Solutions de gestion émergentes

Tuyau d'égout. Photo © Joe Miller

Des technologies innovantes et de nouvelles stratégies de gestion pour améliorer et développer des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées font leur apparition. Plusieurs exemples sont détaillés ci-dessous.

Élimination des nutriments dans les systèmes avancés de traitement des eaux usées sur site (OWTS)

Améliorations du système septique pour augmenter la capacité d'élimination des nutriments effluent avant le rejet sont une stratégie émergente pour les systèmes de traitement des eaux usées sur site (OWTS) dans les zones vulnérables à l'eutrophisation. Pour réduire la charge en éléments nutritifs, les nouvelles technologies sont de plus en plus répandues et même nécessaires à certains endroits.

Système septique à filtre à sable

Système septique à filtre à sable. La source: Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtreUSEPA

Voir le étude de cas de Long Island, New York décrivant les efforts visant à remplacer les anciennes installations septiques par des systèmes de réduction de l'azote avec des champs de lixiviation peu profonds qui peuvent empêcher environ 95% de l'azote des effluents d'eaux usées de pénétrer dans le bassin versant et permettre aux aquifères souterrains de se recharger.

Récupération des ressources

La récupération des ressources fait référence à la capture et à la réutilisation de l'eau et des solides provenant des déchets humains. La récupération des ressources gagne du terrain en tant que solution à la fois pour les OWTS à petite échelle et les grandes usines de traitement centralisées. Certaines stratégies de récupération des ressources comprennent:

  • Récupération de l'eau douce pour l'irrigation et d'autres utilisations non potables, ce qui peut également réduire l'eau nécessaire pour l'assainissement et le traitement futurs
  • Biosolides utilisé pour ajouter au sol comme engrais lorsqu'il est traité selon des normes appropriées (par exemple, Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtreBiosolides en boucle Seattle, États-Unis, qui utilise des microbes et de la chaleur pour la digestion afin de créer un produit à utiliser dans les jardins et les forêts)
  • Microfiltration, osmose inverse, et UV (utilisé par Système de reconstitution des eaux souterraines du comté d'Orange, pour l'eau potable à Los Angeles, USA)
  • Production de biogaz grâce à digestion anaérobie et le captage du méthane - souvent utilisé par les usines de traitement des eaux usées à grande échelle (STEP) pour récupérer les ressources, traiter les biosolides et atténuer les émissions de gaz à effet de serre

Le manque d'assainissement n'est pas la seule raison de mettre en œuvre des stratégies de récupération des ressources. Les systèmes de traitement obsolètes, les nutriments restants et les contaminants émergents sont également dangereux pour la santé humaine et océanique. ref De plus, les ressources récupérées à partir des eaux usées peuvent être précieuses, allant de l'eau douce aux métaux et nutriments rares (par exemple, le phosphore). Si elle est bien faite, la récupération des ressources peut créer de la valeur à partir des déchets et contribuer à des systèmes en boucle entièrement fermée en générant l'électricité, l'eau et l'énergie thermique nécessaires au traitement, comme l'illustre l'Omniprocesseur Janicki (voir la description ci-dessous). Cette technologie peut améliorer ou remplacer les systèmes de traitement inadéquats existants.

Deux opérations sont présentées plus en détail ci-dessous, offrant des exemples d'innovations basées sur des conteneurs et à l'échelle municipale.

SOL Haïti

Source: SOIL Haïti

Assainissement écologique SOL Haïti

Le concept d'utiliser des procédés écologiques pour traiter les eaux usées n'est pas nouveau, mais le faire en toute sécurité tout en fournissant des toilettes aux personnes sans accès a offert une solution à la pollution et à l'érosion en Haïti. Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtreSOL (Moyens de subsistance intégrés organiques durables) est une ONG assurant l'assainissement à base de conteneurs. Ils utilisent des toilettes à détournement d'urine pour isoler les déchets solides pour la collecte hebdomadaire, puis les transporter vers une installation de compostage pour traitement. Grâce au compostage, les déchets sont traités selon les normes définies par l'Organisation mondiale de la santé et un engrais fini est vendu aux agriculteurs pour augmenter leurs rendements.

Janicki Bioénergie

Soutenu par la Fondation Bill & Melinda Gates, le processeur Omni est un remplacement potentiel pour les stations d'épuration à grande échelle desservant des villes du monde entier. Cette technologie transforme les déchets humains en vapeur et en cendres, qui sont utilisées pour alimenter le fonctionnement de l'usine. L'eau douce est récupérée et traitée pour une réutilisation potable. Bien qu'il soit encore un prototype à Dakar, au Sénégal, le système considère les composants des déchets humains comme des ressources et démontre le potentiel de compenser les coûts opérationnels et les apports de ressources naturelles. Regardez une vidéo sur la transformation des déchets en richesse.

Solutions basées sur la nature

La gestion des eaux usées évoque souvent les infrastructures grises: conduites en ciment et réservoirs de stockage souterrains. Infrastructure naturelle (verte) et solutions basées sur la nature (NBS) offrent une protection supplémentaire contre les impacts des eaux usées, en capturant efficacement les eaux de surface et souterraines contaminées avant qu'elles ne soient rejetées dans l'océan. Les processus de traitement naturels, y compris la prolongation de l'exposition de l'eau contaminée à l'activité microbienne, l'absorption par les plantes et l'oxygénation, favorisent l'élimination des nutriments et des agents pathogènes, ainsi que l'absorption potentielle d'autres composants nocifs des déchets humains. ref Cliquez sur l'image ci-dessous pour voir les opportunités et les avantages de NBS.

Infrastructure naturelle pour la gestion de l'eau

Opportunités et avantages de solutions basées sur la nature. Source: UICN

Avantages que les zones humides

Avantages que les zones humides, à la fois naturelles et construites, offrent des écosystèmes et la qualité de l'eau. La qualité de l'eau s'améliore avec le mouvement dans ces systèmes et avant d'entrer dans d'autres plans d'eau, comme l'océan. La source: Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtreRéseau de conservation de l'environnement naturel du Tibet

Il existe de nombreux exemples d'efforts NBS, notamment Réduction de la pollution de Ridge to Reefs aux Samoa américaines utiliser du biochar et du vétiver pour la biorétention et le contrôle de l'érosion afin d'éliminer les nutriments. D'autres exemples comprennent les zones humides artificielles, les marais biologiques, les dépôts de charbon actif, les épurateurs d'algues, les étangs de peuplement et les zones tampons riveraines. Une critique des solutions basées sur la nature (NBS) est qu'elles peuvent ne pas fournir à elles seules un traitement et une élimination adéquats des agents pathogènes. Cependant, couplé à un traitement supplémentaire et à une interaction prolongée avec l'oxygène et les microbes, ce défi peut être surmonté et le NBS peut offrir une stratégie efficace pour améliorer d'autres mécanismes de traitement. Regarde ça étude de cas de la baie de Guánica, Porto Rico où une infrastructure verte a été utilisée pour fournir un traitement supplémentaire aux rejets de fosses septiques, améliorant l'élimination des contaminants et réduisant considérablement le volume d'eaux usées entrant dans la baie.

Règlement

Les incohérences réglementaires, au sein et entre les communautés, les villes, les États et les nations, présentent un défi complexe pour la gestion des eaux usées. Cependant, une surveillance régulière et l'établissement de seuils pour les contaminants véhiculés par les eaux usées peuvent permettre de mesurer les événements de pollution et de motiver les efforts d'intervention et de prévention. La plupart des exemples de normes de traitement ou de réglementations sur les effluents existantes proviennent de régions tempérées, mais même dans les zones sans politiques spécifiques aux eaux usées, les stratégies peuvent être adaptées pour améliorer la mesure de la contamination existante, éclairer les interventions et compléter la surveillance future.

Les associations régionales sont des partenaires clés pour mettre en relation les gestionnaires avec les régulateurs et les services publics. Des organisations telles que Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtreAssociation des eaux et des eaux usées des Caraïbes, la Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtreAssociation des eaux et des eaux usées du Pacifique, et le Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtreAssociation de l'eau et des déchets du Pacifique sont des ressources précieuses pour les gestionnaires qui cherchent à naviguer dans les exigences réglementaires qui leur sont applicables et à accéder aux données, outils et autres ressources.

Plusieurs outils ont été mis en œuvre par l'US EPA pour établir des seuils de contaminants pour les plans d'eau et la vie aquatique. Un outil de seuil couramment utilisé est une charge quotidienne maximale totale (TMDL), qui limite la quantité d'un contaminant spécifique autorisée à pénétrer dans un plan d'eau. Ceci est particulièrement efficace pour les contaminants des eaux usées qui sont dérivés de sources non ponctuelles. Les TMDL concernent la quantité de contaminants pénétrant dans un plan d'eau plutôt que leur (s) source (s). Quelques-uns des Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtrede nombreux outils EPA supplémentaires inclure des couches de données nutritionnelles ( Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtreNPDAT), un programme de modélisation de la qualité de l'eau ( Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtreGUÊPE) et un outil de diagnostic de la déficience biologique ( Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtreCADDIS).

Un outil réglementaire émergent de l'US Coral Reef Task Force (USCRTF) est le gradient de condition biologique (BCG), qui est basé sur des critères de qualité de l'eau spécifiques aux environnements récifaux. Le BCG présente une stratégie pour comprendre l'impact de la pollution sur les écosystèmes des récifs coralliens en établissant une base de référence et en compilant des données sur la pollution et les écosystèmes au fil du temps. Cet outil peut être utilisé pour prédire les impacts de la contamination future ainsi que pour indiquer l'influence qu'une exposition à long terme peut avoir sur les systèmes récifaux.

Le modèle conceptuel du BCG présente graphiquement la vulnérabilité et la réponse des récifs coralliens aux facteurs de stress de l'habitat, en particulier la pollution, démontrant la relation entre la pollution, la déviation par rapport aux habitats naturels et l'intégrité et la fonctionnalité des écosystèmes et de la biodiversité. Source: US Coral Reef Task Force

Les Directives australiennes pour les systèmes d'égouts, Gestion des effluents reconnaissent la nécessité de prendre en compte les paramètres environnementaux avant le rejet d'effluent. Alors que les normes de traitement des effluents d'eaux usées rejetés dans les eaux côtières sont déterminées localement, le gouvernement encourage la surveillance de la qualité de l'eau avant et après le rejet, le traitement secondaire pour réduire les agents pathogènes et la désinfection. Les baies et les estuaires sont reconnus comme particulièrement sensibles à la contamination due à une dilution plus lente et nécessitent (au minimum) un traitement secondaire et souvent une élimination supplémentaire des nutriments. ref La carte de la base de données nationale sur les émissaires a suivi (jusqu'en 2019) le volume des rejets dans les exutoires à travers l'Australie et des rapports sur la population desservie, les types de traitements et divers niveaux de polluants. Les stratégies de gestion des eaux usées en Australie sont de plus en plus alignées sur la conservation marine, illustrée par la  Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtreModernisation de la station de traitement des eaux usées de Cleaner Seas Alliance à Cairnsouvre le fichier PDF .

Adéquation du système

Le tableau ci-dessous présente quelques considérations pour guider la prise de décision du système en fonction des effluents, des règlements et du milieu récepteur. Les outils qui tiennent compte des critères sociaux, sanitaires et environnementaux pour déterminer l'intervention d'assainissement la plus appropriée font actuellement défaut. Au fur et à mesure que de futurs outils sont développés, il est important d'inclure un aperçu des praticiens de la mer sur le degré de traitement et les technologies les plus efficaces pour protéger l'océan.

Le schéma ci-dessus détaille les considérations que les outils intégrés d'aide à la décision sur l'adéquation des systèmes peuvent inclure pour prendre en compte la santé, les écosystèmes, les ressources, l'efficacité, l'acceptabilité et la durabilité. Source: Adapté de l'US EPA

Le Massachusetts côtier est confronté à des défis de chargement de nutriments associés à la pollution des eaux usées depuis des décennies. En réponse, la Commission de Cape Cod a créé un site Web interactif sur les technologies d'assainissement, Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtreMatrice des technologies. Cet outil détaille les attributs et les lacunes de diverses technologies qui les rendent appropriées dans différents contextes. Un accent particulier sur l'élimination des nutriments, assainissement côtieret la restauration démontrent la pertinence de ce site pour les praticiens de la mer. Cliquer sur ces technologies fournit plus d'informations sur les solutions disponibles et celles qui peuvent être les plus compatibles dans une circonstance donnée.

Compétitions et défis

L'assainissement peut être réalisé de nombreuses manières, nécessitant un large éventail de ressources et offrant différents niveaux de succès. La Fondation Bill & Melinda Gates a donné la priorité à l'innovation pour améliorer les technologies d'assainissement et finance une  Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtreRéinventez le défi des toilettes pour solliciter des idées et soutenir le développement de systèmes d'assainissement modulaires qui minimisent l'eau, l'électricité et les apports monétaires. Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtreRecherche de solutions RARE 2020 axé sur les stratégies de changement de comportement pour réduire la pollution de l'eau. L'intérêt croissant pour l'assainissement en tant qu'exigence de la conservation de la santé et de l'environnement continuera de stimuler de nouvelles idées.

Des opportunités comme celles-ci sont révélatrices de la nature interdisciplinaire de la pollution par les eaux usées. Si les stratégies technologiques, réglementaires et de gestion sont essentielles, les solutions durables nécessitent une collaboration intersectorielle. L'engagement des gestionnaires marins dans cet effort est essentiel pour protéger les ressources océaniques.

porno youjizz xmxx professeur xxx Relations sexuelles
Translate »

Emerging Management Solutions

Sewage pipe. Photo © Joe Miller

Innovative technologies and new management strategies to improve and develop wastewater treatment systems are emerging. Several examples are detailed below.

Nutrient Removal in Advanced Onsite Wastewater Treatment Systems (OWTS)

Septic system improvements to increase the capacity for nutrient removal from effluent prior to discharge are an emerging strategy for onsite wastewater treatment systems (OWTS) in areas vulnerable to eutrophication. To reduce nutrient loading, new technologies are becoming widespread and even required in some places.

Sand Filter Septic System

Sand Filter Septic System. Source: opens in a new windowUSEPA

See the case study from Long Island, New York describing efforts to replace old septic systems with nitrogen reducing systems with shallow leach fields that can prevent approximately 95% of nitrogen from wastewater effluent from entering the watershed and allow groundwater aquifers to recharge.

Resource Recovery

Resource recovery refers to the capture and reuse of water and solids from human waste. Resource recovery is gaining traction as a solution for both small-scale OWTS and large, centralized treatment plants. Some strategies for resource recovery include:

  • Freshwater reclamation for irrigation and other non-potable uses, which can also reduce water needed for future sanitation and treatment
  • Biosolids used to add to soil as fertilizer when treated to appropriate standards (for example, opens in a new windowLoop Biosolids Seattle, USA which uses microbes and heat for digestion to create a product to use in gardens and forests)
  • Microfiltration, reverse osmosis, and UV (used by Orange County Water District’s groundwater replenishment system, for drinking water in Los Angeles, USA)
  • Biogas generation through anaerobic digestion and methane capture – often employed by large scale wastewater treatment plants (WWTPs) to recover resources, treat biosolids, and mitigate greenhouse gas emissions

Lack of sanitation is not the only reason for implementing resource recovery strategies. Outdated treatment systems and remaining nutrients and emerging contaminants are also hazardous to human and ocean health. ref In addition, resources recovered from sewage waste can be valuable, ranging from freshwater to scarce metals and nutrients (e.g., phosphorus). If done well, resource recovery can create value from waste and contribute to entirely closed loop systems by generating electricity, water, and heat energy needed for treatment, as exemplified by the Janicki Omniprocessor (see description below). This technology can improve or replace existing inadequate treatment systems.

Two operations are presented in more detail below, offering examples of container-based and municipal-scale innovations.

SOIL Haiti

Source: SOIL Haiti

Ecological Sanitation SOIL Haiti

The concept of using ecological processes to treat wastewater is not new, but doing it safely while providing toilets to those without access has offered a solution to pollution and erosion in Haiti. opens in a new windowSOIL (Sustainable Organic Integrated Livelihoods) is an NGO providing container-based sanitation. They use urine diversion toilets to isolate solid waste for weekly collection and then transport waste to a composting facility for treatment. Through composting, waste is treated to standards defined by the World Health Organization and a finished fertilizer is sold to farmers to increase their yields.

Janicki Bioenergy

Supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the Omni Processor is a prospective replacement for large scale WWTPs serving cities around the world. This technology turns human waste into steam and ash, which are used to power the plant’s operation. Freshwater is retrieved and treated for potable reuse. Though still a prototype in Dakar, Senegal, the system considers components of human waste as resources and demonstrates the potential to offset operational costs and natural resource inputs. Watch a video about turning waste to wealth.

Nature-based Solutions

Wastewater management often brings to mind gray infrastructure: cement pipes and underground storage tanks. Natural (green) infrastructure and nature-based solutions (NBS) offer an additional protection against wastewater impacts, effectively capturing contaminated surface and groundwater before it is discharged into the ocean. Natural treatment processes, including prolonging exposure of contaminated water to microbial activity, plant uptake, and oxygenation, promote the removal of nutrients and pathogens, as well as potential absorption of other harmful human waste components. ref Click on the image below to see opportunities for and benefits of NBS.

Natural Infrastructure for Water Management

Opportunities for and benefits from nature-based solutions. Source: IUCN

Benefits that wetlands

Benefits that wetlands, both natural and constructed, offer ecosystems and water quality. Water quality is improved with movement through these systems and prior to entering other water bodies, such as the ocean. Source: opens in a new windowTibet Nature Environmental Conservation Network

There are many examples of NBS efforts, including Ridge to Reefs’ Pollution Reduction in American Samoa using biochar and vetiver grass for bioretention and erosion control to remove nutrients. Other examples include constructed wetlands, bioswales, activated charcoal deposits, algal turf scrubbers, settlement ponds, and riparian buffer zones. A criticism of nature-based solutions (NBS) is that they may not provide adequate treatment and removal of pathogens on their own. However, coupled with additional treatment and extended interaction with oxygen and microbes, this challenge can be overcome and NBS may offer an effective strategy to enhance other treatment mechanisms. Check out this case study from Guánica Bay, Puerto Rico where green infrastructure was used to provide additional treatment to septic tank discharge, enhancing contaminant removal and significantly reducing the volume of wastewater entering the bay.

Regulation

Regulatory inconsistencies, within and between communities, cities, states, and nations, present a complex challenge for wastewater management. However, regular monitoring and establishment of thresholds for wastewater-borne contaminants holds potential for measuring pollution events and motivating response and prevention efforts. Most examples of existing treatment standards or effluent regulations are from temperate regions, but even in areas without wastewater-specific policies, strategies can be adapted to enhance measurement of existing contamination, inform interventions, and supplement future monitoring.

Regional associations are key partners to connect managers with regulators and utilities. Organizations such as the opens in a new windowCaribbean Water and Wastewater Association, the opens in a new windowPacific Water and Wastewater Association, and the opens in a new windowPacific Water & Wastes Association are valuable resources for managers looking to navigate the regulatory requirements applicable to them and access data,  tools, and other resources.

Several tools have been implemented by the US EPA to establish contaminant thresholds for water bodies and aquatic life. A commonly used threshold tool is a total maximum daily load (TMDL), which limits the amount of a specific contaminant permitted to enter a water body. This is especially effective for wastewater contaminants that are derived from nonpoint sources. TMDLs are concerned with the amount of contaminants entering a water body rather than their source(s). A few of the opens in a new windowmany additional EPA tools include nutrient data layers ( opens in a new windowNPDAT), a water quality modeling program ( opens in a new windowWASP), and a diagnostic tool for biological impairment ( opens in a new windowCADDIS).

An emerging regulatory tool from the US Coral Reef Task Force (USCRTF) is the Biological Condition Gradient (BCG), which is based on water quality criteria specific to reef environments. The BCG presents a strategy for understanding the impact of pollution on coral reef ecosystems by establishing a baseline and compiling pollution and ecosystem data over time. This tool can be used to predict impacts of future contamination as well as indicate the influence that long-term exposure can have on reef systems.

The BCG conceptual model graphically presents the vulnerability and response of coral reefs to habitat stressors, specifically pollution, demonstrating the relationship between pollution, deviation away from natural habitats, and the integrity and functionality of ecosystems and biodiversity. Source: US Coral Reef Task Force

The Australian Guidelines for Sewerage Systems, Effluent Management acknowledges the need to consider environmental parameters prior to effluent discharge. While treatment standards for wastewater effluent discharged to coastal waters are determined locally, the government encourages monitoring of water quality before and after discharge, secondary treatment to reduce pathogens, and disinfection. Bays and estuaries are acknowledged as particularly sensitive to contamination due to slower dilution and require (at minimum) secondary treatment and often additional nutrient removal. ref The National Outfall Database map tracked (through 2019) the volume of discharge to outfalls across Australia and reports on the population served, types of treatments, and various pollutant levels. Wastewater management strategies in Australia are increasingly aligned with marine conservation, exemplified by the  opens in a new windowCleaner Seas Alliance wastewater treatment plant upgrade in Cairnsopens PDF file .

System Suitability

The chart below presents some considerations to guide system decision-making based on effluent, regulations, and the receiving environment. Tools that account for social, health, and environmental criteria in determining the most appropriate sanitation intervention are currently lacking. As future tools are developed, it is important to include marine practitioner insight into the degree of treatment and the most effective technologies for protecting the ocean.

The schematic above details considerations that integrated system suitability decision support tools may include to consider health, ecosystems, resources, efficacy, acceptability, and sustainability. Source: Adapted from US EPA

Coastal Massachusetts has been facing nutrient loading challenges associated with wastewater pollution for decades. In response, the Cape Cod Commission has put together an interactive website of sanitation technologies, opens in a new windowTechnologies Matrix. This tool details the attributes and shortcomings of various technologies that make them appropriate in different contexts. Particular emphasis on nutrient removal, coastal remediation, and restoration demonstrate the relevance of this site for marine practitioners. Clicking through these technologies provides more information about available solutions and which may be most compatible for a given circumstance.

Competitions and Challenges

Sanitation can be achieved in many ways, requiring a wide range of resources and deliver different levels of success. The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation has prioritized innovation to improve sanitation technologies, and funds an annual  opens in a new windowReinvent the Toilet Challenge to solicit ideas and support the development of modular sanitation systems that minimize water, electricity, and monetary inputs. opens in a new windowRARE’s 2020 Solution Search focused on behavior change strategies to reduce water pollution. Accelerating interest in sanitation as a requirement for health and environmental conservation will continue to stimulate new ideas.

Opportunities like these are indicative of the interdisciplinary nature of wastewater pollution. While technology, regulatory, and management strategies are essential, lasting solutions require collaboration across sectors. Engagement of marine managers in this effort is essential for protecting ocean resources.

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »