珊瑚礁環境

Staghorn珊瑚在甘蔗灣,聖克羅伊。 照片©Kemit-Amon Lewis / TNC

恢復珊瑚礁周圍的環境條件是該領域的另一個重要考慮因素。 珊瑚礁 - 雖然是一個獨特的生態系統 - 與周圍的景觀錯綜複雜地聯繫在一起,包括其他海洋棲息地,如海草床和紅樹林以及近岸土地。 如果壓力環境條件仍然威脅珊瑚免受陸地污染或徑流的影響,珊瑚種群可能無法改善。 同樣,重要的魚類群體包括一些食草動物依賴海草和紅樹林作為幼小時期的重要苗圃棲息地。

恢復項目應尋求棲息地和生態系統過程的長期恢復,例如珊瑚礁生物的補充和珊瑚礁的增加,以促進健康的珊瑚礁種群和生態系統狀態。 照片©Tim Calver

恢復項目應尋求棲息地和生態系統過程的長期恢復,例如珊瑚礁生物的補充和珊瑚礁的增加,以促進健康的珊瑚礁種群和生態系統狀態。 照片©Tim Calver

因此,長期和可持續的珊瑚礁恢復的整體方法應該關注並包括這些棲息地周圍的環境。 本節簡要介紹了這些方法,包括恢復海草和紅樹林生態系統。

Reef Environment

MENUMENU

Restoring the environmental conditions surrounding coral reefs is another important consideration in this field. Coral reefs – although a unique ecosystem – are intricately connected to the landscapes around them, including other marine habitats like seagrass beds and mangroves as well as the nearshore land. Coral populations are likely not going to improve if stressful environmental conditions still threaten corals from land-based pollution or run-off. Likewise, important populations of fish includes some herbivores rely on seagrasses and mangroves for critical nursery habitat when they are young.

Restoration projects should seek the long-term recovery of habitats and ecosystem processes, such as recruitment of reef organisms and reef accretion, to promote healthy coral reef populations and ecosystem states. Photo © Tim Calver

Restoration projects should seek the long-term recovery of habitats and ecosystem processes, such as recruitment of reef organisms and reef accretion, to promote healthy coral reef populations and ecosystem states. Photo © Tim Calver

Thus, a holistic approach to coral reef restoration that is long-term and sustainable should pay attention to and include the environment surrounding these habitats. This section provides a brief introduction to these methods, including the restoration of seagrass and mangrove ecosystems.

Translate »