快速反應和緊急恢復

Staghorn珊瑚在甘蔗灣,聖克羅伊。 照片©Kemit-Amon Lewis / TNC

珊瑚礁受到許多地方,區域和全球壓力源的影響。 雖然對諸如水質差和過度捕撈等珊瑚礁的長期威脅需要緩解長期管理行動,但急性事件(例如強風暴,漏油)往往需要一系列不同的即時或緊急響應以及修復珊瑚礁和救援的活動珊瑚殖民地。 快速有效地應對影響對於提高珊瑚礁未來繼續為當地社區提供有價值服務的可能性至關重要。 為了以這種方式作出回應,應該在任何事件之前製定響應計劃。 更多信息可以在快速反應和緊急恢復課程中找到 恢復在線課程.

響應計劃

響應計劃是一種商定的戰略,可以在發生損害珊瑚礁的事件時採取行動,以便迅速減輕影響並減少進一步的損害。 雖然不同的影響可能需要獨特的活動,但響應計劃通常有共同的要素

運作結構

包括已同意參與響應活動的所有實體和組織,包括牽頭組織(或指向人員)以及具有特定和已知職責的團隊。

物流計劃

包括應建立的物流,以保證現場活動期間材料和資源的供應和可用性。

快速珊瑚礁評估計劃

包括在事件發生後立即進行的評估,以確定珊瑚礁損壞的程度和位置,並確定需要遵循的緊急活動。

緊急或主要恢復計劃

包括清除衝擊源和其他剩餘危險源,以及進行珊瑚礁救援活動,例如重新連接或穩定破碎的碎片或移位的菌落。

額外或二次恢復活動的計劃

包括將被拯救的珊瑚碎片移入苗圃,將珊瑚移植到受損珊瑚礁以及穩定受損群落上的結構性裂縫等活動。

溝通計劃

包括與不同受眾(如利益相關方合作夥伴或公眾)共享的關鍵信息和信息。

風暴傷害

熱帶風暴(稱為旋風,颱風或颶風)的特點是強風和大風,強降雨和風暴潮(由於低壓系統導致的水位上升)。 熱帶風暴經常發生在可預測的季節,從6月到11月在大西洋和11月到4月在印度和太平洋海洋。

如果不那麼強烈且不那麼頻繁,風暴可以通過增加珊瑚多樣性和減少熱應激來積極影響珊瑚礁。 然而,強烈和強烈的風暴可能對珊瑚礁造成嚴重破壞,每兩年或更短時間內頻繁發生的風暴可以防止珊瑚礁恢復。

熱帶風暴對珊瑚礁造成不同程度的破壞,從輕度或部分破壞到完全的珊瑚礁損失。 這些風暴可能因磨損,骨折和集落脫落而導致高珊瑚死亡率。 在風暴過去之後,珊瑚死亡率通常會持續下去,因為受傷的珊瑚更容易受到疾病,漂白和捕食的影響。

在2004颶風艾米麗之後,珊瑚受到磨損。 照片©JuanCarlosHuitrón

熱帶風暴期間的強風和洪水也有可能從大型建築物,家居用品和戶外物品中產生大量碎片,這些碎片可能被拉入海中並進一步破壞珊瑚礁。

本節概述了早期預警和快速反應議定書:減輕熱帶氣旋對珊瑚礁影響的行動(English)(西班牙語)。 雖然特定於墨西哥的莫雷洛斯港,但該協議的關鍵組成部分可應用於任何珊瑚礁區域。

運作結構

應在風暴季節之前與所有參與組織一起制定具有運營結構的響應計劃或協議。 通過這種方式,可以快速地對響應活動採取行動。 Puerto Morelos響應議定書包括以下業務組。

該委員會由一名協調員,水下響應小組的領導以及運營和溝通領導組成。 委員會計劃,指導和協調協議中的所有活動,包括:

  • 每年審查和更新協議
  • 準備和協調響應計劃的實施
  • 建立,培訓和協調響應團隊或“旅”
  • 管理資金以實施活動
  • 與夥伴機構的持續和持續協調
第一響應者討論主要響應行動。 照片©Gisela Maldonado

第一響應者討論主要響應行動。 照片©Gisela Maldonado

這些旅是由4-6潛水員,2-4潛水員,1-2船助手和一名水手和船長組成的團隊,他們受過訓練,可以實施風暴後的水下活動。 響應旅的活動包括:

  • 在風暴過後立即進行快速珊瑚礁評估
  • 風暴過後,從礁石中清除碎片和碎石
  • 實施主要響應行動,例如重新定位,重新附加和穩定破碎,脫落或翻倒的珊瑚群落和碎片
  • 移除並固定埋在沙子下面的菌落
  • 移除或穩定死珊瑚碎石並清除珊瑚礁中的沉積物
  • 實施二級響應行動,例如穩定結構性裂縫,將珊瑚碎片放置在苗圃中,以及維護苗圃和修復地點
旅團成員裝載船隻並準備他們的潛水裝備,進行為期一天的水上訓練。 照片©Jennifer Adler

旅團成員裝載船隻並準備他們的潛水裝備,進行為期一天的水上訓練。 照片©Jennifer Adler

該團隊由一名領導和兩名後勤團隊組成,每隊都有2-3人員。 該團隊負責協調執行協議所需的後勤和運營,包括:

  • 促進委員會,響應隊和合作夥伴之間的內部和外部溝通
  • 向旅提供材料,燃料,食品,飲料和其他物資
  • 監測每個旅的活動和位置
  • 動員響應活動所需的設備,船隻和用品
  • 收集和處理響應旅帶回的碎片
  • 準備,維護和保護設備(工具箱,急救箱等)
需要一個團隊來協調響應計劃的後勤和溝通。 照片©Jennifer Adler

需要一個團隊來協調響應計劃的後勤和溝通。 照片©Jennifer Adler

主要合作夥伴

合作夥伴組織網絡對於獲得成功及時的風暴響應所需的資源和人員非常重要。 合作夥伴可以包括政府機構,私營公司,非政府組織和其他希望為應對工作做出貢獻的人。

規劃與準備

在暴風雨季節之前,應進行以下活動,以便在發生破壞性熱帶風暴的情況下計劃和準備快速的珊瑚礁響應。

規劃活動

  • 評估和更新響應計劃 - 在風暴季節和響應活動之後的每一年,響應計劃應根據反應隊的反饋和評估進行更新和改進。
  • 準備年度行動計劃 - 該計劃概述了在下一個風暴季節之前準備的行動。 關鍵方麵包括資金和管理資源以及管理運輸需求的計劃(例如,在響應期間使用的當地船隻或車輛)。
  • 建立機構間合作夥伴關係 - 應在風暴季節之前與可以幫助實施響應協議的機構和組織建立夥伴關係。 例子包括可以提供操作空間或持有設備或材料供應商的合作夥伴。
  • 響應旅的安全保險政策 - 應提供臨時保險單(例如潛水保險)以涵蓋實地活動期間可能發生的事故。

準備活動

  • 為響應旅準備材料和設備 - 在暴風雨季節之前,應購買或更換響應團隊所需的材料和設備,並在防水箱中進行預組裝。 這一點至關重要,因為在風暴事件發生後,對材料的訪
  • 進行基線調查 - 當地珊瑚礁的基線調查應在風暴季節之前每年或每半年進行一次,或者應通過當地合作夥伴獲取數據。 基線信息用於比較和確定風暴後對珊瑚礁的影響程度。
  • 建立通信網絡 - 應制定計劃,協調並向委員會,響應隊和合作夥伴發送警報。 在電氣或蜂窩信號故障期間應該可以訪問通信方式,並且應該保持團隊負責人的聯繫信息是最新的。
  • 訓練反應隊 - 在暴風雨季節之前,應在野外活動中訓練旅,包括進行快速珊瑚礁評估,在水下清除重物,重新連接或穩定受損珊瑚或碎片,以及SCUBA潛水急救和心肺復蘇術。
  • 識別威脅並降低風險 - 應確定風暴情況下潛在的珊瑚礁受損源,向當地機構報告,並在風暴季節前將其移除。 威脅可能包括過時或需要修復的基礎設施,沿海鬆散的樹木或樹枝,以及污染物來源(如排水溝,污水,垃圾堆)。 可以使用對場地,潛水員條件和設備的正式風險評估。
  • 建設珊瑚苗圃 - 在暴風雨之後,托兒所可用於掩蔽從珊瑚礁中救出的珊瑚碎片,使珊瑚在被轉移回珊瑚礁之前穩定下來。 應在暴風雨季節前至少三個月建立苗圃,以測試不同的設計。

預警階段

這一階段包括在該地區存在熱帶風暴期間採取的行動,包括在接近和撤退階段。 Puerto Morelos議定書提供了一個預警系統,其中包括從風暴的接近和撤退階段的藍色(最小危險)到紅色(最大危險)的警報類別。

響應小組應被告知潛在的風暴,以便有時間準備立即有效的響應。 在預警階段採取的行動類型取決於警報的級別,警報的級別取決於風暴的距離和強度以及是否接近或退出該區域。

接近階段

如果預計熱帶風暴會影響當地,委員會應繼續監測當地的預報報告,並根據威脅程度進行。

熱帶風暴階段接近階段。 來自:Zepeda等。 2018

撤退階段

應監測風暴遠離受影響區域和當地條件的運動,以確定何時可以部署響應旅。 建議評估一般海況,水的能見度,通往海洋的通道的安全性,旅級成員(和家庭)的安全性以及所使用的車輛,船隻和設備的狀態。 響應團隊的安全是此過程的基礎。

在熱帶風暴退縮階段的階段。 來自:Zepeda等。 2018

關於預警系統和活動的詳細信息可參見“預警和快速反應議定書:減輕熱帶氣旋對珊瑚礁的影響的行動”(English)(西班牙語).

快速損害評估

一旦響應旅在暴風雨後被派遣到海上,他們的首要任務是進行快速的珊瑚礁評估,以確定對當地珊瑚礁的破壞程度。 此評估應在風暴發生後的幾天內或在現場活動安全的條件下進行。

快速評估應確定主要損害和受影響最嚴重的珊瑚礁區域,以便優先考慮區域以立即作出反應。 應記錄風暴產生的碎片以及移除它所需的干預程度。 建議採用以下技術以最大限度地減少水中的時間。

曼塔拖曳調查

這種方法包括一個snorkeler,他在乘坐浮動設備的同時被船慢慢拖動,允許snorkeler記錄信息並拿著GPS設備和相機拍攝照片或視頻。 也可以使用商定的信號代碼由該旅的其他成員從船上記錄信息。

潛水員在評估期間向船員發出信號以記錄數據。 照片©Jennifer Adler

無人機調查

無人機可用於空中損傷評估,以獲得比衛星圖像更詳細的高分辨率和地理參考視頻和圖像。 空中數據可以估算淺水區,珊瑚礁和沿海岸線風暴拖入海中的災害碎片數量。

無人機被用來調查珊瑚礁底部地形。 照片©Tim Calver

應記錄用於快速損害評估的數據類型包括:

  • 存在需要立即穩定的珊瑚碎片
  • 在礁石結構或大塊殖民地存在裂縫
  • 存在於沉積物下的珊瑚
  • 存在翻倒,碎片和/或拖曳的珊瑚
  • 珊瑚礁的損失百分比與觀察到的總面積有關
  • 存在碎片或死珊瑚碎石,它們正在移動並可能造成損壞
  • 珊瑚礁結構受損的百分比或大小

應立即分析數據,並使用結果生成顯示受影響最大的站點的地圖。 然後,這些數據可用於生成響應和進一步恢復活動的計劃。

主要回應

風暴事件發生後的恢復和恢復工作通常包括: 次要 響應。 主要響應的目的是減少風暴造成的損害並防止進一步發生損害。 這些行動應在颶風過後立即或在一個月內進行,並包括以下活動:

清理活動

風暴造成的碎片可能是人為的(建築材料,電器,垃圾,污染物)或天然(樹幹,樹枝,有機材料),這兩種類型都會破壞珊瑚礁。 留在珊瑚礁上的碎片可以繼續四處移動並傷害珊瑚和其他底棲生物。 活動包括清潔海灘,移除漂浮在海中或沉積在淺海和礁石區域的物體。

重新定位和重新附加珊瑚

風暴會產生鬆散的珊瑚碎片,破壞或推翻菌落,導致硬珊瑚骨折,並撕裂軟珊瑚。 受影響的生物體應重新定位並重新附著,以增加恢復的機會。

加勒比elkhorn珊瑚殖民地的重新連接。 照片©Claudia Padilla

去除鬆散的碎片和沈積物

鬆散的珊瑚碎片和移動的沉積物會進一步破壞珊瑚礁生物。 這些應該被移除或穩定以最小化未來的損害。

次要回應

次要響應包括拯救在主要響應工作期間無法接受的珊瑚。 這些行動應在颶風過後數周至數月內進行,並包括以下活動:

在珊瑚苗圃中穩定碎片

珊瑚在事件的2週內存活率最高。 應收集具有低生存機會或複位能力的鬆散珊瑚碎片並移入珊瑚苗圃。

收集風暴產生的珊瑚碎片帶到附近的苗圃。 照片©區域水產養殖和漁業研究中心(CRIAP)/國家漁業研究所(INAPESCA)

穩定結構性裂縫

珊瑚菌落中的裂縫或部分裂縫可以用環氧粘土,水泥或其他增強材料穩定。 如果裂縫非常大,可能需要使用不銹鋼棒或水泥的增強材料。

維護托兒所和受影響的地點

珊瑚苗圃和受風暴破壞的場地需要進行日常維護,以控制大型藻類的生長。 常規監測也有助於在將它們移植到珊瑚礁上之前跟踪苗圃中珊瑚的狀況。

案例研究

熱帶風暴的頻率和強度在全球範圍內不斷增加。 隨著為應對重大風暴後珊瑚礁做出更多努力,從不同地區可以吸取有關其活動的經驗教訓。 閱讀兩個案例研究 澳洲 - 波多黎各 在2017發生的重大風暴之後的緊急和快速反應工作。

Rapid Response & Emergency Restoration

Staghorn Corals in Cane Bay, St. Croix. Photo © Kemit-Amon Lewis/TNC

Coral reefs are subject to numerous local, regional, and global stressors. While chronic threats to reefs like poor water quality and overfishing require long-term management actions to be mitigated, acute events (e.g., strong storms, oil spills) often require a different set of immediate or emergency responses with activities to repair a reef and rescue coral colonies. Addressing impacts quickly and effectively is critical for increasing the likelihood that coral reefs will continue to provide valuable services to local communities in the future. In order to respond in this manner, a response plan should be developed in advance of any event. More information can be found in the Rapid Response & Emergency Restoration lesson of the Restoration online course

Response Plan

A response plan is an agreed-upon strategy that can be acted upon in the case of an event that damages a reef in order to quickly mitigate impacts and reduce further damage. Although different impacts may require unique activities, response plans often have common elements:

An Operational Structure

Includes all entities and organizations that have agreed to participate in response activities, including a lead organization (or point person) and teams with specific and known responsibilities.

A Logistics Plan

Includes logistics that should be in place to guarantee the supply and availability of materials and resources during field activities.

Plans for a Rapid Reef Assessment

Includes an assessment done immediately after an event to determine the extent and location of reef damage, and identifying emergency activities that need to follow.

An Emergency or Primary Restoration Plan

Includes removing the source of the impact and other remaining hazards, and conducting reef rescue activities such as reattaching or stabilizing broken fragments or dislodged colonies.

Plans for Additional or Secondary Restoration Activities

Includes activities such as moving rescued coral fragments into nurseries, outplanting corals back onto damaged reefs, and stabilizing structural fractures on damaged colonies.

A Communications Plan

Includes key messages and information to share with different audiences such as stakeholder partners or the public.

Storm Damage

Tropical storms (called cyclones, typhoons, or hurricanes) are characterized by strong winds and currents, heavy rainfall, and storm surge (rising water due to low- pressure systems). Tropical storms often occur during predictable seasons, from June to November in the Atlantic Ocean and November to April in the Indian and Pacific Oceans.

When less intense and less frequent, storms can positively affect coral reefs by increasing coral diversity and reducing thermal stress. However, strong and intense storms can cause heavy damage to coral reefs, and frequent storms occurring every two years or less can prevent reef recovery.

Tropical storms cause different levels of damage to reefs, ranging from mild or partial damage to complete reef loss. These storms can cause high coral mortality due to abrasion, fracture, and colony detachment. Coral mortality often continues after a storm has passed because injured corals are more susceptible to disease, bleaching, and predation.

Coral with abrasion damage after Hurricane Emily in 2004. Photo © Juan Carlos Huitrón

High winds and flooding during tropical storms also have the potential to generate substantial amounts of debris from large structures, household articles, and outdoor items, which can be pulled into the sea and further damage coral reefs.

This section summarizes Early Warning and Rapid Response Protocol: Actions to Mitigate the Impact of Tropical Cyclones on Coral Reefs (English) (Español). Though specific to Puerto Morelos, Mexico, the key components of this protocol can be applied in any reef area.

Operational Structure

A response plan or protocol with an operational structure should be prepared ahead of the storm season with all participating organizations. In this way, the response activities can be acted upon quickly. The Puerto Morelos Response Protocol includes the following operational groups.

This committee is made of a coordinator, leaders of in-water response teams, and an operations and communications lead. The committee plans, directs, and coordinates all activities from the protocol, including: 

  • Reviewing and updating the protocol annually
  • Preparing and coordinating response plan implementation 
  • Establishing, training, and coordinating the response teams or ‘brigades’
  • Managing funds to implement activities
  • Continued and on-going coordination with partner institutions
First Responders discussing primary response actions. Photo © Gisela Maldonado

First Responders discussing primary response actions. Photo © Gisela Maldonado

The brigades are teams consisting of 4-6 divers, 2-4 snorkelers, 1-2 boat assistants, and one sailor and captain who are trained to implement the post-storm response in-water activities. Response brigade activities include:

  • Carrying out a rapid reef assessment immediately after a storm
  • Removing debris and rubble from the reef after a storm
  • Implementing primary response actions, such as repositioning, reattaching, and stabilizing broken, dislodged, or overturned coral colonies and fragments
  • Removing and securing colonies buried under the sand
  • Removing or stabilizing dead coral rubble and removing sediment from the reef
  • Implementing secondary response actions, such as stabilizing structural fractures, placing coral fragments in nurseries, and maintaining nurseries and restoration sites
Brigade members load the boat and prepare their scuba gear for a day of training on the water. Photo © Jennifer Adler

Brigade members load the boat and prepare their scuba gear for a day of training on the water. Photo © Jennifer Adler

This team consists of one leader and two logistics teams with 2-3 people each. This team coordinates the logistics and operations needed to carry out the protocol, including:

  • Facilitating internal and external communication between the committee, response brigades, and partners
  • Supplying materials, fuel, food, beverages and other supplies to the brigades
  • Monitoring the activities and location of each brigade
  • Mobilizing equipment, boats, and supplies necessary for response activities
  • Collecting and disposing of debris brought back by the response brigades 
  • Preparing, maintaining, and safeguarding equipment (tool boxes, first aid kits, etc.)
A team is needed to coordinate logistics and communications of the response plan. Photo © Jennifer Adler

A team is needed to coordinate logistics and communications of the response plan. Photo © Jennifer Adler

Key Partners

A network of partner organizations is important for obtaining the resources and personnel needed for a successful and timely storm response. Partners can include government agencies, private companies, NGOs, and others looking to contribute to response efforts.

Planning & Preparation

Prior to the storm season, the following activities should be conducted to plan and prepare for a rapid reef response in case of a damaging tropical storm.

Planning Activities

  • Evaluating and Updating a Response Plan – Each year after the storm season and response activities, the response plan should be updated and improved upon based on feedback and evaluation from response brigades.
  • Preparing an Annual Action Plan – This plan outlines the actions to be implemented to prepare before the next storm season. Key aspects include a plan for funding and managing resources and for managing transportation needs (e.g., local boats or vehicles to use during the response).
  • Establishing Inter-Institutional Partnerships – Partnerships should be made prior to the storm season with agencies and organizations that can help implement the response protocol. Examples include partners that can provide a space for operations or holding equipment or suppliers of materials.
  • Secure Insurance Policies for Response Brigades – Temporary insurance policies (e.g. diving insurance) should be available to cover accidents that may occur during field activities.

Preparation Activities

  • Preparing Materials and Equipment for Response Brigades – Prior to the storm season, materials and equipment needed by response teams should be purchased or replaced and pre-assembled in waterproof cases. This is critical as access to materials may be limited after a storm event.
  • Conducting Baseline Surveys – Baseline surveys of local reefs should be conducted annually or semi-annually prior to the storm season, or data should be obtained through local partners. Baseline information is used to compare and identify the extent of post-storm impacts to reefs.
  • Establishing a Communication Network – A plan should be established to coordinate and send alerts to the committee, response brigades, and partners. Means of communication should be accessible during electrical or cellular signal failure, and contact information for team leaders should be kept up to date.
  • Training Response Brigades – Brigades should be trained before the storm season on field activities including conducting rapid reef assessments, removal of heavy objects underwater, reattaching or stabilizing damaged corals or fragments, and SCUBA diving first aid and CPR.
  • Identifying Threats and Reducing Risks – Potential sources of damage to reefs in case of a storm should be identified, reported to local agencies, and removed before the storm season. Threats can include infrastructure that is obsolete or needs repair, loose trees or branches on the coast, and sources of pollutants (e.g., drains, sewage, garbage dumps). A formal risk assessment of the site, diver conditions, and equipment can be used.
  • Building Coral Nurseries – Nurseries can be used to shelter coral fragments rescued from reefs after storms, allowing corals to stabilize before being transferred back to the reef. Nurseries should be established at least three months prior to the storm season to test different designs.

Early Warning Stage

This stage includes actions to be carried out during the presence of the tropical storm in the area, both in its approaching and retreating phases. The Puerto Morelos Protocol offers an Early Warning System with alert categories from Blue (minimum danger) to Red (maximum danger) for the approaching and retreating phases of a storm.

Response teams should be informed of a potential storm to have time to prepare for an immediate and effective response. The type of action taken in the early warning stage depends on the level of alert, which depends on the distance and intensity of the storm and whether it is approaching or retreating from the area.

Approaching Phase

If a tropical storm is predicted to impact a local area, the Committee should continuously monitor local forecasting reports and proceed according to the level of threat.

Stages in the tropical storm approaching phase. From: Zepeda et al. 2018

Retreating Phase

The storm’s movement away from the affected area and local conditions should be monitored to determine when response brigades can be deployed. It is recommended to evaluate general sea conditions, water visibility, safety of access routes to the sea, safety of brigade members (and families), and status of vehicles, boats, and equipment to be used. Response team safety is fundamental during this process.

Stages in the tropical storm retreating phase. From: Zepeda et al. 2018

Detailed information on early warning systems and activities can be found in the Early Warning and Rapid Response Protocol: Actions to Mitigate the Impact of Tropical Cyclones on Coral Reefs (English) (Español).

Rapid Damage Assessment

Once response brigades have been dispatched to sea after a storm, their first task is to conduct a rapid reef assessment to determine the level of damage to local reefs. This assessment should occur within several days after the storm or when conditions are safe for field activities.

The rapid assessment should identify major damages and the most affected reef areas in order to prioritize areas for immediate response. Debris generated by the storm should be recorded as well as the level of intervention required to remove it. The following techniques are recommended to minimize time in the water.

Manta tow surveys

This method includes a snorkeler who is dragged slowly by a boat while holding onto a flotation device, allowing the snorkeler to record information and hold a GPS device and camera for photos or videos. Information can also be recorded from the boat by other members of the brigade using an agreed-upon signal code.

Diver giving signals to boat members to record data during an assessment. Photo © Jennifer Adler

Drone surveys

Drones can be used for aerial damage assessments to obtain high resolution and georeferenced videos and images with greater detail than satellite imagery. Aerial data can estimate the amount of disaster debris dragged into the sea by the storm in shallow water areas, on reefs, and along the coastline.

Drone being used to survey the coral reef bottom topography. Photo © Tim Calver

Types of data that should be recorded for the rapid damage assessment include:

  • Presence of coral fragments that need immediate stabilization
  • Presence of fractures in the reef structure or to massive colonies
  • Presence of corals buried under the sediment
  • Presence of overturned, fragmented and/or dragged corals
  • Percent damage in the coral reef in relation to the total area observed
  • Presence of debris or dead coral rubble that are moving and potentially causing damage
  • Percent or magnitude of damage to the reef structure

Data should be analyzed immediately, and the results should be used to generate maps showing the most affected sites. These data can then be used to generate plans for response and further restoration activities.

Primary Response

Rehabilitation and restoration efforts after a storm event often include a primary and a secondary response. The purpose of the primary response is to reduce damage caused by the storm and prevent further damage from occurring. These actions should take place immediately or within a month after the storm and include the following activities:

Clean-up activities

Debris caused by a storm can be anthropogenic (construction material, appliances, garbage, pollutants) or natural (tree trunks, branches, organic material), and both types can damage the reef. Debris left on reefs can continue to move around and harm corals and other benthic organisms. Activities include cleaning the beach and removing objects floating in the sea or deposited in shallow and reef areas.

Repositioning and reattaching corals

Storms can generate loose coral fragments, break or overturn colonies, cause fractures in hard corals, and tear soft corals. Affected organisms should be repositioned and reattached to increase chances of recovery.

Reattachment of Caribbean elkhorn coral colony. Photo © Claudia Padilla

Removing loose fragments and sediment

Loose coral fragments and moved sediment can further damage reef organisms. These should either be removed or stabilized to minimize future damage.

Secondary Response

The secondary response includes rescuing corals that could not be tended to during primary response efforts. These actions should take place within several weeks to months after the storm and include the following activities:

Stabilizing fragments in coral nurseries

Corals have the highest chance of survival within 2 weeks of an event. Loose coral fragments with low chance of survival or ability for reattachment should be collected and moved into coral nurseries.

Collecting coral fragments generated by a storm to take to a nearby nursery. Photo © Regional Center of Aquaculture and Fisheries Research (CRIAP)/National Fisheries Institute (INAPESCA)

Stabilizing structural fractures

Fractures or partial cracks in coral colonies can be stabilized with epoxy clay, cement, or other reinforcing materials. If the fracture is very large, reinforcements with stainless steel rods or cement may be required.

Maintaining nurseries and impacted sites

Routine maintenance is required for coral nurseries and sites damaged by storms to keep macroalgal growth under control. Routine monitoring is also helpful for tracking the condition of corals in nurseries before outplanting them onto the reef.

Case Studies

Tropical storm frequency and intensity are increasing across the globe. As more efforts are being made to respond to and restore reefs after major storms, there are lessons to be learned from diverse regions about their activities. Read two case studies from Australia and Puerto Rico on emergency and rapid response efforts after major storms that occurred in 2017.