planning with community

Scientists, agencies and organizations increasingly are using systematic planning approaches to identify where and how to allocate effort in conservation and management, particularly at regional levels. Photo © Mark Godfrey/TNC

Marine spatial planning (MSP) is a coordinated approach to designating where human activities occur in the ocean to minimize conflicts among stakeholders, maximize the benefits that people receive from the ocean, and help maintain healthy marine habitats. MSP has been defined as the “process of analyzing and allocating parts of the three-dimensional marine spaces to specific uses, to achieve ecological, economic and social objectives that are usually specified through the political process”. The major output from an MSP process ref is usually a comprehensive plan or vision for a marine region, including implementation and management planning. MSP is usually the approach usually used for achieving the goals of ecosystem-based management (EBM) and coastal zone management (CZM).

Several benefits of using MSP as a tool for achieving EBM and CZM include:

  • Addresses social, cultural, economic, and environmental objectives with a holistic approach
  • Integrates marine objectives (both between policies and between different planning levels)
  • Improves site selection for development or conservation; more strategic and proactive approach that delivers long-term benefits
  • Supports coordinated management at the scale of ecosystems as well as political jurisdictions
  • Reduces conflicts among uses in the marine area
  • Reduces risk of marine activities damaging marine ecosystems including improved consideration of cumulative effects

UNSECO’s Recommended 10 Steps for Marine Spatial Planning

  • Step 1: Defining need and establishing authority
  • Step 2: Obtaining financial support
  • Step 3: Organizing the process (pre-planning)
  • Step 4: Organizing stakeholder participation
  • Step 5: Defining and analyzing existing conditions
  • Step 6: Defining and analyzing future conditions
  • Step 7: Developing and approving the spatial management plan
  • Step 8: Implementing and enforcing the spatial management plan
  • Step 9: Monitoring and evaluating performance
  • Step 10: Adapting the marine spatial management process

 
An MSP process can help resolve some of the biggest challenges associated with the ‘open access’ or ‘common’ nature of marine resource use (and overuse!). However, to be effective, MSP needs to be implemented with a strong commitment to process, engagement and follow through. MSP should be seen as an ongoing, iterative process that includes stakeholder participation and which leads to management outcomes.

Translate »