石珊瑚組織損失疾病

患病的珊瑚,佛羅里達州。 照片©TNC

如何報告SCTLD

如果您所在地區懷疑SCTLD,則必須報告疾病並分享患病菌落的圖片以確認其為SCTLD。 該 大西洋和海灣快速珊瑚礁評估(AGRRA)數據庫 數據庫正在收集整個加勒比地區的疾病報告,包括可在其網站上輕鬆查看的圖片和其他信息。

石珊瑚組織損失病(SCTLD)是一種影響加勒比地區20硬珊瑚的疾病。 目前它正在對佛羅里達州的珊瑚礁造成嚴重破壞,並開始在其他加勒比島嶼上報告。 雖然疾病在珊瑚礁上並不罕見,但SCTLD對加勒比珊瑚礁構成了特別嚴重的威脅,因為它的地理範圍廣,持續時間長,死亡率高,並且受影響的珊瑚物種數量很多。

SCTLD被懷疑是由細菌病原體引起的,可通過直接接觸和水循環傳播到其他珊瑚。 目前正在進行許多努力來確定疾病因子,與環境因素的關係,治療病變集落的策略,以及確定具有抗性的珊瑚的基因型。 與這些活動相結合,正在開發許多資源,以幫助管理人員和其他利益相關者識別和應對疾病。

這裡提供的資源將不斷更新,是許多致力於SCTLD的合作夥伴之間合作的結果。 單擊以了解有關的更多信息 參與這項工作的機構和組織.

一般信息

以下資源提供了有關疾病的廣泛信息,許多信息提供了當前知識和研究的最新描述。

SCTLD網站門戶網站

以下網站由合作夥伴開發,提供有關該疾病的各種信息和資源。

識別疾病

這種珊瑚疾病的特徵通常是死珊瑚組織的幾個病變,這些病變發生在珊瑚群體中並迅速傳播以導致整個群體死亡。 以下是與其他珊瑚死亡原因相比,幫助正確識別SCTLD的資源。

    • MPAConnect指南檢測加勒比海珊瑚礁的SCTLD, 打印版本 (pdf,5.5 MB); 數字版 (pdf,(479 KB) - 一頁摘要,附有敏感珊瑚物種的圖片和管理人員可採取的行動。
    • SCTLD疾病鑑定PowerPoint,Nova Southeastern University(pdf,5 MB) - 為14不同易感珊瑚物種提供大量疾病珊瑚圖片。
    • 野外識別卡(佛羅里達州環境保護部,佛羅里達州魚類和野生動物保護委員會,NOAA和國家公園管理局) - 可以在田間層壓和使用的病態珊瑚物種的照片。
      • 卡1 - , 背部 - (pdf,10.6和9.2 MB)
      • 卡2 - , 背部 - (pdf,9,7和8.9 MB)
      • 卡3 - , 背部 - (pdf,9.1和9.1 MB)
    • 大西洋和海灣快速珊瑚礁評估(AGRRA)珊瑚死亡率階段 - 提供描述和幻燈片,其中包含不同條件和珊瑚死亡原因的圖像,以幫助區分疾病。

監測疾病

如果您所在地區懷疑SCTLD,則必須報告疾病並分享患病珊瑚群的圖片以確認疾病。 AGGRA數據庫目前正在收集有關疾病報告的信息,並可幫助確認SCTLD是導致死亡的原因。 列出的其他資源可用於監測疾病。

    • Roving Diver數據表 - 用於報告SCTLD的可打印數據表模板。
    • SCTLD人口普查游泳調查 (pdf,14 KB) - 提供有關潛水員監控和收集SCTLD數據的詳細說明。

快速反應

由於SCTLD是一種傳播速度很快的疾病,因此如果您所在地區發現疾病,您必須制定一個計劃,以便對疾病做出反應。 佛羅里達州的管理機構已經準備了以下幾個資源來描述他們的SCTLD響應計劃和結構。

社區參與

積極參與珊瑚礁資源的社區成員應在可能傳播的區域和疾病確診後通知SCTLD。 以下資源可用作如何向社區成員通報疾病並讓他們參與應對工作的示例。

請發送電子郵件 resilience@tnc.org 如果您想在Stony Coral Tissue Loss Disease上添加其他資源或網站。

Stony Coral Tissue Loss Disease

FL coral disease webinar2

How To Report SCTLD

If SCTLD is suspected in your location, it is imperative to report the disease and share pictures of diseased colonies to confirm it is SCTLD. The Atlantic and Gulf Rapid Reef Assessment (AGRRA) Database database is collecting reports of disease across the Caribbean, including pictures and other information, that are easily viewable on their website.

 

Stony Coral Tissue Loss Disease, or SCTLD, is a disease affecting over 20 species of hard corals in the Caribbean. It is currently causing significant damage to coral reefs in Florida and beginning to be reported in other Caribbean islands. While diseases are not uncommon on coral reefs, SCTLD poses a particularly significant threat to Caribbean reefs because of its large geographic range, extended duration, high rates of mortality, and large number of coral species affected.

SCTLD is suspected to be caused by bacterial pathogens and can be transmitted to other corals through direct contact and water circulation. Many current efforts are under way to identify disease agents, relationships with environmental factors, strategies to treat diseased colonies, and identify genotypes of corals that are resistant. In conjunction with these activities, many resources are being developed to assist managers and other stakeholders with identifying and responding to the disease.

The resources provided here will be continually updated and are the result of collaborations amongst many partners working to combat SCTLD. Click to learn more about the agencies and organizations involved in this effort.

 

General Information

The resources below provide a broad range of information on the disease, with many providing up-to-date descriptions of current knowledge and research.

 

SCTLD Website Portals

The following websites have been developed by partners and offer a variety of information and resources on the disease.

 

Identifying the Disease

This coral disease is generally characterized by several lesions of dead coral tissue that occur across a coral colony and spread rapidly to cause whole colony mortality. Below are resources to help correctly identify SCTLD compared with other causes of coral mortality.

    • MPAConnect Guide to Detect SCTLD on Caribbean Coral Reefs, Print Version (pdf, 5.5 MB); Digital Version (pdf, (479 KB) – One-page summary with pictures of susceptible coral species and actions managers can take.
    • SCTLD Disease Identification PowerPoint, Nova Southeastern University (pdf, 5 MB) – Provides numerous pictures of disease corals for 14 different susceptible coral species.
    • Field Identification Cards (Florida Department of Environmental Protection, Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, NOAA, and the National Park Service) – Photos of diseased coral species that can be laminated and used in the field.
      • Card 1 – front, back – (pdf, 10.6 and 9.2 MB)
      • Card 2 – front, back – (pdf, 9,7 and 8.9 MB)
      • Card 3 – front, back – (pdf, 9.1 and 9.1 MB)
    • Atlantic and Gulf Rapid Reef Assessment (AGRRA) Stages of Coral Mortality – Provides description and slideshow with images of different conditions and causes of coral mortality to help distinguish with the disease.

 

Monitoring the Disease

If SCTLD is suspected in your location, it is imperative to report the disease and share pictures of diseased coral colonies to confirm the disease. The AGGRA database is currently collecting information on disease reports and can help confirm SCTLD as the cause of mortality. The other resources listed can be used for monitoring the disease.

    • Roving Diver Datasheet – Printable data sheet template for reporting SCTLD.
    • SCTLD Census Swim Survey (pdf, 14 KB) – Provides detailed instructions for divers on monitoring and collecting data on SCTLD.

 

Rapid Response

Because SCTLD is a disease that spreads quickly, it is critical to have a plan already in place for how you will respond to the disease if sighted in your location. Management agencies in Florida have prepared several resources below describing their SCTLD response plan and structure.

 

Community Engagement

Community members that are actively engaging with coral reef resources should be informed of SCTLD in areas where spread may be likely and once the disease has been confirmed. The following resources are available as examples of how to inform community members about the disease and engage them in response efforts.

 

 

Please email resilience@tnc.org if you’d like to include additional resources or websites on the Stony Coral Tissue Loss Disease.