現有處理系統

污水管。 照片©Joe Miller
自最早定居的文明以來,管理衛生廢物一直是人們關注的問題。 從歷史上看,污水和生活污水是利用稀釋和氧化處理方法排入最近的水道。 這種“自我淨化”的想法是不正確的。 許多污染物可以通過足夠的暴露,時間和稀釋的自然過程去除。 但是,人口的增長以及污水中污染物的增加使這種方法變得不可行。 污水傳播疾病的發現導致了衛生設施的發展,其目標是將污水與飲用水分開,以保護人們的健康。 文獻 此後已開發了許多處理系統,以幫助阻止原始污水進入海洋。 以下是當今常用的污水處理系統的介紹。

污水處理廠

美國加利福尼亞的廢水處理廠。 照片©Flickr的Michael Layefsky

集中式污水處理廠(WWTP)和下水道

背景

人口稠密的地區和工業化城市主要依靠集中式廢水處理廠(WWTP)來接收和處理污水。 複雜的地下污水管網通過重力和泵將污水從房屋和建築物引至污水處理廠。 這些大型設施的建造,運行和維護都很昂貴。 技術和 處理能力 這些系統中的一些在最初投資後很少升級。 下水道也是如此,因為下水道經常洩漏和溢流。 建立下水道基礎設施的成本很高,尤其是在人口稠密的城市地區之外。 由於降雨增加,地下水位上升和海平面上升而導致故障的風險也越來越大。 除了最初的建築成本外,升級到如此龐大的基礎設施還很昂貴,而且通常是市政當局或地方政府的責任。

空中污水處理廠

上方的廢水處理廠。 照片©Flickr的Alex de Haas

大城市不僅產生大量污水,而且 雨水 也一樣在缺乏 吸收 由於土壤,草原,森林和其他自然特徵的保留,降雨無處可去,因此它流過不透水的表面,積聚了碎屑和污染物,造成了污染的城市徑流。 作為響應,許多城市建造了聯合的下水道,以收集雨水並將雨水與污水一起輸送到同一集中式污水處理廠。 雖然這看起來很有效,但它增加了系統所有組件的漏洞。 暴風雨和大雨經常超過管道,儲水罐和處理系統的容量,導致未經處理的廢水(包括原污水)大量排放到水道中。 在美國,有40萬污水處理廠為聯合污水處理廠服務,在污水處理廠聯合溢流(CSO)事件中,每年排放超過3萬億升未經處理的污水和雨水徑流。 文獻

觀看廢水101網絡研討會以獲取有關污水管理的更多信息:

治療

污水到達污水處理廠後,要經過幾個階段的處理後再排放。

  • 或物理處理始於篩分:污水通過篩子除去大塊固體。 然後將廢水帶入沉澱池,在重力作用下沉澱出更多的懸浮固體。
  • 次要或生物處理旨在在消毒之前從污水中去除有機物。 氧氣和微生物被用來催化和促進分解污染物的生化反應。 該過程模擬了自然系統,並通過曝氣或暴露於額外的氧氣而變得更加高效。 分解所必需的氧氣,通氣有助於消除溶解的氣體。 這些反應最終促使剩餘的顆粒沉降。 生物處理的常用技術包括滴濾器和活性污泥,它們增加了微生物可利用的表面積及其密度。
  • 第三或化學處理可用於促進進一步沉降和營養去除。 添加的聚合物吸引污染物以形成團塊,而碳或木炭過濾器則催化物理吸附以減少養分。
  • 最後,對廢水進行消毒以中和任何殘留的病原體。 氯是最常見的消毒劑之一, UV 為了使殘留化學濃度最小化,可優選使用臭氧或臭氧。 文獻

污水通過污水處理廠從進水管流到排水管。 來源: 在新窗口中打開Mallik和Arefin 2018

美國《清潔水法》(CWA)要求進行初級和二級處理,而採用三級處理的設施數量也在增加。 文獻 此外,在州和設施級別上對污水中的營養物濃度進行了限制,以解決營養物負荷和由此造成的後果。 水體富營養化。 治療標準是有幫助的,但不足以保護海洋生態系統免受污染。

集中式系統概述

  • 集中式系統提高了治療效率,鞏固了維護成本,並最大限度地減少了 面源污染
  • 集中式系統的缺點包括大量的初始投資,昂貴的技術維護,能力限制,易受洩漏,易受天氣影響以及養分去除不足

分散處理系統

背景

現場廢水處理系統(OWTS)是用於管理污水的局部小型系統,其中集中式系統不合適或尚未建造。 水文,地質和地理(以及財務,政治和法規)可以決定是否可以使用下水道和集中式系統,或者是否更適合使用現場廢水處理系統(OWTS)。 OWTS通常為居住地點分散,土壤較淺,基岩不透水或地下水位脆弱的地區提供服務。 這些系統對於單個房主而言可能是昂貴的,但是在某些地方,可以通過補貼或當地激勵措施來降低安裝和維護成本。

治療

污水流經常規的現場化糞池系統。 資料來源:2002年EPA水務處

現場廢水處理系統(OWTS)在產生廢水的場所收集,處理和排放廢水。 存在許多類型的現場處理系統,但是以下三種類型在全球範圍內被廣泛使用:

  • 水池,只有一個遏制和處理步驟。 在這裡,挖坑或建坑收集廢水進行自然沉降和處理。 污水池被證明是無效的,提供的治療不足,並且在許多地方都被逐步淘汰,更換甚至禁止使用。
  • 化糞池系統 通常包含一個用於原始廢水的儲罐和一種分散方法,以便在廢水排放時提供額外的處理。 除收集污水外,水箱還促進沉降和 厭氧的 治療。 額外的 有氧 儲水箱室變得越來越普遍,以增強生物處理和營養去除能力,一些化糞池系統甚至配備了再循環泵,可在需氧和厭氧環境之間移動污水。 分散對於減慢污水流入環境的速度至關重要。
  • 排水田 是一種分散技術,可提高在排入地下水或地表水中之前土壤,礫石或其他材料中的微生物對污水進行額外處理的機會。 長島自然保護區下面的視頻提供了化糞池和污水池系統的更詳細說明。

OWTS的另一個選擇是基於容器的系統,該系統類似地在現場收集和存儲污水,然後要求將廢物運輸到其他地方進行處理。 這些系統主要在基礎設施有限的地區使用,包括坑廁(裝滿後需要清空)和桶式廁所(每天清空)。 從基於容器的選件中收集的廢物的處理範圍從上面概述的常規處理過程到新的資源回收實踐,甚至根本不進行處理。 有關成功的基於容器的選項的詳細信息,請參見 新興解決方案.

化糞池系統和污水池並非旨在解決營養問題,並且不足以將其從污水中去除,並且可能對沿海地區的海洋環境造成危害。 儘管在處理OWTS中的養分去除方面有許多技術進步,但全球缺乏對污水中養分的管理規定。 忽視的洩漏和故障會導致非點源污染,這種污染很難被發現並且不會給違規帶來後果,從而幾乎沒有執行的機會。 OWTS系統的升級包括增強的養分減少正在展示 更具成本效益 而不是建造新的大型污水處理設施。

分散系統概述

  • 分散式治療是個體化的,規模較小且服務於稀疏人群
  • 分散系統的缺點包括經常的管理不善或疏忽導致不合規,營養去除不充分和新出現的污染物以及不對雨水進行處理

從排污管排放。 照片·Pixabay上的免費照片

從集中式系統或分散式系統進行處理後,處理後的廢水將直接排放到附近的水體或地下。 排污管 用於將廢水直接排放到河流和海洋中,而排水田,土壤,濕地和植被則使廢水滲入地下水的速度減慢。 廢水對海洋造成的污染取決於其在排放前所接受的處理水平以及所採用的排放策略。 先進的營養減少技術和基於自然的解決方案可以實現額外的處理並減緩廢水的流量。 另一方面,未經充分處理的污水的排放對人類,生物體和生態系統的健康危害更大。 沿海地區的大型污水處理廠通常將處理過的或未經處理的污水直接排入海洋,而較小的圍護系統通過地下水的排放和浸出也造成了污水污染,而人們往往對此並不重視。

系統選擇注意事項

基礎設施,資源,地質,人口規模,文化規範和政治因素都會影響污水處理系統的選擇。 例如,污水處理廠適用於結構和人口密度高,現有管網(或成功安裝它們的資源和合適的地質條件)以及高技術維護能力的地區。 另外,在不存在管道下水道且污水源(房屋,企業等)之間距離較遠的情況下,OWTS更合適。 現有的污水基礎設施會影響系統的適用性,因為與開發新的基礎設施相比,升級通常更容易實現且更具成本效益。 請參閱此案例研究,以集中洪都拉斯羅丹島上的污水處理工作。

缺乏用於根據當地情況選擇最佳系統的決策支持工具,這使得難以充分管理污水污染和衛生需求。 選擇系統時應考慮的因素包括現有基礎設施,社區資源,社會和文化期望,政治支持或製約因素,當地地質和水文學以及許多其他因素。 造訪 在新窗口中打開可持續衛生和水管理工具箱 了解有關衛生系統和技術的更多信息。

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Existing Treatment Systems

Sewage pipe. Photo © Joe Miller
Managing sanitary waste has been a concern since the earliest settled civilizations. Historically, sewage and household wastewaters were discharged into the nearest waterways, taking advantage of dilution and oxidation as treatment. This idea of “self-purification” was not incorrect; many contaminants can be removed by natural processes with sufficient exposure, time, and dilution. However, population growth, and the increasing contaminants in sewage, have rendered this approach inadequate. The discovery of sewage-borne illnesses resulted in sanitation development with the goal to separate sewage from drinking water to protect people’s health. ref Many treatment systems have since been developed to help stop raw sewage from entering oceans. Below is an introduction to common sewage treatment systems used today.

wastewater treatment plant

Wastewater treatment plant in California, USA. Photo © Michael Layefsky, Flickr

Centralized Wastewater Treatment Plants (WWTPs) and Sewers

Background

Densely populated areas and industrialized cities primarily rely on centralized wastewater treatment plants (WWTPs) to receive and treat sewage. Intricate networks of underground sewage pipes bring sewage from homes and buildings to the WWTP using gravity and pumps. These large facilities are expensive to build, run, and maintain. Technologies and treatment capacities of these systems are rarely upgraded after initial investments. This is also true for sewer pipes, which are subject to frequent leaks and overflows. Establishing sewer pipe infrastructure is expensive, especially outside of densely populated urban areas. There is also an increasing risk of malfunction induced by increased rainfall, rising water tables, and sea levels. In addition to initial construction costs, upgrades to this extensive infrastructure are costly, and typically the responsibility of a municipality or local government.

Wastewater treatment plant aerial

Wastewater treatment plant from above. Photo © Alex de Haas, Flickr

Large cities generate not only large volumes of sewage, but stormwater as well. In areas lacking the absorption and retention that soils, grasslands, forests, and other natural features offer, precipitation has nowhere to go, so it flows over impervious surfaces, accumulating debris and contaminants, resulting in polluted urban runoff. In response, many cities built combined sewers to collect and transport stormwater to the same centralized wastewater treatment plants as sewage. While this seems efficient, it increases the vulnerability of all components of the system. Storms and heavy rain often exceed the capacity of pipes, holding tanks, and treatment systems, leading to large discharges of untreated wastewater, including raw sewage, into waterways. In the United States, 40 million people are served by combined sewers, which discharge over 3 trillion liters of untreated sewage and stormwater runoff annually in combined sewer overflow (CSO) events. ref

Watch the Wastewater 101 Webinar for more information on sewage management:

Treatment

Once sewage arrives at a WWTP, it undergoes several stages of treatment before discharge.

  • Primary, or physical, treatment begins with screening: sewage is passed through screens to remove large solids. Effluent is then brought to settling tanks where gravity helps to settle out additional suspended solids.
  • Secondary, or biological, treatment aims to remove organic matter from sewage before disinfection. Oxygen and microorganisms are used to catalyze and promote biochemical reactions that break down contaminants. This process models natural systems and is made more efficient by aeration or exposure to additional oxygen. Oxygen is necessary for decomposition, and aeration helps eliminate dissolved gases. These reactions eventually encourage remaining particles to settle out. Common techniques for biological treatment include trickling filters and activated sludge, which increase the surface area available to microorganisms, as well as their density.
  • Tertiary, or chemical, treatment is used to promote further settling and nutrient removal. Added polymers attract pollutants to create clumps while carbon or charcoal filters catalyze physical adsorption to reduce nutrients.
  • Finally, effluent is disinfected to neutralize any remaining pathogens. While chlorine is one of the most common disinfectants, UV or ozone may be preferred to minimize residual chemical concentrations. ref

The flow of effluent through a WWTP from intake pipes to discharge. Source: opens in a new windowMallik and Arefin 2018

Primary and secondary treatment are required in the US by the Clean Water Act (CWA) and the number of facilities incorporating tertiary treatment is increasing. ref In addition, limitations on nutrient concentrations in effluent are being implemented at state and facility levels to address nutrient loading and the resulting eutrophication. Treatment criteria are helpful, but not enough to protect marine ecosystems from pollution.

Centralized System Overview

  • Centralized systems increase the efficiency of treatment, consolidate the costs of maintenance, and minimize nonpoint source pollution
  • Shortcomings of centralized systems include significant initial investment, costly and technical upkeep, capacity limitations, susceptibility to leaks, vulnerability to weather, and inadequate removal of nutrients

Decentralized Treatment Systems

Background

Onsite wastewater treatment systems (OWTS) are localized, small-scale systems for managing sewage where centralized systems are either inappropriate or have not been constructed. Hydrology, geology, and geography (as well as finances, politics, and regulations) can dictate whether a sewer and centralized system are possible or if onsite wastewater treatment systems (OWTS) are more suitable. Areas with dispersed residences, shallow soils, impervious bedrock, or vulnerable water tables are often served by OWTS. These systems can be costly for individual homeowners, however in some places installation and maintenance costs can be reduced by subsidies or local incentives.

Treatment

The flow of sewage through a conventional onsite septic system. Source: EPA Office of Water 2002

Onsite wastewater treatment systems (OWTS) collect, treat, and discharge wastewater effluent at the site where it is generated. Many types of onsite treatment systems exist, but the following three types are the widely used globally:

  • Cesspools, which have just one containment and treatment step. Here, dug or built pits collect effluent for natural settling and treatment. Cesspools are shown to be ineffective, provide inadequate treatment, and are being phased out, replaced, and even disallowed in many places.
  • Septic systems typically contain a holding tank for raw effluent and a dispersal method to provide additional treatment for effluent as it is discharged. As well as capturing sewage, tanks promote settling and anaerobic treatment. An additional aerobic tank chamber is becoming more common to enhance biological treatment and nutrient removal, and some septic systems even have recirculation pumps to move effluent between the aerobic and anaerobic environments. Dispersal is critical for slowing the flow of effluent into the environment.
  • Drain fields are a dispersal technique that promote opportunities for additional treatment of effluent by microorganisms in soil, gravel or other materials before discharge into the ground or surface waters. The video below from The Nature Conservancy Long Island provides a more detailed explanation of septic and cesspool systems.

Another OWTS option are container-based systems, which similarly collect and store sewage on site, then require waste to be transported elsewhere for treatment. These systems are predominantly found in areas with limited infrastructure and include pit latrines, which need to be emptied once they are full, and bucket toilets, which are emptied daily. Treatment of waste collected from container-based options ranges from the conventional treatment processes outlined above, to new resource recovery practices, to no treatment at all. Successful container-based options are described in more detail in Emerging Solutions.

Septic systems and cesspools are not designed to address nutrients and are inadequate in removing them from effluent and may be hazardous for the marine environments in coastal areas. Although there have been many technology advances to address nutrient removal in OWTS, there is a lack of regulation on nutrients in sewage effluent globally. Overlooked leaks and malfunctions cause nonpoint source pollution which is difficult to detect and lacks consequences for noncompliance, leaving little opportunity for enforcement. Upgrades to OWTS systems to include enhanced nutrient reduction are demonstrating more cost efficiency than building new, large-scale sewage treatment facilities.

Decentralized System Overview

  • Decentralized treatments are individualized, operating at smaller scales and serving sparser populations
  • Shortcomings of decentralized systems include frequent mismanagement or oversight leading to noncompliance, inadequate removal of nutrients and emerging contaminants, and no treatment of stormwater

Discharge

Discharge from an outfall pipe. Photo © pixabay

After treatment from either centralized or decentralized systems, treated effluent is discharged directly to nearby water bodies or into the ground. Outfall pipes are used to discharge effluent directly into rivers and oceans, while drain fields, soils, wetlands, and vegetation slow percolation of effluent into groundwaters. Contamination to oceans caused by effluent is dependent on both the level of treatment it receives prior to discharge and the discharge strategy used. Advanced nutrient reduction techniques and nature-based solutions can achieve additional treatment and slow the flow of effluent. On the other hand, discharge of inadequately treated sewage presents increased hazards for human, organism, and ecosystem health. While large-scale treatment plants in coastal areas often discharge treated or raw effluent directly into the ocean, sewage pollution from smaller containment systems also occurs, through groundwater discharge and leaching, often going unnoticed.

Considerations for System Selection

Infrastructure, resources, geology, population size, cultural norms, and politics all influence the selection of sewage treatment systems. For example, a WWTP is suitable in areas with high structural and population density, existing pipe networks (or the resources and suitable geology to install them successfully), and capacity for highly technical maintenance. Alternatively, OWTS are more appropriate where piped sewers do not exist and there is more distance between sources of sewage (homes, businesses, etc.). Existing sewage infrastructure influences system suitability, as upgrades can often be easier and more cost effective to implement than development of new infrastructure. See this case study of work to centralize sewage treatment on the island of Rotan, Honduras.

Decision support tools for selecting the best system based on local contexts are lacking, making it difficult to adequately manage sewage pollution and sanitation needs. Considerations for system selection should include existing infrastructure, community resources, social and cultural expectations, political support or constraints, the local geology and hydrology, and many other factors. Visit the opens in a new windowSustainable Sanitation and Water Management Toolbox to learn more about sanitation systems and technologies.

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »