對人類健康的影響

污水管。 照片©Joe Miller

飲用水的污染是污水中病原體向人與人之間傳播疾病的主要途徑。 人們也暴露在污水中 病原體 通過土壤,在受污染的土壤中種植的食物,從受污染的水域收穫的海鮮以及在污染的水中沐浴和繁殖。

污水污染標誌布賴恩·奧爾創意公地

在海灘的污水污穢警報信號。 照片©Brian Commons,知識共享

污水範圍內的傳染病包括細菌性沙門氏菌,寄生賈第鞭毛蟲和鉤蟲, 等等。 接觸也會引起局部疾病,例如皮疹。 文獻

病原體和傳染病

輪狀病毒,霍亂和傷寒等腹瀉病是與污水污染相關的主要健康問題,1.6年造成2017萬人死亡。 文獻 這些疾病會導致兒童嚴重脫水,營養不良和發育遲緩,損害他們的成長和智力發育。 文獻 結果可能是終身健康並發症,並對整個社區造成破壞性後果。 與污水接觸是一個緊迫的挑戰,特別是在發展中地區,並導致了水,衛生和衛生(WASH)部門的發展。


水,衛生與衛生(WASH)部門致力於提供衛生服務以保護人類健康。 這項工作包括改善飲用水的獲取和質量,安全有效的衛生系統以及衛生行為。 它主要側重於沒有水或污水基礎設施的地區的發展。
 

其他污染物

污水中的其他污染物也對人類有害,包括高濃度的營養素。 在處理過程中,通常不會從污水中去除新興關注的化學物質(CEC),並且很容易進入海洋環境。 攝入受污染的海鮮或長時間與少量水直接接觸可導致接觸。 一些示例包括:

  • 飲用水中的硝酸鹽可能導致 高鐵血紅蛋白血症 在兒童中,暴露於藍綠色藻華產生的神經毒素會導致老年癡呆症。 文獻
  • 牡蠣中的病原體每年引起4萬例肝炎,而重金屬和藥物在攝入和積累時會阻礙人體的關鍵功能。 文獻
  • 藥品,個人護理產品和家用清潔產品屬於已知會導致人類內分泌紊亂,對生殖健康造成負面影響的CEC。 文獻

某些藻類 擬南芥會產生海藻酸,海藻酸會在水生生物中生物富集,並在人類中引起稱為ASP的神經系統疾病。 長時間暴露於小劑量可引起症狀性癲癇,幻覺,記憶力減退和嘔吐,這是其他藻類毒素對健康的典型危害。 文獻

污水中的污染不僅加劇了健康問題,而且危害了漁業,漁業是營養和生計的重要蛋白質來源,並威脅著珊瑚礁,珊瑚礁還提供了食品,生計安全,沿海保護以及許多醫療產品必不可少的物種的家園。 文獻

間接健康後果

露天排便或不適當的衛生設施(沒有照明或隱私)對婦女而言可能是不安全的,從而為騷擾或暴力創造了機會。 當女孩在月經期間失學或婦女花大量時間尋找乾淨的飲用水時,由於衛生條件不足而造成的性別差異會進一步加劇。 衛生干預措施通常要求在收集和處理過程中與污水接觸,因此越來越少地認為這種接觸對人類健康至關重要。

雖然未經處理和部分處理的污水對人類健康構成最大威脅,但經過處理的污水的副產品也存在危害。 處置 生物固體 使附近的人群有吸入或攝入空氣傳播的病原體的風險。 文獻

安全衛生的定義是 聯合監測計劃 (JMP)作為解決整個環衛服務鏈的系統。 改善衛生條件包括考慮場地內無法控制的廢物。 在收集和處理過程中或由於缺乏收集和處理而與污水接觸已成為實施衛生解決方案的重要組成部分,越來越多地將這種接觸對人類健康至關重要。 儘管正在取得進展,但世界上大多數人口仍無法獲得適當的衛生設施以保護公共健康。 根據世界衛生組織(WHO)的數據,6年有十分之六的人確實獲得了安全管理的衛生服務。 文獻

 

全球獲得衛生服務的分類打開IMAGE文件

JMP用於評估衛生干預措施的全球獲得衛生服務的途徑(左圖)和衛生梯(右圖)的細分。 來源: 在新窗口中打開世衛組織和兒童基金會

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Impacts on Human Health

Sewage pipe. Photo © Joe Miller

Contamination of drinking water is the primary pathway for pathogens in sewage to spread diseases to and from people. People are also exposed to sewage pathogens through soils, food grown in contaminated soils, seafood harvested from contaminated waters, and bathing and recreating in polluted waters.

sewage contamination sign brian auer creative commons

Sewage contamination warning sign on a beach. Photo © Brian Auer, Creative Commons

Infectious diseases from sewage range can include bacterial salmonella, parasitic giardia and hookworm, among others. Exposure can also lead to topical ailments, such as rashes. ref

Pathogens and Infectious Disease

Diarrheal diseases, such as rotavirus, cholera, and typhoid, are the dominant health concern related to sewage pollution, causing 1.6 million deaths in 2017. ref These diseases can cause severe dehydration, malnutrition, and stunting in children, impairing their growth and mental development. ref The result can be lifelong health complications and damaging consequences for entire communities. Contact with sewage represents an urgent challenge particularly in developing areas, and has led to the development of the Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene (WASH) sector.

WASH
The Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene (WASH) sector is a field dedicated to sanitation services for the protection of human health. This work includes improving the access and quality of drinking water, safe and effective sanitation systems, and hygienic behaviors. It is focused primarily on the development of areas without water or sewage infrastructure.
 

Other Contaminants

Other contaminants from sewage are hazardous for humans as well, including high nutrient concentrations. Chemicals of emerging concern (CECs) are often not removed from sewage during treatment and easily enter the marine environment. Exposure can occur through ingestion of contaminated seafood or direct contact with small concentrations in water over time. Some examples include:

  • Nitrates in drinking water can cause Methemoglobinemia in children and exposure to neurotoxins generated by blue-green algal blooms can lead to Alzheimer’s symptoms. ref
  • Pathogens in oysters cause 4 million cases of Hepatitis every year, while heavy metals and pharmaceuticals can impede critical bodily functions when ingested and accumulated. ref
  • Pharmaceuticals, personal care products, and household cleaning products are among CECs known to cause endocrine disruption in humans, leading to negative consequences on reproductive health. ref

Certain species of algae, Pseudo-nitzchia australiis, produce domoic acid, which bioaccumulates in aquatic organisms and causes a neurological disorder called ASP in humans. The symptomatic seizures, hallucinations, memory loss, and vomiting can be brought on by exposure to small doses over time, which is typical of health hazards from other algae-borne toxins. ref

Contamination from sewage not only compounds health concerns, it jeopardizes fisheries, an essential source of protein for nutrition and livelihoods, and threatens coral reefs, which also provide food, livelihood security, coastal protection, and homes to many species essential to medical products. ref

Indirect Health Consequences

Open defecation or inadequate sanitation facilities (without lights or privacy) can be unsafe for women, creating opportunities for harassment or violence. Gender disparities resulting from inadequate sanitation are furthered when girls miss school during menstruation or women spend excess time finding clean drinking water. Sanitation interventions often require contact with sewage during collection and treatment and minimizing this contact is increasingly recognized as essential for human health.

While raw and partially treated sewage present the most significant threats to human health, hazards also exist in byproducts of treated sewage as well. Disposal of biosolids puts nearby populations at risk of inhalation or ingestion of airborne pathogens. ref

Safe sanitation has been defined by the Joint Monitoring Program (JMP) as systems that address the entire sanitation service chain. Improved sanitation includes consideration of waste beyond containment on site. Contact with sewage during collection and treatment, or because of the lack of collection and treatment, has become an important component of implementing sanitation solutions, and minimizing this contact is increasingly recognized as essential for human health. Although progress is being made, most of the world’s population does not have access to adequate sanitation to protect public health. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), nearly 6 in 10 people did have access to safely managed sanitation services in 2017. ref

 

Breakdown of global access to sanitation servicesopens IMAGE file

Breakdown of global access to sanitation services (left image) and the Sanitation Ladder (right image) used by the JMP to evaluate sanitation interventions. Source: opens in a new windowWHO and UNICEF

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex