發展任務:標誌性珊瑚礁

 

地區

美國佛羅里達州的佛羅里達群島

 

所面臨的挑戰

在過去的40年中,佛羅里達礁島礁的珊瑚礁經歷了急劇的下降,並沒有單獨恢復。 當前的管理和地方,獨立的礁石恢復工作還不足以阻止下降,特別是在颶風艾瑪(Irma)最近遭受影響以及快速傳播的石質珊瑚組織喪失病(SCTLD)爆發之後。 需要採取緊急緊急行動–涉及許多本地,國家和國際合作夥伴之間的合作。 面臨的挑戰包括尋找行動來干預下降的原因,擴大當前的修復工作並與關鍵合作夥伴建立新的持久合作。

 

所採取的行動

發展的 任務:標誌性礁石 項目–該過程始於2019年,歷時6個月,涉及25位當地研究人員,修復從業人員以及幾個州和聯邦機構的成員。 該計劃是要使用現有的最佳修復科學,並允許在積極建設階段同時進行研發。 組織了兩次面對面的會議和多次電話會議,以計劃圍繞特定目標的恢復:

  • 選址: 目的是選擇分佈在整個上,中和下礁島的地點,並在廣泛的地理範圍內代表多種礁石類型,以幫助分散大規模撞擊的風險。 選址過程涉及深入的棲息地製圖和測量工作。
  • 具體的恢復目標 在連續的階段中為每個礁石場開發了10個目標,以實現20年和XNUMX年目標。 確定目標涉及製定每個棲息地區域的目標覆蓋率並將這些目標轉化為所需種植珊瑚數量的估計值。 它還涉及考慮從生產到外包的實現這些目標的能力,以及監測能力。
任務標誌性珊瑚礁階段

描述在珊瑚礁現場實現總體目標的分階段方法。 資料來源:恢復七個標誌性礁石:科學和合作計劃

 

  • 考慮的新穎性措施: 根據從過去的項目中學到的經驗,將新的操作添加到恢復計劃中。 首先,將在恢復工作開始之前考慮進行積極的地點準備工作,不僅是在種植珊瑚的地方,而且還考慮在恢復開始之前大規模清除整個地點的入侵和滋擾物種。 第二,積極補充草食動物回到包括 王冠 第1b階段將考慮海膽和帝王蟹。 第三,將在整個過程中納入管理和維護計劃,以確保對站點進行更頻繁的檢查,並在站點很小的情況下解決問題。
  • 籌集資金並建立協作: 公共和私人資金流將由多個組織採用合作夥伴關係方式提供。 這種公私合作夥伴關係將由利益相關者,管理者和公民組成的集合進行協調,並稱為佛羅里達鑰匙修復委員會。

它有多成功?

  • 選址: 縮小了七個標誌性礁石,形成了37個初始礁石地點清單。 根據成功的可能性,生物多樣性和棲息地組成,與其他棲息地類型的連接性,可允許和兼容的人類用途以及當前的執法和合規性活動等特徵選擇礁石地點。 最後的七個礁石地點沿著佛羅里達礁島沿線分佈.
任務標誌性珊瑚礁地圖

為任務:標誌性礁石選擇了七個佛羅里達礁石礁。 資料來源:恢復七個標誌性礁石:科學和合作計劃

 

  • 恢復計劃: 珊瑚的覆蓋率以及 在不同的實施階段中移出的珊瑚數量。 為實現這些目標,在礁區和珊瑚物種之間進行了區分,並為七個選定的礁區中的每一個制定了目標。 這些目標在項目的不同階段中被分解,包括特定的監控計劃和適應性管理的靈活性。 預算了目標,以提供完成所需的必要資金的成本估算。
  • 獲得資金: 籌資計劃被視為投資戰略的願景,並獲得了初始資金以允許制定更大的投資願景和論點。 NOAA修復中心和NOAA珊瑚礁保護計劃已向Keys的兩名主要修復從業人員提供了5.3萬美元的贈款。 此外,NOAA將與外部合作夥伴合作,以獲取最多100億美元的額外公共和私人資金。
  • 實施計劃: 我們正在招聘一名實施協調員,將每個珊瑚礁劃分為多個工作區,並開始製定逐站點實施策略。
屏幕截圖2020 12 14在1.28.38 pm

地理參考照片示例,用於對Carysfort Reef的硬底棲息地進行分類。 每個粉紅色三角形代表提供照片的站點。 資料來源:恢復七個標誌性礁石:科學和合作計劃

 

  • 確保社區的支持和參與: 由於該地區其他現有的相關努力,社區參與為該項目的思想和整個過程的計劃制定提供了信息。 該計劃是在整個項目期間讓社區參與其中

經驗教訓和建議

由於這項工作剛剛起步,因此全面考慮所汲取的教訓還為時過早。 但是,下面列出了計劃過程中的一些組成部分,這些組成部分在考慮類似工作時可能會幫助其他方面:

  • 雖然將恢復力預測和數據的使用視為站點選擇過程的一部分,但空間分辨率和相關趨勢/差異不足以使這些數據集特別有用。
  • 礁區的高分辨率製圖和區分生境區域的能力對於準確預測場地內的恢復需求至關重要。
  • 先前在該地區和特定站點進行恢復的經驗是知情站點選擇和規劃的關鍵。 在著手進行重大規劃工作之前,應進行試點恢復研究,應認真考慮。

資金摘要

  • NOAA修復中心和NOAA珊瑚礁保護計劃已向Keys中的兩名主要修復從業人員提供了5.3萬美元的贈款
  • 要求追加投資至多100億美元

牽頭組織

合作夥伴

大自然保護協會

微粒海洋實驗室和水族館

保密

佛羅里達大學

邁阿密大學

諾瓦東南大學

佛羅里達州環境保護部

佛羅里達魚類和野生動物保護委員

國家海洋保護區基金會

 

該案例研究是與聯合國環境規劃署(UNEP)和國際珊瑚礁倡議(ICRI)合作開發的,是該報告的一部分 珊瑚礁恢復作為改善生態系統服務的戰略:珊瑚恢復方法指南打開PDF文件 .

 

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Developing the Mission: Iconic Reefs

 

Location

The Florida Keys, Florida, USA

 

The challenge

Reefs in the Florida Keys have suffered dramatic declines in the last 40 years and are not recovering on their own. Current management and local, independent reef restoration efforts are not enough to stop decline, particularly after recent impacts from hurricane Irma and outbreaks of the fast-spreading stony coral tissue loss disease (SCTLD). Urgent emergency action is required – one that involves collaboration among many local, national and international partners. The challenge involves finding actions to intervene on causes of decline, scale up current restoration efforts, and develop new and lasting collaboration with key partners.

 

Actions taken

Development of the Mission: Iconic Reefs project – The process started in 2019 and lasted over 6 months involving 25 local researchers, restoration practitioners, and members of several state and federal agencies. The plan was to use the best available restoration science and allow for research and development to occur concurrently with phases of active construction. Two in-person meetings and numerous conference calls were organized to plan restoration around specific goals:

  • Site selection: the aim was to select sites spread out throughout the upper, middle, and lower Keys, and representative of multiple reef types across a wide geographic range to help spread the risk of large-scale impacts. The site selection process involved in-depth habitat mapping and measuring efforts.
  • Specific restoration objectives were developed for each reef site in consecutive phases to meet 10-year and 20-year goals. Defining objectives involved developing target percent cover for each habitat zone and translating these targets to an estimate of number of planted corals required. It also involved consideration of the capacity to achieve these targets from production to outplanting, and monitoring capacity.
mission iconic reefs phases

Depiction of the phased approach to meeting the overall targets at a reef site. Source: Restoring Seven Iconic Reefs: A Scientific and Collaborative Plan

 

  • Novelty actions considered: based on lessons learned from past projects, new actions were added to the restoration plan. First, active site preparation will be considered prior to the beginning of the restoration effort, and  not only where corals are being planted but rather as large-scale removals of invasive and nuisance species across a site before restoration begins. Second, active supplementation of herbivores back to the sites including diadema sea urchins and king crabs will be considered in phase 1b. Third, a stewardship and maintenance program will be incorporated throughout the process to ensure that sites are checked on a more frequent basis and that issues are addressed while they are still minor.
  • Source funding and build collaboration: public and private funding streams will be sourced by multiple organizations using a partnership approach. This public-private partnership will be coordinated by a collection of stakeholders, managers, and citizens and be known as the Florida Keys Restoration Council.

How successful has it been?

  • Site selection: Seven iconic reefs narrowed down form a list of 37 initial reef sites. Reef sites were chosen based upon characteristics such as likelihood of success, biodiversity and habitat composition, connectivity to other habitat types, allowable and compatible human uses, and current enforcement and compliance activities. The final seven reef sites are spread out along the stretch of the Florida Keys.
mission iconic reefs map

Seven Florida Keys reefs selected for Mission: Iconic Reefs. Source: Restoring Seven Iconic Reefs: A Scientific and Collaborative Plan

 

  • Restoration plan: Specific objectives were laid out in percent cover of corals as well as number of corals outplanted in distinct implementation phases. Targets to achieve these objectives were differentiated among reef zones and coral species and developed for each of the seven selected reef sites. These targets were broken down among the different phases of the project, including specific monitoring plan and flexibility for adaptive management. Objectives were budgeted to provide a cost estimate of necessary funding required for completion.
  • Secured funding: The funding plan was approached as a vision for investment strategy, with initial funding secured to allow for developing a bigger vision and argument for investment. NOAA Restoration Center and the NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program have awarded US$5.3 million in grants to two primary restoration practitioners in the Keys. In addition, NOAA will work with outside partners to secure additional public and private funds up to US$100 million.
  • Plan for implementation: We are hiring an implementation coordinator, segmenting each reef into work zones, and beginning to develop site by site implementation strategies.
screen shot 2020 12 14 at 1.28.38 pm

Example of a georeferenced photo used to classify hardbottom habitat at Carysfort Reef. Each pink triangle represents a site where photos were provided. Source: Restoring Seven Iconic Reefs: A Scientific and Collaborative Plan

 

  • Secure community support and engagement: Community engagement informed the thinking on this project and the plan development throughout the process thanks to other existing related efforts in the region. The plan is to engage the community in the efforts throughout the duration of the project

Lessons learned and recommendations

As this effort is just launching it is too soon for a comprehensive consideration of lessons learned. However, a few components of the planning process that might help others when considering a similar effort are noted below:

  • While the use of resilience predictions and data were considered as part of the site selection process, the spatial resolution and associated trends/differentials were not sufficient to make these datasets particularly useful.
  • High resolution mapping of the reef area and the ability to differentiate habitat zones was critical to making accurate predictions of restoration requirements within a site.
  • Previous experience with restoration in the region and the specific sites was key to informed site selection and planning. Conducting a pilot restoration study prior to embarking on a major planning effort should be given serious consideration.

Funding summary

  • NOAA Restoration Center and the NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program have awarded US$5.3 million in grants to two primary restoration practitioners in the Keys
  • Call for additional investment for up to US$100 million

Lead organizations

Partners

The Nature Conservancy

Mote Marine Laboratory & Aquarium

SECORE

University of Florida

University of Miami

Nova Southeastern University

Florida Department of Environmental Protection

Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission

National Marine Sanctuary Foundation

 

This case study was developed in collaboration with the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the International Coral Reef Initiative (ICRI) as part of the report Coral Reef Restoration as a Strategy to Improve Ecosystem Services: A Guide to Coral Restoration Methodsopens PDF file .

 

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »