島嶼比例尺映射

衛星圖像珊瑚礁

外植珊瑚的繪圖工具

許多珊瑚礁管理問題都以珊瑚礁健康為中心,例如“哪個珊瑚礁區域有更好的活珊瑚覆蓋?” 或“哪些珊瑚礁區域符合某些標準以提高珊瑚恢復成功率?”。 多光譜衛星圖像仍然太粗糙,無法區分珊瑚覆蓋和藻類,後者俱有相似的光譜特徵。 一種解決方案是使用成像光譜儀數據(也稱為高光譜數據)。 憑藉數百個光譜帶,這些數據能夠捕捉珊瑚和藻類之間微妙的光譜特徵變化,從而能夠區分它們。 成像光譜儀可以安裝在平面上以收集大面積數據(見下圖)。 適應這種製圖方法的項目規模通常跨越幾十公里,涵蓋小島國或部分珊瑚礁。 由於面積小,珊瑚礁面積小,加勒比海的島嶼是該技術的理想候選者。

英石。 克羅伊高

從全球機載天文台飛機上俯瞰聖克羅伊島。 照片 © Marjo Aho

亞利桑那州立大學的全球機載天文台 (GAO) 與大自然保護協會合作收集了成像光譜儀數據,以得出定性珊瑚礁數據,包括活珊瑚覆蓋度、粗糙度(珊瑚礁結構的三維排列)和水深測量。 此過程還生成輔助數據集,包括百分比藻類覆蓋、海草覆蓋和沙覆蓋。 查看和使用加勒比海洋地圖網站上的地圖: 在新窗口中打開機載影像地圖.

成像光譜儀

安裝在平面上的成像光譜儀收集高光譜數據。 資料來源:Knaeps 等。 2006年

GAO 地圖用於選擇多米尼加共和國東南部的外植點,提供有關後勤和生態標準的信息,以提高外植成活率,如下面的案例研究所述。

案例研究:使用遙感技術為多米尼加共和國巴瓦羅的外植株選擇提供信息

多米尼加共和國的恢復工作由 在新窗口中打開Fundación Grupo Puntacana (FGPC) 和 在新窗口中打開Fundación Dominicana de Estudios Marinos (FUNDEMAR),與 TNC 密切合作。 作為珊瑚恢復從業者,他們的計劃側重於增強未來的生態系統服務、優化和擴大恢復、促進珊瑚礁保護管理並提供替代的、可持續的生計機會。 他們的總體目標是減少珊瑚數量下降和生態系統退化,並重建一個自我維持、功能正常的珊瑚礁生態系統。 這些目標中的大部分是通過無性繁殖來實現的 鹿角鹿角, 鹿角珊瑚。

加勒比島地圖

突出多米尼加共和國的加勒比海島地圖。 圖片 © 大自然保護協會

FGPC 和 FUNDEMAR 組織了名為“Coral Manias”的大規模外植活動,利益相關者和志願者,包括當地和國際非政府組織、潛水運營商、旅遊業和多米尼加政府,參與了為期三天的珊瑚恢復工作。 儘管 Coral Manias 取得了成功,但外植地點的選擇缺乏選址的標準化標準。 相反,選擇標準依賴於當地的專業知識,這將外植工作限制在珊瑚礁的一小部分。 為了建立一種具有成本效益的方法來選擇外植地點並擴大恢復成功率,正在使用遙感來確定珊瑚恢復的最佳地點。

空中多米尼加共和國

多米尼加共和國鳥瞰圖。 照片 © Jeff Yonover

2019 年,TNC 和全球機載天文台 (GAO) 與 FGPC、FUNDEMAR 和 在新窗口中打開紅阿雷西法爾多米尼加 (RAD) 為多米尼加共和國東南部的珊瑚礁創建了一系列高分辨率地圖,覆蓋了東南海洋保護區。 GAO 使用成像光譜儀傳感器來收集珊瑚礁的高分辨率 (1 m) 圖像。 高分辨率地圖源自這些數據,表示水深測量、活珊瑚覆蓋、棲息地複雜性以及藻類、海草和沙子的覆蓋百分比。

GAO 地圖用於選擇多米尼加共和國東南部的外植點。 與當地珊瑚專家密切協商後,使用了物流和生態標準,以最大限度地利用預算並提高外植成活率。 兩個後勤標準旨在促進外植過程並減少時間,從而減少現場成本:

  1. 苗圃與外植點之間的距離(>1000 m)
  2. 波浪暴露(優先保護後礁棲息地)

考慮了五個生態標準來提高外植體存活的可能性:

  1. 硬底棲息地
  2. 至少 5-10% 的活珊瑚覆蓋
  3. 最多 20-30% 的藻類覆蓋
  4. 基於模型棲息地複雜性的更高粗糙度(避免平坦的棲息地)
  5. 深度在 5-8 m 之間

一旦確定了標準及其間隔,就會使用 GAO 地圖來查找一組最符合標準的站點。 使用 在新窗口中打開外植 GEE 應用程序,每個輸入層都可以可視化並定義標準閾值。 這樣,用戶就可以篩選出不符合條件的區域,選擇最佳的外植點。 在 Coral Mania 事件發生前幾天生成了一系列 GPS 坐標,並使用 SCUBA 和浮潛驗證了每個站點的標準準確性。

高地圖在線工具

多米尼加共和國東南部珊瑚礁 GAO 衍生地圖的在線工具,可以選擇生態標準以最大限度地提高珊瑚外植體的成功率。 圖片 © 大自然保護協會

珊瑚狂熱 2019

2019 年巴瓦羅的 Coral Mania 團隊。照片 © The Nature Conservancy

2019 年 1,711 月的 Coral Mania 活動匯集了數十名志願者,包括非政府組織、多米尼加環境當局、潛水運營商和其他當地利益相關者。 合計 XNUMX 鹿角珊瑚(Acropora cervicornis) 碎片在巴瓦羅 (Cabeza de Toro) 的各個地點外植。 目視檢查確認選擇的外植地點符合物流和生態標準,進一步表明 GAO 地圖是針對恢復地點的有用工具。

本案例研究表明,遙感數據是告知最佳恢復實踐的有用工具。 GAO 地圖足夠準確,可以選擇可能增加珊瑚外植體存活率的地點。 2020 年 85 月和 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月,TNC 對三個隨機選擇的地點的外植體進行了監測,並確認了 XNUMX% 的珊瑚碎片存活率。 調查小組沒有發現碎片從基質上分離的證據,這進一步表明所選地點的外植適宜性。 然而,需要對這些外植體進行長期監測,以更好地解決和完善標準和恢復成功。

珊瑚恢復成本估計為每公頃 1,717 美元至 2,879,773 美元 文獻 研究表明,當前的成本大於收益。 文獻 遙感數據的使用可以經濟地結合到恢復活動中,因為高分辨率數據可以從大面積(數千到數百萬公頃)的空中測繪中收集,成本為每公頃 0.01 美元,非盈利性。 文獻 複製此案例研究的主要挑戰是手頭有地圖,但一旦它們被開發出來,使用選擇站點工具就很簡單了。

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Island Scale Mapping

satellite imagery coral reefs

A Mapping Tool for Outplanting Corals

Many coral reef management questions are centered around reef health such as “what reef area has better live coral cover?” or “what reef area meets certain criteria to enhance coral restoration success?”. Multispectral satellite imagery is still too coarse to be able to differentiate coral cover from algae, which has a similar spectral signature. One solution is to use imaging spectrometer data (also called hyperspectral data). With hundreds of spectral bands, these data are able to capture the subtle spectral signature variations between coral and algae, making it possible to differentiate them. Imaging spectrometers can be mounted on planes to collect data across large areas (see image below). The scale of projects which are adapted to this mapping approach usually span a few tens of kilometers, covering small island nations or sections of reefs. Due to their small size and small reef area, the islands in the Caribbean are ideal candidates for this technology.

st. croix gao

View of St. Croix from the Global Airborne Observatory plane. Photo © Marjo Aho

The Arizona State University’s Global Airborne Observatory (GAO) in partnership with The Nature Conservancy have collected imaging spectrometer data to derive qualitative coral reef data, including live coral cover, rugosity (the three-dimensional arrangement of the reef structure), and bathymetry. This process also produces ancillary datasets including percent algal cover, seagrass cover, and sand cover. View and use the maps on the Caribbean Marine Maps website: opens in a new windowAirborne Imagery Maps.

imaging spectrometer

Imaging spectrometer mounted on a plane collecting hyperspectral data. Source: Knaeps et al. 2006

The GAO maps are being used to select outplanting sites in southeastern Dominican Republic by providing information on logistical and ecological criteria to increase outplanting survival rates as described in the case study below.

Case-Study: Using Remote Sensing Technology to Inform Outplant Selection in Bavaro, Dominican Republic

Restoration efforts in the Dominican Republic have been led by opens in a new windowFundación Grupo Puntacana (FGPC) and opens in a new windowFundación Dominicana de Estudios Marinos (FUNDEMAR), in close collaboration with TNC. As coral restoration practitioners, their programs focus on enhancing ecosystem services for the future, optimizing and scaling-up restoration, promoting coral reef conservation stewardship and providing alternative, sustainable livelihood opportunities. Their overall goals are to reduce coral population decline and ecosystem degradation and to re-establish a self-sustaining, functioning reef ecosystem. Most of these objectives have been accomplished through asexual propagation of Acropora cervicornis, staghorn coral.

insular caribbean map

Map of the insular Caribbean highlighting the Dominican Republic. Image © The Nature Conservancy

FGPC and FUNDEMAR have organized massive outplantings called “Coral Manias” in which stakeholders and volunteers, including local and international NGOs, diving operators, the tourism sector and the Dominican Government, are engaged in three days of coral restoration efforts. Although Coral Manias have been successful, the selection of the outplanting locations has lacked standardized criteria for site selection. Instead, selection criteria rely on local expertise, which restricts the outplanting effort to small sections of the reef. To build a cost-effective approach to outplanting site selection and to scale up restoration success, remote sensing is being used to identify optimal sites for coral restoration.

aerial dominican republic

Aerial view of Dominican Republic. Photo © Jeff Yonover

In 2019, TNC and the Global Airborne Observatory (GAO), in collaboration with FGPC, FUNDEMAR and the opens in a new windowRed Arrecifal Dominicana (RAD), created a series of high-resolution maps for the southeastern reefs of the Dominican Republic, covering the Southeast Marine Sanctuary. The GAO uses an imaging spectrometer sensor that collects high-resolution (1 m) images of coral reefs. High-resolution maps are derived from these data representing bathymetry, live coral cover, habitat complexity, and percent cover of algae, seagrass, and sand.

The GAO maps are being used to select outplanting sites in southeastern Dominican Republic. Logistical and ecological criteria were used in close consultation with local coral experts, to maximize the budget and increase outplanting survival rates. Two logistical criteria aimed at facilitating the outplanting process and reducing time, and therefore, costs in the field:

  1. Distance between the nursery and the outplanting site (>1000 m)
  2. Wave exposure (protected back reef habitats were prioritized)

Five ecological criteria were considered to enhance the probability of survivorship of outplants:

  1. Hard bottom habitats
  2. A minimum of 5-10% live coral cover
  3. A maximum of 20-30% algal cover
  4. Higher rugosity based on modeled habitat complexity (avoid flat habitat)
  5. Depth between 5-8 m

Once the criteria and their intervals were decided, the GAO maps were used to find a set of sites that best matched the criteria. Using the opens in a new windowOutplanting GEE app, each of the input layers can be visualized and criteria thresholds defined. In this way, users can screen out areas that don’t meet the criteria and optimal outplanting sites can be selected. A series of GPS coordinates were generated days before the Coral Mania event and each site was verified for criteria accuracy using SCUBA and snorkeling.

online tool of gao maps

Online tool of GAO-derived maps for the southeastern reefs of the Dominican Republic where ecological criteria can be selected to maximize coral outplant success. Image © The Nature Conservancy

coral mania 2019

Coral Mania team in Bavaro in 2019. Photo © The Nature Conservancy

The November 2019 Coral Mania event brought together dozens of volunteers, including NGOs, Dominican environmental authorities, dive operators, and other local stakeholders. Together 1,711 Acropora cervicornis fragments were outplanted across sites in Bavaro (Cabeza de Toro). Visual inspections confirmed that the sites selected for outplanting fulfilled the logistic and ecological criteria, further showing that GAO maps are useful tools to target restoration sites.

This case study shows that remote sensing data are a useful tool for informing best restoration practices. GAO maps were accurate enough to select sites that will likely increase survivorship of coral outplants. In January and October 2020, TNC monitored the outplants in three randomly selected sites and confirmed 85% survivorship of coral fragments. The survey team did not find evidence of fragments detached from the substrate which further indicated the outplant suitability of the selected sites. However, long-term monitoring of these outplants is needed to better address and refine the criteria and restoration success.

Coral restoration cost has been estimated from $1,717 up to $2,879,773 USD per hectare (Bayraktarov et al., 2015) and research suggests that current costs outweigh benefits (De Groot et al., 2013). The use of remotely sensed data can be economically incorporated into restoration activities as high-resolution data can be collected from airborne mapping of large areas (thousands to millions of hectares) with costs $0.01 USD per hectare at non-profit rates (Asner et al. 2014). The major challenge to replicate this case study is to have the maps in hand, but once they are developed, using the selection site tool is simple.

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »