創新廢水技術在斐濟的應用

 

活動地點

斐濟Bavu和Namaqumaqua村莊

所面臨的挑戰

村莊人口的增加導致了斐濟維提島東南部“珊瑚海岸”沿線的基礎設施挑戰和廢水產生量的增加。 儘管在這些區域中使用了一些帶有化糞池系統的沖水馬桶,但普遍的滲漏和缺乏維護造成了堵塞,洩漏和地表積聚的問題,給裸露的社區帶來了嚴重的健康風險,並給地表和地下水,海灘帶來了環境風險。 ,以及海洋環境。 這些挑戰反映了斐濟排水不暢的粘土土壤(地表池)以及排水不暢的沙質土壤(地下水污染)的多方面問題。

由於污水管理不足和淡水污染,斐濟社區經歷了腸道疾病和傷寒暴發。 斐濟的生計和經濟與海洋環境(從捕魚到旅遊)的福祉有著內在的聯繫,加劇了污水污染對社區的負面影響。 衛生部呼籲改善衛生實踐,WASH Koro項目於2013年啟動,以探索適當的廢水處理技術。 

所採取的行動

2013年,美國國家水與大氣研究所(NIWA)啟動了一個多機構項目,研究適合斐濟村莊的廢水處理技術。 該項目被稱為WASH Koro項目,旨在通過為村莊提供解決鄉村自身供水,衛生和衛生需求的工具和策略,促進斐濟村莊的社區主導的供水,衛生和衛生狀況的改善。

與村民和政府機構的合作導致在本地化的現場評估和監測的基礎上安裝了衛生系統。 水和污水處理部和衛生部製定了指導方針和培訓,並得到正式批准。 KoroSan現場家庭衛生準則。 這些準則中強調的一項技術是ecoVIP2抽水馬桶。

ecoVIP2廁所是一種無水,雙腔通風廁所,可促進糞便中廢物的分解。 每次使用後,將土壤和有機物(葉子墊料)添加到坑中以吸收液體並增強微生物活性以促進分解。 每個抽水馬桶的結構都是防颶風的,抽水馬桶在兩個封閉的坑道上(一個活動水位和一個備用水位)易於維護。 安裝在天花板上的通風孔可以使光線進入,異味散發出來,並吸引任何蟲子遠離用戶。 這些廁所比一般的沖水馬桶和化糞池系統更有效地建造和維護,因為它們不需要任何自來水或能源。

斐濟Bavu已安裝的ecoVIP2廁所,在結構外部顯示了排氣管。 照片©Andrew Daker

斐濟Bavu已安裝的ecoVIP2廁所,在結構外部顯示了排氣管。 照片©Andrew Daker

Bavu的ecoVIP2廁所的內部視圖,包括一桶有機物,每次使用後都會添加到坑中。 照片©Andrew Daker

Bavu的ecoVIP2廁所的內部視圖,包括一桶有機物,每次使用後都會添加到坑中。 照片©Andrew Daker

使用ecoVIP2廁所的家庭接受瞭如何維護系統的培訓,從建築到向坑中添加有機物。 在所有ecoVIP2馬桶上都安裝了提醒用戶最佳實踐的海報,隨著時間的推移,社區表示滿意。

有關如何在ecoVIP2廁所中準備和使用有機填充材料的說明。 照片©Andrew Daker

有關如何在ecoVIP2廁所中準備和使用有機填充材料的說明。 照片©Andrew Daker

它有多成功?

在斐濟南太平洋蘇瓦大學應用科學研究所的協助下,NIWA監控了4至5年間的兩個ecoVIP廁所(一個位於納馬古馬誇,另一個位於Bavu)的性能。 測量包括隨時間推移的礦坑體積和功能。 用激光監測體積,同時通過岩心採樣監測物理(pH,水分和灰分)和化學(碳,氮和氨)特徵。 還進行了大腸桿菌測試,而家庭訪問則提供了對廁所的滿意度和問題的見解。 在採訪中,沒有來自ecoVIP廁所家庭的異味或昆蟲投訴。 NIWA 2021年XNUMX月報告,在斐濟村莊中應用的廢水處理生態技術的績效, 提供此監視的詳細結果。

Jeremaia Korojuta(USP)顯示了用於從ecoVIP2廁所坑中收集累積垃圾的抓取樣本的試管。 照片©Andrew Daker

Jeremaia Korojuta(USP)顯示了用於從ecoVIP2廁所坑中收集累積垃圾的抓取樣本的試管。 照片©Andrew Daker

在4-5年後,證明了ecoVIP2坑式廁所的有效壽命,將馬桶轉移到另一個坑,第一個廁所進行好氧分解,減少了殘留的固體污泥量,並允許每個坑再次使用之後。 在去除污泥之前充分降解污泥所需的時間仍在監控中,並且正在探索安全處置和再利用的選擇。 這些信息對於確定如何以及何時從ecoVIP2礦井中去除生物固體至關重要,這將為您提供隨著時間的推移經濟和維護成本以及這些系統的整體成功的見解。

村民站在ecoVIP2廁所的外面。 照片©Andrew Daker

村民站在ecoVIP2廁所的外面。 照片©Andrew Daker

污泥中的微生物和昆蟲活動,加上定期添加有機填充劑可減少水分,有助於分解。 根據坑的體積觀察到分解,因為使用最頻繁的廁所直到安裝後四年才達到生產能力。 雙坑設計可延長排空坑之間的時間,並最大程度地減少人類接觸糞便的機會。 生物固體分解還可以顯著減少廢物量,從而有可能在需要排空之前在兩個礦坑之間進行多次輪換。

經驗教訓和建議

  • 場地規格對於確保ecoVIP2廁所的有效性很重要。 洪水區域,斜坡和地下基礎設施不適合ecoVIP2廁所。
  • 至關重要的是,要保護礦井不受降水或地下水進入的任何水分的影響,以保持水分含量以便分解。
  • 投資於廁所的整體結構和外觀,可以支持廁所的保養和功能。 瓷磚地板,安全的蹲坐板和洗手設施就是其中的例子,它們支持這些廁所的整體滿意度和接受度。
  • 覆蓋物的添加通過碳,通氣和酸度增強了傳統坑廁中廢物的分解。

資金摘要

外交和貿易部的新西蘭援助計劃

牽頭組織

NWIA(國家水和大氣研究所有限公司)
南太平洋大學應用科學研究所水質實驗室
科羅桑

合作夥伴

鄉村通路(在Bavu中實現)
斐濟基礎設施和氣象服務部水和污水處理司
斐濟衛生與醫療服務部和斐濟衛生局
外交和貿易部的新西蘭援助計劃
扶輪太平洋生命水基金會

相關資源

斐濟鄉村污水處理生態技術的應用
KoroSan:斐濟的現場家庭衛生準則

Translate »

Application of Innovative Wastewater Technology in Fiji

 

Location

Bavu and Namaqumaqua villages, Fiji

The challenge

Growing village populations have resulted in infrastructure challenges and an increase of wastewater generation along the southeastern “coral coast” of Viti Levu, Fiji. While there are some flush toilets with septic tank systems used in these areas, pervasive leaks and lack of maintenance has created problems of clogging, leaking, and surface pooling, presenting significant health risks to exposed communities and environmental risks for surface and ground waters, beaches, and marine environments. These challenges reflect the multifaceted problem of both poorly draining clay soils (surface pooling) as well as freely draining sandy soils (groundwater contamination) in Fiji.

As a result of inadequate sewage management and freshwater contamination, Fiji’s communities have experienced enteric diseases as well as typhoid outbreaks. The livelihoods and economy in Fiji are intrinsically connected to the wellbeing of the marine environment, from fishing to tourism, increasing the negative impact that sewage pollution has on communities. The Ministry of Health called for improved sanitation practices and the WASH Koro Project was initiated in 2013 to explore appropriate wastewater treatment technologies. 

Actions taken

In 2013, National Institute of Water & Atmospheric Research Ltd (NIWA) began a multi-agency project investigating wastewater treatment technologies appropriate for Fijian villages. Known as the WASH Koro Project, it aimed to facilitate community-led water supply, sanitation and hygiene improvements in Fijian villages by providing tools and strategies for villages to address their own local water supply, sanitation and hygiene needs.

Collaboration with villagers and government agencies led to the installation of sanitation systems based on localized site assessments and monitoring. Guidelines and trainings were developed by the Water and Sewage Department and Ministry of Health, resulting in the formalized and approved opens in a new windowKoroSan Onsite Household Sanitation Guidelines. One technology highlighted in these guidelines is the ecoVIP2 toilet.

The ecoVIP2 toilet is a waterless, dual-chamber ventilated latrine that promotes decomposition of waste within the pit. After each use, soil and organic matter (leaf litter) are added to the pit to absorb liquid and enhance microbial activity to promote decomposition. The structure housing each toilet is constructed to be hurricane-proof with an easily maintained toilet over two enclosed pits (one active and one reserve). A vent installed in the ceiling allows light to come in, odors to go out, and attracts any bugs away from the user. These latrines are more efficient to build and maintain than typical flushed toilets and septic tank systems, as they do not required any piped water or energy.

An installed ecoVIP2 toilet in Bavu, Fiji showing the vent pipe on the outside of the structure. Photo © Andrew Daker

Interior view of the ecoVIP2 toilet in Bavu, including a bucket of organics to add to the pit after each use. Photo © Andrew Daker

Families using the ecoVIP2 toilets were trained on how to maintain the systems, from construction to adding organics to the pit. Posters reminding users of best practices are installed in all of the ecoVIP2 toilets and communities reported satisfaction over time.

Instructions on how to prepare and use organic bulking materials in the ecoVIP2 latrines. Photo © Andrew Daker

How successful has it been?

With the assistance from Institute of Applied Sciences University of the South Pacific Suva, Fiji, NIWA monitored the performance of two ecoVIP toilets (one in Namaqumaqua and the other in Bavu) over 4-5 years.  Measurements include pit volume and functionality over time. Volume was monitored with a laser while physical (pH, moisture, and ash) and chemical (carbon, nitrogen, and ammonia) characteristics were monitored through core sampling. E. coli testing was also conducted, while household interviews provided insight on satisfaction of and problems with the latrines. In the interviews, there were no complaints of odor or insects from ecoVIP toilet households. The NIWA March 2021 report, Performance of Wastewater Treatment Eco-technologies Applied in Fijian villages, provides detailed results of this monitoring.

Jeremaia Korojuta (USP) showing the tube used to collect grab samples of accumulated waste from the pits of ecoVIP2 latrines. Photo © Andrew Daker

After 4-5 years, the demonstrated effective lifespan for an ecoVIP2 pit latrine, the toilet is shifted to another pit and the first is left to further decompose aerobically, reducing the amount of solid sludge left behind and allowing each pit to be used again years later. The amount of time needed to adequately degrade the sludge prior to removal is still being monitored and safe disposal and reuse options are being explored. This information will be critical to determining how and when to remove biosolids from the ecoVIP2 pits, which will provide insight about economic and maintenance costs over time as well as the overall success of these systems.

Village residents stand outside of an ecoVIP2 pit latrine. Photo © Andrew Daker

Microbial and insect activity in the sludge, in combination with reduced moisture from regular additions of organic bulking agents, facilitate decomposition. Decomposition was observed based on pit volume, as the most heavily used latrine did not reach capacity until four years after installation. The dual pit design allows for extended periods between pit emptying and minimized opportunities for human exposure to excrement. Biosolid decomposition also significantly reduces the volume of waste, potentially allowing for multiple alternations between the two pits before emptying is needed.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations

  • Site specifications are important for ensuring effectiveness of ecoVIP2 latrines. Flooding areas, slopes, and underground infrastructure are unsuitable for ecoVIP2 toilets.
  • It is critical to protect the pit from any incoming water, either through precipitation or groundwater, to maintain the moisture content for decomposition.
  • Investing in the overall structure and appearance of the latrine supports upkeep and functionality of the latrine. Tiled floors, secure squat plates, and handwashing facilities are examples of this and support the overall satisfaction and acceptance of these latrines.
  • The addition of mulch enhances the decomposition of waste over a traditional pit latrine through carbon, aeration, and acidity.

Funding summary

New Zealand Aid Programme of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Lead organizations

NWIA (National Institute of Water & Atmospheric Research Ltd)
Institute of Applied Sciences water quality laboratories at the University of the South Pacific
KoroSan

Partners

Rustic Pathways (implementation in Bavu)
Water and Sewage Department of the Fijian Ministry of Infrastructure and Meteorological Services
Fijian Ministry of Health and Medical Services and Fiji Board of Health
New Zealand Aid Programme of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Rotary Pacific Water for Life Foundation

Resources

opens in a new windowPerformance of Wastewater Treatment Eco-technologies Applied in Fijian Villagesopens PDF file
opens in a new windowKoroSan: On-site Household Sanitation Guidelines for Fijiopens PDF file

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »