收集Spawn

Staghorn珊瑚在甘蔗灣,聖克羅伊。 照片©Kemit-Amon Lewis / TNC

從田地採集產卵最適合通過廣播產卵繁殖的珊瑚。 因此,應在收集開始之前確定對當地珊瑚種群及其繁殖生物學的了解。 確定哪些珊瑚物種將從收集前獲得幼蟲將有助於確保更高的成功,因為它將允許您確定大規模產卵事件的時間。

將收集網連接到預計會產卵的麋鹿珊瑚的分支上。 照片©Paul Selvaggio / SECORE International

將收集網連接到預計會產卵的麋鹿珊瑚的分支上。 照片©Paul Selvaggio / SECORE International

為幼蟲收集選擇珊瑚物種

健康的親本群體是成功的關鍵,較大的群體將產生更多的配子。 對於收集,關於5-10生殖大小的健康菌落應該位於後勤上可行的夜間潛水地點。 對於大多數物種,直徑或更大的30 cm的菌落將是繁殖的,儘管一些直徑為20-30 cm的菌落也可能產卵。

對於一些具有分枝或裂片形態的珊瑚物種(如 鹿角珊瑚,Pocilliopora,Orbicella),頻繁的碎裂可能會產生某些地方高度克隆(或基因相同)的親本種群。 來自同一克隆的兩個親本菌落的配子不會受精,因此從高克隆種群中收集配子可能會產生低受精率。 由於這個原因,克隆結構的知識是有幫助的,但如果沒有,只需避免從“叢林”或緊密聚集的分枝菌落中進行所有收集,因為這些更可能是克隆。 如果擔心高克隆性,如果物流資源允許,可以從至少相距10 m的殖民地或附近的地點收集和混合配子。

預測珊瑚產卵

一旦確定了採集地點和目標珊瑚物種,下一步就是確定何時會產卵。 重要的是,產卵時間通常因珊瑚種類和區域而異,因此在特定位置使用預測圖表或當地先驗知識可以幫助更好地預測產卵。 大多數廣播產卵者在夜間釋放配子,雖然有些產卵在日落之前產卵,並且大多數產卵發生在有些可預測的月球時間表上。 本地預測通常由專家進行,可以通過 珊瑚產卵研究Facebook集團.

影響大規模珊瑚產卵事件發生時間的因素有很多。 首先,海面溫度升高的速率決定了珊瑚產卵的月份。 在加勒比地區,這意味著大多數珊瑚物種在8月到10月的溫暖月份產卵。 其次,月球週期決定了珊瑚產卵的那一天。 例如,大多數珊瑚物種在滿月後的2-3天產卵。 最後,日落時間決定珊瑚產卵的時間,通常發生在30分鐘 - 日落後2小時。 有關預測珊瑚產卵的提示可以在上面找到 加勒比珊瑚產卵網絡研討會 以及由Coral Restoration Consortium開發的以下預測圖表 幼蟲繁殖工作組.

產品系列

由於珊瑚產卵系列通常在夜間發生,因此強烈建議所有潛水員都熟悉該網站,使用白天定向潛水來識別或在網站內放置臨時地標。 還建議在夜間容易觀看的視覺標籤(例如地下浮標,反射標記帶或閃光燈)標記父殖民地所在的一般珊瑚礁區域,而不是單個菌落,因為光可以吸引捕食者到配子束。 潛水員應該準備好收集設備,主要是帳篷收集器與可移動的罐子和額外的蓋子。 收集設備列在下面的Larval Propagation購物清單和 加勒比珊瑚產卵網絡研討會.

產生了麋鹿珊瑚的配子,漂浮在收集杯中,附在收集網的中心。 照片©Paul Selvaggio / SECORE International

產生了麋鹿珊瑚的配子,漂浮在收集杯中,附在收集網的中心。 照片©Paul Selvaggio / SECORE International

對於雌雄同體物種,在息肉嘴中出現粉紅色凸起,稱為 設置,是殖民地準備產卵的視覺提示,是時候在殖民地上部署帳篷收藏家了。 在束出現在息肉口中之後,束的釋放通常發生在10-30分鐘內。 對於gonochoric產卵者,大型注射器是最常用的收集配子的方法 現場 並且應該在配子在水柱內稀釋並且不再可見之前盡快收集。

隨著配子束被釋放,浮動的蛋將使它們漂浮到收集罐中。 當大約25%充滿時,或者在產卵開始後的10到20分鐘內,收集罐應加蓋,以避免配子溶解,在水柱中丟失或罐中的水質差。 如果殖民地仍然產卵,可以在收集器上更換新的罐子。 Jars的配子應該返回船隻或岸邊繼續進行 施肥步驟.

監測珊瑚在您所在位置產卵的時間可以幫助您更好地完善下一年的預測。 點擊這裡珊瑚產卵監測模板 由CRC幼蟲繁殖工作組開發。

主要考慮因素

  • 知道何時何地去尋找產卵 - 時間對於規劃潛水和捕捉配子至關重要。
  • 做好準備 - 夜間潛水和船隻操作需要額外的規劃和經驗。
  • 分枝和裂片物種可能在不會施肥的部位內具有許多高克隆性,因此可能需要將來自10 m的菌落的混合物或一些其他部位混合。


Secore_Logo_RGB
此內容由SECORE International開發。 有關更多信息,請聯繫 info@secore.org 或訪問他們的網站 secore.org.

Collecting Spawn

MENUMENU

Collecting spawn from the field is most appropriate for corals that reproduce through broadcast spawning. Thus, knowledge of local coral populations and their reproductive biology should be determined before collections begin. Identifying which coral species you will obtain larvae from prior to collections will help ensure higher success because it will allow you to determine the timing of mass spawning events.

Attaching a collection net to a branch of an elkhorn coral that is expected to spawn. Photo © Paul Selvaggio/SECORE International

Attaching a collection net to a branch of an elkhorn coral that is expected to spawn. Photo © Paul Selvaggio/SECORE International

Selecting Coral Species for Larval Collection

Healthy parent populations are key to success and larger colonies will produce more gametes. For collection, about 5-10 healthy colonies of reproductive size should be located in a site that is logistically feasible for night diving. For most species, colonies 30 cm in diameter or larger will be reproductive, though some colonies that are 20-30 cm in diameter may also spawn.

For some coral species with branching or lobed morphologies (such as Acropora, Pocilliopora, Orbicella), frequent fragmentation may yield parent populations that are highly clonal (or genetically identical) in some locations. Gametes from two parent colonies that are the same clone will not fertilize, so collecting gametes from highly clonal populations will likely yield low fertilization rates. For this reason, knowledge of clonal structure is helpful, but if not available, simply avoid making all collections from a ‘thicket’ or closely clumped branching colonies as these are more likely to be clones. If there are concerns about high clonality, gametes may be collected and mixed from colonies that are at least 10 m apart or from nearby sites if logistical resources allow.

Predicting Coral Spawning

Once a collection site and the target coral species have been identified, the next step is to determine when spawning will occur. Importantly, spawning times often vary between coral species and regions, so using prediction charts or local prior knowledge in your specific location can help better predict spawning. Most broadcast spawners release gametes in the night, although some spawn prior to sunset, and most spawning occurs on a somewhat predictable lunar schedule. Local predictions are often made by experts and may be accessed through the Coral Spawning Research Facebook Group.

There are several factors that influence the timing of mass coral spawning events. First, the rate at which sea surface temperatures increase dictates the month(s) when corals spawn. In the Caribbean, this means that most coral species spawn in the warm months between August and October. Second, the lunar cycle dictates the day when corals spawn. For instance, most coral species spawn for 2-3 days after the full moon. Lastly, the sunset time dictates the time when coral spawn, which usually occurs 30 minutes – 2 hours after sunset. Tips on predicting coral spawning can be found on the Caribbean Coral Spawning Webinar and prediction charts below developed by the Coral Restoration Consortium’s Larval Propagation Working Group.

Collections

As coral spawn collections will most often occur at night, it’s highly recommended that all divers are familiar with the site using daytime orientation dives to identify or place temporary landmarks within the sites. It is also recommended that visual tags easily viewed at night (such as subsurface floats, reflective flagging tape, or flashing lights) mark the general reef area where parent colonies are located, but not individual colonies as light can attract predators to gamete bundles. Divers should be prepared with collection equipment, primarily tent collectors with removable jars and extra lids. Collection equipment is listed in the Larval Propagation Shopping List below and the Caribbean Coral Spawning Webinar.

Spawned gametes of an elkhorn coral floating into the collection cup attached to the center of a collection net. Photo © Paul Selvaggio/SECORE International

Spawned gametes of an elkhorn coral floating into the collection cup attached to the center of a collection net. Photo © Paul Selvaggio/SECORE International

For hermaphroditic species, the appearance of a pink bulge in the polyp mouths, called setting, is a visual cue that a colony is preparing to spawn and that it’s time to deploy a tent collector over the colony. Release of the bundles generally occurs within 10-30 minutes after bundles appear in the polyp mouth. For gonochoric spawners, large syringes are the most common method to collect gametes in situ and should be collected as quickly as possible before gametes are diluted within the water column and are no longer visible.

As gamete bundles are released, the buoyant eggs will cause them to float up into the collector jar. Collector jars should be capped off when approximately 25% full, or within 10 to 20 minutes after spawning starts, to avoid gametes dissolving, being lost in the water column, or poor water quality in the jar. A new jar can be replaced on the collector if the colony is still spawning. Jars of gametes should be returned to boat or shore to proceed with the fertilization step.

Monitoring when corals spawn in your location can help you better refine your predictions for the next year. Click here for a coral spawning monitoring template developed by the CRC Larval Propagation Working Group.

KEY CONSIDERATIONS

  • Know when and where to go look for spawning – timing is crucial for planning the dive and capturing the gametes.
  • Be prepared – nighttime diving and boat operations require extra planning and experience.
  • Branching and lobed species may have many high clonality within a site that will not fertilize, thus mixing gametes from colonies 10 m apart or some other sites may be needed.

 

Test Your Understanding

Test your understanding of the information in this section by taking the quiz.

 
 
 



Secore_Logo_RGB
This content was developed with SECORE International. For more information, contact info@secore.org or visit their website at secore.org.

Translate »