合作與溝通

污水管。 照片©Joe Miller
海洋污水污染是一個複雜的問題。 僅開發解決方案和提高認識不足以解決這一巨大的環境挑戰。 為了減輕污水污染,海洋從業人員需要超越我們的礁石管理學科,並與多個部門的同事合作,包括公共衛生以及管理沿海土地和鄰近高地地區的人們。 使當地社區參與到識別和解決污水問題的過程中是至關重要的,這需要有效的溝通,而不僅僅是提高對問題的認識,以促使人們的行為發生真正的變化。

外部協作

保護和WASH從業者有機會分享他們的專業知識,並共同開發可持續的衛生解決方案,以保護人類,生態系統和自然資源。 海洋管理者在傳達他們對海洋生態系統的知識以及污水污染如何損害他們的知識方面可以發揮作用。 這種理解對於開發解決對海洋生物和人類健康構成威脅的解決方案至關重要。 經理的見識和跨部門合作將有助於實地監測工具和戰略的開展,以防止海洋退化。 (來自不同學科的)人們談論污水污染的人越多,政府官員和政策制定者就越傾向於支持減輕污染的戰略。

“從礁到礁”的管理方法 將陸地和沿海水域的管理行動聯繫起來,以實現跨流域和跨機構的綜合解決方案。 從山脊到礁石的項目通常可以改善污水管理,減少陸地污染,從而為珊瑚礁,陸地生態系統和人類帶來好處。 淡水滯留策略(例如增加可滲透的表面,植被和濕地)會減慢污染物向海洋的流動。 污水在下坡時會被捕獲,這增加了其對處理機制的暴露程度,從而減少了進入海洋環境的污染物數量。

澳大利亞礁

將跨流域保護行動聯繫起來的綜合方法為珊瑚礁帶來了好處。 照片©Jordan Robins / TNC攝影大賽2019

另一個重要的合作是在當地社區內部。 讓當地利益相關者參與到確定污水問題和實施解決方案的過程中,可以幫助他們親眼目睹問題,並成為倡導者交流發現問題並建立支持和參與解決方案。 它還為管理人員和科學家提供了急需的實地支持,並可以促進與大學,非政府組織,政府機構和當地研究人員的合作。 參見有關創建Work 4 Water的案例研究,該組織是由合作夥伴組成的聯盟,旨在通過加速更換夏威夷州的污水池來創造就業機會和解決污水污染問題。

在全球範圍內,當地社區正在參與  在新窗口中打開水質監測 保護他們的海岸線。  在新窗口中打開衝浪者基金會 或 Hui O Ka Wai Ola 是公民科學水質監測計劃的兩個示例。 局部水質數據提供了有關污水污染髮生地點的確鑿證據。 該信息可用於識別污水污染的來源,並與地方規劃者或政府官員合作以識別政策解決方案。

輝在行動

Hui O Ka Wai Ola志願者培訓。 照片©Bruce Forrester

傳播學

從歷史上看,技術選擇和實施方法一直集中在廢物的收集,控制和處理上。 然而,成功和可持續的衛生解決方案需要了解所服務社區的行為模式,資源可用性以及文化接受度。 沒有一種萬能的解決方案。 需要針對每個地點或社區量身定制衛生解決方案。

下一個挑戰是建立或參與實施衛生解決方案。 為此,管理人員可以從確定誰說服或激勵採取行動開始。 以實施污水池清除計劃為例,兩個主要受眾包括:1)需要為清除污水池分配資金的地方政策制定者,以及2)需要申請退稅計劃以支付清除污水的費用的沿海房屋所有者。污水池。 激勵人們採取行動並不會很快發生,這需要仔細的計劃和戰略溝通。

戰略溝通是有目的地利用溝通來實現特定的目標或結果。 它是通過正確的渠道在適當的時間向正確的人(或觀眾)傳達正確的信息,以實現目標。

 保護戰略溝通 海洋管理者指南包含分步計劃流程,可幫助您確定溝通目標並製定實現該目標的策略。 下面概述的七個步驟將指導用戶完成通信計劃的創建和執行。 每個步驟的示例和工作表使過程清晰且互動。 對於污水污染,調查問題的範圍是確定當地挑戰並確定適當目標的一個很好的起點。 有關問題的數據和統計數據,了解受眾的優先級以及對資源可用性的認識將增強此過程的有用性。

 

帶有徽標2021的戰略溝通流程

 

瀏覽指南以獲取傳播策略示例,以引起聽眾的注意並激發他們採取行動。 共享的許多想法直接適用於減輕污水污染的努力。 與該主題相關的指南中未包含的一種通信策略是使用數據來提請人們注意污水污染。 例如太平洋島嶼海洋觀測系統(PacIOOS),這是一種數據可視化工具,使從業人員可以將水質的量化度量與珊瑚礁狀況和定性觀察聯繫起來。 這  在新窗口中打開海洋引爆點 該工具可以一致地顯示這些數據以及有關礁石狀況的發現,並且可以用作其他地方的數據科學和海洋監測的模型。

可持續發展目標(SDGs)

為了增加政府官員,政策制定者和其他高層受眾的減排支持和資源,有效的溝通策略可能涉及展示海洋污水污染與聯合國(UN)可持續發展目標(SDG)的交叉方式。

可持續發展目標(由聯合國於2015年創建)提出了在全球範圍內提供人權和保護資源的宏偉目標。 可持續發展目標中包括衛生(SDG 6.3)和海洋保護(SDG 14)的具體目標和指標。 但是,海洋污水污染的挑戰和影響與所有17個目標之間都有聯繫(請參見下面的可持續發展目標)。

打開IMAGE文件

聯合國的17個可持續發展目標於2015年制定,到2030年實現。資料來源:聯合國

在地方,國家和全球範圍內,為與這些目標相關的活動分配了大量資源。 在管理漁業以保護營養和生計方面存在著同時減輕污水污染和促進實現可持續發展目標的機會(可持續發展目標2和8); 可持續衛生基礎設施(可持續發展目標9和10); 氣候和環境保護(可持續發展目標13、14和15); 以及考慮環境,健康,技術和社會標準的跨學科解決方案(可持續發展目標16和17)。 牢記這些目標可以為政策制定者為什麼應該支持減輕污水排放的策略提供依據。

倡導獎學金

在新窗口中打開宣傳戰略講習班

點擊上圖訪問指南

非洲生物多樣性合作組織(ABCG),包括IRC,國際保護組織和簡·古道爾研究所(Jane Goodall Institute),  在新窗口中打開淡水保護和WASH倡導戰略研討會協調人指南。 本指南為主持人的領導工作做準備,該研討會提供了對WASH和節水綜合努力的必要性的基本理解,並介紹了與決策者互動以進行政策變更的策略。 該指南和講習班的目的是提高認識並激發社區的擁護者,以支持制定政策來促進WASH和節水解決方案。

儘管ABCG指南專門針對淡水資源保護,但是建議的方法適用於海洋地區。 其中為期四天的講習班和工具提供了一個示例,可以被沿海社區適應和利用。

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Collaboration and Communication

Sewage pipe. Photo © Joe Miller
Wastewater pollution in coastal areas is a complex problem; simply developing solutions and raising awareness is not going to be enough to tackle this enormous environmental challenge, but it is a key component. Due to the invisible nature of the pollution and the taboo associated with it, there is often limited understanding of the extent and severity of the pollution by the general public. To mitigate wastewater pollution, marine practitioners need to look beyond our discipline of reef management and collaborate with colleagues in multiple sectors including public health and sanitation as well as those who manage coastal lands and adjacent upland areas. Engaging local communities to be part of the process to identify and solve wastewater management challenges is critical, requiring effective communication that goes beyond raising awareness of the problem to motivate real change in human behavior.

Collaboration

There is an opportunity for conservation and Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene (WASH) practitioners to share their expertise and work together to develop sustainable sanitation solutions that protect humans, ecosystems, and natural resources. Marine managers have a role to play in communicating their knowledge of ocean ecosystems and how they are impaired by wastewater pollution. This understanding is essential for developing solutions that address threats to marine life as well as human health. Manager insight and cross-sector collaboration will contribute to field-ready monitoring tools and strategies to prevent ocean degradation. With greater diversity in sectors raising the issue of wastewater pollution, government officials and policymakers may be more motivated to support wastewater pollution-mitigating strategies.

‘ridge-to-reef’ management approach links management action on land with coastal waters for integrated solutions across watersheds and across agencies. Ridge-to-reef projects often improve wastewater management and reduce land-based pollution, providing benefits to coral reefs, terrestrial ecosystems, and people. Freshwater retention strategies – such as increasing permeable surfaces, vegetation, and constructed wetlands – slow the flow of pollutants into the ocean. Capturing polluted water as it moves downhill increases its exposure to treatment mechanisms reducing the amount of contaminants that reach the marine environment.

australian reef

Integrated approaches that link conservation action across watersheds provide benefits to coral reefs. Photo © Jordan Robins/TNC Photo Contest 2019

Another important collaboration is within local communities. Engaging local stakeholders to be a part of the process to identify wastewater management challenges and implement solutions helps them see the problems first-hand and serve as champions to communicate findings and build support and participation in solutions. It also provides managers and scientists much needed support on-the-ground and can facilitate partnerships with universities, NGOs, government agencies, and local researchers. See this case study on the creation of Work 4 Water, a consortium of partners developed to create jobs and address wastewater pollution through acceleration of the replacement of cesspools in the State of Hawaii.

Across the globe, local communities are becoming involved in  opens in a new windowwater quality monitoring to protect their coastlines.  opens in a new windowSurfrider Foundation and Hui O Ka Wai Ola are two examples of citizen science water quality monitoring programs. Localized water quality data provide conclusive evidence about where wastewater pollution is occurring. This information can be used to identify the source(s) of wastewater pollution and work with local planners or government officials to identify policy solutions.

hui in action

Hui O Ka Wai Ola volunteer training. Photo © Bruce Forrester

Communication

Technology options and implementation methods have historically focused on waste collection, containment, and treatment. However, successful and sustainable sanitation solutions require understanding of the community served, from behavior patterns, to resource availability, to cultural acceptance. There is no one-size-fits-all solution; sanitation solutions need to be tailored to each community.

The next challenge is building support or participation in implementing the sanitation solution. To achieve this, managers can begin by identifying who to convince or motivate to take action. For example, a cesspool removal program could include two key audiences: 1) local policymakers who will need to allocate funds for cesspool removal; and 2) coastal home owners who will need to apply for a rebate program to cover costs of removing cesspools. Motivating people to act does not happen quickly and requires careful planning and strategic communication.

Strategic communication is the purposeful use of communication to achieve a specific goal or outcome. It is about getting the right message to the right person (or audience) at the right time through the right channel to achieve a goal.

The Strategic Communication for Conservation guide for marine managers features a step-by-step planning process to help identify a communication goal and develop a strategy to achieve it. The seven steps outlined below guide users through creation and execution of a communication plan. Examples and worksheets for each step make the process clear and interactive. For wastewater pollution, investigating the scope of the problem in an area is a great starting point to establish local challenges and identify appropriate goals. Data and statistics about the problem, understanding audience priorities, and awareness of resource availability will enhance the usefulness of this process.

 

strategic communication process with logo 2021

 

Explore the guide for examples of communication tactics to get the attention of your target audience and motivate them to act. Many of the ideas shared are directly applicable to mitigating wastewater pollution efforts. A communication tactic not included in the guide that is relevant to this topic, is using data to draw attention to wastewater pollution. An example of this is a data visualization tool from the Pacific Islands Ocean Observing System (PacIOOS) that allows practitioners to connect quantifiable measures of water quality with reef conditions and qualitative observations over time. The tool coherently presents these data as well as findings about reef conditions, and can be used as a model for data science and ocean monitoring elsewhere. The opens in a new windowOcean Tipping Points tool coherently presents these data as well as findings about reef conditions, and can be used as a model for data science and ocean monitoring elsewhere.

Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

To increase support and resources for wastewater pollution mitigation from government officials, policymakers, and other high-level audiences, an effective communication strategy may involve showcasing how ocean wastewater pollution intersects with and supports many of the United Nations (UN) Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

SDGs (created by the UN in 2015) present ambitious targets for providing human rights and protecting resources around the world. Included in the SDGs are specific goals and targets for both sanitation (SDG 6.3) and marine conservation (SDG 14). However, there are connections between the challenges and impacts of ocean wastewater pollution and all 17 goals (see SDGs below).

opens IMAGE file

The United Nations’ 17 Sustainable Development Goals, which were established in 2015 for achievement by 2030. Source: United Nations

Significant resources are allocated for activities related to these goals worldwide on local, national, and global scales. Opportunities to simultaneously mitigate wastewater pollution and advance progress toward the SDGs exist in managing fisheries to protect nutrition and livelihoods (SDG 2 and SDG 8); sustainable sanitation infrastructure (SDGs 9 and 10); climate and environmental protection (SDGs 13, 14, and 15); and interdisciplinary solutions considering environmental, health, technical, and social criteria (SDGs 16 and 17). Keeping these goals in mind can help make a case for why policymakers should support a wastewater pollution-mitigating strategy.

Advocacy

opens in a new windowAdvocacy Strategy Workshop

Click on the above image to access the guide

Africa Biodiversity Collaborative Group (ABCG), which includes IRC, Conservation International, and the Jane Goodall Institute, developed a  opens in a new windowFreshwater Conservation and WASH Advocacy Strategy Workshop Facilitator’s Guide. This guide prepares facilitators to lead a workshop that provides foundational understanding about the need for integrated WASH and water conservation efforts and introduces strategies for engaging with decision makers to generate policy change. The intent of the guide and workshop is to raise awareness and inspire advocacy in communities to support policy programing to promote WASH and water conservation solutions.

Although the ABCG Guide is specifically aimed toward freshwater resource conservation, the methods proposed are applicable to marine areas. The four-day workshop and tools presented in it serve as an example that can be adapted for and leveraged by coastal communities.

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »