水質監測

Pipe Steve Spring Marine Photobank

為了了解廢水污染是否影響特定環境或確定問題的來源和範圍,管理人員建立基線條件並製定監測計劃非常重要。 即使是最小的抽樣項目也受益於仔細規劃以識別問題、定義明確的方法和質量保證步驟,並考慮數據處理和溝通計劃。

水質計劃的關鍵階段是:

  1. 定義問題。 您希望確定哪些潛在的廢水影響? 哪些數據已經存在,例如有關廢水基礎設施的特定地點信息?
  2. 使用盡可能結合專家意見的流程對水質進行有針對性的水質監測(例如,監測哪些地點、關注哪些指標、如何收集數據)
  3. 開發和實施高級研究以幫助追踪污染源
  4. 分析和總結數據,以便與合作夥伴、決策者和任何其他重要利益相關者進行交流,同時牢記哪些數據對您的受眾有吸引力
  5. 使用這些信息來指導規劃過程或管理行動。

註冊我們的免費、自定進度 廢水污染在線課程 了解更多關於這些關鍵階段的信息。

 

為了檢測與廢水相關的水質變化,珊瑚礁管理者應考慮測量以下指標:

氮和磷是植物和動物必需的營養素,是常見的營養素指標。 氮的來源包括廢水處理廠排放、施肥草坪和農田、污水池和失效化糞池系統的徑流、動物糞便和儲存區的徑流以及含有緩蝕劑的工業排放。 氮和磷的常見測量包括:總氮(樣品中發現的所有有機和無機、溶解和顆粒形式的氮)、氨、硝酸鹽、亞硝酸鹽和總磷(所有形式的磷)。

最後,矽酸鹽是一種重要的化學指標,是地下水的標誌。 高矽酸鹽表明是淡水來源。 矽酸鹽通常與硝酸鹽和磷酸鹽一起在實驗室測量。 這些指標可以通過自動分析儀或實驗室設施測量,價格約為 50 美元/樣品。

使用折射計可以廉價地測量鹽度,並使用便攜式傳感器測量溫度。 在確定進行長期監測的地點時,鹽度可能特別有用。

溶解氧 (DO) 是評估水質的重要參數,因為它對海洋生物有影響。

低溶解氧可以表明大量浮游植物或消耗氧氣的細菌。 DO 是使用校準的多參數水質計(或探測器)測量的(成本約為 1,000 美元至 15,000 美元)。

濁度 - 可能受浮游植物影響的水透明度的關鍵測試 - 通常使用 Secchi 圓盤進行評估,以測量陽光穿透的深度。

其他便攜式數字方法,例如電導率計和濁度計,可增強實時收集數據的能力,但需要維護和校準。

來自人類排泄物的糞便指示菌 (FIB),例如 E. 大腸桿菌, 腸球菌, 或者 產氣莢膜梭菌 可用於識別廢水。 已經開發了簡單的現場測試來測試水中的 FIB。 一個例子是在 坦桑尼亞農村案例 在那里為 433 戶家庭提供了硫化氫測試,使他們能夠監測自己的水源並就水安全和處理做出明智的選擇。 不幸的是,對於海洋管理人員來說,沿海地區的細菌濃度通常太低,無法進行此類現場測試,並且需要實驗室分析來檢測它們。

另一種選擇是使用衛星實驗室(約 3,000 美元)或傳統實驗室和培養方法收集水樣並進行 FIB 測試,例如 Surfrider 使用的 Enterolert 測試 (IDEXX),每個樣本的成本約為 11 美元。

葉綠素 a 是在所有植物中發現的主要綠色光合色素,包括浮游植物藻類和浮游初級生產者的代表。 珊瑚礁水域中葉綠素 a 的濃度是浮游植物豐度和生物量的指標,浮游植物是大多數海洋動物的直接或間接食物來源。 低葉綠素 a 水平表明良好的水條件。 然而,高水平的長期持續存在是一個問題,所以葉綠素 a 應至少每月監測一次,以量化浮游植物生物量的季節性變化。 葉綠素 a 可以使用過濾和實驗室設備進行測量,如果送到實驗室,成本約為 20 美元/樣品。

如果收集多年,這些數據可以識別模式和主要變化。 管理人員可以使用此信息開始將珊瑚健康模式和珊瑚覆蓋率聯繫起來。 這些指標也相對具有成本效益。 可以使用便攜式套件或相對便宜(<1000 美元)的手持設備進行多種現場測試。 這些現場測試需要少量水樣,並在幾分鐘內提供結果。 對於時間或預算有限的管理人員承諾進行監控計劃,這些是可以使用的第一種方法。 管理人員可能會考慮這些方法的檢測限是多少,以及它們是否適用於他們所在的地區。 例如,在清澈的海水中,可能很難獲取葉綠素信號或使用 Secchi 圓盤。

指示符測試方法/材料
葉綠素a葉綠素計
DO(溶解氧)傳感器測量或熱​​量計
總溶解固體 (TDS) 或濁度Secchi 盤、濁度計或傳感器

重要的是要承認這些指標並不直接表示廢水污染,因為其他來源或因素可能會導致改變水平。 例如,營養物質可能來自農業或發展,而糞便指示菌也可能來自動物或土壤。

追踪污染源

識別海洋中是否存在廢水是很困難的,需要通過多項測試來識別廢水中常見的不同污染物。 更複雜的測試可以測量人為來源的氮同位素和污染物,如藥物和有機廢物化合物,如洗滌劑代謝物或食品添加劑,可以幫助確認廢水及其來源。 報名參加 廢水污染在線課程 了解更多關於如何使用不同類型的化學示踪劑來更好地了解高濃度營養物質的來源。

這些測試可以提供更具體的測量結果並識別更常見的與廢水相關的污染物,但運行成本通常很高,因為它們需要使用專門的、昂貴的機器和訓練有素的技術人員。
指示符測試方法
咖啡因質譜
DNA錶款系列實驗室測試(eDNA qPCR 或熒光定量)
製藥ELISA,生物測定
內分泌干擾物(例如雌激素)質譜、生物測定(魚或組織培養物的暴露)
細菌(大腸桿菌、糞腸球菌、產氣莢膜梭菌)通過異養平板計數、微陣列或 qPCR 進行定量測量
金屬質譜
氮同位素質譜
甾醇質譜
三氯蔗糖質譜

水樣是在現場採集的,通常需要大量的水樣,必須將其濃縮才能進行分析。 如果附近沒有實驗室,可以運送樣品,但溫度、時間和成本都是限制。 建議管理人員與當地大學建立合作或夥伴關係,這些大學通常很高興讓學生研究現實生活中的問題,並且可以通過贈款資助抵消樣本分析和數據分析的成本。 每個水質指標都有助於我們了解水中的污染物。 匯總多個指標的測量結果的監測和分析策略,結合排放地點的繪圖,可以更準確地確定廢水污染類型和來源。

有關從業人員的更詳細的水質監測方法,請參見參考資料部分。

毛伊島水質

毛伊島海岸的水質很差。 照片 © Bill Rathfon for Hui O Ka Wai Ola(活水協會),大自然保護協會的合作夥伴

在新窗口中打開Hui O Ka Wai Ola

Hui O Ka Wai Ola是一項公民科學水質採樣計劃,符合夏威夷衛生部清潔水部門的標準和協議。 收集的樣本和數據用於圍繞水質標準和管理計劃進行決策。 在野外收集的樣品被帶到當地的高中實驗室,專門從事水質監測程序。 來自野外採樣工作的數據被整合到一個數據庫中,以支持持續的監測,以用於分析,跟踪污染事件以及識別水質和珊瑚礁隨時間的趨勢。

該計劃承認任何一種水質指標可能存在的局限性。 每個水質指標都有助於理解,但是沒有一個單獨的測量具有足夠的結論性。 因此,彙編幾個指標的度量的策略更有價值。 文獻  由於缺乏關於污染閾值的全球協議,這一點尤其重要。 例如,腸球菌是最常測量的 糞便指示菌(FIB) 在海洋環境中用於確定海灘關閉和建議。 但是,在污水中發現了另一種細菌, 產氣莢膜梭菌被認為是夏威夷州污水污染的更準確指標,但尚未在全國范圍內使用。 文獻 由於缺乏對海洋對污水污染的抵禦能力的協調理解,因為它影響到海洋和人類健康,因此有必要建立局部基準並監測有效保護措施。 有關此程序的更多信息,請參見 網絡研討會 關於惠澳嘉惠奧拉。

用於監控程序的資源和工具

數據可視化和建模、遙感和空間圖像工作補充了廢水污染監測工作,並有助於為管理行動提供信息。 使用當地數據創建的模型可以預測水質。 

其他工具收集有關藻華、珊瑚白化事件、海面波動和富營養化潛力的全球數據,這些數據具有本地應用和相關性。 這些 在新窗口中打開公開數據 可以結合當地的地理數據,例如污水處理廠的位置,來了解污染源。 管理人員還可以將這些數據與現場和實驗室測試相結合,以了解基線條件、確定監測測試的優先級,並確定數據差距以更好地量化水質隨時間的變化。

  • 在新窗口中打開治愈海灣的NowCast海灘成績單,是預測美國加利福尼亞海灘水質的模型,可提高公眾對污染事件的認識。
  • 海洋引爆點 在交互式地圖中展示了可量化的水質指標(如氮和磷水平)以及觀察到的珊瑚礁條件。 該工具為夏威夷群島提供數據集,並支持保護珊瑚礁生態系統的管理行動。 它還包括一個使用 InVEST NDR 模型創建的營養層,該模型廣泛關注氮和磷源。
  • 海洋健康指數 呈現基於威脅和復原力的全球海洋健康評分。 一個專門針對海洋廢水污染的數據層正在開發中,將有助於數據分析和評估廢水污染的影響。
  • 艾倫珊瑚圖集 利用高分辨率衛星圖像和高級分析以前所未有的細節繪製世界珊瑚礁圖。 這些產品支持全球的珊瑚礁科學、管理、保護和政策。 (NOAA Coral Reef Watch 的海面溫度產品包含在 Atlas 中。)
水質現場測量

Hui O Ka Wai Ola公民科學家進行的水質現場測量。 照片©Bill Rathfon

仍然需要創新和具有成本效益的測量和報告工具來識別污水污染。 這 在新窗口中打開 海洋健康指數 是由NCEAS承擔的一個項目,該項目根據威脅和應變能力顯示海洋健康評分。 專門針對海洋污水污染的數據層正在開發中,將對污水污染影響的數據分析和多尺度評估有用。

冒泡的污水 污水冒泡 出水. 照片 © 馬修查特菲爾德</

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Water Quality Monitoring

Pipe Steve Spring Marine Photobank

In order to understand if wastewater pollution is impacting a particular environment or establish the source and extent of the problem, it is important for managers to establish baseline conditions and set up a monitoring program. Even the smallest sampling projects benefit from careful planning to identify the problem, define clear methods and quality assurance steps, and consider data processing and communication plans.

The key stages in a water quality program are:

  1. Define the problem. What potential wastewater impacts do you hope to identify? What data already exists, such as site-specific information about wastewater infrastructure?
  2. Conduct targeted water quality monitoring for water quality using processes that incorporate input from experts where possible (e.g., which sites to monitor, what indicators to focus on, how will data be collected)
  3. Develop and implement advanced studies to help trace pollution sources
  4. Analyze and summarize data for communication to partners, decision-makers, and any other important stakeholders, keeping in mind what data are compelling to your audience
  5. Use the information to guide a planning process or management action.

Enroll in our free, self-paced opens in a new windowWastewater Pollution Online Course to learn more about these key stages.

 

To detect changes in water quality related to wastewater, reef managers should consider measuring the following indicators:

Nitrogen and phosphorus, essential nutrients for plants and animals, are common indicators of nutrients. Sources of nitrogen include wastewater treatment plant discharges, runoff from fertilized lawns and croplands, cesspools and failing septic systems, runoff from animal manure and storage areas, and industrial discharges that contain corrosion inhibitors. Common measures of nitrogen and phosphorus include: Total Nitrogen (all organic and inorganic, dissolved and particulate forms of nitrogen found in a sample), ammonia, nitrates, nitrites, and Total Phosphorus (all forms of phosphorous).

Lastly, silicate is an important chemical measure that is a signature of groundwater. High silicates indicate freshwater sources. Silicate is usually measured at a lab along with nitrate and phosphate. These indicators can be measured by an autoanalyzer or a lab facility for ~$50 USD/sample.

Salinity can be measured cheaply using a refractometer, and temperature with a portable sensor. Salinity might be especially useful when identifying sites for long term monitoring.

Dissolved Oxygen (DO) is an important parameter in assessing water quality because of its influence on marine organisms.

Low DO can indicate an abundance of phytoplankton or bacteria that is consuming oxygen. DO is measured using a calibrated multi‐parameter water quality meter – or sonde – (costing ~$1,000-$15,000 USD).

Turbidity—a key test of water clarity that might be impacted by phytoplankton—is commonly assessed using a Secchi disk to measure the depth to which sunlight penetrates.

Other portable digital methods, such as a conductivity meter and turbidity meter enhance the ability to collect data in real time but require maintenance and calibration.

Fecal indicator bacteria (FIB) from human waste such as E. coli, Enterococcus, or C. perfringens can be used to identify wastewater. Simple field tests have been developed that test for FIB in water. One example is in the case of rural Tanzania where hydrogen sulfide tests were provided to 433 households, enabling them to monitor their own water sources and make informed choices about water safety and treatment. Unfortunately for marine managers, in coastal regions the concentration of bacteria is typically too low for these kinds of field tests and lab analysis is required to detect them.

Another option is to collect water samples and conduct FIB testing using a satellite lab (~$3,000 USD) or traditional lab and culturing method, such as the Enterolert test (IDEXX) used by Surfrider at a cost of about $11 USD per sample.

Chlorophyll a is the main green photosynthetic pigment found in all plants including phytoplanktonic algae and a proxy for planktonic primary producers. The concentration of chlorophyll a in coral reef waters is an indicator of the abundance and biomass of phytoplankton, which are the direct or indirect source of food for most marine animals. Low chlorophyll a levels suggest good water condition. However, it is the long‐term persistence of elevated levels that is a problem, so chlorophyll a should be monitored at least monthly to quantify seasonal changes in phytoplankton biomass. Chlorophyll a can be measured with filtration and lab equipment and if sent to a lab, costs ~$20 USD/sample.

These data can identify patterns and major changes if collected over many years. Managers can use this information to start to correlate with patterns of coral health and percent coral cover. These indicators are also relatively cost efficient. There are several field tests that can be performed with portable kits or relatively inexpensive (<$1000 USD) handheld devices. These field tests require small volume water samples and provide results within minutes. For managers with limited time or budget to commit to a monitoring program, these are the first methods that can be used. Managers might consider what the detection limits are to these methods and if they are appropriate in their region. For instance, in clear ocean waters, it might be difficult to pick up a chlorophyll a signal or use a Secchi disk.

INDICATORTEST METHOD/MATERIALS
Chlorophyll aChlorophyll meter
DO (dissolved oxygen)Sensor measurement or calorimeter
Total Dissolved Solids (TDS) or TurbiditySecchi disk, turbidity meter, or sensors

It’s important to acknowledge these indicators don’t directly signify wastewater pollution since other sources or factors can contribute to modified levels. For example, nutrients could be from agriculture or development and fecal indicator bacteria can also come from animals or soils.

Trace Pollution Sources

Identifying the presence of wastewater in the ocean is difficult and relies on multiple tests to identify different contaminants commonly found in wastewater. More sophisticated testing that measures nitrogen isotopes and contaminants that have a human source like pharmaceuticals and organic-waste compounds, such as detergent metabolites or food additives, can help confirm wastewater and its source(s). Enroll in the opens in a new windowWastewater Pollution Online Course to learn more about how different types of chemical tracers can be used to better understand where high concentrations of nutrients are coming from.

These tests can provide more specific measurements and identify contaminants more commonly associated with wastewater but are often expensive to run because they require access to specialized, expensive machines and trained technicians.
INDICATORTEST METHOD
CaffeineMass spectrometry
DNALab test (eDNA qPCR or fluorescence quantification)
PharmaceuticalsELISA, bioassays
Endocrine Disruptors (e.g., estrogen)Mass spectrometry, bioassays (exposure of fish or tissue cultures)
Bacteria (E. coli, E. faecalis, C. perfringens)Quantification measurement by heterotrophic plate count, microarray, or qPCR
MetalsMass spectrometry
Nitrogen IsotopesMass spectrometry
SterolsMass spectrometry
SucraloseMass spectrometry

Water samples are taken in the field and often require large volumes which must be concentrated to perform the analysis. If a lab is not nearby, samples can be shipped, but temperature, time, and cost are all limitations. It is recommended that managers work on creating collaborations or partnerships with local universities, who are often excited to have students working on real-life issues, and can help to offset the costs of sample analysis and data analysis with grant funding. Each water quality indicator contributes to our understanding of what pollutants are in our water. Monitoring and analysis strategies that compile measurements of several indicators, combined with mapping of discharge locations, can more accurately pinpoint wastewater pollution types and sources.

See the Resources section for more detailed water quality monitoring methodologies for practitioners.

maui water quality

Poor water quality off the coast of Maui. Photo © Bill Rathfon for Hui O Ka Wai Ola (Association Of The Living Waters), a partnership of The Nature Conservancy

opens in a new windowHui O Ka Wai Ola

Hui O Ka Wai Ola is a citizen science water quality sampling program aligned with Hawai‘i Department of Health, Clean Water Branch standards and protocols. Samples and data collected are used for decision making around water quality standards and management plans. Samples collected in the field are brought to a local high school lab dedicated to water quality monitoring procedures. Data from field sampling efforts are consolidated into a database support ongoing monitoring that are used in analysis, to track pollution events, and to recognize water quality and coral reef trends over time.

This program acknowledges the limitations any one water quality indicator may present. Each water quality indicator contributes to understanding, but no single measurement is sufficiently conclusive. Therefore, strategies that compile measurements of several indicators are more valuable. ref  This is especially important because of the lack of global agreement on pollution thresholds. For instance, enterococcus is the most commonly measured fecal indicator bacteria (FIB) in marine environments used to determine beach closures and advisories. However, another bacteria found in sewage, Clostridium perfringens, is considered a more accurate indicator of sewage pollution in Hawai‘i but is not approved for use nationwide. ref The lack of coordinated understanding of the ocean’s resilience to sewage pollution, as it impacts both marine and human health, necessitates establishing localized baselines and monitoring efforts for effective protection. For more information on this program view the webinar about Hui O Ka Wai Ola.

Resources and Tools for Monitoring Programs

Data visualization and modeling, remote sensing, and spatial imagery efforts supplement wastewater pollution monitoring efforts and help inform management actions. Models created using local data can predict water quality.

Other tools collect global data on algal blooms, coral bleaching events, sea surface fluctuations, and eutrophication potential, which have local application and relevance. These opens in a new windowpublicly available data can be combined with local geographic data, such as locations of wastewater treatment plants, to understand pollution sources. Managers can also combine these data with field and lab tests to understand baseline conditions, prioritize monitoring tests, and identify data gaps to better quantify water quality changes over time.

  • opens in a new windowHeal the Bay’s NowCast Beach Report Card, is a model to predict beach water quality in California, USA, and improves public awareness of contamination events.
  • Ocean Tipping Points presents quantifiable measures of water quality (like nitrogen and phosphorus levels) with observed reef conditions in an interactive map. This tool provides a dataset for the Hawaiian Islands and supports management actions to protect reef ecosystems. It also includes a nutrient layer which was created using the InVEST NDR model, which looks broadly at nitrogen and phosphorus sources.
  • Ocean Health Index presents global ocean health scores based on threats and resilience. A data layer specific to ocean wastewater pollution is in development and will be useful for data analysis and evaluations of the impacts of wastewater pollution.
  • Allen Coral Atlas utilizes high-resolution satellite imagery and advanced analytics to map the world’s coral reefs in unprecedented detail. These products support coral reef science, management, conservation, and policy across the planet. (NOAA Coral Reef Watch’s sea surface temperature products are included in the Atlas.)
water quality field measurements

Water quality field measurements by Hui O Ka Wai Ola citizen scientists. Photo © Bill Rathfon

There remains a need for innovative and cost effective measurement and reporting tools to identify sewage pollution. The opens in a new window Ocean Health Index is a project undertaken by NCEAS that presents ocean health scores based on threats and resilience. A data layer specific to sewage pollution in the ocean is in development and will be useful for data analysis and multi-scalar evaluations of the impacts of sewage pollution.

Bubbling sewage effluent Bubbling sewage effluent. Photo © Matthew Chatfield</

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »