污水污染簡介

污水管。 照片©Joe Miller

海洋污水污染正日益威脅著人類和海洋生物,並構成了全球沿海污染的最大比例。 文獻 在全球範圍內,估計有80%的污水未經處理就排入河流,湖泊,溪流和海洋。 文獻 研究表明,由於污水管理不存在或不充分,污水污染經常發生在世界各地的珊瑚礁附近。 文獻

地圖污水污染

有記錄的104個珊瑚礁地區中有112個沿海污水污染。 資料來源:Wear and Vega Thurber 2015

沿海主要城市和城市環境通常是重要的污染源,尤其是在低收入國家。 但是,即使在高收入國家,也存在這一挑戰。 例如,美國每年有超過1.3萬億加侖的廢水(包括未經處理的污水,雨水和工業廢水)排入河流。 文獻 世界上有超過一半的人口(4.2億人)使用的衛生服務使人類廢物得不到處理,估計有673億人根本沒有廁所,並且經常在熱帶地區進行露天排便。 文獻

污水的典型成分包括水,養分,有機物,細菌,病毒,寄生蟲,內分泌干擾物,懸浮固體,超小型和大型塑料,超細纖維,工業化學品,屠宰場廢料,沉積物和重金屬-它們分別或共同作用於損害沿海和海洋生態系統。 文獻 人類向海洋排放的大量污水會破壞重要的棲息地,殺死海洋生物,危害人類賴以生存的生態系統,並威脅人類健康。

污水污染的影響各不相同,並受人口,地理和基礎設施的影響。 污水污染可能與以下影響有關( 在新窗口中打開我們共同的海洋):

  • 對珊瑚礁,海草和鹽沼的物理和生物破壞會窒息棲息地,導致高水平的局部酸化,增加患病的風險。 文獻
  • 養分過剩造成的富營養化會消耗氧氣,殺死海洋動植物,並破壞生態過程。 文獻
  • 海岸生態系統服務的喪失,例如侵蝕控制,暴風雨造成的緩衝以及幼魚的苗圃。 文獻
  • 有害的藻華會產生毒素或物理物質(即海藻),這些毒素或物質會殺死海洋生物,封閉海灘,並可能通過直接暴露或通過食用受污染的海鮮而間接導致人類疾病。 文獻
  • 由病原體,重金屬和有毒化學物質引起的動物和人類疾病,可能導致急性疾病以及對生物過程的長期破壞。 文獻
  • 由於溶解氧(由於營養水平的增加)和藻類毒素的減少,漁業污染和魚類死亡以及受污染地區物種多樣性的減少。 文獻

當污水進入海洋並與海水混合時,污染物會被分散和稀釋。 這導致了一個持久的假設,即“污染的解決方案是稀釋”。 但是,持續的污水污染限制了海洋稀釋這些污染物的能力,特別是在潮汐通量有限或生物多樣性脆弱的地區。 儘管採取了各種措施,但收集和處理污水的策略可以有效避免海洋的進一步污染 出水 由於過時或處理不當而留下的污染物也可能有害。 看 對海洋生物的影響對人類健康的影響 有關污水污染影響的更多信息。

氣候變化(特別是溫度升高,海平面升高和海洋酸化)加劇了污水污染的影響。 氧耗竭,源於 營養負荷 以及相應的藻華,導致一氧化二氮(一種溫室氣體,進一步加劇了氣候變化)的產生。 隨著全球人口和氣候變化威脅的增加,減輕海洋污水污染的需求變得越來越重要。 珊瑚礁管理者可以參與應對這一威脅,並幫助確保衛生干預措施考慮到自然生態系統。

觀看有關解決海洋污水污染威脅的網絡研討會:

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Sewage Pollution Introduction

Sewage pipe. Photo © Joe Miller

Ocean sewage pollution is a growing threat to people and marine life and makes up the largest percentage of coastal pollution worldwide. ref Globally, an estimated 80 percent of sewage is discharged into rivers, lakes, streams and the ocean untreated. ref Research shows that sewage pollution often occurs in proximity to coral reefs around the world due to nonexistent or inadequate sewage management. ref

Map sewage pollution

Documented coastal sewage pollution in 104 of 112 areas with coral reefs. Source: Wear and Vega Thurber 2015

Major coastal cities and urban environments are usually significant sources of pollution, especially in low-income countries. However, even in high-income countries this challenge is present. For instance, more than 1.3 trillion gallons of wastewater (including untreated sewage, stormwater, and industrial waste) are discharged into rivers in the United States every year. ref Over half of the world’s population, 4.2 billion people, use sanitation services that leave human waste untreated and an estimated 673 million people have no toilets at all and practice open defecation, often in tropical areas. ref

Typical components of sewage include water, nutrients, organic matter, bacteria, viruses, parasites, endocrine disruptors, suspended solids, micro and macro plastics, microfibers, industrial chemicals, slaughterhouse wastes, sediments and heavy metals—each of which individually and together work to harm coastal and marine ecosystems. ref The high volume of sewage humans discharge into the ocean degrades critical habitats, kills marine life, harms ecosystems upon which humans depend, and threatens human health.

The impacts of sewage pollution vary and is influenced by population, geography, and infrastructure. Sewage pollution can be linked to the following impacts ( opens in a new windowOur Shared Seas):

  • Physical and biological damage to coral reefs, seagrasses, and salt marshes where it can smother habitat, lead to high levels of local acidification, and increase risk of disease. ref
  • Eutrophication due to nutrient overload that depletes oxygen, kills marine flora and fauna, and disrupts ecological processes. ref
  • Loss of coastal ecosystem services, like erosion control, buffers from storms, and nurseries for juvenile fish. ref
  • Harmful algal blooms that can produce toxins or physical material (i.e., sargassum) that kill marine life, close beaches, and can cause human disease through direct exposure and indirectly through consumption of contaminated seafood. ref
  • Animal and human diseases resulting from pathogens, heavy metals, and toxic chemicals that can cause acute disease, as well as long-term disruptions to biological processes. ref
  • Contamination of fisheries and fish mortality as well as reductions in species diversity in polluted areas because of decreased dissolved oxygen (due to increases in nutrient levels) and algal toxins. ref

When sewage enters the ocean and mixes with seawater, pollutants are dispersed and diluted. This has led to a persistent assumption that “the solution to pollution is dilution”. However, ongoing sewage contamination limits the ocean’s capacity to dilute those contaminates, particularly in areas with limited tidal flux, or vulnerable biodiversity. Strategies to collect and treat sewage can effectively avoid further pollution of the ocean, although treated effluent can also be harmful due to contaminants left behind by outdated or inadequate treatment. See Impacts on Marine Life and Impacts on Human Health for additional information on the effects of sewage pollution.

Climate change (specifically rising temperatures, sea levels, and ocean acidification) intensifies the impacts of sewage pollution. Oxygen depletion, resulting from nutrient loading and corresponding algal blooms, leads to increased production of nitrous oxide, a greenhouse gas further contributing to climate change. As global populations and climate change threats increase, the need to mitigate sewage pollution in the ocean is becoming more critical. Reef managers can engage in addressing this threat and help ensure that sanitation interventions consider natural ecosystems.

Watch the webinar on Addressing the Threat of Ocean Sewage Pollution:

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex