新興管理解決方案

Pipe Steve Spring Marine Photobank

改善處理系統

創新技術的發展和對傳統系統的改進為處理廢水提供了更好的方法。 其中一些新的管理策略旨在提高處理效率、改善排放水的質量或從從廢水中回收的寶貴資源中獲利。

改進化糞池系統

化糞池系統的廣泛使用導致了各種解決方案的發展,以滿足獨特的治療需求。 這些額外的處理步驟確保進入環境的廢水更清潔。 由於這些系統通常與水井配對作為飲用水源,這也提高了飲用水的質量。

室化糞池系統

腔室系統是傳統礫石/石化糞池設計的替代方案,更容易建造。 排水場由一系列被土壤包圍的封閉室組成。 廢水通過化糞池,然後進入腔室,土壤中的微生物有助於去除病原體。

室化糞池系統美國環保署

室化糞池系統。 資料來源:美國環保署

集群化糞池系統

集群或社區化糞池系統通過合併來自一組房屋的廢水來提高廢水處理的效率。 每個房子都有自己的化糞池,提供初步處理。 流出物匯集在一起並流過一個共享的排水區。 這些系統在房屋彼此靠近的農村、不斷發展的社區中效果最佳。

集群化糞池系統

集群化糞池系統。 資料來源:美國環保署

減少營養的化糞池系統

在開發改進的廢水處理系統時,減少當地水體的養分負荷是重中之重。 新的化糞池系統技術正在提高排放前從污水中去除養分的能力。 這些系統改進越來越普遍,甚至在一些特別容易發生富營養化的地方也需要。 如下圖所示,砂濾器可提供高水平的養分去除。 它們比傳統系統更昂貴,但可以幫助降低附近水體的營養水平。

砂濾化糞池系統

砂濾化糞池系統。 資料來源:美國環保署

需氧處理裝置
好氧處理機組

好氧處理裝置。 資料來源:美國環保署

在水生生態系統對營養物污染特別敏感的地方,好氧處理裝置提供集中處理廠使用的小規模處理。 添加氧氣會增加細菌活動以降低營養水平。 一些系統有額外的處理罐,帶有消毒步驟以去除病原體。

看到 來自紐約長島的案例研究 描述了用淺浸場的氮減少系統替換舊的化糞池系統的努力,該系統可以防止廢水中約95%的氮進入集水區並允許地下水蓄水層補給。

資源回收

資源回收是指從人類廢物中捕獲和再利用水和固體。 資源回收的一些策略包括:

  • 淡水回收 用於灌溉和其他非飲用水用途,也可以減少未來衛生和處理所需的水
  • 生物固體 當按照適當的標準處理後,可作為肥料添加到土壤中(例如, 在新窗口中打開循環生物固體 美國西雅圖,它利用微生物和熱量進行消化,製成一種可以在花園和森林中使用的產品)
  • 微濾 反滲透, UV (由 橙縣水區的地下水補充系統,用於美國洛杉磯的飲用水)
  • 通過產生沼氣 厭氧消化 和甲烷捕集–通常被大型廢水處理廠(WWTP)用來回收資源,處理生物固體並減少溫室氣體排放

資源回收作為小型分散系統和大型集中處理廠的解決方案越來越受到關注。 資源回收策略的好處包括:

  • 去除對人類和海洋健康有害的營養物質和污染物。
  • 從廢物中回收寶貴的資源。
  • 可以作為一種不存在的衛生系統來實施,也可以改進/替換過時的處理系統。

下面將更詳細地介紹兩個操作,並提供基於容器的創新和市政規模的創新的示例。

在海地,非政府組織 土壤(可持續有機綜合生計) 正在應用資源回收技術提供基於容器的衛生設施。 該系統為無法進入的人提供安全的廁所,並為污染和侵蝕提供解決方案。 廁所將尿液分流並隔離固體廢物以便每週收集。

SOIL 基於容器的衛生和資源回收過程圖示

SOIL 基於容器的衛生和資源回收過程示意圖。 資料來源:土壤

SOIL 收集廢物並將其運輸到堆肥設施,在那裡按照世界衛生組織定義的標准進行處理。 成品肥料出售給農民,以提高他們的作物產量並減少侵蝕。

Janicki生物能源

理想情況下,資源回收通過一個完全閉環的系統從廢物中創造價值,例如 Janicki Omni 處理器。 Omni 處理器吸收人類的排泄物和垃圾,並將其轉化為電能和清潔的飲用水。 它的工作原理類似於蒸汽發電廠、焚化爐和水過濾系統合二為一。 儘管該系統仍是塞內加爾達喀爾的原型,但它展示了抵消與運營相關的成本(因為它產生自己的運行能量)和自然資源投入(因為污水和垃圾是免費的)的潛力。 認識到構建該系統的初始成本很高,Omni Processor 有望替代為世界各地城市服務的大型污水處理廠。

Janicki Omni 處理器

Janicki Omni 處理器。 資料來源:Janicki 生物能源

基於自然的解決方案

自然處理過程使用植物和微生物來分解、吸收、捕獲和/或氧化污染水中的污染物,因為它在環境中移動。 這些自然過程有效地捕獲和過濾受污染的地表水和地下水,包括來自降雨的污染徑流,然後再排放到海洋中。

水資源管理的自然基礎設施

基於自然的解決方案的機會和收益。 資料來源:世界自然保護聯盟水資源

基於自然的解決方案 包括人工濕地、生物窪地、活性炭沉積物、沉降池、河岸緩衝區等。 對基於自然的解決方案的批評者聲稱,它們可能無法提供足夠的治療和病原體去除。 然而,增強病原體去除的有效策略是通過減慢流速並將基於自然的解決方案與來自集中或分散系統的額外處理步驟相結合,確保系統提供與氧氣和微生物的擴展相互作用。 與其他處理技術相比,這些策略具有提供棲息地以支持生物多樣性、支持娛樂(包括漁業和旅遊)以及美學優勢的額外好處。

探索這兩個示例,以進一步了解自然處理過程:

  1. 綠色基礎設施用於對化糞池排放進行額外處理,加強污染物去除並顯著減少進入的廢水量 波多黎各瓜尼卡灣。
  2. 生物炭(由有機物質生產的木炭)和香根草用於控制侵蝕和去除土壤中的養分 美屬薩摩亞。
por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Emerging Management Solutions

Pipe Steve Spring Marine Photobank

Improving Treatment Systems

The development of innovative technologies and improvements to conventional systems offer enhanced methods for treating wastewater. Some of these new management strategies are aimed at increasing treatment efficiency, improving the quality of discharge water, or generating profit from a valuable resource recovered from wastewater.

Improving Septic Systems

Widespread usage of septic systems has resulted in the development of a variety of modifications which address unique treatment needs. These additional treatment steps ensure that the wastewater that enters the environment is cleaner. Since these systems are usually paired with wells as a source of drinking water, this improves the quality of drinking water as well.

Chamber Septic Systems

A chamber system is an alternative to the traditional gravel/stone septic design, which is easier to construct. The drainfield is made up of a series of closed chambers surrounded by soil. Wastewater moves through the septic tank and then into the chambers, where microbes in the soil help to remove pathogens.

Chamber septic system US EPA

Chamber septic system. Source: US EPA

Cluster Septic Systems

A cluster or community septic system increases the efficiency of wastewater treatment by combining the wastewater from a group of houses. Each house has its own septic tank providing initial treatment. The effluent comes together and flows through a shared drainfield. These systems work best in rural, growing communities with houses near each other.

Cluster septic system

Cluster septic system. Source: US EPA

Nutrient Reducing Septic Systems

Reducing nutrient loads in local water bodies is a high priority when developing improved wastewater treatment systems. New septic system technologies are increasing the capacity for nutrient removal from effluent prior to discharge. These system improvements are more and more common, and even required in some places that are especially vulnerable to eutrophication. Sand filters, as shown in the diagram below, provide a high level of nutrient removal. They are more expensive than conventional systems but can help mitigate nutrient levels in nearby water bodies.

Sand filter septic system

Sand filter septic system. Source: US EPA

Aerobic Treatment Units
Aerobic treatment unit

Aerobic treatment unit. Source: US EPA

In places with aquatic ecosystems that are particularly sensitive to nutrient pollution, aerobic treatment units offer a small-scale version of the treatments used at centralized treatment plants. Adding oxygen increases bacterial activity to reduce nutrient levels. Some systems have additional treatment tanks with a disinfection step to remove pathogens.

See the case study from Long Island, New York describing efforts to replace old septic systems with nitrogen reducing systems with shallow leach fields that can prevent approximately 95% of nitrogen from wastewater effluent from entering the watershed and allow groundwater aquifers to recharge.

Resource Recovery

Resource recovery refers to the capture and reuse of water and solids from human waste. Some strategies for resource recovery include:

  • Freshwater reclamation for irrigation and other non-potable uses, which can also reduce water needed for future sanitation and treatment
  • Biosolids used to add to soil as fertilizer when treated to appropriate standards (for example, opens in a new windowLoop Biosolids Seattle, USA which uses microbes and heat for digestion to create a product to use in gardens and forests)
  • Microfiltration, reverse osmosis, and UV (used by Orange County Water District’s groundwater replenishment system, for drinking water in Los Angeles, USA)
  • Biogas generation through anaerobic digestion and methane capture – often employed by large scale wastewater treatment plants (WWTPs) to recover resources, treat biosolids, and mitigate greenhouse gas emissions

Resource recovery is gaining traction as a solution for both small, decentralized systems and large, centralized treatment plants. Benefits of resource recovery strategies include:

  • Removing nutrients and contaminants that are hazardous to human and ocean health.
  • Recovering valuable resources from waste.
  • Can be implemented as a sanitation system where one didn’t exist or improve/replace an outdated treatment system.

Two operations are presented in more detail below, offering examples of container-based and municipal-scale innovations.

SOIL

In Haiti, the non-governmental organization SOIL (Sustainable Organic Integrated Livelihoods) is applying resource recovery technology to provide container-based sanitation. This system safely provides toilets to those without access and offers a solution to pollution and erosion. Toilets divert urine and isolate solid waste for weekly collection.

Illustration of the SOIL container-based sanitation and resource recovery process

Illustration of the SOIL container-based sanitation and resource recovery process. Source: SOIL

SOIL collects and transports waste to a composting facility where it is treated to standards defined by the World Health Organization. The finished fertilizer is sold to farmers to increase their crop yields and reduce erosion.

Janicki Bioenergy

Ideally, resource recovery creates value from waste through an entirely closed loop system, as exemplified by the Janicki Omni Processor. The Omni Processor takes in human waste and garbage and turns it into electric power and clean drinking water. It works like a steam power plant, an incinerator, and a water filtration system combined into one. Though still a prototype in Dakar, Senegal, the system demonstrates the potential to offset costs associated with operations (since it produces its own energy to run) and natural resource inputs (since sewage and trash are free). Recognizing the high initial costs to build this system, the Omni Processor is a prospective replacement for large scale wastewater treatment plants serving cities around the world.

Janicki Omni Processor

Janicki Omni Processor. Source: Janicki Bioenergy

Nature-based Solutions

Natural treatment processes use plants and microbes to break down, absorb, trap, and/or oxygenate pollutants in contaminated water as it moves through the environment. These natural processes effectively capture and filter contaminated surface and groundwater, including polluted runoff from rainfall, before it is discharged into the ocean.

Natural Infrastructure for Water Management

Opportunities for and benefits from nature-based solutions. Source: IUCN Water

Nature-based solutions include constructed wetlands, bioswales, activated charcoal deposits, settlement ponds, riparian buffer zones, and more. Critics of nature-based solutions claim they may not provide adequate treatment and removal of pathogens. However, an effective strategy to enhance pathogen removal is to ensure that the system provides extended interaction with oxygen and microbes by slowing down flow rates and coupling the nature-based solutions with additional treatment steps from a centralized or decentralized system. These strategies have the added benefit of providing habitat to support biodiversity, supporting recreation (including fishing and tourism), and aesthetic benefits over other treatment technologies.

Explore these two examples for a closer look at natural treatment processes:

  1. Green infrastructure was used to provide additional treatment to septic tank discharge, enhancing contaminant removal and significantly reducing the volume of wastewater entering Guánica Bay, Puerto Rico.
  2. Biochar (charcoal produced from organic matter) and vetiver grass were used for erosion control and to remove nutrients in American Samoa.
pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »