對海洋生物的影響

污水管。 照片©Joe Miller
傳統上認為僅僅是 人類健康 令人擔憂的是,污水對海洋生物的影響被低估了,並且沒有得到解決。 污水污染對珊瑚和魚類具有許多不利影響。 持續的營養物負荷和藻華對海洋生物特別具有破壞性,並且還在增加。

赤潮

赤潮在美國加利福尼亞州。 照片©Flickr

對珊瑚礁的影響

珊瑚褪色疾病 是被污水污染物污染的水域中珊瑚礁的常見問題。 污水污染還可以通過改變海洋溫度,pH值和pH值來間接影響海洋生物。 鹽度 並增加了許多生物的疾病,例如珊瑚,魚類和貝類。 下表列出了污水中發現的一些常見壓力源及其對珊瑚的影響(改編自Wear和Vega-Thurber,2015年)。

 

講師對珊瑚的影響
營養成分珊瑚增白,珊瑚病(患病率和嚴重程度)增加,珊瑚繁殖力下降,藻類過度生長,珊瑚骨骼完整性下降,珊瑚覆蓋率和生物多樣性下降以及浮游植物陰影增加。
內分泌干擾物珊瑚卵精子束減少,珊瑚生長速度減慢,珊瑚組織增厚。
病原體珊瑚白痘病原體的來源和相關死亡率,以及珊瑚的致病性增加。
固體珊瑚共生體的光合作用降低,珊瑚種類豐富,珊瑚生長速率,珊瑚鈣化,珊瑚覆蓋和珊瑚礁積聚率降低,珊瑚死亡率增加。
重金屬珊瑚死亡,珊瑚褪色,減少基本功能(如呼吸作用和施肥成功); Fe2 +可能會增加珊瑚病的生長。
毒素對珊瑚的致死和亞致死作用-高度可變,並取決於特定毒素。 珊瑚共生體的光合作用降低,珊瑚褪色,珊瑚死亡,珊瑚脂質減少,珊瑚繁殖力降低,珊瑚共生體死亡和珊瑚生長下降。

表面上的藻華會阻止光合作用的黃原蟲在珊瑚中所需要的陽光。 光合作用,呼吸作用和鈣化需要氧氣並由氧氣產生,因此氧氣對珊瑚的生存至關重要。

缺氧已被證明會引起漂白事件。 污水污染增加了漂白的可能性和嚴重性,導致珊瑚的破壞和恢復能力增強。 文獻 當地污水污染 緩解策略 增強對珊瑚漂白的適應力變得越來越重要。 文獻

 

污水污染加劇了珊瑚病的另一威脅。 兩種最常見的珊瑚病的暴發與污染有關。 例如,白痘是由人類腸道病原體直接引起的 粘質沙雷氏菌,而黑帶病則與被污染水域中的大型藻類覆蓋物密切相關。 文獻

對魚類和貝類的影響

營養物質通常來自農業或污​​水等陸上資源,是海洋生物的重要組成部分。 但是,海洋環境中過多的養分會導致藻類大量繁殖,這些藻類會覆蓋水面,阻擋陽光並阻礙光合作用,並導致海洋變暖和酸化。 藻類的過度生長代表了對珊瑚的競爭,並可能抑制死亡和疾病事件後的恢復。 藻類死亡後,它們的腐爛消耗掉了氧氣,從水中消耗掉了氧氣,使其無法用於其他海洋生物。 這種富營養化創造了 死區,其特徵在於溶解氧含量低,預計隨著氣候變化頻率和強度都會增加。 文獻  下圖更詳細地顯示了此過程,從營養輸入開始到 水體富營養化,缺氧和死亡事件。

 

導致溶解氧減少以及隨後的缺氧對海洋生物的影響的過程(左圖)。 缺氧和細菌濃度影響整個營養水平的海洋生物。 較大的魚類需要較高的溶解氧水平,而微動物(例如蠕蟲)可以忍受較低的氧水平。 當棲息地的生存能力因缺氧而減少時,就會出現死區(右圖)。 資料來源:Boesch 2008

海洋中的污水污染和過多的養分也導致了 毒素 損害了生態系統的完整性,海洋生物和人類健康。 文獻 不同種類的藻類產生不同的毒素,導致各種嚴重程度和影響。 這些毒素 生物蓄積,在整個食物網的生物組織中積累。 與破壞光合作用相結合,有害毒素會造成許多魚類和貝類無法生存的環境,這對於海洋食物網和人類生計都是必不可少的。 文獻

海洋生物對輕度和重度缺氧的反應,包括生理過程,生境選擇和生存狀況的變化。 注意:BBD代表黑帶病。 資料來源:納爾遜和阿爾鐵裡2019

除了藻類產生的毒素外,污水中還存在許多其他毒素。 這些包括在治療過程中未去除的藥物,例如內分泌干擾物和合成化合物。 通過攝入這些毒素,海洋生物也會對人類食用產生毒性, 對人類健康的危害 除了生物多樣性喪失的威脅。 請參閱夏威夷Puako的案例研究,該地區的污水污染被認為是造成魚類生物量下降的最大原因,社區致力於識別和解決污水污染的來源。

在新窗口中打開新興化學品 (CECs)在經處理的污水中被發現的頻率更高且濃度更高。 這些化學物質包括在藥品和個人護理產品中發現的化合物,並且不能通過當前的污水處理機制去除。 抗抑鬱藥已顯示出在低濃度下會影響魚類的行為和死亡率,而合成激素和內分泌干擾物會損害生殖能力並助長侵略性趨勢。 此外,暴露於污水污染水域的魚的總體生存能力受到損害。 最近的研究表明,魚類組織中許多CEC化合物具有生物蓄積性,並引起人們對缺乏CEC對海洋生物影響的了解和研究的關注。

 

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Impacts on Marine Life

Sewage pipe. Photo © Joe Miller
Traditionally thought of as only a human health concern, the impacts of sewage on marine life have been understated and unaddressed. Sewage pollution has many detrimental consequences for corals and fish species. Ongoing nutrient loading and algal blooms are particularly devastating for marine life and are increasing.

red tide

Red Tide in California, USA. Photo © Flickr

Impacts to Coral Reefs

Coral bleaching and disease are common problems for reefs in waters contaminated by sewage pollutants. Sewage pollution can also indirectly affect marine life by altering ocean temperature, pH, and salinity as well as increasing disease in many organisms, such as corals, fish, and shellfish. Some common stressors found in sewage and their impacts on corals are listed in the table below (adapted from Wear and Vega-Thurber, 2015).

 

STRESSORSIMPACTS TO CORALS
NutrientsIncreased coral bleaching, increased coral disease (prevalence and severity), decreased coral reproductivity, algal overgrowth, decreased coral skeletal integrity, decreased coral cover and biodiversity, and increased phytoplankton shading.
Endocrine disruptorsReduction in coral egg-sperm bundles, slowed coral growth rates, coral tissue thickening.
PathogensSource of white pox disease pathogen for corals and associated mortality, and increased pathogenicity in corals.
SolidsReduced photosynthesis of coral symbionts, coral species richness, coral growth rates, coral calcification, coral cover, and coral reef accretion rates, and increased coral mortality.
Heavy metalsCoral mortality, coral bleaching, reduction of basic functions such as respiration and fertilization success; Fe2+ may increase growth of coral disease.
ToxinsLethal and sublethal effects on corals – highly variable and dependent on specific toxin. Reduced photosynthesis of coral symbionts, coral bleaching, coral mortality, reduced coral lipid storage, reduced coral fecundity, death of coral symbionts, and decreased coral growth.

Algal blooms on the surface block access to sunlight required by photosynthetic zooxanthellae in corals. Oxygen is required for and generated by photosynthesis as well as respiration and calcification and is therefore imperative to coral survival.

Hypoxia has been shown to cause bleaching events. Bleaching potential and severity are increased by sewage pollution, leading to increased damage and recovery capacity of corals. ref Local sewage pollution mitigation strategies to enhance resilience to bleaching for corals are increasingly critical. ref

 

Coral diseases are another threat intensified by sewage pollution. Outbreaks of two of the most common coral diseases have been linked with pollution. For instance, white pox is directly caused by the human gut pathogen Serratia marcescens, while black band disease is strongly associated with macroalgal cover that increases in polluted waters. ref

Impacts to Fish and Shellfish

Nutrients, typically from land-based sources such as agriculture or sewage, are essential building blocks for marine life. However, excess nutrients in the marine environment cause algae blooms that can coat the water surface, blocking sunlight and hampering photosynthesis, and contributing to ocean warming and acidification. Algal overgrowth presents competition for corals and can inhibit recovery after die-off and disease events. After algae die, their decay uses up oxygen, depleting it from the water and making it unavailable for other marine life. This eutrophication creates dead zones, characterized by low levels of dissolved oxygen, which are projected to increase in frequency and severity with climate change. ref  The image below shows this process in more detail, beginning with nutrient input and leading to eutrophication, hypoxia, and die-off events.

 

Processes that contribute to decreases in dissolved oxygen and the impact of subsequent hypoxia on marine life (left image). Hypoxia and bacteria concentrations impact marine life across trophic levels. Larger fish species require higher levels of dissolved oxygen while microfauna, such as worms, can tolerate lower oxygen levels. Dead zones occur when survivorship in a habitat is reduced by hypoxia (right image). Source: Boesch 2008

Sewage pollution and excess nutrients in the ocean also lead to the generation of toxins that compromise ecosystem integrity, marine life, and human health. ref Different species of algae produce different toxins, resulting in a wide range of severity and impacts. These toxins bioaccumulate, building up in the tissues of organisms across the food web. In combination with disrupting photosynthesis, hazardous toxins create conditions that are uninhabitable for many fish and shellfish essential to both marine food webs and human livelihoods. ref

Marine life response to mild and severe hypoxia, including changes in physiological processes, habitat choices, and survivorship. Note: BBD stands for black band disease. Source: Nelson and Altieri 2019

In addition to toxins generated by algae, many others are present in sewage. These include pharmaceuticals, such as endocrine disruptors and synthetic compounds, that are not removed during treatment. By ingesting these toxins, marine organisms can then become toxic for human consumption as well, presenting a significant health hazard to humans in addition to the threat of biodiversity loss. See the case study from Puako, Hawaii where sewage pollution was identified as the biggest contributor to declining fish biomass and the community worked to identify and address the sources sewage pollution.

opens in a new windowChemicals of Emerging Concern (CECs) are being found in treated sewage effluent more frequently and in higher concentrations. These chemicals include compounds found in medicines and personal care products and are not removed through current sewage treatment mechanisms. Antidepressants have been shown to impact fish behavior and mortality in low concentrations, while synthetic hormones and endocrine disruptors can impair reproductivity and contribute to aggressive tendencies. In addition, overall survivability is impaired for fish exposed to sewage contaminated waters. Recent studies show bioaccumulation of many CEC compounds in fish tissue and raise concerns over the lack in understanding and research of potential CEC impacts on marine life.

 

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »