أنظمة العلاج الحالية

انبوب الصرف الصحي. الصورة © جو ميلر
كانت إدارة النفايات الصحية مصدر قلق منذ أقدم الحضارات المستقرة. تاريخياً ، تم تصريف مياه الصرف الصحي ومياه الصرف المنزلية في أقرب مجاري مائية ، مع الاستفادة من التخفيف والأكسدة كمعالجة. لم تكن فكرة "التطهير الذاتي" هذه صحيحة. يمكن إزالة العديد من الملوثات عن طريق العمليات الطبيعية مع التعرض الكافي والوقت والتخفيف. ومع ذلك ، فإن النمو السكاني ، وزيادة الملوثات في مياه الصرف الصحي ، جعلت هذا النهج غير كافٍ. أدى اكتشاف الأمراض التي تنقلها مياه الصرف الصحي إلى تطوير الصرف الصحي بهدف فصل مياه الصرف الصحي عن مياه الشرب لحماية صحة الناس. المرجع منذ ذلك الحين تم تطوير العديد من أنظمة المعالجة للمساعدة في منع مياه الصرف الصحي الخام من دخول المحيطات. فيما يلي مقدمة لأنظمة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الشائعة المستخدمة اليوم.

محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي

محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في كاليفورنيا ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. الصورة © Michael Layefsky، Flickr

محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي المركزية والمجاري

خلفيّة

تعتمد المناطق ذات الكثافة السكانية العالية والمدن الصناعية بشكل أساسي على محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي المركزية (WWTPs) لتلقي مياه الصرف الصحي ومعالجتها. تعمل الشبكات المعقدة من أنابيب الصرف الصحي تحت الأرض على جلب مياه الصرف الصحي من المنازل والمباني إلى محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي باستخدام الجاذبية والمضخات. هذه المرافق الكبيرة مكلفة في البناء والتشغيل والصيانة. التقنيات و قدرات العلاج نادرًا ما تتم ترقية هذه الأنظمة بعد الاستثمارات الأولية. هذا صحيح أيضًا بالنسبة لأنابيب الصرف الصحي التي تتعرض للتسريبات والفيضانات المتكررة. يعد إنشاء البنية التحتية لأنابيب الصرف الصحي مكلفًا ، خاصة خارج المناطق الحضرية المكتظة بالسكان. هناك أيضًا خطر متزايد من حدوث خلل ناتج عن زيادة هطول الأمطار وارتفاع منسوب المياه الجوفية ومستويات سطح البحر. بالإضافة إلى تكاليف البناء الأولية ، تعتبر عمليات ترقية هذه البنية التحتية الواسعة مكلفة ، وعادة ما تكون مسؤولية البلدية أو الحكومة المحلية.

محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الجوي

محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي من أعلى. الصورة © أليكس دي هاس ، فليكر

المدن الكبيرة لا تولد فقط كميات كبيرة من مياه الصرف الصحي ، ولكن مياه الأمطار أيضا. في المناطق التي تفتقر إلى امتصاص والاحتفاظ الذي توفره التربة والأراضي العشبية والغابات والسمات الطبيعية الأخرى ، فإن هطول الأمطار ليس له مكان يذهب إليه ، لذلك يتدفق فوق الأسطح غير المنفذة ، ويتراكم الحطام والملوثات ، مما يؤدي إلى الجريان السطحي الحضري الملوث. رداً على ذلك ، قامت العديد من المدن ببناء مجاري مجمعة لجمع ونقل مياه الأمطار إلى نفس محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي المركزية مثل مياه الصرف الصحي. في حين أن هذا يبدو فعالاً ، إلا أنه يزيد من ضعف جميع مكونات النظام. غالبًا ما تتجاوز العواصف والأمطار الغزيرة قدرة الأنابيب وخزانات التخزين وأنظمة المعالجة ، مما يؤدي إلى تصريف كميات كبيرة من مياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة ، بما في ذلك مياه الصرف الصحي الخام ، في المجاري المائية. في الولايات المتحدة ، يتم تقديم خدمات الصرف الصحي المشتركة إلى 40 مليون شخص ، والتي تقوم بتصريف أكثر من 3 تريليون لتر من مياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة ومياه الأمطار المتدفقة سنويًا في أحداث تدفق المجاري المشتركة (CSO). المرجع

شاهد ندوة Wastewater 101 عبر الإنترنت لمزيد من المعلومات حول إدارة مياه الصرف الصحي:

العلاج

بمجرد وصول مياه الصرف الصحي إلى محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي ، فإنها تخضع لعدة مراحل من المعالجة قبل التصريف.

  • ابتدائيتبدأ المعالجة الفيزيائية بالفرز: يتم تمرير مياه الصرف الصحي من خلال مصافي لإزالة المواد الصلبة الكبيرة. ثم يتم نقل النفايات السائلة إلى خزانات الترسيب حيث تساعد الجاذبية على ترسيب المواد الصلبة العالقة الإضافية.
  • ثانوي، أو المعالجة البيولوجية ، تهدف إلى إزالة المواد العضوية من مياه الصرف الصحي قبل التطهير. يستخدم الأكسجين والكائنات الدقيقة لتحفيز وتعزيز التفاعلات الكيميائية الحيوية التي تكسر الملوثات. تشكل هذه العملية نماذج للأنظمة الطبيعية وتصبح أكثر كفاءة عن طريق التهوية أو التعرض لأكسجين إضافي. الأكسجين ضروري للتحلل ، والتهوية تساعد في التخلص من الغازات المذابة. تشجع هذه التفاعلات في النهاية الجسيمات المتبقية على الاستقرار. تشمل التقنيات الشائعة للمعالجة البيولوجية المرشحات المتقطرة والحمأة المنشطة ، والتي تزيد من مساحة السطح المتاحة للكائنات الحية الدقيقة ، فضلاً عن كثافتها.
  • بعد الثانوي، أو العلاج الكيميائي ، لتعزيز المزيد من الاستقرار وإزالة المغذيات. تجذب البوليمرات المضافة الملوثات لتكوين كتل بينما تحفز مرشحات الكربون أو الفحم على الامتزاز المادي لتقليل العناصر الغذائية.
  • أخيرًا ، يتم تطهير النفايات السائلة لتحييد أي مسببات الأمراض المتبقية. بينما يعتبر الكلور من أكثر المطهرات شيوعًا ، UV أو الأوزون لتقليل التركيزات الكيميائية المتبقية. المرجع

تدفق النفايات السائلة عبر محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي من أنابيب السحب إلى التفريغ. مصدر: يفتح في نافذة جديدةمالك وعارفين 2018

المعالجة الأولية والثانوية مطلوبة في الولايات المتحدة بموجب قانون المياه النظيفة (CWA) ويتزايد عدد المرافق التي تتضمن المعالجة الثلاثية. المرجع بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يتم تطبيق قيود على تركيزات المغذيات في النفايات السائلة على مستوى الولاية والمرفق لمعالجة تحميل المغذيات وما ينجم عن ذلك المغذيات. معايير العلاج مفيدة ، ولكنها ليست كافية لحماية النظم البيئية البحرية من التلوث.

نظرة عامة على النظام المركزي

  • تزيد الأنظمة المركزية من كفاءة المعالجة وتجمع تكاليف الصيانة وتقليلها تلوث مصدر غير محدد
  • تشمل أوجه القصور في الأنظمة المركزية الاستثمار الأولي الكبير ، والصيانة المكلفة والتقنية ، ومحدودية القدرات ، وقابلية التسرب ، والتأثر بالطقس ، وعدم كفاية إزالة المغذيات

أنظمة العلاج اللامركزية

خلفيّة

أنظمة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في الموقع (OWTS) هي أنظمة محلية وصغيرة الحجم لإدارة مياه الصرف الصحي حيث تكون الأنظمة المركزية إما غير مناسبة أو لم يتم إنشاؤها. يمكن أن تحدد الهيدرولوجيا والجيولوجيا والجغرافيا (بالإضافة إلى الشؤون المالية والسياسة واللوائح) ما إذا كان نظام الصرف الصحي والنظام المركزي ممكنًا أو إذا كانت أنظمة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في الموقع (OWTS) أكثر ملاءمة. غالبًا ما تخدم OWTS المناطق ذات المساكن المتفرقة أو التربة الضحلة أو الصخور الصلبة غير المنفذة أو مناسيب المياه الضعيفة. قد تكون هذه الأنظمة مكلفة لأصحاب المنازل الفردية ، ولكن في بعض الأماكن يمكن تخفيض تكاليف التركيب والصيانة عن طريق الإعانات أو الحوافز المحلية.

العلاج

تدفق مياه الصرف الصحي من خلال نظام الصرف الصحي التقليدي في الموقع. المصدر: EPA Office of Water 2002

تقوم أنظمة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في الموقع (OWTS) بجمع ومعالجة وتصريف مياه الصرف الصحي في الموقع حيث يتم إنتاجها. توجد أنواع عديدة من أنظمة المعالجة في الموقع ، ولكن الأنواع الثلاثة التالية هي الأكثر استخدامًا على مستوى العالم:

  • البالوعات، والتي تحتوي على خطوة احتواء وعلاج واحدة فقط. هنا ، يتم حفر أو بناء حفر تجمع النفايات السائلة للترسيب الطبيعي والمعالجة. تبين أن البواليع غير فعالة ، ولا تقدم علاجًا مناسبًا ، ويتم التخلص منها تدريجياً ، واستبدالها ، وحتى عدم السماح بها في العديد من الأماكن.
  • أنظمة الصرف الصحي عادةً ما تحتوي على خزان تخزين للنفايات السائلة الخام وطريقة تشتيت لتوفير معالجة إضافية للنفايات السائلة أثناء تصريفها. بالإضافة إلى التقاط مياه الصرف الصحي ، تعمل الخزانات على تعزيز الاستقرار و اللاهوائية علاج. بالإضافة لاهوائية أصبحت غرفة الخزان أكثر شيوعًا لتعزيز المعالجة البيولوجية وإزالة المغذيات ، كما أن بعض أنظمة الصرف الصحي بها مضخات إعادة تدوير لنقل النفايات السائلة بين البيئات الهوائية واللاهوائية. يعد التشتت أمرًا بالغ الأهمية لإبطاء تدفق النفايات السائلة إلى البيئة.
  • حقول الصرف هي تقنية تشتت تعزز فرص المعالجة الإضافية للنفايات السائلة بواسطة الكائنات الدقيقة في التربة أو الحصى أو المواد الأخرى قبل تصريفها في المياه الجوفية أو السطحية. يوفر الفيديو أدناه من The Nature Conservancy Long Island شرحًا أكثر تفصيلاً لأنظمة الصرف الصحي والبالوعة.

خيار OWTS الآخر هو الأنظمة القائمة على الحاويات ، والتي تجمع بالمثل وتخزن مياه الصرف الصحي في الموقع ، ثم تتطلب نقل النفايات إلى مكان آخر للمعالجة. توجد هذه الأنظمة في الغالب في مناطق ذات بنية تحتية محدودة وتشمل مراحيض الحفر ، والتي يجب إفراغها بمجرد امتلائها ، ومراحيض الدلو ، التي يتم إفراغها يوميًا. تتراوح معالجة النفايات المجمعة من الخيارات القائمة على الحاويات من عمليات المعالجة التقليدية الموضحة أعلاه ، إلى ممارسات استعادة الموارد الجديدة ، إلى عدم المعالجة على الإطلاق. تم وصف الخيارات الناجحة المستندة إلى الحاوية بمزيد من التفصيل في الحلول الناشئة.

لم يتم تصميم أنظمة الصرف الصحي والبواسير لمعالجة المغذيات وهي غير كافية في إزالتها من النفايات السائلة وقد تكون خطرة على البيئات البحرية في المناطق الساحلية. على الرغم من وجود العديد من التطورات التكنولوجية لمعالجة إزالة المغذيات في OWTS ، إلا أن هناك نقصًا في التنظيم بشأن المغذيات في مياه الصرف الصحي السائلة على مستوى العالم. تتسبب التسريبات والأعطال التي يتم تجاهلها في تلوث من مصدر غير محدد يصعب اكتشافه ويفتقر إلى عواقب عدم الامتثال ، مما يترك فرصة ضئيلة للتنفيذ. يتم عرض ترقيات أنظمة OWTS لتشمل تقليل المغذيات المعزز المزيد من كفاءة التكلفة من بناء مرافق معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الجديدة والواسعة النطاق.

نظرة عامة على النظام اللامركزي

  • العلاجات اللامركزية فردية ، وتعمل على نطاقات أصغر وتخدم مجموعات سكانية قليلة
  • تشمل أوجه القصور في الأنظمة اللامركزية سوء الإدارة أو الإشراف المتكرر الذي يؤدي إلى عدم الامتثال ، وعدم كفاية إزالة المغذيات والملوثات الناشئة ، وعدم معالجة مياه الأمطار

تفريغ

تصريف من أنبوب المصب. الصورة © pixabay

بعد المعالجة من الأنظمة المركزية أو اللامركزية ، يتم تصريف النفايات السائلة المعالجة مباشرة إلى المسطحات المائية القريبة أو في الأرض. أنابيب المصب تستخدم لتصريف النفايات السائلة مباشرة في الأنهار والمحيطات ، في حين أن حقول الصرف ، والتربة ، والأراضي الرطبة ، والنباتات تبطئ ترشيح النفايات السائلة في المياه الجوفية. يعتمد تلوث المحيطات الناجم عن النفايات السائلة على كل من مستوى المعالجة التي تتلقاها قبل التصريف واستراتيجية التصريف المستخدمة. يمكن لتقنيات خفض المغذيات المتقدمة والحلول القائمة على الطبيعة تحقيق معالجة إضافية وإبطاء تدفق النفايات السائلة. من ناحية أخرى ، فإن تصريف مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة بشكل غير كاف يمثل مخاطر متزايدة على صحة الإنسان والكائن الحي والنظام البيئي. في حين أن محطات المعالجة واسعة النطاق في المناطق الساحلية غالبًا ما تقوم بتصريف النفايات السائلة المعالجة أو الخام مباشرة في المحيط ، يحدث أيضًا تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي من أنظمة الاحتواء الأصغر ، من خلال تصريف المياه الجوفية وترشيحها ، وغالبًا ما يمر دون أن يلاحظه أحد.

اعتبارات لاختيار النظام

تؤثر البنية التحتية والموارد والجيولوجيا وحجم السكان والأعراف الثقافية والسياسة على اختيار أنظمة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي. على سبيل المثال ، تعتبر محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي مناسبة في المناطق ذات الكثافة الهيكلية والسكانية العالية ، وشبكات الأنابيب الموجودة (أو الموارد والجيولوجيا المناسبة لتركيبها بنجاح) ، والقدرة على الصيانة عالية التقنية. بدلاً من ذلك ، تكون OWTS أكثر ملاءمة في حالة عدم وجود أنابيب الصرف الصحي وهناك مسافة أكبر بين مصادر الصرف الصحي (المنازل والشركات وما إلى ذلك). تؤثر البنية التحتية الحالية للصرف الصحي على ملاءمة النظام ، حيث يمكن أن تكون الترقيات أسهل وأكثر فعالية من حيث التكلفة في التنفيذ من تطوير بنية تحتية جديدة. انظر دراسة الحالة هذه للعمل على معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي مركزية في جزيرة روتان ، هندوراس.

أدوات دعم القرار لاختيار أفضل نظام على أساس السياقات المحلية غير متوفرة ، مما يجعل من الصعب إدارة تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي واحتياجات الصرف الصحي بشكل مناسب. يجب أن تشمل اعتبارات اختيار النظام البنية التحتية الحالية ، وموارد المجتمع ، والتوقعات الاجتماعية والثقافية ، والدعم السياسي أو القيود ، والجيولوجيا والهيدرولوجيا المحلية ، والعديد من العوامل الأخرى. قم بزيارة يفتح في نافذة جديدةمجموعة أدوات إدارة المياه والصرف الصحي المستدامة لمعرفة المزيد عن أنظمة وتقنيات الصرف الصحي.

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Existing Treatment Systems

Sewage pipe. Photo © Joe Miller
Managing sanitary waste has been a concern since the earliest settled civilizations. Historically, sewage and household wastewaters were discharged into the nearest waterways, taking advantage of dilution and oxidation as treatment. This idea of “self-purification” was not incorrect; many contaminants can be removed by natural processes with sufficient exposure, time, and dilution. However, population growth, and the increasing contaminants in sewage, have rendered this approach inadequate. The discovery of sewage-borne illnesses resulted in sanitation development with the goal to separate sewage from drinking water to protect people’s health. ref Many treatment systems have since been developed to help stop raw sewage from entering oceans. Below is an introduction to common sewage treatment systems used today.

wastewater treatment plant

Wastewater treatment plant in California, USA. Photo © Michael Layefsky, Flickr

Centralized Wastewater Treatment Plants (WWTPs) and Sewers

Background

Densely populated areas and industrialized cities primarily rely on centralized wastewater treatment plants (WWTPs) to receive and treat sewage. Intricate networks of underground sewage pipes bring sewage from homes and buildings to the WWTP using gravity and pumps. These large facilities are expensive to build, run, and maintain. Technologies and treatment capacities of these systems are rarely upgraded after initial investments. This is also true for sewer pipes, which are subject to frequent leaks and overflows. Establishing sewer pipe infrastructure is expensive, especially outside of densely populated urban areas. There is also an increasing risk of malfunction induced by increased rainfall, rising water tables, and sea levels. In addition to initial construction costs, upgrades to this extensive infrastructure are costly, and typically the responsibility of a municipality or local government.

Wastewater treatment plant aerial

Wastewater treatment plant from above. Photo © Alex de Haas, Flickr

Large cities generate not only large volumes of sewage, but stormwater as well. In areas lacking the absorption and retention that soils, grasslands, forests, and other natural features offer, precipitation has nowhere to go, so it flows over impervious surfaces, accumulating debris and contaminants, resulting in polluted urban runoff. In response, many cities built combined sewers to collect and transport stormwater to the same centralized wastewater treatment plants as sewage. While this seems efficient, it increases the vulnerability of all components of the system. Storms and heavy rain often exceed the capacity of pipes, holding tanks, and treatment systems, leading to large discharges of untreated wastewater, including raw sewage, into waterways. In the United States, 40 million people are served by combined sewers, which discharge over 3 trillion liters of untreated sewage and stormwater runoff annually in combined sewer overflow (CSO) events. ref

Watch the Wastewater 101 Webinar for more information on sewage management:

Treatment

Once sewage arrives at a WWTP, it undergoes several stages of treatment before discharge.

  • Primary, or physical, treatment begins with screening: sewage is passed through screens to remove large solids. Effluent is then brought to settling tanks where gravity helps to settle out additional suspended solids.
  • Secondary, or biological, treatment aims to remove organic matter from sewage before disinfection. Oxygen and microorganisms are used to catalyze and promote biochemical reactions that break down contaminants. This process models natural systems and is made more efficient by aeration or exposure to additional oxygen. Oxygen is necessary for decomposition, and aeration helps eliminate dissolved gases. These reactions eventually encourage remaining particles to settle out. Common techniques for biological treatment include trickling filters and activated sludge, which increase the surface area available to microorganisms, as well as their density.
  • Tertiary, or chemical, treatment is used to promote further settling and nutrient removal. Added polymers attract pollutants to create clumps while carbon or charcoal filters catalyze physical adsorption to reduce nutrients.
  • Finally, effluent is disinfected to neutralize any remaining pathogens. While chlorine is one of the most common disinfectants, UV or ozone may be preferred to minimize residual chemical concentrations. ref

The flow of effluent through a WWTP from intake pipes to discharge. Source: opens in a new windowMallik and Arefin 2018

Primary and secondary treatment are required in the US by the Clean Water Act (CWA) and the number of facilities incorporating tertiary treatment is increasing. ref In addition, limitations on nutrient concentrations in effluent are being implemented at state and facility levels to address nutrient loading and the resulting eutrophication. Treatment criteria are helpful, but not enough to protect marine ecosystems from pollution.

Centralized System Overview

  • Centralized systems increase the efficiency of treatment, consolidate the costs of maintenance, and minimize nonpoint source pollution
  • Shortcomings of centralized systems include significant initial investment, costly and technical upkeep, capacity limitations, susceptibility to leaks, vulnerability to weather, and inadequate removal of nutrients

Decentralized Treatment Systems

Background

Onsite wastewater treatment systems (OWTS) are localized, small-scale systems for managing sewage where centralized systems are either inappropriate or have not been constructed. Hydrology, geology, and geography (as well as finances, politics, and regulations) can dictate whether a sewer and centralized system are possible or if onsite wastewater treatment systems (OWTS) are more suitable. Areas with dispersed residences, shallow soils, impervious bedrock, or vulnerable water tables are often served by OWTS. These systems can be costly for individual homeowners, however in some places installation and maintenance costs can be reduced by subsidies or local incentives.

Treatment

The flow of sewage through a conventional onsite septic system. Source: EPA Office of Water 2002

Onsite wastewater treatment systems (OWTS) collect, treat, and discharge wastewater effluent at the site where it is generated. Many types of onsite treatment systems exist, but the following three types are the widely used globally:

  • Cesspools, which have just one containment and treatment step. Here, dug or built pits collect effluent for natural settling and treatment. Cesspools are shown to be ineffective, provide inadequate treatment, and are being phased out, replaced, and even disallowed in many places.
  • Septic systems typically contain a holding tank for raw effluent and a dispersal method to provide additional treatment for effluent as it is discharged. As well as capturing sewage, tanks promote settling and anaerobic treatment. An additional aerobic tank chamber is becoming more common to enhance biological treatment and nutrient removal, and some septic systems even have recirculation pumps to move effluent between the aerobic and anaerobic environments. Dispersal is critical for slowing the flow of effluent into the environment.
  • Drain fields are a dispersal technique that promote opportunities for additional treatment of effluent by microorganisms in soil, gravel or other materials before discharge into the ground or surface waters. The video below from The Nature Conservancy Long Island provides a more detailed explanation of septic and cesspool systems.

Another OWTS option are container-based systems, which similarly collect and store sewage on site, then require waste to be transported elsewhere for treatment. These systems are predominantly found in areas with limited infrastructure and include pit latrines, which need to be emptied once they are full, and bucket toilets, which are emptied daily. Treatment of waste collected from container-based options ranges from the conventional treatment processes outlined above, to new resource recovery practices, to no treatment at all. Successful container-based options are described in more detail in Emerging Solutions.

Septic systems and cesspools are not designed to address nutrients and are inadequate in removing them from effluent and may be hazardous for the marine environments in coastal areas. Although there have been many technology advances to address nutrient removal in OWTS, there is a lack of regulation on nutrients in sewage effluent globally. Overlooked leaks and malfunctions cause nonpoint source pollution which is difficult to detect and lacks consequences for noncompliance, leaving little opportunity for enforcement. Upgrades to OWTS systems to include enhanced nutrient reduction are demonstrating more cost efficiency than building new, large-scale sewage treatment facilities.

Decentralized System Overview

  • Decentralized treatments are individualized, operating at smaller scales and serving sparser populations
  • Shortcomings of decentralized systems include frequent mismanagement or oversight leading to noncompliance, inadequate removal of nutrients and emerging contaminants, and no treatment of stormwater

Discharge

Discharge from an outfall pipe. Photo © pixabay

After treatment from either centralized or decentralized systems, treated effluent is discharged directly to nearby water bodies or into the ground. Outfall pipes are used to discharge effluent directly into rivers and oceans, while drain fields, soils, wetlands, and vegetation slow percolation of effluent into groundwaters. Contamination to oceans caused by effluent is dependent on both the level of treatment it receives prior to discharge and the discharge strategy used. Advanced nutrient reduction techniques and nature-based solutions can achieve additional treatment and slow the flow of effluent. On the other hand, discharge of inadequately treated sewage presents increased hazards for human, organism, and ecosystem health. While large-scale treatment plants in coastal areas often discharge treated or raw effluent directly into the ocean, sewage pollution from smaller containment systems also occurs, through groundwater discharge and leaching, often going unnoticed.

Considerations for System Selection

Infrastructure, resources, geology, population size, cultural norms, and politics all influence the selection of sewage treatment systems. For example, a WWTP is suitable in areas with high structural and population density, existing pipe networks (or the resources and suitable geology to install them successfully), and capacity for highly technical maintenance. Alternatively, OWTS are more appropriate where piped sewers do not exist and there is more distance between sources of sewage (homes, businesses, etc.). Existing sewage infrastructure influences system suitability, as upgrades can often be easier and more cost effective to implement than development of new infrastructure. See this case study of work to centralize sewage treatment on the island of Rotan, Honduras.

Decision support tools for selecting the best system based on local contexts are lacking, making it difficult to adequately manage sewage pollution and sanitation needs. Considerations for system selection should include existing infrastructure, community resources, social and cultural expectations, political support or constraints, the local geology and hydrology, and many other factors. Visit the opens in a new windowSustainable Sanitation and Water Management Toolbox to learn more about sanitation systems and technologies.

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »