反复恢復工作的長期結果

 

地區

以色列埃拉特灣埃拉特

 

所面臨的挑戰

我們面臨的挑戰包括三個方面:1)在概念上面臨的挑戰–恢復因人為密集的活動而退化但仍受到人類不懈影響的珊瑚礁。 (2)生態工程挑戰–顯著提高移植珊瑚群落的長期存活率; (3)一個技術挑戰–將移植的珊瑚牢固地附著在硬底三維礁石結構上,包括垂直基質。

 

所採取的行動

  1. 育苗階段– 該項目選擇了XNUMX種當地常見的珊瑚物種:XNUMX種分支物種(Stylophora pistillata, Pocillopora damicornis, 變異棘孢, 蘆薈, 法老, 有效, 千足蟲)和大量物種(雙歧桿菌)。 從供體菌落中修剪出珊瑚核蛋白,並進行海水養殖,直到在埃拉特北部海灣的水下浮礁苗圃中達到完全發育的菌落大小為止。
dsc00108

埃拉特中層水上漂浮苗圃的珊瑚海水養殖(深度10 m):小碎片產生了新的菌落(照片左側),並飼養直至形成大的菌落準備移植。 照片©Y.Horoszowski-Fridman

 

  1. 許可階段– 另一個主要挑戰包括獲得移植部位的許可證,移植方法和程序以及每個部位的移植珊瑚菌落數量。
  1. 移植階段– 批准的移植地點是苗圃西南約3公里處Dekel海灘附近的一個礁石。 由於靠近海軍,商業港口和受歡迎的潛水中心,該地區受到各種人類活動的嚴重影響。 德克爾海灘的淺礁(深度6-13 m)由沙丘上的散落的丘陵組成,大部分被珊瑚所掩蓋。 我們隨機選擇11個小丘,將其分為“移植”或“參考”組。 在三個移植階段中總共移植了1,400個珊瑚菌落。 第一次會議於2005年開始,隨後的會議以1.5年為間隔,這使我們第一次能夠重複移植(即,將移植物添加到在以前的移植會議中移植的小山丘上)。 使用水下鑽孔方法將移植物固定在丘陵上,該方法可在垂直面上進行移植,以最大程度地覆蓋目標區域。 在最初的六年中,每2-3個月進行一次監測,並在接下來的9年(現在是第一次移植事件以來的15年)中偶爾進行監測。 整個移植計劃在Horoszowski-Fridman等人中進行了描述。 2015、2020。

它有多成功?

這項研究顯示出令人鼓舞和令人驚訝的結果。

  1. 珊瑚的外植體與珊瑚群沒有任何記錄的壓力相關聯,從長期來看,苗圃移植的存活率略低於在實驗點自然生長的高度適應的菌落(Horoszowski-Fridman等人2015)。 (2020年)。
  2. 儘管在德克爾海灘礁現場的環境條件充滿挑戰,但養殖的移植物仍以增加的速度繼續增長,這與珊瑚苗圃中記錄的相當。
  3. 與粘合/固結方法相比,採用鑽孔方法可以提高移植效率,並且可以在垂直面上進行移植(Horoszowski-Fridman等人,2015)。
  4. 重複移植顯著提高了移植的存活率。 15年後,只有經過反复移植的小山丘仍在蓬勃發展。
  5. Stylophora pistillata 移植後八年中,幼蟲的繁殖能力得到了提高,幼蟲數量比德克海灘自然生長的菌落多出十倍。
  6. 移植為大量與珊瑚有關的生物(魚類和無脊椎動物)提供了新的棲息地。
代克爾k1

在通過“海洋造林”重複方法對其進行修復的11年後,在Dekel海灘上移植了一個小丘。 移植菌落產生了複雜的空間結構,支持了與珊瑚礁相關的各種動物。 即使在移植後15年,該丘陵仍保持不變。 照片©S.Shafir

 

經驗教訓和建議

  • 即使在無法減輕人類影響的地方,也可以恢復珊瑚礁
  • 與本地殖民地相比,苗圃場移植可以提高和改善生長速度和繁殖產量
  • 苗圃條件可以“裝備”具有改良生物學特性的移植物
  • 改進的基板附著方法可提高修復效率
  • 重複移植成為珊瑚礁修復中的重要生態工程工具
  • 長期成果證明,除了恢復珊瑚群落外,還恢復了與珊瑚礁有關的動物。

 

資金摘要

資金來源:AID-MERC計劃(編號M33-001)和IOLR北美之友(NAF / IOLR)。

 

牽頭組織

以色列Oranim學院的Yael Horoszowski-Fridman博士,Shai Shafir博士; 研究生和志願者。

 

該案例研究是與聯合國環境規劃署(UNEP)和國際珊瑚礁倡議(ICRI)合作開發的,是該報告的一部分 珊瑚礁恢復作為改善生態系統服務的戰略:珊瑚恢復方法指南打開PDF文件 .

 

 

資源

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Long-Term Outcomes of Repeated Restoration Efforts

 

Location

Eilat, Gulf of Eilat, Israel

 

The challenge

Our challenge was three-fold: 1) A conceptual challenge – to restore a denuded reef that has been degraded by intensive anthropogenic activities, and is still impacted by unremitting human impacts; (2) An ecological engineering challenge – to significantly enhance long term survivorship of transplanted coral colonies; (3) A technical challenge – to securely attach transplanted corals on hard bottom three-dimensional reef structures, including vertical substrates.

 

Actions taken

  1. Nursery phase – Eight locally common coral species were selected for the project: seven branching species (Stylophora pistillata, Pocillopora damicornis, Acropora variabilis, A. humilis, A. pharaonis, A. valida, Millepora dichotoma) and a massive species (Dipsastraea favus). Coral nubbins were pruned from donor colonies and were maricultured until they reached sizes of fully developed colonies in an underwater floating reef nursery installed in the northern Gulf of Eilat.
dsc00108

Coral mariculture at the Eilat’s mid-water floating nursery (10 m depth): new colonies are generated from small fragments (left in the photo) and reared until developed to large colonies ready for transplantation (right). Photo © Y. Horoszowski-Fridman

 

  1. Permitting phase – Another major challenge included getting permits for the transplantation site, the transplantation methodologies and procedures, and the number of transplanted coral colonies per site.
  1. The transplantation phase – The approved transplantation site was a reef off Dekel Beach, about 3 km southwest of the nursery. This area is heavily impacted by various human activities due to its proximity to the navy, the commercial ports, and a popular diving center. The shallow reef at Dekel Beach (6-13 m depth) consists of scattered knolls on a sandy slope, mostly denuded of corals. We randomly selected 11 knolls that were divided into either ‘transplanted’ or ‘reference’ groups. A total of 1,400 coral colonies were transplanted during three transplantation sessions. The first session was started in 2005, and the following sessions occurred in 1.5 year intervals, which allowed us, for the first time, to repeat transplantation (i.e., add transplants onto knolls transplanted in former outplanting sessions). The transplants were secured to the knolls using an underwater drilling methodology that enabled the transplantation on vertical facets for maximum coverage of the target area. Monitoring was performed every 2-3 months over the first six years and sporadically for the next 9 years (now 15 years since the first transplantation event). The overall transplantation plan is described in Horoszowski-Fridman et al. 2015, 2020.

How successful has it been?

This study revealed encouraging and surprising results.

  1. Coral outplanting was not associated with any recorded stress to the coral colony, and over the long-term, the nursery-bred transplants had slightly lower survival rates than the highly adapted colonies naturally growing at the experimental site (Horoszowski-Fridman et al. 2015, 2020).
  2. Despite challenging environmental conditions at Dekel Beach reef site, the farmed transplants continued growing at enhanced rates, equivalent to those recorded in the coral nursery.
  3. The drilling methodology employed increased transplantation efficiency compared to gluing/cementing approaches and enabled transplantation on vertical facets (Horoszowski-Fridman et al. 2015).
  4. Repeated transplantation dramatically improved the survival of transplants. After 15 years, only the knolls that were repeatedly transplanted are still flourishing.
  5. Stylophora pistillata had improved reproductive outputs, releasing ten times more larvae than the colonies naturally growing at Dekel Beach for the eight years following transplantation.
  6. Transplants provided new habitats for coral-associated organisms (fish and invertebrates) that recruited to the restored site in high numbers.
dekel k1

A transplanted knoll at Dekel Beach, 11 years after it was restored by the ‘marine silviculture’ repeated methodology. Transplant colonies created complex spatial structures supporting a diverse reef-associated fauna. This knoll remained the same even 15 years post-transplantation. Photo © S. Shafir

 

Lessons learned and recommendations

  • Coral reefs can be restored even in sites where human impacts are not relieved
  • Nursery-farmed transplants can have enhanced and improved growth rates and reproductive outputs compared to local colonies
  • Nursery conditions can ‘equip’ transplants with improved biological traits
  • Improved attachment methodologies to the substrate enhance restoration efficiency
  • Repeated transplantation emerged as an important ecological engineering tool in reef restoration
  • Long-term outcomes attest to the restoration of reef associated fauna in addition to the restoration of coral communities

 

Funding summary

Funding sources: AID-MERC program (no M33-001) and the North American Friends of IOLR (NAF/IOLR).

 

Lead organizations

Dr Yael Horoszowski-Fridman, Dr. Shai Shafir, Oranim College, Israel; graduate students and volunteers.

 

This case study was developed in collaboration with the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the International Coral Reef Initiative (ICRI) as part of the report Coral Reef Restoration as a Strategy to Improve Ecosystem Services: A Guide to Coral Restoration Methodsopens PDF file .

 

 

Resources

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »