دفعت رؤوس المرجان الكبيرة أو "الحمقى" إلى الشاطئ بعد إعصار ديبي. الصورة © Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service

يزداد تواتر العواصف المدارية وشدتها في جميع أنحاء العالم. مع بذل المزيد من الجهود للرد على الشعاب المرجانية واستعادتها بعد العواصف الكبرى ، هناك دروس يجب تعلمها من مناطق متنوعة حول أنشطتها. تمت إضافة دراستين جديدتين حول جهود الطوارئ والاستجابة السريعة بعد العواصف الكبيرة التي حدثت في 2017 إلى مجموعة أدوات Reef Resilience Toolkit. انظر الأوصاف والروابط أدناه ومعرفة المزيد عن استعادة والاستجابة السريعة في دورة استعادة الانترنت.

 

كيف دفعنا 400 طن من المرجان إلى المحيط بعد إعصار في أستراليا

كانت الوجهة الأولى للغطس تحت الماء بسبب التكوينات المرجانية العملاقة (أو "bommies") ، خليج مانتا راي في جزر ويتصنداي بأستراليا ، قد ضربتها الفئة 4 Cyclone Debbie في 2017. أسفر الإعصار عن أضرار واسعة النطاق ، حيث كانت طاقة العاصفة قوية بما يكفي لسحق الشعاب المرجانية المتفرعة ودفع معظم فتحات الشعاب المرجانية إلى أعلى في منطقة المد والجزر وعلى الشاطئ. رداً على ذلك ، قامت هيئة الحدائق والحياة البرية في كوينزلاند وهيئة المتنزه البحري الكبير الحاجز البحري بمغامرة في منطقة غير مأهولة لنقل جسدي الشعاب المرجانية العملاقة هذه مرة أخرى إلى المياه لتوفير هيكل لتسوية يرقات المرجان في المستقبل ، وجذب الأسماك ، وتحسين الوصول إلى الموقع و الجماليات. تعرّف على الطرق المستخدمة في هذا المشروع والدروس المستفادة والتوصيات من خلال الاطلاع بشكل كامل  يفتح في نافذة جديدةدراسة الحالة هنا.

 

تقييم تأثيرات إعصار 2017 على الشعاب المرجانية في بورتوريكو

في سبتمبر 2017 ، دمر إعصاران إيرما وماريا جزر بورتوريكو وكان لهما تأثير كبير على الشعاب المرجانية المحيطة. وقد أظهرت الدراسات الاستقصائية التي أجريت بعد أن أظهر الإعصاران أضرارًا لرؤوس الشعاب المرجانية الكبيرة ، كما كانت غزوات كثيفة سابقًا من قانون إنشاء الشعاب المرجانية والأنواع المهددة بالانقراض (ESA) مدرجة في قائمة مرجان elkhorn (Acropora palmata) بكسر كبير في المستعمرات. قام كل من NOAA وإدارة الموارد الطبيعية في Puerto Rico و SeaVentures بإجراء مسح على مرجان 86,000 في مواقع 153 في بورتوريكو وقاموا بإعادة ربط ما يقرب من شظايا 10,000 المرجانية أو مستعمرات الشعاب المرجانية المكسورة في مواقع 69 بين شهري فبراير ويونيو 2018. تعرّف على الطرق المستخدمة في هذا المشروع والدروس المستفادة والتوصيات من خلال الاطلاع بشكل كامل  يفتح في نافذة جديدةدراسة الحالة هنا.

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Large coral heads or ‘bommies’ pushed onto shore after Hurricane Debbie. Photo © Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service

Tropical storm frequency and intensity are increasing across the globe. As more efforts are being made to respond to and restore reefs after major storms, there are lessons to be learned from diverse regions about their activities. Two new two case studies on emergency and rapid response efforts after major storms that occurred in 2017 have been added to the Reef Resilience Toolkit. See descriptions and links below and learn more about restoration and rapid response in the Restoration Online Course.

 

How We Pushed 400 Tons of Coral into the Ocean after a Cyclone in Australia

A premier destination for snorkeling due to its giant coral formations (or ‘bommies’), Manta Ray Bay in the Whitsunday Islands, Australia was hit by the Category 4 Cyclone Debbie in 2017. The cyclone resulted in widespread damage, with storm energy strong enough to pulverize branching corals and push most of the coral bommies high into the intertidal zone and onto the beach. In response, the Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service and the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority ventured into unchartered territory to physically move these giant coral bommies back into the water to provide structure for future coral larvae settlement, attract fish, and to improve site access and aesthetics. Learn about methods used in this project, lessons learned, and recommendations by viewing the full case study here.

 

Assessment of 2017 Hurricane Impacts to Coral Reefs in Puerto Rico

In September 2017, Hurricanes Irma and Maria devastated the islands of Puerto Rico and had significant effects on surrounding coral reefs. Surveys conducted after both hurricanes showed damage to large coral heads, and previously dense thickets of the reef-building and Endangered Species Act (ESA) listed elkhorn coral (Acropora palmata) had significant colony breakage. Together NOAA, the Puerto Rico Department of Natural Resources, and SeaVentures surveyed over 86,000 corals in 153 sites in Puerto Rico and reattached nearly 10,000 coral fragments or broken coral colonies at 69 sites between February and June 2018. Learn about methods used in this project, lessons learned, and recommendations by viewing the full case study here.