مرض فقدان الأنسجة الصخرية المرجانية

مرض المرجان ، فلوريدا. الصورة © TNC

كيفية الإبلاغ عن SCTLD

إذا اشتبه SCTLD في موقعك ، فمن الضروري الإبلاغ عن المرض ومشاركة صور المستعمرات المريضة للتأكد من أنها SCTLD. ال قاعدة بيانات الشعاب المرجانية الأطلسية والخليجية السريعة (AGRRA) تجمع قاعدة البيانات تقارير عن الأمراض في منطقة البحر الكاريبي ، بما في ذلك الصور والمعلومات الأخرى ، التي يمكن مشاهدتها بسهولة على موقع الويب الخاص بها.

Stony Coral Tissue Loss Disease ، أو SCTLD ، هو مرض يصيب أكثر من أنواع 20 من المرجان الصلب في منطقة البحر الكاريبي. وهو يسبب حاليًا أضرارًا جسيمة للشعاب المرجانية في فلوريدا ، وبدأ الإبلاغ عنها في جزر الكاريبي الأخرى. على الرغم من أن الأمراض ليست غير شائعة على الشعاب المرجانية ، إلا أن SCTLD تشكل تهديدًا كبيرًا على الشعاب المرجانية في الكاريبي نظرًا لنطاقها الجغرافي الكبير ومددها الطويلة ومعدلات وفياتها المرتفعة وعدد كبير من أنواع الشعاب المرجانية المصابة.

يشتبه في أن SCTLD ناتج عن مسببات الأمراض البكتيرية ويمكن أن ينتقل إلى الشعاب المرجانية الأخرى من خلال الاتصال المباشر وتداول المياه. تبذل العديد من الجهود الحالية لتحديد عوامل المرض ، والعلاقات مع العوامل البيئية ، واستراتيجيات علاج المستعمرات المريضة ، وتحديد الأنماط الجينية للشعاب المرجانية المقاومة. بالتزامن مع هذه الأنشطة ، يتم تطوير العديد من الموارد لمساعدة المديرين وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين في تحديد المرض والاستجابة له.

سيتم تحديث الموارد المقدمة هنا باستمرار وهي نتيجة للتعاون بين العديد من الشركاء الذين يعملون لمكافحة SCTLD. انقر لمعرفة المزيد عن الوكالات والمنظمات المشاركة في هذا الجهد.

معلومات عامة

توفر الموارد أدناه مجموعة واسعة من المعلومات حول المرض ، مع تقديم العديد من الأوصاف الحديثة للمعرفة والبحث الحالي.

بوابات موقع SCTLD

تم تطوير المواقع الإلكترونية التالية من قبل الشركاء وتقديم مجموعة متنوعة من المعلومات والموارد حول هذا المرض.

التعرف على المرض

يتميز هذا المرض المرجاني عمومًا بالعديد من آفات الأنسجة المرجانية الميتة التي تحدث عبر مستعمرة مرجانية وتنتشر بسرعة لتسبب وفيات مستعمرة كاملة. فيما يلي موارد للمساعدة في تحديد SCTLD بشكل صحيح مقارنة بالأسباب الأخرى لوفيات المرجان.

    • دليل MPAConnect للكشف عن SCTLD على الشعاب المرجانية في منطقة البحر الكاريبي ، نسخة للطباعة (pdf ، 5.5 MB) ؛ نسخة رقمية (pdf، (479 KB) - ملخص من صفحة واحدة مع صور لأنواع الشعاب المرجانية الحساسة ومديري الإجراءات التي يمكنهم اتخاذها.
    • تحديد الأمراض SCTLD، Nova Southeastern University (pdf، 5 MB) - توفر العديد من صور الشعاب المرجانية للمرض لأنواع الشعاب المرجانية الحساسة المختلفة في 14.
    • بطاقات تعريف الحقول (إدارة حماية البيئة في فلوريدا ، لجنة حماية الأسماك والحيوانات البرية في فلوريدا ، دائرة نوا ، وخدمة المتنزهات الوطنية) - صور لأنواع الشعاب المرجانية المريضة التي يمكن تغليفها واستخدامها في هذا المجال.
    • تقييم الشعاب المرجانية الأطلسية والخليجية (AGRRA) مراحل الوفيات المرجانية - يقدم وصفًا وعرض شرائح مع صور لمختلف الحالات وأسباب وفيات المرجان للمساعدة في التمييز مع المرض.

مراقبة المرض

إذا كان هناك اشتباه في SCTLD في موقعك ، فمن الضروري الإبلاغ عن المرض ومشاركة صور المستعمرات المرجانية المريضة لتأكيد المرض. تقوم قاعدة بيانات AGGRA حاليًا بجمع معلومات حول تقارير الأمراض ويمكن أن تساعد في تأكيد SCTLD كسبب للوفيات. يمكن استخدام الموارد الأخرى المدرجة لمراقبة المرض.

    • ورقة بيانات الغطاس المتجول - قالب ورقة بيانات قابل للطباعة للإبلاغ عن SCTLD.
    • مسح تعداد SCTLD للسباحة (ملف pdf ، 14 KB) - يوفر إرشادات مفصلة للغواصين حول مراقبة وجمع البيانات على SCTLD.

استجابة سريعة

نظرًا لأن SCTLD هو مرض ينتشر بسرعة ، فمن الأهمية بمكان أن يكون لديك بالفعل خطة لكيفية الاستجابة لهذا المرض إذا تم النظر إليه في موقعك. أعدت وكالات الإدارة في ولاية فلوريدا عدة موارد أدناه تصف خطة استجابة SCTLD وهيكلها.

إشراك المجتمع

يجب إبلاغ أعضاء المجتمع الذين يشاركون بنشاط في موارد الشعاب المرجانية عن SCTLD في المناطق التي قد يكون من المحتمل فيها انتشار المرض وبمجرد تأكيد المرض. تتوفر الموارد التالية كأمثلة على كيفية إعلام أفراد المجتمع بالمرض وإشراكهم في جهود الاستجابة.

.

يرجى البريد الالكتروني resilience@tnc.org إذا كنت ترغب في تضمين موارد أو مواقع إضافية على موقع Stony Coral Tissue Loss Disease.

Stony Coral Tissue Loss Disease

FL coral disease webinar2

How To Report SCTLD

If SCTLD is suspected in your location, it is imperative to report the disease and share pictures of diseased colonies to confirm it is SCTLD. The Atlantic and Gulf Rapid Reef Assessment (AGRRA) Database database is collecting reports of disease across the Caribbean, including pictures and other information, that are easily viewable on their website.

 

Stony Coral Tissue Loss Disease, or SCTLD, is a disease affecting over 20 species of hard corals in the Caribbean. It is currently causing significant damage to coral reefs in Florida and beginning to be reported in other Caribbean islands. While diseases are not uncommon on coral reefs, SCTLD poses a particularly significant threat to Caribbean reefs because of its large geographic range, extended duration, high rates of mortality, and large number of coral species affected.

SCTLD is suspected to be caused by bacterial pathogens and can be transmitted to other corals through direct contact and water circulation. Many current efforts are under way to identify disease agents, relationships with environmental factors, strategies to treat diseased colonies, and identify genotypes of corals that are resistant. In conjunction with these activities, many resources are being developed to assist managers and other stakeholders with identifying and responding to the disease.

The resources provided here will be continually updated and are the result of collaborations amongst many partners working to combat SCTLD. Click to learn more about the agencies and organizations involved in this effort.

 

General Information

The resources below provide a broad range of information on the disease, with many providing up-to-date descriptions of current knowledge and research.

 

SCTLD Website Portals

The following websites have been developed by partners and offer a variety of information and resources on the disease.

 

Identifying the Disease

This coral disease is generally characterized by several lesions of dead coral tissue that occur across a coral colony and spread rapidly to cause whole colony mortality. Below are resources to help correctly identify SCTLD compared with other causes of coral mortality.

    • MPAConnect Guide to Detect SCTLD on Caribbean Coral Reefs, Print Version (pdf, 5.5 MB); Digital Version (pdf, (479 KB) – One-page summary with pictures of susceptible coral species and actions managers can take.
    • SCTLD Disease Identification PowerPoint, Nova Southeastern University (pdf, 5 MB) – Provides numerous pictures of disease corals for 14 different susceptible coral species.
    • Field Identification Cards (Florida Department of Environmental Protection, Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, NOAA, and the National Park Service) – Photos of diseased coral species that can be laminated and used in the field.
      • Card 1 – front, back – (pdf, 10.6 and 9.2 MB)
      • Card 2 – front, back – (pdf, 9,7 and 8.9 MB)
      • Card 3 – front, back – (pdf, 9.1 and 9.1 MB)
    • Atlantic and Gulf Rapid Reef Assessment (AGRRA) Stages of Coral Mortality – Provides description and slideshow with images of different conditions and causes of coral mortality to help distinguish with the disease.

 

Monitoring the Disease

If SCTLD is suspected in your location, it is imperative to report the disease and share pictures of diseased coral colonies to confirm the disease. The AGGRA database is currently collecting information on disease reports and can help confirm SCTLD as the cause of mortality. The other resources listed can be used for monitoring the disease.

    • Roving Diver Datasheet – Printable data sheet template for reporting SCTLD.
    • SCTLD Census Swim Survey (pdf, 14 KB) – Provides detailed instructions for divers on monitoring and collecting data on SCTLD.

 

Rapid Response

Because SCTLD is a disease that spreads quickly, it is critical to have a plan already in place for how you will respond to the disease if sighted in your location. Management agencies in Florida have prepared several resources below describing their SCTLD response plan and structure.

 

Community Engagement

Community members that are actively engaging with coral reef resources should be informed of SCTLD in areas where spread may be likely and once the disease has been confirmed. The following resources are available as examples of how to inform community members about the disease and engage them in response efforts.

 

 

Please email resilience@tnc.org if you’d like to include additional resources or websites on the Stony Coral Tissue Loss Disease.