飼養幼蟲

Staghorn珊瑚在甘蔗灣,聖克羅伊。 照片©Kemit-Amon Lewis / TNC

受精後,珊瑚胚胎經過幾天的發育後會形成自由游動的幼蟲。 有許多方法可以用於培養和後期珊瑚幼蟲的發育階段,直到它們有能力定居。 如果從高受精率開始,這些方法中的任何一種都會更成功。 當受精率低時,未受精的卵在第一個24-48小時內死亡和分解,污染其餘的培養物,因為沒有可行的方法來分離未受精的卵。 在開發過程中,胚胎開始漂浮在水面上,但隨著脂質儲存的使用逐漸失去浮力,它們開始游泳,將它們帶到底部。 這意味著當幼蟲改變水柱中的位置時,處理技術略有不同。

在試管中自由游泳珊瑚幼蟲(Acropora palmata)。 照片©Paul Selvaggio / SECORE International

在試管中自由游泳珊瑚幼蟲(Acropora palmata)。 照片©Paul Selvaggio / SECORE International

通常,策略是將幼蟲保持在適當溫度和水質的環境中。 如果將幼蟲保持在最佳溫度下(例如23-29°C或73-84°F),幼蟲可以保存在站立式垃圾箱,冷卻器或小型桌面餐具中 文獻 ,但這取決於您所在地區的環境礁溫度)。 保持良好水質的關鍵是將幼蟲保持在低密度(在它們漂浮並在表面結塊時的早期階段很難)和清潔水以去除多餘的精子細胞。 在幼蟲漂浮的早期階段,分離脂肪的投手(如 受精 部分)可用於換水。 當幼蟲更充分發育和游泳時,可以通過具有固定尺寸網的篩子過濾培養物以保留幼蟲。 移液器,噴射瓶,虹吸管和篩子都是有用的工具。

如果有更複雜的管道,可以使用各種滴濾培養容器進行溫度控制和過濾。 最後, 現場 浮池可用於通過沉降來容納大量發育中的幼蟲,但在為這些池選擇合適的場地時需要考慮許多因素(例如,水質,暴露於海浪,暴雨或陽光,保護池等)。 )。 根據幼蟲的種類和大小,固定大小的網狀物可以結合到培養容器中以保留幼蟲,同時允許一些水交換。

如果有解剖顯微鏡,可以監測幼蟲發育的進展。 發育速度,以及幼蟲準備定居的時間,將取決於珊瑚種類和溫度,因為幼蟲在溫度較高的水溫下發育得更快。 因此,在此階段建議定期監測。


點擊播放查看新的珊瑚幼蟲。 視頻©Anastasia Banaszak。

幾天后,珊瑚幼蟲將準備好定居並發育成珊瑚息肉。 下一節將介紹幼蟲 沉降 在人造和天然基質上。

主要考慮因素

  • 保持適當的水溫並保持幼蟲稀釋以保持水質。
  • 未受精的卵會隨著腐爛而降低水質; 許多水的變化是必要的。
  • 應避免從冷卻器中蒸發,因為這會增加鹽度。



Secore_Logo_RGB
此內容由SECORE International開發。 有關更多信息,請聯繫 info@secore.org 或訪問他們的網站 secore.org.

Rearing Larvae

MENUMENU

After fertilization, coral embryos form free-swimming larvae after a few days of development. There are various methods that can be used to culture and rear coral larvae through the development phase until they are competent to settle. Any of these methods will be more successful if you begin with high fertilization rates. When fertilization is low, the unfertilized eggs die and decompose over the first 24-48 hours, fouling the rest of the culture as there are no viable ways to separate the unfertilized eggs. Over the course of development, the embryos begin floating at the water surface, but they gradually lose buoyancy as their lipid stores are used and they begin swimming, taking them toward the bottom. This means there are slightly different handling techniques as the larvae change position in the water column.

Free swimming coral larvae (Acropora palmata) in a test tube. Photo © Paul Selvaggio/SECORE International

Free swimming coral larvae (Acropora palmata) in a test tube. Photo © Paul Selvaggio/SECORE International

Generally, the strategy is to keep the larvae in an environment of appropriate temperature and water quality. Larvae can be kept in standing bins, coolers, or small tabletop dishes if they are maintained under optimal temperatures (generally 23-29°C or 73-84°F ref , but this depends on ambient reef temperatures in your location). The key to maintaining good water quality is to keep larvae at a low density (which can be difficult in the early stages when they float and clump at the surface) and cleaning water to remove excess sperm cells. In the early stages when the larvae are floating, the fat-separating pitchers (as described in the Fertilization section) can be used for water changes. When the larvae are more fully developed and swimming, the cultures can be filtered through a sieve with fixed-size mesh to retain the larvae. Pipettes, squirt bottles, siphoning tubes, and sieves are all useful tools.

If more sophisticated plumbing is available, various sorts of drip-through culture vessels can be employed with temperature control and filtration. Lastly, in situ floating pools may be used to contain large numbers of developing larvae through settlement, but there are many considerations when choosing an appropriate site for these pools (e.g., water quality, exposure to waves, rain storms, or sunlight, securing the pools, etc.). Fixed-size mesh, depending on the species and size of larvae, can be incorporated into culture vessels to retain larvae while allowing some water exchange.

The progress of larval development can be monitored if a dissecting microscope is available. The rate of development, and hence the time until the larvae are ready to settle, will depend both on the coral species and on the temperature, as larvae develop faster with warmer water temperatures. Thus, regular monitoring is recommended during this phase.

 

Click play to view new coral larvae. Video © Anastasia Banaszak.

After a few days, coral larvae will be ready to settle and develop into a coral polyp. The next section describes larval settlement onto artificial and natural substrates.

KEY CONSIDERATIONS

  • Maintain appropriate water temperature and keep larvae dilute to maintain water quality.
  • Unfertilized eggs will reduce water quality as they decay; many water changes will be necessary.
  • Evaporation from coolers should be avoided as this will increase salinity.

 

Test Your Understanding

Test your understanding of the information in this section by taking the quiz.

 
 
 



Secore_Logo_RGB
This content was developed with SECORE International. For more information, contact info@secore.org or visit their website at secore.org.

Translate »