對海洋生物的影響

Pipe Steve Spring Marine Photobank

傳統上,廢水污染的影響與 人類健康,但廢水污染對海洋生物的不利影響——以及它們對人類的間接影響——不容忽視。 廢水將病原體、營養物質、污染物和固體輸送到海洋中,從而導致珊瑚白化以及珊瑚、魚類和貝類的疾病和死亡。 廢水污染還會改變海洋溫度、pH 值、鹽度和氧氣水平,破壞對海洋生物至關重要的生物過程和物理環境。

病原體

廢水污染會增加珊瑚對致病病毒、細菌或其他微生物(統稱為病原體)的暴露。 兩種最常見的珊瑚病白痘和黑帶病的爆發都與廢水污染有關。 白痘是由人類腸道病原體直接引起的 粘質沙雷氏菌,而黑帶病則與被污染水域中的大型藻類覆蓋物密切相關。

營養成分

營養物質是海洋生物必不可少的組成部分。 然而,海洋環境中陸基污染源(如農業徑流和廢水)的過量營養會導致珊瑚白化和疾病、珊瑚繁殖能力下降、珊瑚骨骼完整性降低、珊瑚覆蓋率和生物多樣性減少、浮游植物陰影增加和藻類過度生長. 當貝類從水中過濾養分以形成貝殼和組織時,它們也會吸收病原體和其他污染物。 過度污染會導致貝類健康下降。 持續的養分負荷和由此產生的藻華會破壞珊瑚礁和沿海生態系統,並且預計會因氣候變化而增加頻率和規模。

藻華消耗氧氣並阻擋水下植物產生氧氣所需的陽光,導致溶解氧含量低的環境稱為 缺氧. 隨著氧氣耗盡,魚和螃蟹會離開。 缺氧環境會引發珊瑚白化事件,導致珊瑚受損增加和恢復能力下降。 隨著氣候變化,這些缺氧環境的頻率和嚴重程度預計會增加。

海洋生物對缺氧的反應

海洋生物對輕度和重度缺氧的反應,包括生理過程、棲息地選擇和生存的變化。 注意:BBD 代表黑帶病。 資料來源:Nelson 和 Altieri 2019

 

棕色潮汐大南灣小妖精

2017年,長島經歷了迄今為止最強烈的棕潮(> 2.3萬個細胞/毫升),在大南灣(Great South Bay)發生了藻華。 照片©Chris Gobler

廢水中的營養物質會刺激藻類生長。 由此產生的海面藻華阻止陽光到達蟲黃藻,蟲黃藻進行光合作用,為珊瑚提供食物和氧氣。 沒有足夠的氧氣,珊瑚就無法呼吸或產生構建骨骼所需的碳酸鈣。

藻華會導致海洋變暖和酸化,並會產生可以殺死魚類、哺乳動物和鳥類的毒素,在極端情況下可能導致人類患病甚至死亡。

固體和其他污染物

廢水還包含漂浮在水中的懸浮固體物質,如分解的植物物質、藻類、礦物質和淤泥。 在海洋中,這些固體可以:

  • 擋光。 這些固體漂浮在水中,阻擋陽光。 根據固體保留的數量和時間長度,這可能會導致光合作用和珊瑚生長減少。
  • 遇險珊瑚。 當這些固體沉積在珊瑚上時,會導致身體壓力,包括窒息、食物產量減少和繁殖減少。
  • 堵塞過濾器。 懸浮顆粒被貝類攝入,堵塞過濾器。
  • 降低水的透明度。 降低的水透明度也使魚更難覓食,並可能擾亂繁殖。
在新窗口中打開新出現的污染物 (CEC) 是水體中可能對生態或人類健康造成影響的污染物,通常不受現行環境法的監管。 這些污染物的來源包括農藥、城市徑流、普通家庭用品(如肥皂和消毒劑)和藥品。 與過去相比,在處理過的廢水中發現 CEC 的頻率更高,濃度也更高,而且許多已被證明會在海洋生物的組織中積聚。
 
 
除草劑 破壞共生藻類,影響光合作用並導致白化。 金屬和合成化合物 像多氯聯苯 (PCB) 對珊瑚和其他海洋生物有毒性作用。 它們會影響珊瑚的繁殖、攝食和生長,從而減少其他生物的棲息地選擇。 在魚類中,它們通過食物網積累並增加較大魚類的死亡率。 製藥 還會對魚的行為和健康產生影響。 對這一大類污染物的研究最近才開始,還需要做更多的工作來定義污染物及其影響。
 

內分泌干擾物

內分泌干擾物——影響內分泌系統的化合物——是一種特別令人擔憂的 CEC。 這些包括天然或合成的激素以及為紡織、塑料、家庭或農業用途生產的化學品。 研究已經開始顯示這些污染物對海洋生物造成傷害的方式:

  • 低濃度的抗抑鬱藥已被證明會影響魚的行為並導致死亡。
  • 合成激素和內分泌干擾物——如避孕藥中的雌激素或肥皂中發現的對羥基苯甲酸酯——會損害生殖能力並導致魚的攻擊傾向。
  • 最近的研究已經確定了在魚類組織中生物積累的內分泌干擾物。
  • 在珊瑚中,內分泌干擾物會減少卵-精子束的數量並降低生長速度。
探索 夏威夷Puako的案例研究 那裡的廢水污染被認為是造成魚類生物量下降的最大原因,社區致力於確定和解決廢水污染的源頭。
por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Impacts on Marine Life

Pipe Steve Spring Marine Photobank

Traditionally, impacts from wastewater pollution have been associated with human health, but the detrimental effects of wastewater pollution on marine life—and the indirect impacts they have on people—cannot be overlooked. Wastewater transports pathogens, nutrients, contaminants, and solids into the ocean that can cause coral bleaching and disease and mortality for coral, fish, and shellfish. Wastewater pollution can also alter ocean temperature, pH, salinity, and oxygen levels, disrupting biological processes and physical environments essential to marine life.

Pathogens

Wastewater pollution increases corals’ exposure to disease-causing viruses, bacteria, or other microorganisms, collectively known as pathogens. Outbreaks of two of the most common coral diseases, white pox and black band disease, have been linked to wastewater pollution. White pox is directly caused by the human gut pathogen Serratia marcescens, while black band disease is strongly associated with macroalgal cover that increases in polluted waters.

Nutrients

Nutrients are essential building blocks for marine life. However, excess nutrients from land-based sources of pollution—like agricultural runoff and wastewater—in the marine environment cause coral bleaching and disease, decreased coral reproductivity, decreased coral skeletal integrity, decreased coral cover and biodiversity, increased phytoplankton shading, and algal overgrowth. As shellfish filter nutrients from the water for shell and tissue formation, they also take in pathogens and other pollutants. Excess contamination can lead to declines in shellfish health. Ongoing nutrient loading and the resulting algal blooms can devastate coral reefs and coastal ecosystems and are predicted to increase in frequency and scale as a result of climate change.

Algal blooms consume oxygen and block sunlight that underwater plants need to produce oxygen, resulting in an environment with low levels of dissolved oxygen called hypoxia. As oxygen is depleted, fish and crabs will move away. Hypoxic environments can trigger coral bleaching events, leading to increased damage and decreased recovery capacity of corals. These oxygen-depleted environments are projected to increase in frequency and severity with climate change.

Marine Life Responses to Hypoxia

Marine life responses to mild and severe hypoxia, including changes in physiological processes, habitat choices, and survivorship. Note: BBD stands for black band disease. Source: Nelson and Altieri 2019

 

Browntidebloom greatsouthbay gobler

An algal bloom in the Great South Bay in 2017, the year Long Island experienced the most intense brown tide to date (>2.3 million cells/mL). Photo © Chris Gobler

Nutrients in wastewater stimulate algal growth. The resulting algal blooms on the ocean surface block sunlight from reaching the zooxanthellae that photosynthesize to provide corals with food and oxygen. Without enough oxygen, corals cannot respire or produce the calcium carbonate needed to build their skeletons.

Algal blooms contribute to ocean warming and acidification, and can produce toxins that can kill fish, mammals, and birds, and may cause human illness or even death in extreme cases.

Solids and Other Contaminants

Wastewater also contains suspended solid materials—like decomposing plant matter, algae, minerals, and silt—that float in the water. In the ocean, these solids can:

  • Block light. These solids float in the water, blocking sunlight. Depending on the amount and length of time the solids remain, this can result in decreased photosynthesis and coral growth.
  • Distress corals. When these solids settle on corals, it causes physical stress including smothering, decreased food production, and reduced reproduction.
  • Clog filters. Suspended particles are ingested by shellfish, clogging their filters.
  • Decrease water clarity. The reduced water clarity also makes it harder for fish to find food and can disrupt reproduction.
opens in a new windowContaminants of Emerging Concern (CECs) are pollutants in water bodies that may cause ecological or human health impacts, and typically are not regulated under current environmental laws. Sources of these pollutants include agricultural chemicals, runoff from cities, ordinary household products (such as soaps and disinfectants) and pharmaceuticals. CECs are found in treated wastewater effluent more frequently and in higher concentrations than in the past, and many have been shown to build up in the tissues of marine life.
 
 
Herbicides damage symbiotic algae, affecting photosynthesis and causing bleaching. Metals and synthetic compounds like polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) have a toxic effect on corals and other marine life. They impact coral reproduction, feeding, and growth, which then reduces habitat options for other organisms. In fish, they accumulate through the food web and increase mortality rates in larger fish. Pharmaceuticals can also have behavioral and health impacts on fish. Research on this broad category of pollutants has only recently begun and much more is needed to define the contaminants and their impacts.
 

Endocrine Disruptors

Endocrine disruptors—compounds which impact the endocrine system—are a particularly concerning type of CEC. These include naturally occurring or synthetic hormones as well as chemicals produced for textile, plastic, household, or agricultural uses. Research has begun to show the ways that these pollutants cause harm to marine life:

  • In low concentrations, antidepressants have been shown to impact fish behavior and cause mortality.
  • Synthetic hormones and endocrine disruptors—like estrogen from birth control pills or parabens found in soaps—can impair reproductivity and contribute to aggressive tendencies in fish.
  • Recent studies have identified endocrine disruptors that bioaccumulate in fish tissue.
  • In corals, endocrine disruptors decrease the number of egg-sperm bundles and reduce growth rates.
Explore the case study from Puako, Hawaii where wastewater pollution was identified as the biggest contributor to declining fish biomass and the community worked to identify and address the sources wastewater pollution.
pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »