大範圍珊瑚礁恢復試驗 

 

地區

日本沖繩縣

 

所面臨的挑戰

日本沖繩縣的珊瑚礁是重要的生境,支持著高度生物多樣性以及高價值的漁業和旅遊業。 然而,在2000年代初,由於一系列的干擾,包括漂白,捕食和破壞,沖繩群島周圍的珊瑚覆蓋率已降至10%以下。 棘輪蟲 比照 日光浴,土壤侵蝕和富營養化。 2010年,沖繩縣政府宣布了“ 21世紀沖繩願景”,其目的是審查珊瑚礁和天然海岸線的經濟和公共價值,並開發新的保護和恢復系統/框架。

 

所採取的行動

縣政府實施了一項為期7年的項目(2010年至2016年),以進行珊瑚礁修復的技術開發和研究,同時還開展了其他各種珊瑚礁保護項目,包括公眾意識和教育。 該項目包含2個主要計劃; 1)在較大的空間尺度上進行珊瑚外植的試點研究,以及2)珊瑚礁恢復的研究。

在三個地點進行了大範圍珊瑚外植的試點研究:恩納村,讀谷村和座間味村。 活動包括:

  • 種子(少年)菌落生產
  • 在苗圃裡種植珊瑚
  • 外植(3公頃)
沖繩kerama

圖1.沖繩島地圖。

 

有關珊瑚修復的研究包括:

  • 回顧有關珊瑚養殖和移栽的文獻
  • 對珊瑚種群進行遺傳分析以獲取遺傳多樣性
  • 評估適合珊瑚外植的種子種群密度

它有多成功?

開發了系統的種子生產和苗圃流程循環,以進行大規模恢復,以提供3公頃的珊瑚種子。

  • 在恩納(Onna)村,所有用於移栽的珊瑚種子都是通過無性繁殖從調養的殖民地生產的,其中包括20個 鹿角 物種和其他30種珊瑚物種。 珊瑚種子也是通過有性繁殖在阿卡島和久米島的私人研究所生產的,用於移栽。
  • 在讀谷村,當地設施生產了珊瑚種子,無性繁殖供外植。
  • 在座間味村,在該村水產養殖設施的繩索上從自然招募人員那裡收集了珊瑚種子。 在大規模產卵期間,還從天然幼蟲產生種子進行移栽。
  • 恩納村使用無性繁殖種子的外植面積最高,為2.74公頃。 恩納村的種子數量最高,有104,687個殖民地。
有性生殖

種子生產階段:有性繁殖。 照片©沖繩縣政府

無性繁殖

種子生產階段:無性繁殖。 照片©沖繩縣政府

幼兒園

育苗階段:帶有基質裝置的珊瑚種子。 照片©沖繩縣政府

031捐助農場

施主殖民地農場。 照片©恩納村漁業合作社

出圃

在修復部位移栽。 照片©沖繩縣政府

 

在研究階段,收集了有關珊瑚移植和恢復的當前和過去信息,以總結和提出有關未來恢復工作的建議。 在該項目中還對珊瑚種群進行了遺傳分析,以檢查養殖種子菌落的遺傳多樣性。 最後,評估了外植菌落的種群密度,以確定成功繁殖所需的適當密度。

  • 珊瑚的基因組分析 鹿角珊瑚(Acropora digitifera) (Dana,1846年)表明,該物種在包括沖繩島在內的南塞島上沒有單個基因種群,但是在DNA水平上存在針對不同地區和島嶼位置的特定標記。
  • 中華 (達納,1846年)是一種用於珊瑚恢復的流行物種,在沖繩水域至少有2個遺傳種群。 但是,這兩個種群尚未明確鑑定,但根據位點具有不同的種群遺傳結構。
  • 遺傳分析表明,沖繩縣周圍珊瑚種群的遺傳結構複雜,應從移植附近的地點收集用於移栽的種子菌落和供體菌落,以防止對該種群的遺傳結構造成破壞和乾擾。 如 中華 (達娜,1846年)沒有顯示出在其自然棲息地中克隆的任何種群,用於恢復的種子集落應該通過有性繁殖來產生。 即使使用無性繁殖的種子進行外植,也應在基因型上鑑定供體菌落,並且在成熟時應在不同位置外植種子菌落以成功受精於不同基因型。

經驗教訓和建議

該項目發現了3個主要經驗教訓:

  1. 種子生產成本仍然很高,應該降低以實現可持續恢復
    • 無性繁殖的種子生產成本為每個種子菌落2,000日元(39美元),而有性繁殖的種子為2,700日元(24.82美元)– 3,500日元(32.18美元)。
    • 提高種子生產的成本效益將需要簡化和優化有性和無性繁殖技術,並提高移栽後的存活率。
  1. 可持續系統對地方一級珊瑚礁管理的重要性
    • 恩納村在該項目期間顯示了由漁業合作社領導的成功恢復。 自從1998年他們經歷了大規模的珊瑚褪色之後開始進行珊瑚保護工作以來,該村就對可持續發展懷有強烈的熱情和政策。 該村的漁業合作社開展了許多項目,以防止水土流失,富營養化和捕食。 棘輪蟲 日光浴,不僅保護他們的漁業資源,還保護他們的旅游資源。 2018年,該村被宣佈為“珊瑚村”,以應對2016年發生的另一場大規模珊瑚褪色事件,並繼續應對保護珊瑚礁以促進可持續發展的挑戰。 這些經驗加速了其關於可持續利用自然資源的保護政策和活動,並導致了長期的珊瑚礁恢復行動。
    • 在珊瑚礁恢復的背景下,應強調當地社區對可持續資源管理的發展。
    • 對社區的公眾意識和教育將支持關於沿海地區珊瑚礁恢復和綜合管理的長期和可持續行動。
  1. 需要採取對策,以防止水溫過高引起的珊瑚白化。
    • 2016年的大規模漂白使外植和天然珊瑚群落均遭受了嚴重破壞。
    • 對脆弱地區的更多研究,對高溫水的抗性遺傳株係以及自然日光遮蔽的技術發展將為防止珊瑚白化提供可能的對策。

為了跟進這些教訓,正在進行一個新項目,直到2022年,以解決以下挑戰:提高種子的存活率和生長,增加對移栽種群的幼蟲擴散和種群動態以及生態,經濟和社會價值有效性的研究,為當地社區修復珊瑚礁。

 

資金摘要

日本沖繩縣

 

牽頭組織

沖繩縣政府環境廳自然保護課

 

合作夥伴

 

該案例研究是與聯合國環境規劃署(UNEP)和國際珊瑚礁倡議(ICRI)合作開發的,是該報告的一部分 珊瑚礁恢復作為改善生態系統服務的戰略:珊瑚恢復方法指南打開PDF文件 .

 

 

資源

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

A Trial of Coral Reef Restoration at a Large Spatial Scale 

 

Location

Okinawa prefecture, Japan

 

The challenge

Coral reefs in the Okinawa prefecture, Japan, are important habitats supporting high biological diversity and high value fisheries and tourism industries. However, in the early 2000s, coral cover around the Okinawan islands had dropped below 10% due to a range of disturbances including bleaching, predation by Acanthaster cf. solaris, soil erosion, and eutrophication. In 2010, The Okinawan prefectural government declared a “21st century vision for Okinawa” that aimed to review economic and public values of coral reefs and natural coastlines and develop a new system / framework for its conservation and restoration.

 

Actions taken

The prefectural government conducted a 7-year project (2010-2016) for the technical development and research on coral reef restoration accompanied by various other projects on reef conservation including public awareness and education. The project contained 2 major programs; 1) pilot study of coral outplanting at a large spatial scale, and 2) research on coral reef restoration.

The pilot study of coral outplanting at a large spatial scale was conducted at three locations: Onna, Yomitan and Zamami villages. Activities included:

  • Seed (Juvenile) colony production
  • Growing corals in a nursery
  • Outplanting (at 3 ha)
okinawa kerama

Figure 1. Map of Okinawa Island.

 

Research on coral restoration included:

  • Reviewing the literature on coral culture and outplanting
  • Conducting genetic analysis of coral populations for genetic diversity
  • Assessing the appropriate density of seed colony for coral outplanting

How successful has it been?

A systematic cycle of seed production and nursery processes was developed for large scale restoration to provide coral seeds across 3 hectares.

  • At Onna village, all coral seeds for outplanting were produced from asexual reproduction from nursed colonies which consisted by 20 Acropora species and 30 other coral species. Coral seeds were also produced by sexual reproduction at private research institutes in Aka Island and Kume Island for outplanting.
  • At Yomitan village, coral seeds were produced at the local facility with asexual reproduction for outplanting.
  • At Zamami village, coral seeds were collected from the natural recruitments on the ropes of the aquaculture facility in the village. The seeds were also produced from the natural larvae during the mass spawning for outplanting.
  • The outplanting area using seeds by asexual reproduction was highest in Onna village with an area of 2.74 ha. The number of seeds were also the highest at the Onna village with 104,687 colonies.
sexual reproduction

Seed production phase: Sexual reproduction. Photo © Okinawa Prefectural Government

asexual reproduction

Seed production phase: Asexual reproduction. Photo © Okinawa Prefectural Government

nursery

Nursery phase: Coral seeds with substrate devices. Photo © Okinawa Prefectural Government

031 donor farm

Donor colony farm. Photo © Onna Village Fishery Cooperative

outplanting

Outplanting at the restoration site. Photo © Okinawa Prefectural Government

 

For the research phase, current and past information on coral transplantation and restoration were collected to summarize and develop recommendations for future restoration efforts. Genetic analysis of coral populations was also conducted in this project for examining genetic diversity of cultured seed colonies. Finally, the population density of outplanted colonies was assessed to identify appropriate density for successful reproduction.

  • A genomic analysis of the coral Acropora digitifera (Dana, 1846) showed that the species did not have a single gene population in Nansei islands including Okinawa, but there were specific markers at the DNA level for different areas and island localities.
  • Acropora tenuis (Dana, 1846), a popular species for coral restoration, had at least 2 genetic populations in Okinawan waters. However, these 2 populations were not clearly identified, but had different population genetics structures depending on the site.
  • The genetic analysis revealed that the genetic structure of the coral population was complex around Okinawa prefecture and seed colonies and donor colonies for outplanting should be collected from the site near the outplanting to prevent destruction and disturbance of genetic structure of the population. As Acropora tenuis (Dana, 1846) didn’t show any population cloned in its natural habitat, seed colony for restoration should be produced by sexual reproduction. Even when seeds from asexual reproduction were used for outplanting, the donor colonies should be identified on genotypes and seed colonies should be outplanted at the different locations for successful fertilization with different genotypes when they are mature.

Lessons learned and recommendations

The project found 3 major lessons learned:

  1. The cost of seed production is still high and should be reduced for sustainable restoration
    • Seed production by asexual reproduction cost JPY2,000 (US$39) per seed colony compared with JPY2,700 (US$24.82) – JPY3,500 (US$32.18) for seed produced by sexual reproduction.
    • Improving the cost-effectiveness of seed production would require simplifying and optimizing the techniques for both sexual and asexual reproduction, and improving survival after outplanting.
  1. Importance of sustainable system on reef management at the local level
    • Onna village showed successful restoration led by the Fishery Cooperatives during the project. That village has had strong enthusiasm and policy for sustainable development since coral conservation efforts started in 1998 after they experienced mass coral bleaching. The Fisheries cooperative from the village has had many projects to prevent soil erosion, eutrophication and predation of Acanthaster solaris, and protect not only their fisheries resources but also tourist resources. In 2018, the village was declared a “coral village” to respond to another mass coral bleaching event that occurred in 2016, and continue to address challenges of reef conservation for sustainable development. These experiences have accelerated their conservation policy and activities on sustainable use of natural resources and led to long term reef restoration actions.
    • Local community development for sustainable resource management should be emphasized in the context of the reef restoration.
    • Public awareness and education for the community would support long-term and sustainable actions on reef restoration and integrated management along the coast.
  1. Need countermeasures against coral bleaching induced by high water temperatures.
    • Both outplanted and natural coral colonies had severe damages from the mass bleaching in 2016.
    • More research on vulnerable sites, genetic strain of resistance for high water temperature and technical development of shading of natural sunlight would provide possible countermeasures against coral bleaching.

To follow-up on these lessons, a new project is underway until 2022 to tackle the challenges of enhancing seeds’ survival and growth, increasing research on larval dispersal and population dynamics of the outplanted colony, and the effectiveness of ecological, economic and social values, of reef restoration for local communities.

 

Funding summary

Okinawa prefecture, Japan

 

Lead organizations

Nature Conservation Division, Department of Environmental Affairs, Okinawa Prefectural Government

 

Partners

 

This case study was developed in collaboration with the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the International Coral Reef Initiative (ICRI) as part of the report Coral Reef Restoration as a Strategy to Improve Ecosystem Services: A Guide to Coral Restoration Methodsopens PDF file .

 

 

Resources

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »