充滿挑戰的環境中的衛生設施:HandyPod

 

地點

柬埔寨洞里薩湖(Tonle Sap Lake)和緬甸因達吉湖(Indawgyi)

所面臨的挑戰

許多因素影響著衛生基礎設施是否適合的地方。 湖泊,洪氾區,紅樹林,粘土和海灘受到人類廢物的影響。 分別在柬埔寨和緬甸的洞里薩湖和Indawgyi湖,季節性洪氾區中的浮村和高腳房屋給衛生帶來了挑戰。 污水處理廠,化糞池和污水坑不是保護人和環境免受污水污染的可行選擇。 結果,儘管兩個湖泊都被指定為世界遺產和生物圈保護區,但在這種充滿挑戰的衛生環境中,尚無先前的衛生措施來應對污水污染或改變當地行為。

柬埔寨洞里薩湖的一個浮動社區。 照片©Wetlands Work

在洞里薩湖(Tonle Sap Lake)上,有20,000座房屋在淺水中漂浮。 在六個月的干旱季節,隨著湖泊水位下降,缺乏衛生設施會導致村莊的水被污染,有氣味和危險(病原體濃度達到6-30 cfu / 40,000 mL)。 在附近,有100座腳手架房屋坐落在季節性的洪氾平原上,加劇並加劇了露天排便的後果。 造成的糞便污染-病原體和生物需氧量(BOD)-威脅著這些地區的生物多樣性,人類健康,生計和經濟。 洞里薩湖社區普遍存在腸道疾病和兒童發育遲緩,這迫切需要可持續的衛生解決方案。

HandyPod安裝在柬埔寨水洞湖附近的水淹地區的高腳房子裡。 照片©Wetlands Work

所採取的行動

2009年,濕地工作(WW)著手解決這些問題,並從此成為挑戰性環境(SCE)衛生領域的領導者。 最初,濕地工作團隊在實習生,學生和志願者的支持下著手解決流動社區中的病原體和BOD。 社區支持的反復設計促成了HandyPod的開發,該系統目前已在柬埔寨和緬甸的鄉村中使用,是一種新型的處理系統。 HandyPod的創建是為了在洪水,漂浮地區,洪氾區,不可滲透的土壤和沿海地區提供功能性的衛生設施。 在2009年至2014年之間,HandyPod的許多測試設計在洞里薩湖(Tonle Sap Lake)的Akul Village進行了試用。 到2014年,已安裝了35個系統,並導致改進的HandyPod設計得以使用。

HandyPods安裝在柬埔寨洞里薩湖的兩所浮動學校上。 照片©Wetlands Work

HandyPods安裝在柬埔寨洞里薩湖的兩所浮動學校上。 照片©Wetlands Work

該項目的主要組成部分包括:

  • 技術開發和概念證明工作
  • 試行環衛營銷計劃
  • 本地企業操作員安裝HandyPods的培訓計劃
  • 社區意識努力創造對衛生的需求
  • 市場驅動的HandyPod分佈在緬甸Indawgyi湖附近的洪氾村莊中。

浮動村莊的HandyPod設計的圖形表示。 照片©Wetlands Work

浮動村莊的HandyPod設計的圖形表示。 照片©Wetlands Work

HandyPod技術含量低,易於組裝,易於擴展,其結構和材料總計每個系統$ 100- $ 140。 使用三個順序的處理步驟來去除病原體。 沖洗後的廢物收集在化糞池中,以收集污泥並在幾天內進行部分厭氧消化。 持續的沖洗將廢水推入第二個容器,該容器使用自然產生的厭氧微生物來形成生物膜來消化廢物並吸收化學物質。 這種微生物生物膜是HandyPod處理過程的引擎,極大地幫助了有機化學物質的轉化,從而提高了廢水的質量。

在所有三個容器中,高微生物活性消耗各種病原體,因此每次沖洗時都會排出“安全水”。 數十億或數万億的 E. 大腸桿菌 每100 mL原始污水中的病原體處理量為28-300 cfu / 100 mL。 這遠低於柬埔寨安全娛樂標準(1,000 cfu / 100 mL)。 熱帶溫度在促進HandyPod顯著的高微生物活性方面特別有效,從而使該設計適應於熱帶氣候中的其他挑戰性條件。

在洪氾區的有棚住宅中安裝了HandyPods。 照片©Wetlands Work

已安裝的柬埔寨雜貨店

在洪氾區的有棚住宅中安裝了HandyPods。 照片©Wetlands Work

從污水收集到糞便污泥管理(FSM),HandyPod通過將尿液分流用作“液態金”肥並使用乾燥的淺溝渠產生有價值的固體土壤補充劑,將原始廢物排除在湖泊之外,並有助於資源回收。季節。 收集轉移的尿液,然後將其出售給當地的有機農業協會,以支持循環經濟和當地生計,同時減少營養物質污染和對合成肥料的需求。

濕地工作現在正在努力改編HandyPod設計,以用於海灘和島嶼社區,以減少養分污染。 實驗室研究表明,通過與適應性HandyPod設計兼容的順序曝氣室,氮減少了90%-95%。 這項工作的其他好處包括保護島上的地下水供應,消除養分流失,避免損害海草,近岸珊瑚和其他海洋生物多樣性。 這種設計還可以回收養分來生產水產養殖產品,以支持島嶼經濟。

除了有效的衛生技術外,解決方案還必須獲得社會的認可。 行為偏好和社會經濟調查信息有助於改善HandyPod的設計和功能,並指導流動村莊的營銷策略。 社區對隱私,洗手和衛生設施的重要性的意識一直是HandyPod傳播的重要組成部分。 社區範圍內的抽獎活動通過免費提供七個HandyPods將其介紹給社區,從而教育了整個村莊的衛生狀況。 濕地工作培訓當地的商業運營商安裝和維護這些系統,並確定一位領導者作為區域指導以維持這一努力。

社區成員參加了由Wetlands Work舉辦的HandyPod抽獎活動。 照片©Wetlands Work

它有多成功?

基於 E. 大腸桿菌 通過獨立實驗室和WW自己的大學實驗室進行測試,從HandyPod排放的水可以安全地接觸和娛樂。 監測營養素一直是一項挑戰,但在2021-23年是首要任務。 Wetlands Work預計,浮動房屋的HandyPods可以減少大約10%-15%的氮負荷,但對海灘環境的適應性則要高得多。 對這兩個湖泊的後續調查發現,HandyPod用戶獲得了壓倒性的積極反饋。 個人隱私和尊嚴的便利和改善對社區特別是婦女特別有價值。 HandyPod也已成為富裕的標誌,對這些系統的需求更多地基於社會地位而不是健康狀況。 創建市場驅動解決方案的濕地工作戰略證明了當地經濟和生計在促進HandyPod成功方面的重要性。 結果是改善了衛生條件,減輕了環境污染,並有效地改變了行為。

經驗教訓和建議

  • 浮動社區在經濟上處於劣勢,許多人買不起100-140美元的HandyPod。 濕地工作將繼續與農村發展部和澳大利亞EWB合作,建立一項針對挑戰性環境中的衛生設施的補貼計劃。 達到柬埔寨2030年聯合國SDG 6.2目標的100%衛生覆蓋率目標也是必要的,對此領域(全球)仍有待解決。
  • 通過衛生抽獎活動提高了認識,這是一個有效且廣為接受的過程,已經引起了社區的需求。 獲獎者為他們的HandyPod感到自豪,這是一種比促進家庭健康更強大的營銷工具。
  • 要求學校和家庭支付HandyPod的安裝費用,可以增強主人翁意識和責任感,從而改善系統的維護和教育程度。 免費或過度補貼的系統對HandyPod不會產生相同的自豪感或關懷。
  • 保持避難所清潔,安全和光線充足必須成為使人們使用HandyPod感到安全和舒適的首要任務。
  • 本地企業需要至少2年的專業技能,支持和監督,以確保可持續的市場和系統。

資金摘要

比爾和梅琳達·蓋茨基金會(2011-2013:100,000美元)
加拿大加拿大國際開發署全球衛生計劃的重大挑戰(2015-2017年:105,000加元加元)
世界廁所組織的StartSomeGood眾籌資金(2016-2017:20,000美元)
柬埔寨水援助(2017:$ 6,000 USD)
透明魚基金(2015-2016:$ 8,100 USD)
澳大利亞EWB(2017年:5,000美元,2019年海灘衛生研究項目:1600美元)
SaniFlo Corp.(2016年:2,000美元)
Wirquin Corp.(2016年:11,600美元)
通過國際計劃與柬埔寨農村發展部合作的全球衛生基金
FSM協議研究; 治療效率和降低成本的研究(2018:$ 25,000)
RELX集團環境挑戰獎(2018:25,000美元)
達爾文倡議獎 c/o Fauna & Flora International(2018 年至今:24,000 美元)
歐盟'CapFish Green'–洞里薩湖I&II(2021-2025:$ 450,000 USD) 

牽頭組織

濕地工作有限公司
柬埔寨,WaterAid
動植物國際,緬甸(Inn Chhit Tru Environment,Indawgyi 湖) 

合作夥伴

在新窗口中打開柬埔寨水援助 (CIDA贈款管理和管理)
在新窗口中打開動植物國際 – 緬甸 (緬甸達爾文獎首席合夥人,Indawgyi)
洞里薩湖的浮動和洪氾區學校衛生項目: 在新窗口中打開世界廁所組織 (StartSomeGood眾籌基金合作夥伴)
在新窗口中打開拯救兒童ECCD計劃 與世界銀行(幼兒學校,2019-20)
在新窗口中打開柬埔寨雨水 與聯合國兒童基金會(學校,2018)
在新窗口中打開拯救柬埔寨野生動物 (學校,2018)
在新窗口中打開生活和學習環境教育 (學校,2017)

資源庫

在新窗口中打開視頻:濕地–方便的豆莢
在新窗口中打開改善東南亞最大湖泊衛生的細菌

 

 

 

 

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Sanitation in Challenging Environments: The HandyPod

 

Location

Tonle Sap Lake, Cambodia and Lake Indawgyi, Myanmar

The challenge

Many factors influence where sanitation infrastructure is, or is not, suitable. Lakes, floodplains, mangroves, clay soils and beaches are impacted by human waste. In Tonle Sap Lake and Lake Indawgyi, in Cambodia and Myanmar, respectively, floating villages and stilted houses in the seasonal floodplain present challenges for sanitation. Wastewater treatment plants, septic tanks, and pit latrines are not viable options for protecting people and the environment from sewage. As a result, although both lakes are designated World Heritage and Biosphere Reserves, no prior sanitation effort has existed to combat sewage pollution or change local behaviors in this challenging sanitation environment.

A floating community on Tonle Sap Lake, Cambodia. Photo © Wetlands Work

On Tonle Sap Lake, 20,000 houses float in shallow water. During the 6-month dry season, as the lake’s level drops, lack of sanitation infrastructure causes the village water to become contaminated, odorous, and dangerous (pathogen concentrations reach 30-40,000 cfu/100 mL). Nearby, 200,000 stilted homes sit on seasonal floodplains, contributing to and intensifying the consequences of open defecation. The resulting fecal pollution – pathogens and biological oxygen demand (BOD) – threatens biodiversity, human health, livelihoods, and the economy of these areas. Intestinal illnesses and childhood stunting are commonly experienced in the Tonle Sap community, exhibiting the urgent need for a sustainable sanitation solution.

HandyPod installed on a stilted house in a flooded area near Tonle Sap Lake, Cambodia. Photo © Wetlands Work

Actions taken

In 2009, Wetlands Work (WW) set out to resolve these issues and has since become a leader in sanitation in challenging environments (SCE). Initially, the Wetlands Work team, supported by interns, students, and volunteers, set out to address pathogens and BOD in floating communities. Iterative, community-supported designs led to the development of the HandyPod, a novel treatment system currently used in villages in Cambodia and Myanmar. The HandyPod was created to provide functional sanitation in flood, floating areas, floodplains, impermeable soils, and coastal zones. Between 2009-2014 many test designs of the HandyPod were trialed in Akul Village on Tonle Sap Lake. By 2014, 35 systems were installed and led to the improved HandyPod design used today.

HandyPods installed on two floating schools in Tonle Sap Lake, Cambodia. Photo © Wetlands Work

HandyPods installed on two floating schools in Tonle Sap Lake, Cambodia. Photo © Wetlands Work

Main components of the project included:

  • Technical development and proof of concept efforts
  • Piloting of a sanitation marketing program
  • Training programs for local business operators to install HandyPods
  • Community awareness efforts to create demand for sanitation
  • Market-driven scaling of HandyPod distribution in the floodplain villages near Indawgyi Lake, Myanmar.

Graphic representations of the HandyPod design for floating villages. Photo © Wetlands Work

Graphic representations of the HandyPod design for floating villages. Photo © Wetlands Work

The HandyPod is low tech, simple to assemble, and easy to scale with construction and materials totaling $100-$140 per system. Three sequential treatment steps are used to remove pathogens. Flushed waste is collected in a septic container for sludge collection and partial anaerobic digestion over several days. Continued flushing pushes wastewater into a second container, which uses naturally occurring anaerobic microbes to create a biofilm to digest the waste and absorb chemicals. This microbial biofilm is the engine of the HandyPod treatment process, significantly aiding in conversion of organic chemicals to improve effluent quality.

High microbial activity in all three containers consume a diversity of pathogens so that ‘safe water’ is discharged with each pour-flush. The billions, or trillions, of E. coli pathogens per 100 mL in raw sewage are treated to yield effluent with 28-300 cfu/100 mL. this is well below the Cambodian standards for safe recreation (1,000 cfu/100 mL). Tropical temperatures are especially efficient in promoting the notable high microbial activity of the HandyPod, making this design adaptable to other challenging conditions in tropical climates.

Installed HandyPods on stilted homes in floodplains. Photo © Wetlands Work

installed handypod cambodia

Installed HandyPods on stilted homes in floodplains. Photo © Wetlands Work

From sewage collection to fecal sludge management (FSM), the HandyPod keeps raw waste out of the lake and contributes to resource recovery by diverting urine for use as “liquid gold” fertilizer and generating a valuable solid soil supplement using shallow covered ditches in the dry season. Diverted urine, is collected and then sold to a local organic farming association, supporting a circular economy and local livelihoods while mitigating nutrient pollution and the need for synthetic fertilizers.

Wetlands Work is now endeavoring to adapt the HandyPod design for use in beach and island communities to reduce nutrient pollution. Lab research shows a 90%-95% reduction of nitrogen through sequential aeration chambers compatible with an adapted HandyPod design.  Additional benefits of this effort include protection of island groundwater supplies and eliminating nutrient seepage to avoid harming sea grasses, nearshore corals, and other marine biodiversity. This design can also recover nutrients to produce aquaculture products to support island economies.

In addition to effective sanitation technology, solutions must also achieve social acceptance. Behavioral preferences and socio-economic survey information helped to improve the HandyPod design and functionality, as well as guide marketing strategies in floating villages. Community awareness about privacy, handwashing, and the importance of sanitation has been a large part of HandyPod dissemination. Community-wide raffles have educated entire villages about sanitation by offering seven HandyPods free-of-cost to introduce them to the community. Wetlands Work trains local business operators to install and maintain these systems, and identifies a leader to serve as regional guide to sustain the effort.

Community members attend a HandyPod raffle event put on by Wetlands Work. Photo © Wetlands Work

How successful has it been?

Based on E. coli testing by both an independent lab and WW’s own university-based lab, water discharged from the HandyPod is safe for contact and recreation. Monitoring for nutrients has been challenging, but is a priority for 2021-23. Wetlands Work expects that floating house HandyPods reduce N-loading by about 10%-15%, but the adaptation for beach environments aims to be much higher. Follow-up surveys on both lakes have found overwhelmingly positive feedback from HandyPod users. The convenience and improvement of personal privacy and dignity have been especially valuable to communities, particularly for women. The HandyPod has also become a sign of affluence and the demand for these systems is based more in social status that in health improvement. The Wetlands Work strategy of creating a market-driven solution demonstrates the importance of local economies and livelihoods in promoting HandyPod success. The result is improved sanitation, mitigated environmental contamination, and effective behavior changes.

Lessons learned and recommendations

  • Floating communities are economically disadvantaged and many cannot afford the $100-$140 HandyPod. Wetlands Work will continue to collaborate with the Ministry of Rural Development and EWB Australia to establish a subsidy program for sanitation in challenging environments. This is also needed to meet Cambodia’s 2030 UN SDG 6.2 goal for 100% sanitation coverage, for which such areas remain to be addressed (globally).
  • The awareness raised through the sanitation raffle event was an effective and well-received process that has created demand in communities. Winners are proud of their HandyPod, and this is a stronger marketing tool than promoting family health.
  • Requiring schools and households to pay for a HandyPod and installation promotes a sense of ownership and responsibility, leading to improved system maintenance and education. Free or overly subsidized systems do not generate the same pride or care for the HandyPod.
  • Keeping shelters clean, secure, and well-lit must be a priority to make people feel safe and comfortable using the HandyPod.
  • Local business organizations need professional skills, support, and oversight over a period of at least 2 years to ensure a sustainable market and systems.

Funding summary

The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation (2011-2013: $100,000 USD)
CIDA Canada Grand Challenges in Global Health Program (2015-2017: $105,000 CND)
StartSomeGood crowd funding with World Toilet Organization (2016-2017: $20,000 USD)
WaterAid Cambodia (2017: $6,000 USD)
Transparent Fish Fund (2015-2016: $8,100 USD)
EWB Australia (2017: $5,000 USD and Beach Sanitation research project 2019: $1600 USD)
SaniFlo Corp. (2016: $2,000 USD)
Wirquin Corp.(2016: $11,600 USD)
Global Sanitation Fund through Plan International w/ Cambodia Ministry of Rural Development
FSM protocol research; treatment efficiency and cost reduction research (2018: $25,000)
RELX Group Environmental Challenge Award (2018: $25,000 USD)
Darwin Initiative Award c/o Flora and Fauna International (2018-ongoing: $24,000 USD)
European Union ‘CapFish Green’ – Tonle Sap Lot I & II (2021-2025: $450,000 USD) 

Lead organizations

Wetlands Work, Ltd.
WaterAid, Cambodia
Flora and Fauna International, Myanmar (Inn Chhit Tru Environment, Lake Indawgyi) 

Partners

opens in a new windowWaterAid Cambodia (CIDA grant administration and management)
opens in a new windowFlora and Fauna International, Myanmar (Darwin Award Lead Partner, Myanmar, Indawgyi)
Floating and floodplain school sanitation projects on Tonle Sap Lake: opens in a new windowWorld Toilet Organization (StartSomeGood crowd funding partner for schools)
opens in a new windowSave the Children ECCD Program with The World Bank (Early Childhood Schools, 2019-20)
opens in a new windowRainwater Cambodia with UNICEF (school, 2018)
opens in a new windowSave Cambodia Wildlife (school, 2018)
opens in a new windowLive and Learn Environmental Education (school, 2017)

Resources

opens in a new windowVideo: Wetlands – Handy Pod
opens in a new windowBacteria to Improve Sanitation on Southeast Asia’s Largest Lake

 

 

 

 

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »