الاعتبارات الوراثية

Staghorn، المرجان، إلى داخل، cane، جزء رئيسي من مبنى، الشارع، Croix. الصورة © كيمت آمون لويس / TNC

يشمل الهدف الرئيسي لجهود تعزيز السكان ضمان أن تكون استعادة الشعاب المرجانية متنوعة وراثياً. يعد الحصول على أفراد متميزين وراثيًا وتتبع الأنماط الجينية للشعاب المرجانية في دور الحضانة وأثناء الزرع أمرًا مهمًا للنجاح طويل الأجل لجهود الاستعادة واستعادة مجموعات المرجان. هذا مهم بشكل خاص لأنواع الشعاب المرجانية المهددة بالانقراض أو النادرة ، لأنها من المحتمل أن تكون قد قللت بالفعل من التنوع الجيني وقد لا تتكاثر عن طريق الاتصال الجنسي بنجاح ، مما يلغي فرص ظهور مجموعات وراثية جديدة بشكل طبيعي.

يتم تعريف المصطلحات الرئيسية أدناه كمرجع:

المعاني - راجع بحث وبحث في علم الوراثة المرجانية لمزيد من الوصف

  • أليل - شكل بديل للجين ينشأ عن طريق الطفرة ويوجد في نفس الموضع على الكروموسوم. يمكن أن تصل الأليلات أيضًا عن طريق الهجرة من مجموعة سكانية أخرى.
  • الجينات - مستعمرات تكونت عن طريق التكاثر الجنسي المتميزة وراثيا. تمثل المستعمرة المرجانية المتميزة جينًا واحدًا (في معظم الحالات) ، ولكن إذا حدث التكاثر اللاجنسي ، فقد تنتمي مستعمرات متعددة إلى نفس الجين ، وفي هذه الحالة يطلق عليها اسم رامات.
  • Ramets - مستعمرات تكونت عن طريق التكاثر اللاجنسي المتطابق وراثيا.
  • التنوع الجيني - احتمالية اختلاف أليلين مأخوذين عشوائياً. هذا يعكس مدى الاختلاف الجيني بين الجينات في مجموعة سكانية.
  • التنوع الوراثي - نسبة الجينات داخل مجموعة سكانية. نظرًا لأن الشعاب المرجانية يمكنها التكاثر اللاجنسي ، يمكن أن تنتمي عدة مستعمرات (أو قرود) إلى نفس الجينات ، وبالتالي يمكن أن يكون التنوع الوراثي أقل من عدد المستعمرات)

المخاطر الوراثية المرتبطة بالترميم

يجب دائمًا مراعاة التنوع الوراثي والجيني لمجموعات الشعاب المرجانية التي يتم استعادتها عند إجراء الاستعادة باستخدام طرق زراعة الشعاب المرجانية. تستفيد هذه الطرق من التجزئة اللاجنسية ، مما يؤدي إلى إنشاء مستعمرات متطابقة وراثيًا (أي ، راميتس التي تنتمي إلى نفس الجينات). إذا كان التنوع الجيني منخفضًا في المواقع الخارجية أثناء التفريخ من أجل التكاثر الجنسي ، فإن السكان معرضون للخطر لأن انخفاض التنوع الجيني يمكن أن يؤدي إلى انخفاض نجاح الإخصاب.

دمج علم الوراثة في الترميم

لتقليل هذه المخاطر ، يجب أن يهدف ممارسو البستنة المرجانية إلى استنبات أكبر عدد ممكن من الجينات وزرعها. تتضمن علامات التبويب التالية معلومات حول كيفية دمج المعلومات الوراثية في جوانب مختلفة من طرق زراعة الشعاب المرجانية لاستعادة المرجان.

  • اجمع 3-6 جينات مرجانية لكل شعاب من مناطق الشعاب ذات الظروف البيئية المختلفة ، بما في ذلك بشكل مثالي المناطق التي تحاكي الظروف المستقبلية المتوقعة
  • لالتقاط الغالبية (> 50٪) من الأليلات التكيفية محليًا (الأليلات التي أعطت الشعاب المرجانية قدرتها على الازدهار في بيئتها الحالية) ، اجمع ما لا يقل عن 3 جينات في موقع معين أو شعاب مرجانية ؛ من أجل التقاط 90٪ ، اجمع من 10 جينات (Baums et al. 2019).
  • يجب أن تكون مستعمرات المتبرعين (التي يتم جمع شظايا المرجان منها) أكبر من 5 أمتار وأن يتم تكوينها وراثيًا باستخدام الطرق الوراثية الجزيئية إن أمكن.
  • يجب جمع الشعاب المرجانية باستخدام هذه المنهجية من مجموعة من موائل الشعاب ذات الظروف البيئية المحلية المختلفة ، بحد أدنى 20-25 جينًا لكل نوع في الإنتاج في كل مشتل.
حضانة شظايا المرجان

راميتس (شظايا مرجانية) من نفس الجينات تنمو على هيكل حضانة بلوك. المصدر: مؤسسة استعادة المرجان. الصورة © تيم كالفر

  • يجب تتبع الشعاب المرجانية بمرور الوقت بناءً على جيناتها أو نسبها. يمكن القيام بذلك عن طريق تعيين جين واحد لكل بنية حضانة أو استخدام العلامات أو المقابس / كرات الصولجان ذات الجينات. يجب تخصيص مساحة "للأنماط الجينية غير المعروفة" للمستعمرات التي تنكسر أو تنفصل وتكون جيناتها غير معروفة. لا يزال من الممكن زرع هذه المستعمرات على أساس أن الجين غير معروف. في حالة عدم توفر بيانات وراثية جزيئية ، يمكن الإشارة إلى النسب بمعرف فريد يتوافق مع المستعمرة المانحة.
  • تشمل السمات المظهرية التي يمكن أن تساعد في توجيه الشعاب المرجانية التي تنتشر في الحضانة ما يلي: انخفاض مستويات الخلفية للوفاة الجزئية (مقدار فقد الأنسجة) ، والتئام الجروح السريع (أيام التعافي من التفتت) ، ومعدل نمو الهيكل العظمي المرتفع (الوزن الطافي أو "منطقة التاج ") ، التبييض ومقاومة الأمراض المعدية أو المرونة (لا يوجد مرض تبيض / معدي ، معدل تقدم بطيء للمرض ، و / أو تعافي سريع) ، ونتاج تناسلي جنسي مرتفع (التفريخ وحركة الحيوانات المنوية) (Baums et al. 2019).
  • يمكن استبدال الجينات التي تظهر ضعف اللياقة في الحضانة بأخرى من نفس الشعاب المرجانية (Baums et al. 2019). من غير المحتمل أن يؤثر استبعاد هذه المستعمرات من الحضانة على تمثيل التنوع الجيني طالما يتم الحفاظ على التمثيل من مجموعة متنوعة من الموائل. لا يزال من الممكن زرع الناجين من الجينات المقرر استبدالها مباشرة (انظر أدناه).
  • زرع تمثيل نسبي لجميع الجينات من مخزون الحضانة في كل موقع خارجي (Baums et al. 2019)
  • إن زرع 4-6 جينات مختلفة على مقربة لزيادة فرص التكاثر الجنسي الناجح سيساعد في تكوين مجموعة سكانية مكتفية ذاتيًا.
  • من الممكن أن تكون بعض الجينات قد تكون غير متكيفة مع الحضانة ولكنها تتكيف جيدًا مع الشعاب المرجانية ؛ في هذه الحالات ، يمكن للممارس أن يفكر في إلغاء مرحلة الحضانة والانتقال مباشرة من المستعمرة الأم إلى الشعاب المرجانية. يمكن أيضًا الحفاظ على الجين في الحضانة على الرغم من الأداء الضعيف إذا أشارت المراقبة في مواقع الزرع إلى أنها عالية الأداء بمجرد زرعها (O'Donnell et al. 2018).

أدوات وراثية

يوجد عدد من الطرق الوراثية الجزيئية لتحديد ما إذا كانت الشعاب المرجانية في المشاتل تنتمي إلى جينات مختلفة ، وكذلك قياس التنوع الجيني والبنية السكانية الجينية (Baums et al. 2019). هناك طريقتان شائعتان الاستخدام:

  • محددات الأقمار الصناعية الدقيقة - تحلل عدد الأشكال (أزواج القاعدة المتكررة) في أليل
    • تم بالفعل تطوير العديد من علامات الأقمار الصناعية الدقيقة للشعاب المرجانية في منطقة البحر الكاريبي و Symbiodiniaceae (Baums et al. 2019)
    • الفوائد: مرونة في عدد العينات التي يمكن تشغيلها ؛ ملفات البيانات صغيرة ؛ التحليل الجيني مباشر
    • العيوب: كثيفة العمالة لفحص العديد من المواقع ، ومن الصعب أتمتة تسجيل الأليلات ، ولا يمكن مقارنة النتائج بسهولة عبر المختبرات
  • تعدد أشكال النوكليوتيدات المفردة (SNPs) - يحلل الفروق بين زوج قاعدة واحدة في تسلسل الجينوم
    • الفوائد: أسهل في التشغيل الآلي والاستعانة بمصادر خارجية ، يمكن فحص المزيد من المواقع في وقت واحد لإعطاء معلومات على مستوى الجينوم ؛ الأساليب أكثر استنساخًا بين المختبرات ؛ لا تتطلب الأساليب القائمة على التسلسل تطوير منصة ويمكن تطبيقها على الفور على أي نوع.
    • العيوب: يتطلب التحليل خبرة في المعلوماتية الحيوية لاشتقاق الأنماط الجينية من إخراج التسلسل.
بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Genetic Considerations

Staghorn Corals in Cane Bay, St. Croix. Photo © Kemit-Amon Lewis/TNC

A major goal of population enhancement efforts includes ensuring that recovering coral populations are genetically diverse. Obtaining genetically distinct individuals and tracking the genotypes of corals in nurseries and during outplanting is important for the long-term success of restoration efforts and the coral populations being restored. This is especially important for coral species that are endangered or rare, because they likely already have reduced genetic diversity and may not be sexually reproducing successfully, eliminating the chances of new genetic combinations arising naturally.

Key terms are defined below as a reference:

Definitionssee the Coral Genetics Research and Restoration webinar for further description

  • Allele – alternative form of a gene that arises by mutation and is found at the same position on a chromosome. Alleles can also arrive via immigration from another population.
  • Genets – colonies formed by sexual reproduction that are genetically distinct. A distinct coral colony represents a single genet (in the majority of cases), but if asexual reproduction occurs, multiple colonies might belong to the same genet, in which case they are called ramets.
  • Ramets – colonies formed by asexual reproduction that are genetically identical.
  • Genetic diversity – the probability that two randomly sampled alleles are different. This reflects the extent of genetic dissimilarity between genets in a population.
  • Genotypic diversity – the proportion of genets within a population. Because corals can reproduce asexually, several colonies (or ramets) can belong to the same genet and therefore genotypic diversity can be less than colony number)

Genetic Risks Associated with Restoration

The genetic and genotypic diversity of coral populations being restored should always be taken into account when conducting restoration using coral gardening methods. These methods take advantage of asexual fragmentation, creating colonies that are genetically identical (i.e., ramets that belong to the same genet). If genotypic diversity is low at outplant sites during spawning for sexual reproduction, the population is at risk since low genotypic diversity can lead to reduced fertilization success.

Incorporating Genetics into Restoration

To minimize these risks, coral gardening practitioners should aim to culture and outplant as many genets as possible. The following tabs include information on how to incorporate genetic information into various aspects of coral gardening methods for coral restoration.

  • Collect 3-6 coral genets per reef from reef areas with different environmental conditions, ideally including areas that mimic projected future conditions
  • To capture the majority (>50%) of locally adaptive alleles (alleles that have given a coral its ability to thrive in its current environment), collect from at least 3 genets a given site, or reef; in order to capture 90%, collect from 10 genets (Baums et al. 2019).
  • Donor colonies (from which coral fragments are collected) should be greater than 5m apart and genotyped using molecular genetic methods if possible.
  • Corals should be collected using this methodology from a range of reef habitats with differing local environmental conditions, for a minimum of 20-25 genets per species in production in each nursery.
coral fragments block nursery

Ramets (coral fragments) of the same genet growing on a block nursery structure. Source: Coral Restoration Foundation. Photo © Tim Calver

  • Corals should be tracked over time based on their genet or lineage. This can be done by designating one genet per nursery structure or using tags or plugs/pucks with genet A space for “unknown genotypes” should be designated for colonies that break or become dislodged and their genet is unknown. Those colonies can still be outplanted with the understanding that the genet is unknown. If no molecular genetic data are available, lineage can be indicated with a unique ID corresponding to the donor colony.
  • Phenotypic traits that can help guide which nursery corals to continue to propagate include: low background levels of partial mortality (amount of tissue loss), rapid wound healing (days to heal from fragmentation), high skeletal growth rate (buoyant weight or “crown area”), bleaching and infectious disease resistance or resilience (no bleaching/infectious disease, slow disease progression rate, and/or quick recovery), and high sexual reproductive output (spawning and sperm motility) (Baums et al. 2019).
  • Genets that show poor fitness in the nursery can be replaced with others from the same reef (Baums et al. 2019). Excluding these colonies from the nursery is unlikely to affect representation of genetic diversity as long as representation from a variety of habitats is maintained. Survivors of genets slated for replacement can still be outplanted directly (see below).
  • Outplant a proportional representation of all genets from nursery stocks in each outplant site (Baums et al. 2019)
  • Outplanting 4-6 different genets in close proximity to increase the chances of successful sexual reproduction will help establish a self-sustaining population.
  • It is possible that some genets may be maladapted to the nursery but well-adapted to the reef; in those cases, a practitioner could consider eliminating the nursery stage and outplanting directly from the parent colony to the reef. A genet could also be maintained in the nursery despite poor performance if monitoring at outplant sites indicates that it is a high performer once outplanted (O’Donnell et al. 2018).

Genetic Tools

A number of molecular genetic methods exist to determine if corals in nurseries belong to different genets, as well as measure genetic diversity and genetic population structure (Baums et al. 2019). Two commonly used approaches include:

  • Microsatellite markers – analyzes the numbers of motifs (repeat base pairs) in an allele
    • Many microsatellite markers have already been developed for Caribbean corals and Symbiodiniaceae (Baums et al. 2019)
    • Benefits: flexible in the number of samples that can be run; data files are small; genetic analysis is straightforward
    • Drawbacks: labor-intensive to assay many loci, scoring of alleles is difficult to automate, results cannot easily be compared across laboratories
  • Single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) – analyzes single base pair differences in a genome sequence
    • Benefits: easier to automate and outsource, more loci can be assayed at a time to give genome-wide information; methods are more reproducible between labs; sequencing-based methods do not require platform development and can be immediately applied to any species.
    • Drawbacks: analysis requires bioinformatics expertise to derive genotypes from sequencing output.
pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex