الأراضي الرطبة المبنية في جمهورية الدومينيكان

 

الموقع:

حوض نهر Yaque del Norte ، سانتياغو ، جمهورية الدومينيكان

التحدي

في جمهورية الدومينيكان ، أدى تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالج إلى الحاجة إلى تحسين استراتيجيات المعالجة. في مدينة سانتياغو ، التي تقع داخل حوض نهر Yaque del Norte ، تتم معالجة 20 ٪ فقط من مياه الصرف الصحي في المدينة. يمر نهر Yaque del Norte عبر المدينة ، ويلتقط مياه الصرف الصحي على طول 296 كيلومترًا. يوفر النهر الري لـ 70,000 ألف هكتار من الأراضي الزراعية ، ويزود السدود بالمياه لتوليد 488 جيجاوات من الطاقة سنويًا ، ويؤثر على أكثر من مليوني شخص.

تصريف المياه العادمة في مجاري المياه dr tim calver tnc

تصريف المياه العادمة المنزلية مباشرة في الجداول. الصورة © TNC / Tim Calver

الإجراءات المتخذة

من خلال البحث في الحلول القائمة على الطبيعة (NBS) والتقييمات ، تستكشف منظمة الحفاظ على الطبيعة (TNC) التكنولوجيا والسياسات والحلول المجتمعية بالإضافة إلى العديد من العقبات التي تحول دون تحسين جودة المياه في جمهورية الدومينيكان وعبر منطقة البحر الكاريبي.

في جمهورية الدومينيكان ، تم استخدام الأراضي الرطبة المبنية للمساعدة في تلبية الحاجة الملحة لالتقاط ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي. كان هذا المشروع نتيجة لشراكة Twinning River Restoration Partnership (TRRP) ، التي تأسست في مجتمع Jarabocoa لنهر Yaque del Norte في عام 2015 من قبل جمعية مستجمعات المياه في نهر تشارلز (CRWA) و TNC. توفر الشراكة الدعم الفني والتدريب وتبادل المعرفة لتعزيز الإدارة المستدامة لجودة المياه. قدمت Tetra Tech الخبرة الفنية إلى TRRP بما في ذلك الاستراتيجيات الموصى بها لإدارة مياه الصرف الصحي وجودة المياه بما في ذلك الأراضي الرطبة التي تم إنشاؤها بتدفق الجاذبية.

الأراضي الرطبة المنشأة حديثًا في جاراباكوا. الصورة © TNC / Tim Calver

الأراضي الرطبة المنشأة حديثًا في جاراباكوا. الصورة © TNC / Tim Calver

تم إنشاء صندوق مياه Yaque del Norte (YNWF) لتحسين معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي والدعوة إلى تنفيذ الاستراتيجيات الموصى بها لإدارة مياه الصرف الصحي مثل الأراضي الرطبة المشيدة للتخفيف من التلوث من وإلى النهر. عمل YNWF مع أصحاب المصلحة المحليين لتحديد المناطق ذات الأولوية للأراضي الرطبة المبنية والاستفادة من إطار قانوني جديد لدعم الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص لبدء المشاريع. Plan Yaque ، منظمة غير حكومية فنية مدعومة من Twinning River Partnership ، مسؤولة عن تصميم وبناء الأراضي الرطبة المبنية باستخدام التدريب المقدم من خلال الشراكة. إنهم يعطون الأولوية للدعم المحلي للأراضي الرطبة ويشركون الأسر في الاتصال الطوعي بهذه الأنظمة. بالإضافة إلى التمويل من خلال YNWF وشركائه ، تم إنشاء صناديق المياه (أموال من مستخدمي المصب مخصصة لحماية جودة مياه المنبع) للمساعدة في تطوير مشاريع NBS المحلية.

أصبحت الأراضي الرطبة المبنية الاستراتيجية السائدة لإدارة مياه الصرف الصحي في جمهورية الدومينيكان ، حيث تم بناء 16 أرضًا رطبة لمعالجة 250,000 متر مربع.3/ عام من مياه الصرف الصحي بنهاية عام 2020.

ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟

دعمت الحاجة الواضحة لتحسين إدارة مياه الصرف الصحي ونجاح NBS إنشاء Compromiso Santiago ووافقت رئاسة جمهورية الدومينيكان على تنسيق الاستثمارات الخاصة بالصرف الصحي على طول نهر Yaque del Norte مقارنة بالمركز الحضري في سانتياغو. تمت دعوة YNWF لتقديم المشورة بشأن مواقع الأراضي الرطبة المشيدة وغيرها من NBS ولديها الآن مقعد على الطاولة مع صانعي القرار للترويج لمزيد من NBS لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي.

يختلف نجاح كل أرض رطبة مشيدة ، لكن جميعها كانت فعالة. يظهر الرصد المنتظم لجودة المياه من قبل مصلحة المياه أن 85-90٪ من الملوثات العضوية تقل من خلال هذه المشاريع. ونتيجة لذلك ، طلبت الحكومة إنشاء منطقتين رطبتين خارج حوض نهر Yaque del Norte لحماية جودة المياه في حديقة وطنية جبلية وغابة منغروف ساحلية في محمية بحرية. يوضح هذا نجاح الأراضي الرطبة المبنية كحلول من التلال إلى الشعاب المرجانية لإدارة مياه الصرف الصحي عبر النظم الإيكولوجية والمجتمعات للتخفيف من تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي وحماية الناس والبيئة ، بما في ذلك المحيط.

مراقبة المياه الخارجة المعالجة للتحقق من جودتها قبل إطلاقها في الطبيعة. الصورة © TNC / Tim Calver

مراقبة المياه الخارجة المعالجة للتحقق من جودتها قبل إطلاقها في الطبيعة. الصورة © TNC / Tim Calver

الدروس المستفادة والتوصيات

  • ثبت أن الأراضي الرطبة المبنية تعمل على تقليل الملوثات العضوية من مياه الصرف بكفاءة في مستجمعات المياه هذه بناءً على نتائج المختبر. من المحتمل أن تختلف كفاءة ومدى التخفيض باختلاف كل أرض رطبة وموقع ومجتمع ، لكن هذه البيانات الواعدة تدعم الاستثمار في مشاريع الأراضي الرطبة الإضافية وتشييدها.
  • لقد حظي نجاح هذه الأراضي الرطبة باهتمام المجتمع العلمي وتستخدم كأمثلة لأداء الأراضي الرطبة في المنشورات الأكاديمية.
  • هناك حاجة إلى التفكير في النظم من أجل إدارة مناسبة ودائمة لمياه الصرف الصحي وقد تشمل البنية التحتية الخضراء والرمادية.
  • من المهم استكشاف وفهم العوائق التي تحول دون تحسين إدارة ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي ، بما في ذلك إدراك المشكلة والحلول المتاحة بين المجتمعات المحلية وصناع القرار.
  • تعد أهمية التنسيب المناسب والتصميم والدعم المجتمعي والحكومي أمرًا بالغ الأهمية لتنفيذ NBS المستدام. هذه العوامل كلها ضرورية لضمان توفر الموارد والسياسات والصيانة الكافية وستظل متاحة لاستدامة هذه الأنظمة.
  • تحد الموارد المهنية والتعليمية من قدرة المجتمع على هندسة وصيانة حلول مياه الصرف الصحي. لتحقيق NBS المستدامة ، يجب تدريب المجتمع وإدراجه في البناء والصيانة. تكون الحلول التكنولوجية فعالة عندما تقترن بتنمية قدرات المجتمعات المحلية لضمان عمل الحلول على المدى الطويل.
  • هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من المعلومات لفهم مقايضات التكلفة بين إستراتيجيات المياه المستعملة في البنية التحتية NBS والبنية التحتية الرمادية في هذا السياق. يُفترض أن تكون تكاليف الإنشاءات الأولية والصيانة الدورية لـ NBS أقل من البنية التحتية الرمادية ، ومع ذلك لم يتم دراسة هذا بالاقتران مع مقدار العلاج المقدم.

ملخص التمويل

يختلف التمويل لكل أرض رطبة ويقودها YNWF وأصحاب المصلحة المحليون. في بعض المجتمعات ، يتم جمع المساهمات العينية بالإضافة إلى هذه الموارد.

المنظمات الرائدة

يفتح في نافذة جديدةحفظ الطبيعة
يفتح في نافذة جديدةصندوق ياك دو نورتي للمياه (YNWF)

شركاؤنا

يفتح في نافذة جديدةAsociación para el Desarrollo (APEDI)
يفتح في نافذة جديدةمؤسسة الدعاية
يفتح في نافذة جديدةمؤسسة شعبية
يفتح في نافذة جديدةPlan para el desarrollo sostenible de la cuenca del Río Yaque del Norte، Inc. (Plan Yaque)

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Constructed Wetlands in the Dominican Republic

 

Location

Yaque del Norte River Basin, Santiago, Dominican Republic

The challenge

In the Dominican Republic unaddressed wastewater pollution has created a need for improved treatment strategies. In the city of Santiago, which lies within the Yaque del Norte river basin, only 20% of the city’s wastewater is treated. Running through the city, the Yaque del Norte river picks up discharged wastewater along its 296 kilometers. The river provides irrigation for 70,000 hectares of cropland, supplies dams with water to generate 488 gigawatts of power annually, and impacts over two million people.

wastewater discharged to streams dr tim calver tnc

Household wastewater discharged directly to streams. Photo © TNC/Tim Calver

Actions taken

Through research into nature-based solutions (NBS) and assessments, The Nature Conservancy (TNC) is exploring technology, policy, and community solutions as well as the many obstacles to improving water quality in the Dominican Republic and across the Caribbean.

In the Dominican Republic, constructed wetlands were used to help address the significant need for capture and treatment of wastewater. This project was a result of the Twinning River Restoration Partnership (TRRP), established in in the Jarabocoa community of the Yaque del Norte River in 2015 by the Charles River Watershed Association (CRWA) and TNC. The partnership provides technical support, training and knowledge sharing to promote sustainable management of water quality. Tetra Tech provided technical expertise to the TRRP including recommended strategies for wastewater and water quality management including gravity-flow constructed wetlands.

Recently established wetland in Jarabacoa. Photo © TNC/Tim Calver

The Yaque del Norte Water Fund (YNWF) was established to improve wastewater treatment and advocate for implementation of recommended strategies for wastewater management such as constructed wetlands to mitigate pollution into and from the river. The YNWF worked with local stakeholders to determine priority areas for constructed wetlands and leveraged a new legal framework in support of public-private partnerships to get the projects started. Plan Yaque, a technical NGO supported by the Twinning River Partnership, is responsible for designing and building constructed wetlands using the training provided through the partnership. They prioritize local support for the wetlands and engage households in voluntarily connecting to these systems. In addition to funding through the YNWF and its partners, water funds (funds from downstream users allocated to protection of upstream water quality) have been established to aid in the development of local NBS projects.

Constructed wetlands have become the predominant strategy for wastewater management in the Dominican Republic, with 16 wetlands built to treat 250,000 m3/yr of wastewater by the end of 2020.

How successful has it been?

The demonstrated need for improved wastewater management and the success of NBS supported the creation of Compromiso Santiago and the Presidency of the Dominican Republic agreed to coordinate investments for sanitation along the Yaque del Norte River than runs through Santiago’s urban center. YNWF was invited to advise on locations for constructed wetlands and other NBS and now has a seat at the table with decision makers to promote further NBS for wastewater treatment.

The success of each constructed wetland varies, but all of them have been effective. Regular monitoring of water quality by the Water Utility shows that 85-90% of organic pollutants are reduced by these projects. As a result, the government requested construction of two wetlands outside of the Yaque del Norte River Basin to protect water quality in a mountainous national park and a coastal mangrove forest in a marine sanctuary. This demonstrates the success of constructed wetlands as ridge-to-reef solutions for wastewater management across ecosystems and communities to mitigate sewage pollution and protect people and the environment, including the ocean.

Monitoring outlet water treated to verify quality before it is released into nature. Photo © TNC/Tim Calver

Lessons learned and recommendations

  • Constructed wetlands are proven to efficiently reduce organic pollutants from wastewater in this watershed based on lab results. It is likely that the efficiency and extent of reduction will vary with each wetland, location, and community, but this promising data supports investment into and construction of additional wetland projects.
  • The success of these wetlands has gained attention in the scientific community and are used as examples of wetland performance in academic publications.
  • Systems-thinking is needed for appropriate and lasting wastewater management and may include both green and grey infrastructure.
  • It is important to explore and understand the barriers to improving wastewater management and treatment, including perception of the problem and available solutions among local communities and decision makers.
  • The importance of appropriate placement, design, and community and government support are critical for implementation of sustainable NBS. These factors are all essential for ensuring that adequate resources, policies, and maintenance are and will remain available to sustain these systems.
  • Professional and educational resources limit the capacity for community to engineer and maintain wastewater solutions. To achieve sustainable NBS the community must be trained and included in construction and maintenance. Technological solutions are effective when paired with capacity development of local communities to ensure solutions function over the long term.
  • More information is needed to understand the cost tradeoffs between NBS and grey infrastructure wastewater strategies in this context. Initial construction and regular maintenance costs for NBS are assumed to be lower than grey infrastructure, however this has not been studied in conjunction with the amount of treatment provided.

Funding summary

Funding varies for each wetland and is led by YNWF and local stakeholders. In some communities, in-kind contributions are collected in addition to these resources.

Lead organizations

opens in a new windowThe Nature Conservancy
opens in a new windowYaque de Norte Water Fund (YNWF)

Partners

opens in a new windowAsociación para el Desarrollo (APEDI)
opens in a new windowFundación Propagas
opens in a new windowFundación Popular
opens in a new windowPlan para el desarrollo sostenible de la cuenca del Río Yaque del Norte, Inc. (Plan Yaque)

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »