多米尼加共和國的人工濕地

 

地點

多米尼加共和國聖地亞哥Yaque del Norte流域

所面臨的挑戰

在多米尼加共和國,未解決的廢水污染導致需要改進處理策略。 在位於Yaque del Norte流域內的聖地亞哥市,僅處理了該市20%的廢水。 貫穿整個城市,北雅克河(Yaque del Norte)沿其296公里收集污水。 這條河為70,000公頃農田提供灌溉,為大壩提供水,每年可發電488吉瓦的電力,並影響了超過XNUMX萬人。

廢水排放到蒂姆·卡佛博士

家庭廢水直接排放到溪流中。 照片©TNC /蒂姆·卡爾弗(Tim Calver)

所採取的行動

通過對基於自然的解決方案(NBS)和評估的研究,大自然保護協會(TNC)正在探索技術,政策和社區解決方案,以及在多米尼加共和國和整個加勒比地區改善水質的許多障礙。

在多米尼加共和國,人工濕地被用來滿足滿足廢水捕集和處理的巨大需求。 該項目是孿生河恢復夥伴關係(TRRP)的結果,該夥伴關係由查爾斯河流域協會(CRWA)和TNC於2015年在雅克德爾北河的Jarabocoa社區建立。 該夥伴關係提供技術支持,培訓和知識共享,以促進水質的可持續管理。 Tetra Tech為TRRP提供了技術專長,包括廢水和水質管理的推薦策略,包括重力流人工濕地。

最近在Jarabacoa建立的濕地。 照片©TNC /蒂姆·卡爾弗(Tim Calver)

成立北雅克水基金會(YNWF)的目的是改善廢水處理,並倡導實施建議的廢水管理策略,例如人工濕地,以減輕流入和流出河流的污染。 YNWF與當地利益相關者合作,確定人工濕地的優先領域,並利用新的法律框架來支持公私合作夥伴關係,以啟動項目。 由Twinning River夥伴關係支持的非政府技術非政府組織Plan Yaque負責使用通過夥伴關係提供的培訓來設計和建造人工濕地。 他們優先考慮當地對濕地的支持,並讓家庭自願連接到這些系統。 除了通過YNWF及其合作夥伴提供的資金外,還建立了水基金(來自下游用戶的資金,用於保護上游水質),以幫助開發當地的國家統計局項目。

人工濕地已成為多米尼加共和國廢水管理的主要策略,已建成16個濕地,可處理250,000 m3到2020年底,每年的廢水排放量。

它有多成功?

對改善廢水管理的明顯需求以及國家統計局的成功支持了康普羅米索聖地亞哥的成立,多米尼加共和國總統同意協調雅克·德爾·諾特河沿岸的衛生投資,而不是貫穿聖地亞哥市中心的衛生投資。 YNWF被邀請為人工濕地和其他國家統計局的位置提供建議,現在,決策者在議席中佔據一席之地,以促進進一步的國家統計局處理廢水。

每個人工濕地的成功都各有不同,但所有這些都有效。 自來水公司對水質進行定期監控顯示 減少了85-90%的有機污染物 通過這些項目。 因此,政府要求在Yaque del Norte流域以外建造兩個濕地,以保護山區國家公園和海洋保護區的沿海紅樹林的水質。 這證明了人工濕地作為脊到礁解決方案的成功,該解決方案可用於跨生態系統和社區的廢水管理,以減輕污水污染並保護人和環境(包括海洋)。

監測經過處理的出口水,以檢驗其質量,然後將其釋放到大自然中。 照片©TNC /蒂姆·卡爾弗(Tim Calver)

經驗教訓和建議

  • 根據實驗室結果,已證明人工濕地可有效減少該流域廢水中的有機污染物。 減少的效率和程度可能會因每個濕地,位置和社區而異,但是這一有希望的數據支持對其他濕地項目的投資和建設。
  • 這些濕地的成功在科學界引起了關注,並在學術出版物中被用作濕地表現的例子。
  • 需要進行系統思考才能進行適當和持久的廢水管理,其中可能包括綠色和灰色基礎設施。
  • 重要的是要探索和理解改善廢水管理和處理的障礙,包括對問題的認識以及當地社區和決策者的可用解決方案。
  • 適當的安置,設計以及社區和政府支持的重要性對於實施可持續的國家統計局至關重要。 這些因素對於確保有足夠的資源,政策和維護資源並將繼續保持這些系統至關重要。
  • 專業和教育資源限制了社區設計和維護廢水解決方案的能力。 為了實現可持續的NBS,必須對社區進行培訓並將其納入建設和維護範圍。 技術解決方案與當地社區的能力開發配合使用,可以確保長期有效地發揮作用。
  • 在這種情況下,需要更多信息來了解NBS和灰色基礎設施廢水策略之間的成本權衡。 假定NBS的初始建設和常規維護成本低於灰色基礎設施,但是尚未結合所提供的處理量進行研究。

資金摘要

每個濕地的資金各不相同,由YNWF和當地利益相關者牽頭。 在某些社區中,除了這些資源外,還收集了實物捐助。

牽頭組織

在新窗口中打開大自然保護協會
在新窗口中打開雅克·德·諾特水基金(YNWF)

合作夥伴

在新窗口中打開德拉薩洛羅大學協會(APEDI)
在新窗口中打開宣傳基金會
在新窗口中打開受歡迎的
在新窗口中打開北瓜昆卡省里約熱內盧Yaque del Norte公司(Plan Yaque)的Para para desarrollo計劃

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Constructed Wetlands in the Dominican Republic

 

Location

Yaque del Norte River Basin, Santiago, Dominican Republic

The challenge

In the Dominican Republic unaddressed wastewater pollution has created a need for improved treatment strategies. In the city of Santiago, which lies within the Yaque del Norte river basin, only 20% of the city’s wastewater is treated. Running through the city, the Yaque del Norte river picks up discharged wastewater along its 296 kilometers. The river provides irrigation for 70,000 hectares of cropland, supplies dams with water to generate 488 gigawatts of power annually, and impacts over two million people.

wastewater discharged to streams dr tim calver tnc

Household wastewater discharged directly to streams. Photo © TNC/Tim Calver

Actions taken

Through research into nature-based solutions (NBS) and assessments, The Nature Conservancy (TNC) is exploring technology, policy, and community solutions as well as the many obstacles to improving water quality in the Dominican Republic and across the Caribbean.

In the Dominican Republic, constructed wetlands were used to help address the significant need for capture and treatment of wastewater. This project was a result of the Twinning River Restoration Partnership (TRRP), established in in the Jarabocoa community of the Yaque del Norte River in 2015 by the Charles River Watershed Association (CRWA) and TNC. The partnership provides technical support, training and knowledge sharing to promote sustainable management of water quality. Tetra Tech provided technical expertise to the TRRP including recommended strategies for wastewater and water quality management including gravity-flow constructed wetlands.

Recently established wetland in Jarabacoa. Photo © TNC/Tim Calver

The Yaque del Norte Water Fund (YNWF) was established to improve wastewater treatment and advocate for implementation of recommended strategies for wastewater management such as constructed wetlands to mitigate pollution into and from the river. The YNWF worked with local stakeholders to determine priority areas for constructed wetlands and leveraged a new legal framework in support of public-private partnerships to get the projects started. Plan Yaque, a technical NGO supported by the Twinning River Partnership, is responsible for designing and building constructed wetlands using the training provided through the partnership. They prioritize local support for the wetlands and engage households in voluntarily connecting to these systems. In addition to funding through the YNWF and its partners, water funds (funds from downstream users allocated to protection of upstream water quality) have been established to aid in the development of local NBS projects.

Constructed wetlands have become the predominant strategy for wastewater management in the Dominican Republic, with 16 wetlands built to treat 250,000 m3/yr of wastewater by the end of 2020.

How successful has it been?

The demonstrated need for improved wastewater management and the success of NBS supported the creation of Compromiso Santiago and the Presidency of the Dominican Republic agreed to coordinate investments for sanitation along the Yaque del Norte River than runs through Santiago’s urban center. YNWF was invited to advise on locations for constructed wetlands and other NBS and now has a seat at the table with decision makers to promote further NBS for wastewater treatment.

The success of each constructed wetland varies, but all of them have been effective. Regular monitoring of water quality by the Water Utility shows that 85-90% of organic pollutants are reduced by these projects. As a result, the government requested construction of two wetlands outside of the Yaque del Norte River Basin to protect water quality in a mountainous national park and a coastal mangrove forest in a marine sanctuary. This demonstrates the success of constructed wetlands as ridge-to-reef solutions for wastewater management across ecosystems and communities to mitigate sewage pollution and protect people and the environment, including the ocean.

Monitoring outlet water treated to verify quality before it is released into nature. Photo © TNC/Tim Calver

Lessons learned and recommendations

  • Constructed wetlands are proven to efficiently reduce organic pollutants from wastewater in this watershed based on lab results. It is likely that the efficiency and extent of reduction will vary with each wetland, location, and community, but this promising data supports investment into and construction of additional wetland projects.
  • The success of these wetlands has gained attention in the scientific community and are used as examples of wetland performance in academic publications.
  • Systems-thinking is needed for appropriate and lasting wastewater management and may include both green and grey infrastructure.
  • It is important to explore and understand the barriers to improving wastewater management and treatment, including perception of the problem and available solutions among local communities and decision makers.
  • The importance of appropriate placement, design, and community and government support are critical for implementation of sustainable NBS. These factors are all essential for ensuring that adequate resources, policies, and maintenance are and will remain available to sustain these systems.
  • Professional and educational resources limit the capacity for community to engineer and maintain wastewater solutions. To achieve sustainable NBS the community must be trained and included in construction and maintenance. Technological solutions are effective when paired with capacity development of local communities to ensure solutions function over the long term.
  • More information is needed to understand the cost tradeoffs between NBS and grey infrastructure wastewater strategies in this context. Initial construction and regular maintenance costs for NBS are assumed to be lower than grey infrastructure, however this has not been studied in conjunction with the amount of treatment provided.

Funding summary

Funding varies for each wetland and is led by YNWF and local stakeholders. In some communities, in-kind contributions are collected in addition to these resources.

Lead organizations

opens in a new windowThe Nature Conservancy
opens in a new windowYaque de Norte Water Fund (YNWF)

Partners

opens in a new windowAsociación para el Desarrollo (APEDI)
opens in a new windowFundación Propagas
opens in a new windowFundación Popular
opens in a new windowPlan para el desarrollo sostenible de la cuenca del Río Yaque del Norte, Inc. (Plan Yaque)

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »