遺傳考慮因素

Staghorn珊瑚在甘蔗灣,聖克羅伊。 照片©Kemit-Amon Lewis / TNC

人口增加工作的主要目標包括確保恢復的珊瑚種群具有遺傳多樣性。 獲得遺傳上不同的個體並追踪苗圃和移栽過程中珊瑚的基因型,對於恢復工作和恢復珊瑚種群的長期成功至關重要。 這對於瀕危或稀有的珊瑚物種尤其重要,因為它們可能已經減少了遺傳多樣性,並且可能無法成功地進行有性繁殖,從而消除了自然產生新的遺傳組合的機會。

關鍵字定義如下:

定義 - 看到 珊瑚遺傳學研究和恢復網絡研討會 進一步說明

  • 等位基因–基因的另一種形式,由突變產生,位於染色體的相同位置。 等位基因也可以通過其他人群的移民到達。
  • 種系–由有性繁殖形成的具有遺傳差異的菌落。 一個獨特的珊瑚群落代表單個種系(在大多數情況下),但是如果發生無性繁殖,則多個菌落可能屬於同一個種系,在這種情況下,它們被稱為分株。
  • 分株–由無性繁殖形成的菌落,在基因上是相同的。
  • 遺傳多樣性–兩個隨機採樣的等位基因不同的概率。 這反映出群體中各基因間遺傳差異的程度。
  • 基因型多樣性–群體中種系的比例。 因為珊瑚可以無性繁殖,所以幾個菌落(或分株)可以屬於同一屬,因此基因型多樣性可以小於菌落數)

遺傳風險與恢復相關

使用珊瑚園藝方法進行恢復時,應始終考慮恢復的珊瑚種群的遺傳和基因型多樣性。 這些方法利用了無性分裂的優勢,產生了遺傳上相同的菌落(即,屬於同一種系的分株)。 如果在產卵期進行有性生殖時外植體的基因型多樣性低,則種群處於危險之中,因為低的基因型多樣性會導致受精成功率降低。

將遺傳納入恢復

為了最大程度地減少這些風險,珊瑚園藝從業人員應致力於培養和移栽盡可能多的種。 以下標籤包括有關如何將遺傳信息納入珊瑚園藝方法的各個方面以恢復珊瑚的信息。

  • 從具有不同環境條件的珊瑚礁地區,每個珊瑚礁收集3-6個珊瑚種,理想情況下包括模仿未來預期條件的地區
  • 要捕獲大部分(> 50%)局部適應性等位基因(賦予珊瑚在當前環境下能夠存活的等位基因),請至少從3個種系中收集一個給定的部位或礁石; 為了捕獲90%的玉米,請從10個種系中收集(Baums等人2019)。
  • 供體菌落(收集珊瑚碎片的菌落)之間的距離應大於5m,並在可能的情況下使用分子遺傳方法進行基因分型。
  • 應使用這種方法從具有不同當地環境條件的各種珊瑚礁棲息地中收集珊瑚,每個苗圃中生產的每個物種最少20-25個種。
珊瑚碎片塊苗圃

同一基因的分株(珊瑚碎片)生長在苗圃結構上。 資料來源:珊瑚修復基金會。 照片©Tim Calver

  • 應根據其譜系或世係對珊瑚進行追踪。 可以通過在每個苗圃結構中指定一個種系,或使用帶有該種系的標籤或插條/小插曲來完成。應該為破裂或脫落的種係指定一個“未知基因型”的空間,並且其種係是未知的。 那些殖民地仍然可以移開,但要知道該基因是未知的。 如果沒有分子遺傳數據可用,可以用對應於供體菌落的唯一ID指示譜系。
  • 可幫助指導哪個苗圃珊瑚繼續繁殖的表型特徵包括:低局部死亡率的背景水平(組織損失量),傷口快速癒合(因破碎而癒合的天數),骨骼生長速率高(浮力重或“冠面積” ”),漂白和傳染性疾病的抵抗力或恢復力(無漂白/傳染性疾病,疾病進展速度慢和/或恢復快)以及高性繁殖產量(產卵和精子活力)(Baums等人,2019)。
  • 苗圃適應性差的種可以用同一礁石上的其他種替代(Baums et al.2019)。 只要保持來自各種棲息地的代表性,從苗圃中排除這些菌落就不太可能影響遺傳多樣性的代表性。 預定要替換的種系的倖存者仍可以直接移栽(見下文)。
  • 按比例將外植體中各個苗圃的所有種系進行外植(Baums et al.2019)
  • 在附近種植4-6個不同的種系,以增加成功進行有性生殖的機會,將有助於建立一個能夠自我維持的種群。
  • 某些種係可能不適合苗圃,但很適合礁石。 在這種情況下,從業人員可以考慮取消育苗階段,直接從親本殖民地移居到珊瑚礁。 如果對外植體的監測表明,一旦移栽後,它的表現也很好,儘管表現不佳,苗圃也可以在育苗場中維持(O'Donnell et al.2018)。

基因工具

存在許多分子遺傳學方法來確定苗圃中的珊瑚是否屬於不同的種系,以及測量遺傳多樣性和遺傳種群結構(Baums等人2019)。 兩種常用方法包括:

  • 微衛星標記–分析等位基因中基序(重複鹼基對)的數量
    • 已經為加勒比珊瑚和共生恐龍科開發了許多微衛星標記(Baums et al.2019)
    • 好處:可以運行的樣品數量靈活; 數據文件很小; 遺傳分析很簡單
    • 缺點:勞動強度大,無法測定多個基因座,等位基因評分難以實現自動化,無法在實驗室之間輕鬆比較結果
  • 單核苷酸多態性 (SNP) - 分析基因組序列中的單鹼基對差異
    • 好處:易於自動化和外包,一次可以檢測更多的基因座以提供全基因組信息; 方法在實驗室之間更可重複; 基於測序的方法不需要平台開發,可以立即應用於任何物種。
    • 缺點:分析需要生物信息學專業知識才能從測序輸出中得出基因型。
por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Genetic Considerations

Staghorn Corals in Cane Bay, St. Croix. Photo © Kemit-Amon Lewis/TNC

A major goal of population enhancement efforts includes ensuring that recovering coral populations are genetically diverse. Obtaining genetically distinct individuals and tracking the genotypes of corals in nurseries and during outplanting is important for the long-term success of restoration efforts and the coral populations being restored. This is especially important for coral species that are endangered or rare, because they likely already have reduced genetic diversity and may not be sexually reproducing successfully, eliminating the chances of new genetic combinations arising naturally.

Key terms are defined below as a reference:

Definitionssee the Coral Genetics Research and Restoration webinar for further description

  • Allele – alternative form of a gene that arises by mutation and is found at the same position on a chromosome. Alleles can also arrive via immigration from another population.
  • Genets – colonies formed by sexual reproduction that are genetically distinct. A distinct coral colony represents a single genet (in the majority of cases), but if asexual reproduction occurs, multiple colonies might belong to the same genet, in which case they are called ramets.
  • Ramets – colonies formed by asexual reproduction that are genetically identical.
  • Genetic diversity – the probability that two randomly sampled alleles are different. This reflects the extent of genetic dissimilarity between genets in a population.
  • Genotypic diversity – the proportion of genets within a population. Because corals can reproduce asexually, several colonies (or ramets) can belong to the same genet and therefore genotypic diversity can be less than colony number)

Genetic Risks Associated with Restoration

The genetic and genotypic diversity of coral populations being restored should always be taken into account when conducting restoration using coral gardening methods. These methods take advantage of asexual fragmentation, creating colonies that are genetically identical (i.e., ramets that belong to the same genet). If genotypic diversity is low at outplant sites during spawning for sexual reproduction, the population is at risk since low genotypic diversity can lead to reduced fertilization success.

Incorporating Genetics into Restoration

To minimize these risks, coral gardening practitioners should aim to culture and outplant as many genets as possible. The following tabs include information on how to incorporate genetic information into various aspects of coral gardening methods for coral restoration.

  • Collect 3-6 coral genets per reef from reef areas with different environmental conditions, ideally including areas that mimic projected future conditions
  • To capture the majority (>50%) of locally adaptive alleles (alleles that have given a coral its ability to thrive in its current environment), collect from at least 3 genets a given site, or reef; in order to capture 90%, collect from 10 genets (Baums et al. 2019).
  • Donor colonies (from which coral fragments are collected) should be greater than 5m apart and genotyped using molecular genetic methods if possible.
  • Corals should be collected using this methodology from a range of reef habitats with differing local environmental conditions, for a minimum of 20-25 genets per species in production in each nursery.
coral fragments block nursery

Ramets (coral fragments) of the same genet growing on a block nursery structure. Source: Coral Restoration Foundation. Photo © Tim Calver

  • Corals should be tracked over time based on their genet or lineage. This can be done by designating one genet per nursery structure or using tags or plugs/pucks with genet A space for “unknown genotypes” should be designated for colonies that break or become dislodged and their genet is unknown. Those colonies can still be outplanted with the understanding that the genet is unknown. If no molecular genetic data are available, lineage can be indicated with a unique ID corresponding to the donor colony.
  • Phenotypic traits that can help guide which nursery corals to continue to propagate include: low background levels of partial mortality (amount of tissue loss), rapid wound healing (days to heal from fragmentation), high skeletal growth rate (buoyant weight or “crown area”), bleaching and infectious disease resistance or resilience (no bleaching/infectious disease, slow disease progression rate, and/or quick recovery), and high sexual reproductive output (spawning and sperm motility) (Baums et al. 2019).
  • Genets that show poor fitness in the nursery can be replaced with others from the same reef (Baums et al. 2019). Excluding these colonies from the nursery is unlikely to affect representation of genetic diversity as long as representation from a variety of habitats is maintained. Survivors of genets slated for replacement can still be outplanted directly (see below).
  • Outplant a proportional representation of all genets from nursery stocks in each outplant site (Baums et al. 2019)
  • Outplanting 4-6 different genets in close proximity to increase the chances of successful sexual reproduction will help establish a self-sustaining population.
  • It is possible that some genets may be maladapted to the nursery but well-adapted to the reef; in those cases, a practitioner could consider eliminating the nursery stage and outplanting directly from the parent colony to the reef. A genet could also be maintained in the nursery despite poor performance if monitoring at outplant sites indicates that it is a high performer once outplanted (O’Donnell et al. 2018).

Genetic Tools

A number of molecular genetic methods exist to determine if corals in nurseries belong to different genets, as well as measure genetic diversity and genetic population structure (Baums et al. 2019). Two commonly used approaches include:

  • Microsatellite markers – analyzes the numbers of motifs (repeat base pairs) in an allele
    • Many microsatellite markers have already been developed for Caribbean corals and Symbiodiniaceae (Baums et al. 2019)
    • Benefits: flexible in the number of samples that can be run; data files are small; genetic analysis is straightforward
    • Drawbacks: labor-intensive to assay many loci, scoring of alleles is difficult to automate, results cannot easily be compared across laboratories
  • Single nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) – analyzes single base pair differences in a genome sequence
    • Benefits: easier to automate and outsource, more loci can be assayed at a time to give genome-wide information; methods are more reproducible between labs; sequencing-based methods do not require platform development and can be immediately applied to any species.
    • Drawbacks: analysis requires bioinformatics expertise to derive genotypes from sequencing output.
pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex