تربية اليرقات

Staghorn، المرجان، إلى داخل، cane، جزء رئيسي من مبنى، الشارع، Croix. الصورة © كيمت آمون لويس / TNC

بعد الإخصاب ، تشكل أجنة المرجان يرقات سباحة حرة بعد بضعة أيام من التطور. هناك العديد من الطرق التي يمكن استخدامها للثقافة واليرقات الخلفية للشعاب المرجانية خلال مرحلة التطوير حتى تكون قادرة على الاستقرار. ستكون أي من هذه الطرق أكثر نجاحًا إذا بدأت بمعدلات إخصاب عالية. عندما يكون الإخصاب منخفضًا ، تموت البويضات غير المخصبة وتتحلل على مدار ساعات 24-48 الأولى ، مما يفسد بقية الثقافة حيث لا توجد طرق فعالة لفصل البيض غير المخصب. على مدار عملية التطوير ، تبدأ الأجنة بالطفو على سطح الماء ، ولكنها تفقد طفوها تدريجياً عند استخدام مخازنها الشحمية وتبدأ في السباحة ، وتذهب بها نحو القاع. هذا يعني أن هناك أساليب معالجة مختلفة قليلاً حيث يغير وضع اليرقات في عمود الماء.

يرقات السباحة المرجانية المجانية (Acropora palmata) في أنبوب اختبار. Photo © Paul Selvaggio / SECORE International

يرقات السباحة المرجانية المجانية (Acropora palmata) في أنبوب اختبار. Photo © Paul Selvaggio / SECORE International

بشكل عام ، تتمثل الإستراتيجية في الحفاظ على اليرقات في بيئة ذات درجة حرارة مناسبة ونوعية المياه. يمكن حفظ اليرقات في صناديق أو مبردات أو أطباق صغيرة منضدية إذا كانت محفوظة في درجات حرارة مثالية (عموما 23-29 ° C أو 73-84 ° F المرجع ، ولكن هذا يعتمد على درجات الحرارة المحيطة بالشعاب المرجانية في موقعك). المفتاح للحفاظ على نوعية المياه الجيدة هو الحفاظ على اليرقات بكثافة منخفضة (والتي قد تكون صعبة في المراحل المبكرة عندما تطفو وتتجمع على السطح) وتنظيف المياه لإزالة خلايا الحيوانات المنوية الزائدة. في المراحل المبكرة عندما تطفو اليرقات ، أباريق فصل الدهون (كما هو موضح في تسميد القسم) يمكن استخدامها لتغيرات المياه. عندما تتطور اليرقات بشكل كامل وتسبح ، يمكن ترشيح الثقافات من خلال غربال مع شبكة ثابتة الحجم للاحتفاظ باليرقات. الماصات وزجاجات بخ وأنابيب السحب والمناخل كلها أدوات مفيدة.

إذا توفرت أعمال السباكة الأكثر تطوراً ، فيمكن استخدام أنواع مختلفة من أوعية الاستنشاق بالتنقيط والتحكم في درجة الحرارة. أخيرا، فى الموقع قد تستخدم الأحواض العائمة لاحتواء أعداد كبيرة من يرقات النامية من خلال التسوية ، ولكن هناك العديد من الاعتبارات عند اختيار موقع مناسب لهذه المسابح (على سبيل المثال ، جودة المياه ، والتعرض للأمواج ، والعواصف الممطرة ، أو أشعة الشمس ، وتأمين حمامات السباحة ، إلخ. ). يمكن دمج الشبكات ذات الحجم الثابت ، اعتمادًا على أنواع وحجم اليرقات ، في أوعية استزراع للحفاظ على اليرقات مع السماح ببعض التبادل المائي.

يمكن رصد تقدم تطور اليرقات في حالة توفر مجهر تشريح. يعتمد معدل التطور ، وبالتالي الوقت الذي تكون فيه اليرقات جاهزة للتوطين ، على كلٍ من الأنواع المرجانية وعلى درجة الحرارة ، حيث تتطور اليرقات بشكل أسرع مع ارتفاع درجات حرارة الماء الأكثر دفئًا. وبالتالي ، يوصى الرصد المنتظم خلال هذه المرحلة.


انقر فوق تشغيل لعرض يرقات المرجان الجديد. فيديو © Anastasia Banaszak.

بعد بضعة أيام ، ستكون يرقات المرجان جاهزة للاستقرار والتطور لتصبح ورمًا مرجانيًا. يصف القسم التالي اليرقات مستوطنة على ركائز صناعية وطبيعية.

الاعتبارات الرئيسية

  • الحفاظ على درجة حرارة الماء المناسبة والحفاظ على تمييع اليرقات للحفاظ على جودة المياه.
  • سوف البيض غير المخصب يقلل من نوعية المياه لأنها تتحلل. العديد من التغييرات المياه ستكون ضرورية.
  • يجب تجنب التبخر من المبردات لأن هذا سيزيد الملوحة.


Secore_Logo_RGB
تم تطوير هذا المحتوى مع SECORE International. للمزيد من المعلومات الرجاء الاتصال info@secore.org أو زيارة موقعه على الانترنت في secore.org.

Rearing Larvae

MENUMENU

After fertilization, coral embryos form free-swimming larvae after a few days of development. There are various methods that can be used to culture and rear coral larvae through the development phase until they are competent to settle. Any of these methods will be more successful if you begin with high fertilization rates. When fertilization is low, the unfertilized eggs die and decompose over the first 24-48 hours, fouling the rest of the culture as there are no viable ways to separate the unfertilized eggs. Over the course of development, the embryos begin floating at the water surface, but they gradually lose buoyancy as their lipid stores are used and they begin swimming, taking them toward the bottom. This means there are slightly different handling techniques as the larvae change position in the water column.

Free swimming coral larvae (Acropora palmata) in a test tube. Photo © Paul Selvaggio/SECORE International

Free swimming coral larvae (Acropora palmata) in a test tube. Photo © Paul Selvaggio/SECORE International

Generally, the strategy is to keep the larvae in an environment of appropriate temperature and water quality. Larvae can be kept in standing bins, coolers, or small tabletop dishes if they are maintained under optimal temperatures (generally 23-29°C or 73-84°F ref , but this depends on ambient reef temperatures in your location). The key to maintaining good water quality is to keep larvae at a low density (which can be difficult in the early stages when they float and clump at the surface) and cleaning water to remove excess sperm cells. In the early stages when the larvae are floating, the fat-separating pitchers (as described in the Fertilization section) can be used for water changes. When the larvae are more fully developed and swimming, the cultures can be filtered through a sieve with fixed-size mesh to retain the larvae. Pipettes, squirt bottles, siphoning tubes, and sieves are all useful tools.

If more sophisticated plumbing is available, various sorts of drip-through culture vessels can be employed with temperature control and filtration. Lastly, in situ floating pools may be used to contain large numbers of developing larvae through settlement, but there are many considerations when choosing an appropriate site for these pools (e.g., water quality, exposure to waves, rain storms, or sunlight, securing the pools, etc.). Fixed-size mesh, depending on the species and size of larvae, can be incorporated into culture vessels to retain larvae while allowing some water exchange.

The progress of larval development can be monitored if a dissecting microscope is available. The rate of development, and hence the time until the larvae are ready to settle, will depend both on the coral species and on the temperature, as larvae develop faster with warmer water temperatures. Thus, regular monitoring is recommended during this phase.

 

Click play to view new coral larvae. Video © Anastasia Banaszak.

After a few days, coral larvae will be ready to settle and develop into a coral polyp. The next section describes larval settlement onto artificial and natural substrates.

KEY CONSIDERATIONS

  • Maintain appropriate water temperature and keep larvae dilute to maintain water quality.
  • Unfertilized eggs will reduce water quality as they decay; many water changes will be necessary.
  • Evaporation from coolers should be avoided as this will increase salinity.

 

Test Your Understanding

Test your understanding of the information in this section by taking the quiz.

 
 
 



Secore_Logo_RGB
This content was developed with SECORE International. For more information, contact info@secore.org or visit their website at secore.org.

Translate »