綜合方法

Na Pali海岸的高懸崖,考艾島,夏威夷。 照片©Ethan Welty

管理工作通常側重於生產力(資源管理)或保護(生物多樣性保護)。 但是,目前的情況 - 被一些專家稱為危機 文獻 - 要求對珊瑚礁管理採取更全面和綜合的方法,並將利益相關者納入決策過程。

以下各節介紹了除RBM之外的其他幾種綜合管理方法,可以幫助管理人員處理珊瑚礁系統中復雜的相互依賴關係,並平衡社會的短期需求與可持續性的長期任務。

礁石生態系統

珊瑚礁生態系統超出其物理邊界,包括與其相互作用的鄰近棲息地,尤其是海草床,背礁潟湖和提供重要魚類苗圃的紅樹林。 所有這些相互關聯的棲息地必須作為單個功能單元的一部分進行考慮和管理。 照片©Stephanie Wear / TNC

基於生態系統的管理(EBM)是一種綜合管理方法,可以考慮整個生態系統,包括人類。 EBM考慮了人類活動對整個生態系統的累積影響和相互作用。 雖然有很多 EBM的定義,其目標可以簡單地說明:將生態系統維持在健康,高效和富有彈性的狀態,以便它能夠提供人類想要和需要的服務。 EBM的特點是強調保護生態系統結構,功能和關鍵過程,而不僅僅是一些關鍵物種或系統狀態指標。 它也是基於地點的,因為它側重於特定的生態系統和影響它的一系列活動。 EBM明確地說明了系統之間的相互聯繫,例如空中,陸地和海洋之間的相互聯繫,它旨在整合生態,社會,經濟和製度觀點,認識到它們之間的強烈相互依賴性。 基於生態系統的管理圍繞八個核心要素構建: 文獻

  • 可持續發展 - 通過後代保持生態系統服務。
  • 目標 - 可衡量的目標,指定未來的過程和結果。
  • 健全的生態模型和理解 - 各級生態組織的研究提供了對過程和跨規模互動的理解。
  • 複雜性和連通性 - 生物多樣性和結構複雜性加強了生態系統免受干擾,並支持適應長期變化。
  • 生態系統的動態特徵 - 變化和演變是生態系統中固有的,EBM方法側重於系統過程,而不是旨在保持微粒系統狀態。
  • 背景和規模 - 生態系統過程在廣泛的空間和時間尺度上運作,因此系統行為具有高度的背景。 EBM方法需要針對特定的當地情況進行設計。
  • 人類作為生態系統組成部分 - 生態系統管理認識到人類對生態系統的影響,反之亦然。
  • 適應性和問責制 - 對生態系統功能和行為的理解正在發展,決策通常是在知識不完整的情況下做出的。 必須將管理視為在持續學習方法中進行測試和改進的假設。
生態系統方法

人們已經認識到需要更廣泛地考慮漁業中的環境和生態系統問題。 照片©Ned Deloach / Marine Photobank

漁業管理生態系統方法(EAFM)倡導採用整體資源管理方法,將生態系統功能和服務的維護作為漁業管理的主要目標。 EAFM與基於生態系統的管理(EBM)有許多原則,但特別側重於漁業資源利用管理。 EAFM明確將從生態系統中獲得的更廣泛的漁業相關利益納入管理考慮因素,包括其他 - 通常相互衝突 - 對海洋資源的利用。 它還非常注重將不確定性,可變性和預測變化納入漁業管理。 EAFM涉及一種涵蓋整個系統的預防方法,而不是由最大化目標物種收穫的簡單目標驅動。 生態系統方法極大地提高了漁業與珊瑚礁保護之間管理目標的一致性,可能採取協作方式,共同致力於建立珊瑚礁恢復力。

漁業

生物多樣性保護和漁業生產力目標可以納入單一的規劃框架。 照片©Chris Seufert

EAFM的出現為珊瑚礁管理者提供了許多機會,可以與漁業管理人員一起保護珊瑚礁生態系統。 EAFM越來越受到重視,並越來越多地被國家漁業政策採用。 這是聯合國糧食及農業組織(糧農組織)倡導的漁業管理的主要方法,以遵守該規定 糧農組織負責任漁業行為守則。 糧農組織確定了EAFM的以下原則:

  • 應盡可能地管理漁業以限制其對生態系統的影響。
  • 應保持收穫物種,依賴物種和相關物種之間的生態關係。
  • 管理措施應在整個資源分配(跨轄區和管理計劃)中兼容。
  • 應採用預防方法,因為對生態系統的了解不完整。
  • 治理應確保人類和生態系統的健康和公平。

EAFM包括四個主要規劃步驟:

  1. 啟動和範圍 - 此步驟詢問經理:您打算管理什麼以及您希望實現哪些目標?
  2. 確定資產,問題和優先事項 - 這一步驟要求管理者確定漁業的所有相關問題,並確定哪些需要漁業直接管理干預以實現其目標。
  3. 開發EAFM系統 - 這一步驟旨在確定實現目標所需的最合適的管理和製度安排。
  4. 制度化,監督和績效評估 - 此步驟建立新的管理系統並檢查其性能。
沿海綜合管理

整合沿海生態系統,人類和自然過程的需求可以成功實施MPA網絡計劃。 照片©Stephanie Wear / TNC

珊瑚礁經常出現在復雜且高度相互關聯的沿海地區。 沿海地區的活動(如城市發展,農業和河流管理)可能對珊瑚礁的健康產生重大影響。

沿海地區管理(CZM),也稱為沿海地區綜合管理(ICZM),是一個治理過程,可以幫助珊瑚礁管理者確保沿海地區的發展和管理計劃納入與珊瑚礁有關的環境和社會目標。 CZM提供了一個法律和體制框架,旨在支持最大限度地提高沿海地區(包括珊瑚礁)所帶來的利益的努力,同時盡量減少活動相互之間,資源和環境的衝突和有害影響。文獻 CZM流程的主要特點是,它們涉及受沿海地區管理和規劃決策影響的人的積極參與,並且是跨學科和跨部門的。

CZM通常通過空間規劃方法實現,在這方面,它可以與海洋空間規劃(MSP)有很多共同之處。 CZM還可以包括流域區域(河流集水區),因此可以與之重疊 分水嶺或“脊到礁”的管理。 然而,一般而言,CZM實際上僅限於容易被認為是“海岸”的棲息地和地貌,其空間定義通常與行政或管轄邊界一致。

CZM保護珊瑚礁的方法包括:

  • 確定是否存在傳統原則或資源管理措施,以及它們的適當實施是否可以加強沿海資源管理。
  • 讓當地社區參與提取軼事和傳統知識,讓當地利益相關者參與政策規劃和實施,並為沿海管理政策創建當地支持。
  • 盤點沿海環境,資源和計劃,以了解,改善健康,並更好地管理沿海環境。
  • 確定要求沿海開發與環境保護相一致的短期和長期目標,並製定沿海地區管理戰略。
  • 創建並實施強有力的法律和製度框架,包括經濟激勵措施,以加強理想的行為和結果。
  • 在地方,區域和國家各級建立強有力的沿海管理支持者和夥伴關係。
  • 建立海洋保護區(MPAs),包括禁捕儲備,以保護,保護和可持續管理具有特殊價值的物種和生態系統(包括受威脅的物種和棲息地)。
  • 對沿海地區的陸地和水生部分的所有開發項目進行環境影響評估(EIA)。
  • 評估和監測水柱中的污染物並製定污染控制計劃。
與社區的空間規劃

科學家,機構和組織越來越多地使用系統規劃方法來確定在保護和管理方面分配工作的地點和方式,特別是在區域層面。 照片©Mark Godfrey / TNC

海洋空間規劃(MSP)是一種協調方法,用於指定人類活動在海洋中發生的位置,以最大限度地減少利益相關者之間的衝突,最大限度地提高人們從海洋獲得的利益,並幫助維持健康的海洋棲息地。 MSP被定義為“為特定用途分析和分配三維海洋空間的部分,實現通常通過政治過程指定的生態,經濟和社會目標的過程”。 MSP流程的主要輸出 文獻 通常是海洋區域的綜合計劃或願景,包括實施和管理規劃。 MSP通常是用於實現基於生態系統的管理(EBM)和沿海地區管理(CZM)目標的方法。

使用MSP作為實現EBM和CZM的工具的幾個好處包括:

  • 通過整體方法解決社會,文化,經濟和環境目標
  • 整合海洋目標(政策之間和不同規划水平之間)
  • 改善選址用於開發或保護; 更具戰略性和主動性的方法,可帶來長期利益
  • 支持生態系統和政治管轄範圍內的協調管理
  • 減少海洋區域使用之間的衝突
  • 減少海洋活動破壞海洋生態系統的風險,包括改進對累積影響的考慮

UNSECO推薦的10海洋空間規劃步驟

  • 步驟1:定義需求並建立權限
  • 步驟2:獲得財務支持
  • 步驟3:組織流程(預先計劃)
  • 步驟4:組織利益相關者參與
  • 步驟5:定義和分析現有條件
  • 步驟6:定義和分析未來的條件
  • 步驟7:制定和批准空間管理計劃
  • 步驟8:實施和實施空間管理計劃
  • 步驟9:監控和評估性能
  • 步驟10:調整海洋空間管理過程


MSP流程可以幫助解決與海洋資源使用(和過度使用!)的“開放獲取”或“共同”性質相關的一些最大挑戰。 但是,為了有效,MSP需要在對流程,參與和貫徹的堅定承諾下實施。 MSP應該是一個持續的,反复的過程,包括利益相關者的參與,從而導致管理成果。

Integrated Approaches

Management efforts have conventionally focused on either productivity (resource management) or conservation (biodiversity protection). However, the current situation — called a crisis by some experts ref — is demanding a more holistic and integrative approach to coral reef management that also includes stakeholders in the decision-making processes.

The following sections introduce several other integrated approaches to management in addition to RBM that can help managers deal with the complex interdependencies in coral reef systems and balance the short-term needs of society with the longer-term mandate for sustainability.

reef ecosystem

The reef ecosystem extends beyond its physical boundary to include the neighboring habitats with which it interacts, especially seagrass beds, back-reef lagoons, and mangroves which provide important fish nurseries. All these linked habitats must be considered and managed as parts of a single functional unit. Photos © Stephanie Wear/TNC

Ecosystem based management (EBM) is an integrated management approach that considers the entire ecosystem, including humans.  EBM takes into account the cumulative impacts and interactions of the range of human activities on the whole ecosystem. While there are many definitions of EBM, its goal can be simply stated: to maintain an ecosystem in a healthy, productive, and resilient condition so that it can provide the services humans want and need. EBM is characterized by an emphasis on the protection of ecosystem structure, functioning and key processes, rather than just a few key species or indicators of system state. It is also place-based as it focuses on a specific ecosystem and the range of activities affecting it. EBM explicitly accounts for the interconnectedness among systems, such as between air, land and sea, and it aims to integrate ecological, social, economic and institutional perspectives, recognizing their strong interdependencies. Ecosystem-based management is built around eight core elements: ref

  • Sustainability — Sustaining ecosystem services through future generations.
  • Goals — Measurable goals that specify future processes and outcomes.
  • Sound ecological models and understanding — Research at all levels of ecological organization provides the understanding of processes and cross-scale interactions.
  • Complexity and connectedness — Biological diversity and structural complexity strengthen ecosystems against disturbance and support adaptation to long-term change.
  • Dynamic character of ecosystems — Change and evolution are inherent in ecosystems, and EBM approaches focus on system processes rather than aiming to preserve a particulate system state.
  • Context and scale — Ecosystem processes operate over a wide range of spatial and temporal scales, so that system behavior is highly contextual. EBM approaches need to be designed for specific local circumstances.
  • Humans as ecosystem components — Ecosystem management recognizes the influence of humans on ecosystems, and vice versa.
  • Adaptability and accountability — Understanding of ecosystem function and behavior are evolving, and decisions are often made with incomplete knowledge. Management must be viewed as hypotheses to be tested and improved in a continuous learning approach.
ecosystem approach

The need for a wider consideration of environmental and ecosystem issues in fisheries has been acknowledged. Photo © Ned Deloach/Marine Photobank

The Ecosystem Approach to Fisheries Management (EAFM) advocates a holistic approach to resource management that recognizes maintenance of ecosystem functions and services as a primary objective for fisheries management. EAFM shares many principles with ecosystem-based management (EBM), but with a particular focus on management of uses of fisheries resources. EAFM explicitly integrates the broader set of fisheries-related benefits derived from the ecosystem into management considerations, including other — often conflicting — uses of marine resources. It also has a strong focus on incorporating uncertainties, variability and predicted changes into fisheries management. EAFM involves a precautionary approach that encompasses the whole system, rather than being driven by a simple goal of maximizing harvest of a target species. The ecosystem approach greatly increases the alignment in management objectives between fisheries and reef conservation, potentially allowing for a collaborative approach with a shared focus on building reef resilience.

fisheries

Biodiversity conservation and fisheries productivity objectives can be integrated in a single planning framework. Photo © Chris Seufert

The emergence of EAFM creates many opportunities for coral reef managers to work with fisheries managers in the conservation of reef ecosystems. EAFM is gaining prominence and increasingly being adopted in national fisheries policies. It is the principle approach to fisheries management advocated by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations to comply with the FAO Code of Conduct for Responsible Fisheries. FAO have identified the following principles for EAFM:

  • Fisheries should be managed to limit their impact on the ecosystem to the extent possible.
  • Ecological relationships between harvested, dependent and associated species should be maintained.
  • Management measures should be compatible across the entire distribution of the resource (across jurisdictions and management plans).
  • The precautionary approach should be applied because the knowledge on ecosystems is incomplete.
  • Governance should ensure both human and ecosystem wellbeing and equity.

EAFM includes four main planning steps:

  1. Initiation and scope — This step asks managers: What are you going to manage and what objectives do you want to achieve?
  2. Identification of assets, issues, and priority — This step requires managers to identify all of the relevant issues for the fishery and determine which of them need direct management intervention for the fishery to achieve its objectives.
  3. Development of the EAF management system — This step works to determine the most appropriate set of management and institutional arrangements needed to achieve the objectives.
  4. Institutionalization, monitoring, and performance review — This step establishes the new management system and reviews its performance.
integrated coastal management

Integrating the needs of coastal ecosystems, humans and natural processes can result in a successful MPA Network plan. Photo © Stephanie Wear/TNC

Coral reefs often occur within the complex and highly interconnected coastal zone. Activities within the coastal zone, including urban development, agriculture and river management, can be major influences on the health of coral reefs. 

Coastal zone management (CZM), also termed integrated coastal zone management (ICZM), is a process of governance that can help coral reef managers ensure development and management plans for the coastal zone incorporate environmental and social goals relating to coral reefs. CZM provides a legal and institutional framework that aims to support efforts to maximize the benefits provided by the coastal zone, including coral reefs, while minimizing conflicts and harmful effects of activities upon each other, on resources and on the environment.ref Key features of CZM processes are that they involve active participation by those affected by coastal zone management and planning decisions, and that they are inter-disciplinary and inter-sectorial.

CZM is often achieved through spatial planning approaches, and in this regard it can have much in common with marine spatial planning (MSP). CZM can also include areas of watersheds (river catchments), and therefore can overlap with watershed or ‘ridge-to-reef’ management. Generally, however, CZM is practically limited to the habitats and landforms readily recognized as ‘the coast’, with spatial definitions often aligning with administrative or jurisdictional boundaries.

Strategies for a CZM approach to protecting coral reefs include:

  • Determine whether traditional principles or resource management measures exist and whether their appropriate implementation could enhance coastal resource management.
  • Engage local communities to extract anecdotal and traditional knowledge, to involve local stakeholders in policy planning and implementation, and to create local support for coastal management policies.
  • Inventory coastal environments, resources, and programs to learn about, improve the health, and better manage the coastal environment.
  • Determine short-term and long-term goals that call for coastal development consistent with the preservation of the environment and create a strategy for coastal zone management.
  • Create and enforce a strong legal and institutional framework, including economic incentives to reinforce desired behaviors and outcomes.
  • Develop a strong coastal management constituency and partnerships at the local, regional and national levels.
  • Establish Marine Protected Areas (MPAs), including no-take reserves, to protect, preserve and sustainably manage species and ecosystems of special value (this includes threatened species and habitats).
  • Perform Environmental Impact Assessments (EIAs) of all development projects in the terrestrial and aquatic sections of the coastal zone.
  • Assess and monitor pollutants in the water column and make a plan for pollution control.
spatial planning with community

Scientists, agencies and organizations increasingly are using systematic planning approaches to identify where and how to allocate effort in conservation and management, particularly at regional levels. Photo © Mark Godfrey/TNC

Marine spatial planning (MSP) is a coordinated approach to designating where human activities occur in the ocean to minimize conflicts among stakeholders, maximize the benefits that people receive from the ocean, and help maintain healthy marine habitats. MSP has been defined as the “process of analyzing and allocating parts of the three-dimensional marine spaces to specific uses, to achieve ecological, economic and social objectives that are usually specified through the political process”. The major output from an MSP process ref is usually a comprehensive plan or vision for a marine region, including implementation and management planning. MSP is usually the approach usually used for achieving the goals of ecosystem-based management (EBM) and coastal zone management (CZM).

Several benefits of using MSP as a tool for achieving EBM and CZM include:

  • Addresses social, cultural, economic, and environmental objectives with a holistic approach
  • Integrates marine objectives (both between policies and between different planning levels)
  • Improves site selection for development or conservation; more strategic and proactive approach that delivers long-term benefits
  • Supports coordinated management at the scale of ecosystems as well as political jurisdictions
  • Reduces conflicts among uses in the marine area
  • Reduces risk of marine activities damaging marine ecosystems including improved consideration of cumulative effects

UNSECO’s Recommended 10 Steps for Marine Spatial Planning

  • Step 1: Defining need and establishing authority
  • Step 2: Obtaining financial support
  • Step 3: Organizing the process (pre-planning)
  • Step 4: Organizing stakeholder participation
  • Step 5: Defining and analyzing existing conditions
  • Step 6: Defining and analyzing future conditions
  • Step 7: Developing and approving the spatial management plan
  • Step 8: Implementing and enforcing the spatial management plan
  • Step 9: Monitoring and evaluating performance
  • Step 10: Adapting the marine spatial management process

 
An MSP process can help resolve some of the biggest challenges associated with the ‘open access’ or ‘common’ nature of marine resource use (and overuse!). However, to be effective, MSP needs to be implemented with a strong commitment to process, engagement and follow through. MSP should be seen as an ongoing, iterative process that includes stakeholder participation and which leads to management outcomes.

Translate »