珊瑚恢復以適應南太平洋的氣候變化

 

地區

斐濟,基里巴斯,圖瓦盧,薩摩亞,瓦努阿圖和法屬玻里尼西亞

 

所面臨的挑戰

氣候變化正日益成為南太平洋地區珊瑚礁的主要壓力源,它取代了過度捕撈,水質問題和對珊瑚礁的有形破壞,而珊瑚礁是許多珊瑚礁下降的主要原因。 海洋變暖導致大規模的珊瑚褪色和珊瑚死亡,這有可能破壞過去幾十年在珊瑚礁保護方面取得的許多進展。 面對大規模的漂白,管理得當,甚至原始的珊瑚礁也比過度捕撈和退化的珊瑚礁更具韌性。 為了應對作為最大的新挑戰的氣候變化,需要採取提高抗漂白性和漂白後恢復的策略。 對於南太平洋來說,恢復珊瑚礁的資金非常困難,這些戰略需要納入旅遊業和社區努力的主流。

 

所採取的行動

通過能力建設,建立珊瑚苗圃和由抗漂白珊瑚組成的恢復地點,以珊瑚為重點的適應氣候變化的措施大部分都嵌套在現有的珊瑚礁管理策略和海洋保護區中。 未漂白的珊瑚是在大規模漂白事件中取樣的,其種群被證明對更寬闊的礁石系統(淺封閉潟湖和礁石平坦的潮汐池)的自然熱袋內的漂白沒有抵抗力。 特別強調抽樣 鹿角 被證明特別容易遭受漂白和漂白後死亡率的物種,並且我們發現它們在受到嚴重漂白影響的珊瑚礁上變得罕見或局部滅絕。 這通常是一場與時間的競賽,因為我們的站點已經清楚地表明,掠奪可以殺死僅在數月之內就能倖免於大規模漂白的大部分事物。 碎片取自這些抗漂白的珊瑚,並建立在基因庫苗圃中,該苗圃位於壓力較小/溫度較低的水環境中,不受捕食者侵害。 工作的第二階段涉及修剪苗圃中生長的菌落的片段,以便將其移植到位於已建立的禁獵區內退化的珊瑚礁上的修復斑塊上,其中其他脅迫因素降至最低。

 

它有多成功?

我們制定了一項恢復策略,可以在七個南太平洋島國的珊瑚礁上建立抗漂白能力,從而幫助珊瑚礁適應不斷升高的水溫。 我們已經向該地區的大量學員介紹了該策略。 建立了國家和地方夥伴關係,恢復工作已與正在進行的珊瑚保護工作聯繫在一起。 迄今為止,已經建立了XNUMX個基因庫珊瑚苗圃:斐濟,基里巴斯,圖瓦盧,薩摩亞,瓦努阿圖和法屬玻里尼西亞,每個物種都有數十種,每種物種都有多種珊瑚基因型。
珊瑚與魚和園丁的皮爾2020年XNUMX月

基因庫苗圃裡有母珊瑚,珊瑚園丁以及有助於保持珊瑚健康的魚類。 斐濟瑪瑪努卡群島。 照片©Austin Bowden-Kerby

 

在斐濟,我們的主要度假勝地合作夥伴網站位於瑪瑪努卡群島的Plantation Island Resort。 該度假勝地贊助了15名斐濟人的培訓,他們是專業的珊瑚園丁,服務於旅遊業。 該度假村於2018年僱用了兩名珊瑚園丁作為全職員工,以維護和推進珊瑚修復工作。 2019-20年度,該度假村舉辦了三場非常成功的國際修復研討會,培訓了來自75個國家的19人。 還與土著社區和其他度假勝地奠定了基礎,以便在更廣泛的地區建立永久性海洋公園。 隨著COVID-4危機的發生,度假村關閉,所有培訓都被取消,但是度假村繼續僱用兩名珊瑚園丁,並為保護珊瑚(CXNUMXC)提供船隻和住宿,以維持和促進珊瑚的恢復和抗漂白作用。

 

在基里巴斯,2015-16年度大規模珊瑚白化持續了14個月,過去30個月中白化溫度持續了60個月,幾乎沒有珊瑚生存,許多物種已在當地滅絕。 在我們的基里蒂瑪蒂(聖誕節環礁)遺址,幾乎所有分支珊瑚都在大規模漂白中被殺死,但是我們已經能夠找到並繁殖出一些“超級珊瑚”倖存者,其中至少有XNUMX種是基因型 鹿角 種類和兩個 鹿角 種在我們的田間苗圃中收集和繁殖。 迄今為止,已經為其中兩個建立了兩個外植點。 鹿角 物種和其中之一 鹿角 種。

 

COVID-19危機阻止了國際旅行和跟進,目前將C4C的工作限制在斐濟。 儘管報告不穩定,但本地合作夥伴仍在繼續進行站點維護。
kiritimati超級珊瑚繩

基里巴斯的超級珊瑚在托兒所的繩索上。 照片©Austin Bowden-Kerby

 

經驗教訓和建議

  • 漂白後的捕食和少數大規模漂白倖存者的死亡可能是阻止珊瑚礁隨著時間的推移適應溫度升高的重要因素。
  • 由於熱應力逐年增加,因此從熱脅迫的熱袋中收集珊瑚可能是時間敏感的,並且一些以前充滿抗性珊瑚的熱袋已經超過了任何珊瑚生存的最高溫度。 到2016年工作開始時,最耐漂白的種群已經在基里蒂瑪蒂環礁上消失了。在圖瓦盧的富納富提環礁上,南部淺潟湖中90%以上的珊瑚已經死了並站立著,顯然在此之前大量死亡這項工作於2018年開始。在可能的情況下,應在涼爽水域的基因庫苗圃中取樣並建立剩餘的袋裝珊瑚。
  • 不可能重新種植整個珊瑚礁,但是有可能迅速啟動自然恢復過程,並在各珊瑚種群之間傳播抗白化作用。 我們已經看到苗圃周圍有大量的幼體募集,苗圃顯然已成為傳入幼蟲的強大定居信號。 沒有珊瑚礁的珊瑚礁可能會由於缺乏定居線索而推遲通過募集恢復的時間,因此擴大規模並不需要將珊瑚重新種植到整個珊瑚礁系統中,而相距較遠的密集珊瑚塊可能會重新啟動自然的珊瑚募集過程,因為只要幼蟲源存在上流。 還有希望的是,如果珊瑚幼蟲在沒有任何共生藻類的情況下定居在“裸露”的地方,並從附近珊瑚洩漏的藻類中獲取藻類,那麼廣泛間隔的移栽可能會收穫更大的結果,因此抗漂白的珊瑚斑可能會傳播其抗藥性。藻類到新近定居的珊瑚。 最後,如果外植斑塊由每種珊瑚物種的多種基因型組成,則稀有和抗性珊瑚種群之間將重新建立有性繁殖,因此可以確保自然恢復和抗性的第三個來源。
  • 旅遊部門和社區可以成為採取行動和取得進展的主要資源,但是要獲得有效性,就必須進行培訓和長期指導。 珊瑚園丁作為一種職業是可以操作的,並且所採用的多種方法不依賴於SCUBA,因此成本更低且更易獲得。
60348845 2284700038513968 6410602777952649216ñ

2019年XNUMX月,在瑪瑪努卡群島斐濟種植園島度假村舉辦了首個旅遊業國際珊瑚園藝講習班。照片©Austin Bowden-Kerby

 

資金摘要

資金大部分來自“全球捐贈”活動,斐濟的土地費用由種植園島度假村提供支持,基里巴斯和圖瓦盧的土地也得到了保護食品和健康基金會,南十字星的支持, 萊恩群島漁業(基里巴斯)和環境部(圖瓦盧)。 其他支持包括:聯合國糧農組織(薩摩亞),艾瑞達島(瓦努阿圖)和世界衝浪聯盟(莫奧雷阿)。

 

牽頭組織

 

合作夥伴

種植園島度假村,Malolo社區,Naidiri社區,線群島漁業,圖瓦盧里奇到礁石計劃,薩摩亞漁業,糧農組織南太平洋,珊瑚園丁莫雷阿島,世界衝浪聯盟

 
 

該案例研究是與聯合國環境規劃署(UNEP)和國際珊瑚礁倡議(ICRI)合作開發的,是該報告的一部分 珊瑚礁恢復作為改善生態系統服務的戰略:珊瑚恢復方法指南打開PDF文件 .
por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Coral Restoration for Climate Change Adaptation in the South Pacific

 

Location

Fiji, Kiribati, Tuvalu, Samoa, Vanuatu, and French Polynesia

 

The challenge

Climate change is increasingly becoming the major stressor on coral reefs of the South Pacific region, replacing overfishing, water quality issues, and physical destruction of reefs as the major cause of reef decline on many reefs. Warming oceans is resulting in mass coral bleaching and coral death, which threatens to undermine much of the progress made in coral reef conservation over the past decades. Well managed, and even pristine coral reefs have proven no more resilient than overfished and degraded reefs in the face of mass bleaching. Strategies to increase bleaching resistance and post-bleaching recovery are needed in order to address climate change as the greatest emerging challenge. For the South Pacific, where funding for coral reef restoration has been very difficult, these strategies need to be mainstreamed into the tourism industry and community-based efforts.

 

Actions taken

Coral-focused climate change adaptation measures have for the most part been nested within existing coral reef management strategies and MPAs, through capacity building and the establishment of coral nurseries and restoration sites composed of bleaching resistant corals. Unbleached corals are sampled during mass-bleaching events and from populations proven resistant to bleaching within natural hot pockets in the wider reef system – shallow closed lagoons and reef flat tide pools. Special emphasis is placed on sampling Acropora species, which have proven particularly vulnerable to bleaching and to post-bleaching mortality, and which we have found to become rare or locally extinct on reefs severely impacted by bleaching. It is often a race against time, as our sites have clearly shown that predation can kill most of what survives mass bleaching within only months. Fragments are taken from these bleaching resistant corals and established within gene bank nurseries located in less stressful/cooler water conditions secure from predators. The second phase of the work involves trimming fragments from colonies grown in the nurseries, for outplanting into restoration patches located on degraded reefs within established no-take reserves where other stressors are minimized.

 

How successful has it been?

We have established a restoration strategy that builds bleaching resistance on coral reefs in seven South Pacific island nations, helping coral reefs adapt to increasing water temperatures.  We have taught the strategy to a sizable group of trainees in the region. National and local partnerships have been established, and the restoration work has been linked to ongoing coral conservation work. Twenty-two gene bank coral nurseries have thus far been established: Fiji, Kiribati, Tuvalu, Samoa, Vanuatu, and French Polynesia, each with dozens of species and multiple coral genotypes of each species.
mother corals with fish and gardeners pir june 2020

Gene bank nursery with mother corals, and coral gardeners, and the fish which help keep the corals healthy. Mamanuca Islands, Fiji. Photo © Austin Bowden-Kerby

 

In Fiji, our major resort partnership site is located at Plantation Island Resort in the Mamanuca Islands. The resort has sponsored the training of 15 Fijians as professional coral gardeners to serve in the tourism industry. The resort hired two of the coral gardeners as full-time staff in 2018, to maintain and advance the coral restoration work. Three highly successful international restoration workshops were carried out at the resort in 2019-20, training 75 people from thirteen nations. A foundation has also been laid with the Indigenous community and other resorts for establishment of a permanent marine park in the wider area. With the COVID-19 crisis, the resort is closed and all training is cancelled, however the resort continues to employ the two coral gardeners, and to provide boats and accommodation for Corals for Conservation (C4C) in order to maintain and advance the coral restoration and bleaching resistance work.

 

In Kiribati, where mass coral bleaching in 2015-16 lasted for 14 months, and where bleaching temperatures have continued for 30 months out of the past 60 months, very few corals have survived, and many species have become locally extinct. At our Kiritimati (Christmas Atoll) site, virtually all branching corals were killed in the mass bleaching, however we have been able to locate and to propagate a few “super coral” survivors, with more than one genotype of at least seven Acropora species and two Pocillopora species collected and propagated within our field nursery. Two outplanting sites have thus far been established for two of the Acropora species and for one of the Pocillopora species.

 

The COVID-19 crisis has prevented international travel and follow up, limiting C4C’s work to the Fiji sites for now. Local partners are continuing with site maintenance, although reporting is erratic.
kiritimati super coral ropes

Kiribati’s super corals on ropes in a nursery. Photo © Austin Bowden-Kerby

 

Lessons learned and recommendations

  • Post bleaching predation and subsequent mortality of the few survivors of mass bleaching can be an important factor preventing coral reefs from adapting to increasing temperatures over time.
  • The collection of corals from heat stressed hot pockets can be time-sensitive, as thermal stress is increasing year by year, and some hot pockets formerly filled with resistant corals have already over-reached the maximum temperature for any corals to survive. The most bleaching-tolerant populations had already died out on Kiritimati Atoll by the time the work began in 2016. On Funafuti Atoll, Tuvalu, >90% of the corals of the shallow southern lagoon were dead and standing, apparently dying in mass bleaching before the work began in 2018. Where possible, remaining hot pocket corals should be sampled and established within gene bank nurseries located in cooler waters.
  • It is impossible to replant entire coral reefs, however it may be possible to jump-start natural recovery processes, and to spread bleaching resistance among coral populations. We have seen strong larval recruitment around our nurseries, with nurseries apparently becoming a strong settlement signal for incoming larvae. Reefs without corals may have delayed recovery via recruitment due to a lack of settlement cues, therefore scaling up does not require that corals be replanted to entire reef systems, rather dense patches of corals widely spaced might serve to reboot natural processes of coral recruitment, as long as a source of larvae exists up-current. There is also hope that widely spaced outplanting might reap a much bigger result, as coral larvae settle in ‘naked’ – without symbiotic algae, and acquire their algae from what leaks out of nearby corals – so patches of bleaching resistant corals might spread their resistant algae to newly settled corals. Lastly, if the outplanted patches are composed of multiple genotypes of each coral species, sexual reproduction will be re-established among populations of rare and resistant corals, and so a third source of natural recovery and resistance is secured.
  • The tourism sector and communities can become major resources for action and progress, but training and long-term guidance is required for effectiveness. Coral Gardener as a profession is operational, and the diverse methods employed do not rely on SCUBA and are thus less expensive and more accessible.
60348845 2284700038513968 6410602777952649216 n

First international coral gardening workshop for the tourism industry at Plantation Island Resort, Mamanuca Islands Fiji, in February 2019. Photo © Austin Bowden-Kerby

 

Funding summary

Funding has mostly been crowd sourced through Global Giving, with Fiji site expenses supported by Plantation Island Resort, sites in Kiribati and Tuvalu were also supported by the Conservation Food and Health Foundation, Southern Cross Cable, Line Islands Fisheries (Kiribati), and the Ministry of Environment (Tuvalu). Other support was UNFAO (Samoa), Island Reach (Vanuatu), and the World Surf League (Mo’orea).

 

Lead organization

 

Partners

Plantation Island Resort, Malolo Community, Naidiri Community, Line Islands Fisheries, Tuvalu Ridge to Reef Programme, Samoa Fisheries, FAO South Pacific, Coral Gardeners Moorea, World Surf League

 
 

This case study was developed in collaboration with the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the International Coral Reef Initiative (ICRI) as part of the report Coral Reef Restoration as a Strategy to Improve Ecosystem Services: A Guide to Coral Restoration Methodsopens PDF file .
pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »