珊瑚培育計劃

 

地區

澳大利亞大堡礁

所面臨的挑戰

澳大利亞的標誌性大堡礁(GBR)由於背靠背海洋熱浪(30-2016)大規模漂白而遭受了災難性的珊瑚損失(> 17%),而2020年將進行第三次事件。這些前所未有的影響鞏固了人們的關注傳統的GBR管理(主要是保護海洋區域和減輕水質惡化)不再足以確保GBR的未來。 這促使政府對國家干預以及動態的自適應管理選項進行投資。 旅遊運營商行業在很大程度上維持了GBR每年$ 6.5B的資產價值,並且強烈要求維護和恢復其“高價值”珊瑚礁站點的質量(Suggett等人,2019)。 儘管有希望專門採用既定的珊瑚繁殖方法來進行針對特定地點的礁石復原(例如,從加勒比海出發,並在其他地方迅速發展),但能力卻受到旨在保護礁石的基本立法,治理和運營障礙的限制。 目的是開發低成本方法,使其能夠融入現有運營並因此具有成本效益,同時也易於被現有的旅行社業務模型所採用。

 

所採取的行動

最初的活動“第一階段”(2018年2019月至2020年2,500月)是與政府大堡礁海洋公園管理局(GBRMPA)合作設計的,旨在設計並實施珊瑚繁殖方法的工作流程。 進行了詳細的場地生態調查以及對歷史場地知識的評估,以幫助指導第一個苗圃以及繁殖和移栽許可證。 發明了一種新穎的由釘子和皮帶組成的物理固定裝置,即Coralclip®(下圖),該裝置比以前的安裝速度快了一個或兩個數量級(因此更具成本效益)。迄今為止使用的常規化學固定劑(Suggett等,5,000)。 從第一階段開始,在新的苗圃中維持了2020多只珊瑚,在短短幾週內(Suggett等,XNUMX),將近XNUMX只珊瑚移出了歐泊礁(Suggett等人,XNUMX年),主要是在常規船隻操作過程中以及使用操作員進行了移出。

 

picture1 1

Coralclip®部署示例。 照片©John Edmondson /波長礁遊輪

picture2

新的Coralclip®附件,可固定分支Acropora。 照片©John Edmondson /波長礁遊輪

 

隨後的“第二階段” CNP活動(2019年2020月至XNUMX年XNUMX月)研究了該方法如何通過第一階段為測試地點和旅遊運營商開發,如何應用於具有不同環境和珊瑚狀況的多個珊瑚礁以及具有不同業務模式的多個旅遊運營商之間。 努力的重點是確保在操作員和站點之間建立苗圃和移栽的標準化工作流程-包括培訓,站點評估和數據報告(部分用於生態軌跡評估以及許可合規;下圖)。
picture5

操作員傾向於使用Coralclip®進行育苗和移栽。 照片©David Suggett

picture7

在多個GBR旅遊運營商,員工,研究人員和GBRMPA的“第二階段”啟動研討會中,調查外植體的成功。 照片©John Edmondson /波長礁遊輪

 

它有多成功?

截至2020年50月,由於珊瑚培育計劃旅遊研究合作關係的建立,已在六個主要的高價值旅遊勝地建立了17,000多個苗圃平台,並種植了19多個珊瑚。 在COVIDXNUMX引起的旅遊業低迷時期,運營商具備了知識和工具,可以“透視”和重新部署從旅遊業到現場修復的工作和資源。 規劃已開始朝“第三階段”邁進,其中包括在旅遊業以及其他主要GBR利益相關者(尤其是傳統所有者)中廣泛(區域)採用,並全面跟踪移栽場的生態響應,以確保這些初步工作能為“什麼最有效,何時何地”決定未來的活動規模。
picture8

浮動珊瑚繁殖育苗平台,蛋白石礁,GBR的應用。 該圖顯示了從碎片中繁殖出12-18個月後珊瑚的生長。 照片©David Suggett

picture9

最初,“甲板上”播種盤在播種的早期階段試過播種帶有碎片的框架。 照片©David Suggett

picture10

在2020 GBR熱浪期間,將陰影部署在平台上。 照片©John Edmondson /波長礁遊輪

 

經驗教訓和建議

調整苗圃和外植設計以適應特定地點的要求. 專門針對驅動修復需求的條件設計了工具。 例如,GBR地點受到了眾多珊瑚物種(所有生長形態的影響)的影響,因此設計了浮動平台,以支持現有的“珊瑚樹”結構,以始終如一地容納任何分類單元,而且還可以在經常具有物理動力的外部礁石地點( Suggett et al.2019)。

監控和實施。 根據測試階段第一階段實現的外植程度,很明顯,不可能“命運追踪” 1,000株外植體,取而代之的是,通過生態學方法使用標記的重複圖來建立外植體“成功”評估。礁(以及未修改的控件)。 在所有站點上最初安裝苗圃平台,可以相對迅速地向運營商及其積極的站點修復實踐的遊客客戶群提供非常明顯的演示。 主動外包的採用較慢,最終最好在有人員可用的有針對性的“活動”中執行,而又不影響常規運營。

賦權和能力建設是關鍵。 授權和能力建設是CNP方法和理念的核心。 利益相關者希望保存珊瑚礁,研究人員希望幫助支持可靠的方法來實現這一目標。 因此,我們在研究人員和旅遊經營者(或任何其他利益相關者)之間建立的合作夥伴關係,充分利用了各方的積極性和積極性來做出積極的改變。 對於確保針對GBR的有效實踐進行優化的需求,對於確保在純粹為了商業利益而啟動項目之前(尤其是在尚未完全解決生態影響的情況下)確保吸取重要經驗教訓至關重要。 重要的是,科學嚴謹一直是推動社會許可增加,通過實施進行學習,但在受控的環境和社會條件下的核心。 這對於在研究人員,利益相關者和廣大公眾之間建立信任,以更好地定義恢復何時適合(和不適合)GBR至關重要。

 

資金摘要

澳大利亞和昆士蘭州政府(“提高珊瑚豐度”挑戰。AMP基金會)

 

牽頭組織

悉尼科技大學

波長礁石憲章

 

該案例研究是與聯合國環境規劃署(UNEP)和國際珊瑚礁倡議(ICRI)合作開發的,是該報告的一部分 珊瑚礁恢復作為改善生態系統服務的戰略:珊瑚恢復方法指南。打開PDF文件

 

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Coral Nurture Program

 

Location

Great Barrier Reef, Australia

The challenge

Australia’s iconic Great Barrier Reef (GBR) has experienced catastrophic loss of coral (>30%) from mass bleaching via back-to-back marine heatwaves (2016-17), with a third event underway in 2020. These unprecedented impacts solidified concerns that conventional GBR management – largely marine area protection and mitigating deteriorating water quality – was no longer sufficient to secure the GBR’s future. This prompted government investment into national intervention – and dynamic adaptive-management options. The tour operator industry largely sustains the GBR’s $6.5B per year asset value and has an overwhelming desire to maintain and restore the quality of their “high value” reef sites (Suggett et al. 2019). While the desire was in place to specifically adopt established coral propagation practices for site-tailored reef rehabilitation (e.g., from the Caribbean, and rapidly developing elsewhere), capacity was limited by fundamental legislative, governance, and operational barriers designed for reef protection. The objective was to develop low cost approaches that could dovetail into existing operations and thus be cost effective, but also easily adopted into existing tour operator business models.

 

Actions taken

Initial activities, “Phase one” (February 2018-February 2019), were designed in partnership with the government’s Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (GBRMPA) to design the workflow for, and in turn implement, coral propagation practices. Detailed site ecological surveys, alongside assessments of historical site knowledge, were conducted to help guide the first nursery and propagation and outplanting permits. A novel physical attachment device consisting of a nail and a strap, the Coralclip® (photo below), was invented, which sped-up planting by one or two orders of magnitude faster (and hence more cost-effectively) than was previously possible via conventional chemical fixatives used to date (Suggett et al. 2020). From this first phase, over 2,500 corals were maintained in the new nurseries and nearly 5,000 corals outplanted to Opal Reef in the space of a few weeks (Suggett et al. 2020), largely during routine vessel operations and using operator staff to outplant.

 

picture1 1

Example of Coralclip® deployment. Photo © John Edmondson/Wavelength Reef Cruises

picture2

New Coralclip® attachment, securing branching Acropora. Photo © John Edmondson/Wavelength Reef Cruises

 

Subsequent “Phase two” CNP activities (April 2019-April 2020) examined how the approach developed for the test site and tourism operator via phase one, applied to multiple reefs with different environments and coral condition, and among multiple tourism operators with different business models. Efforts focused on ensuring standardized workflows for establishing nurseries and outplanting across operators and sites – including training, site evaluations, and data reporting (in part for ecological trajectory assessments as well as permit compliance; photo below).
picture5

Operators tending to nurseries and outplanting using Coralclip®. Photo © David Suggett

picture7

Surveying outplant success as part of the “Phase two” kick-off workshop among multiple GBR tourism operators, staff, researchers and GBRMPA. Photo © John Edmondson/Wavelength Reef Cruises

 

How successful has it been?

As of May 2020, over 50 nursery platforms have been established and over 17,000 corals planted across six major high-value tourism sites, as a result of the Coral Nurture Program tourism-research partnership. Operators were equipped with the knowledge and tools to “pivot” and redeploy efforts and resources from tourism to site rehabilitation during the COVID19-induced tourism downturns. Planning has begun towards “Phase three”, which includes broader (regional) adoption amongst the tourism industry – as well as other key GBR stakeholders, notably Traditional Owners – and fully tracking ecological responses of the outplanting sites, to ensure these initial efforts inform ‘what works best, where and when’ in deciding future scaling of activities.
picture8

Application of the floating coral propagation nursery platforms, Opal Reef, GBR. Image shows growth of coral after 12-18 months propagation from fragments. Photo © David Suggett

picture9

“On-deck” seeding tray initially trialled to sow frames with fragments during the early phases of deployment. Photo © David Suggett

picture10

Shade deployed over the platforms during the 2020 GBR heat wave. Photo © John Edmondson/Wavelength Reef Cruises

 

Lessons learned and recommendations

Adapting nursery and outplanting design to fit location-specific requirements. Tools were conceived specific for the conditions that had driven the need for restoration. For example, numerous coral species (across all growth morphologies) had been impacted at GBR sites, and therefore floating platforms were designed in favor of existing “coral tree” structures to consistently accommodate any taxa, but also within often physically dynamic outer reef sites (Suggett et al. 2019).

Monitoring and implementation. Based on the extent of outplanting achieved in phase one for the test site, it was clear that attempting to ‘fate track’ 1,000s of outplants was impossible, and instead the outplant ‘success’ evaluations were established around ecological approaches using marked replicate plots of reef (and un-amended controls). Initial installation of nursery platforms at all sites provided very visible demonstrations relatively quickly to the operators and their tourist customer base of active site rehabilitation practices. Active outplanting was slower to adopt, and ultimately was best executed in targeted ‘campaigns’ when staff were available without impacting on regular operations.

Empowerment and capacity building is key. Empowerment and capacity building are at the core of the approach and philosophy of CNP. Stakeholders want to save the reef, and researchers want to help support robust methods to do this. Therefore, the partnership we built between researchers and tourism operators (or any other stakeholder) capitalized on the passion and drive of all involved to make positive change. The desire to optimize effective practice(s) tailored to the GBR has been critical in ensuring key lessons are learned prior to initiating projects purely for commercial gain, in particular where the ecological impacts are yet to be fully resolved. Importantly, scientific rigor has been central in driving increased social licensing, learning through implementation, but under well controlled environmental and social conditions. This has been central in building trust amongst researchers, stakeholders and the wider public to better define when restoration is (and isn’t) appropriate for the GBR.

 

Funding summary

Australian & QLD Government (“Boosting Coral Abundance” Challenge. AMP Foundation)

 

Lead organizations

University of Technology Sydney

Wavelength Reef Charters

 

This case study was developed in collaboration with the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the International Coral Reef Initiative (ICRI) as part of the report Coral Reef Restoration as a Strategy to Improve Ecosystem Services: A Guide to Coral Restoration Methods.opens PDF file

 

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »