桑給巴爾可持續海藻養殖能力建設

 

地點

坦桑尼亞桑給巴爾群島安吉亞和奔巴群島

所面臨的挑戰

海藻養殖是坦桑尼亞第三大出口產業。 它僱用了 25,000 多名農民,其中 80% 是女性。 在坦桑尼亞的桑給巴爾群島,海藻已成為第三大收入來源,佔其海洋出口的近 90%。 大多數養殖的海藻都經過乾燥後出售,用作牙膏、冰淇淋和化妝品等各種產品中的角叉菜膠或瓊脂增稠劑。

奔巴島 Roshni Lodhia 的海藻農民

奔巴島上的海藻養殖者。 照片©Roshni Lodhia

儘管對海藻的需求預計會增加,但海藻養殖者在維持桑給巴爾這一重要產業方面面臨著重大挑戰。 氣候變化導致的海洋變暖、沿海開發的影響、水產養殖知識有限以及種子儲備不足,使得海藻養殖者更難以可持續的方式維持其產量和生計。 這促使他們使用不可持續的做法,例如砍伐紅樹林以製作將農場固定在海底的木樁或清理原生海草床為農場騰出空間。 保護桑給巴爾重要的海洋環境,同時支持海藻養殖,特別是通過教育和與當地婦女合作,對於保護桑給巴爾的水域和野生動物至關重要。

所採取的行動

為了幫助應對桑給巴爾可持續養殖海藻的挑戰,大自然保護協會 (TNC) 與嘉吉公司合作推出了一項新的社區賦權和環境培訓計劃。 該合作夥伴關係是 TNC、嘉吉的 Red Seaweed Promise、C-WEED Corporation Ltd、藍色經濟和漁業部 (MoBEF) 以及研究人員與 Unguja 和 Pemba 群島的海藻農民合作的合作夥伴。 這也是 TNC 和嘉吉之間更廣泛合作的一部分,旨在確保後代的可持續糧食和農業生產。

該計劃與農民合作,共同開發一套適合當地的海藻養殖最佳管理實踐。 然後,TNC 和合作者就如何最好地選址、設計和管理他們的農場對農民進行了培訓。 這些培訓的重點是提高產量,同時減少對海草、紅樹林地區和珊瑚礁的農業影響,以及減少海灘和水道中的海洋垃圾。 還確定了村莊實施者並對其進行培訓,以指導其他農民,建設當地急需的能力,並確保參與的農民在整個過程中都有當地專家進行諮詢。

海藻訓練師在 Pemba Roshni Lodhia 工作

海藻培訓師在奔巴島的 Tumbe 海藻試驗場與當地海藻養殖者合作。 照片©Roshni Lodhia

該計劃正在幫助確保該行業可持續養殖的海藻數量繼續增長,並通過供應鏈進行追溯,以確保最終生產者承擔海藻生產的社會和環境責任。 從長遠來看,合作者將與當地研究機構和政府合作夥伴合作,確定特定的科學研究需求,以維持健康的海藻種群。 這些需求包括在不斷變化的氣候中茁壯成長的改良海藻菌株,以及潛在的海藻政策改進,這可能使海藻養殖者和環境都受益。

它有多成功?

TNC 試點項目受到海藻養殖者和桑給巴爾政府的好評,桑給巴爾政府希望從更高的出口收入和恢復該群島豐富的海洋生物多樣性(這是遊客的主要景點)中受益。 在第一年,超過 180 名農民接受了培訓,其中 62% 是女性,其中大部分來自安古賈和奔巴島現有的海藻農民團體。 這些農戶還有303名從事海藻工作的人也接受了原見習農戶的培訓。 該項目在幫助將性別觀點納入沿海和海洋管理主流方面發揮了關鍵作用。 桑給巴爾的其他海藻產業參與者和農民也越來越感興趣,他們希望採用最佳管理實踐來進行恢復性海藻水產養殖。 政府已經在新村莊複製培訓。

在培訓後調查中觀察到的進一步改進包括:

  • 將紅樹林用作木樁的農民減少 20%
  • 在海上處置塑料繩索比基線減少 44%
  • 528個沿海地區得到改善管理

工具

TNC 製作了一份“坦桑尼亞海藻指南”(2022 年 XNUMX 月發布),題為: 坦桑尼亞海藻養殖提高生產力、可追溯性和可持續性的機會:保護從業者、海藻購買者和政府的海藻指南。 《坦桑尼亞海藻指南》旨在成為海藻行業主要參與者、監管機構、科學家和社區領袖了解坦桑尼亞海藻養殖面臨的挑戰、機遇和更好的管理實踐的基礎。 TNC 的意圖是,它將作為坦桑尼亞海藻計劃的基礎文件,並幫助支持集體行動,以提高整個海藻供應鏈的環境可持續性和改善生計。

經驗教訓和建議

  • TNC 與嘉吉合作等夥伴關係對於為沿海坦桑尼亞人創造有彈性和可持續的生計是必要的,同時也增加了海藻可以提供的生態效益。
  • 當根據受訓者的獨特需求進行設計時,指導效果最好。
  • 確定模範農民以獲得密切和專門的後續支持有助於提高最佳管理實踐 (BMP) 的採用率。
  • 培訓和宣傳材料應使用當地語言和簡單的格式。
  • 重要的是要考慮社區的社會文化需求。 例如,考慮到當地婦女的日常安排和需求並具有靈活性。
  • 雖然一些 BMP 在以最小的環境足跡增加農民和購買者收入方面具有巨大潛力,但它們需要更多的時間和技能來採用。
海藻養殖者奔巴島 Roshni Lodhia

奔巴島上的海藻養殖者。 照片©Roshni Lodhia

資金摘要

在新窗口中打開嘉吉 – 紅海藻承諾

額外資金來自 在新窗口中打開瑪格麗特·A·嘉吉慈善事業

牽頭組織

在新窗口中打開大自然保護協會

在新窗口中打開嘉吉

合作夥伴

在新窗口中打開C-雜草公司

藍色經濟和漁業部 (MoBEF)

桑給巴爾革命政府

資源庫

在新窗口中打開KTN News 肯尼亞對該項目的報導(斯瓦希里語)

在新窗口中打開嘉吉 – 紅海藻承諾

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Building Capacity for Sustainable Seaweed Cultivation in Zanzibar

 

Location

Unguia and Pemba Islands, Tanzania’s Zanzibar Archipelago

The challenge

Seaweed farming is the third largest export industry in Tanzania. It employs over 25,000 farmers, 80% of whom are women. In Tanzania’s Zanzibar Archipelago, seaweed has become the third largest source of income and accounts for nearly 90% of its marine exports. Most of the seaweed farmed is dried and sold for use as carrageenan or agar thickening agents in a variety of products such as toothpaste, ice cream, and cosmetics.

Seaweed farmer on Pemba Island Roshni Lodhia

Seaweed farmer on Pemba Island. Photo © Roshni Lodhia

Although the demand for seaweed is expected to increase, seaweed farmers face major challenges in sustaining this vital industry in Zanzibar. The combination of warming oceans due to climate change, impacts of coastal development, limited aquaculture knowledge, and poor seed stocks are making it harder for seaweed farmers to sustainably maintain their yields and livelihoods. This is driving them to use unsustainable practices, such as cutting back mangrove forests to make the stakes that secure farms to the seafloor or clearing native seagrass beds to make room for farms. Protecting Zanzibar’s important marine environments while also supporting seaweed aquaculture, especially through education and partnering with local women, is essential to conserving Zanzibar’s waters and wildlife.

Actions taken

To help address challenges to farming seaweed sustainably in Zanzibar, The Nature Conservancy (TNC) partnered with Cargill Inc. to launch a new community-empowerment and environmental-training program. The partnership is a collaboration between TNC, Cargill’s Red Seaweed Promise, C-WEED Corporation Ltd, the Ministry of Blue Economy and Fisheries (MoBEF), and researchers to work with seaweed farmers on Unguja and Pemba Islands. It is also part of a broader collaboration between TNC and Cargill aimed at ensuring sustainable food and agricultural production for future generations.

The program worked with farmers to co-develop a locally appropriate set of seaweed farming best management practices. TNC and collaborators then conducted trainings with farmers on how best to site, design, and manage their farms. These trainings focused on increasing yields while also reducing farming impacts to seagrass, mangrove areas, and coral reefs, in addition to reducing marine debris on beaches and in waterways. Village implementers were also identified and trained to mentor other farmers, build much-needed local capacity, and ensure farmers involved have a local specialist to consult throughout the process.

Seaweed trainers working Pemba Roshni Lodhia

Seaweed trainers working with local seaweed farmers at the Tumbe seaweed pilot site in Pemba. Photo © Roshni Lodhia

The program is helping ensure that volumes of sustainably farmed seaweed continue to grow for the industry and are traceable through the supply chain, to assure end producers of the social and environmental responsibility of seaweed production. In the longer term, collaborators will work with local research and government partners to identify specific scientific research needs to maintain healthy seaweed stock. These needs include improved seaweed strains that thrive in a changing climate, and potential seaweed policy improvements, that could benefit both seaweed farmers and the environment.

How successful has it been?

The TNC pilot project has been well received by seaweed farmers and the Zanzibar government, which is hoping to benefit from higher export income and the restoration of the archipelago’s rich marine biodiversity, a key attraction for tourists. In its first year, over 180 farmers, 62% of whom were women, were trained, mostly from existing seaweed farmers groups in Unguja and Pemba Islands. An additional 303 people working in seaweed in these farmers’ households were also trained from the original trainee farmers. The project has played a key role in helping mainstream gender into coastal and marine management. There has also been a growing interest from other seaweed industry players and farmers in Zanzibar wanting to adopt best management practices for restorative seaweed aquaculture. The Government is already replicating the training in new villages.

Further improvements observed in post training surveys include:

  • 20% reduction in farmers using mangroves for stakes
  • 44% reduction from baseline in disposal of plastic ropes at sea
  • 528 coastal areas under improved management

Tools

TNC produced a “Tanzania Seaweed Guide” (available August 2022) entitled: Opportunities for increased productivity, traceability, and sustainability of seaweed aquaculture in Tanzania: A seaweed guide for conservation practitioners, seaweed buyers, and government. The Tanzania Seaweed Guide is intended to be a foundation that key players within the seaweed industry, regulators, scientists, and community leaders can use to understand the challenges, opportunities, and better management practices for seaweed aquaculture in Tanzania. TNC’s intent is that it will serve as a foundational document for the Tanzania seaweed program and help support collective action towards greater environmental sustainability and improved livelihoods throughout the seaweed supply chain.

Lessons learned and recommendations

  • Partnerships such as TNC’s collaboration with Cargill are necessary for creating resilient and sustainable livelihoods for coastal Tanzanians, while also increasing the ecological benefits that seaweed can provide.
  • Mentorship works best when designed based on the unique needs of trainees.
  • Identifying model farmers for close and dedicated follow-up support helps increase adoption of best management practices (BMPs).
  • Training and awareness materials should be in the local language and a simple format.
  • It is important to take into consideration the socio-cultural needs of the community. For example, accounting for and having flexibility with local women’s daily schedules and demands.
  • While some BMPs had great potential for boosting farmer and buyer incomes with minimal environmental footprints, they required more time and skill to adopt.
Seaweed farmer Pemba Island Roshni Lodhia

Seaweed farmer on Pemba Island. Photo © Roshni Lodhia

Funding summary

opens in a new windowCargill – Red Seaweed Promise

Extra Funding from opens in a new windowMargaret A. Cargill Philanthropies

Lead organizations

opens in a new windowThe Nature Conservancy

opens in a new windowCargill

Partners

opens in a new windowC-Weed Corporation

Ministry of Blue Economy and Fisheries (MoBEF)

Revolutionary Government of Zanzibar

Resources

opens in a new windowKTN News Kenya coverage of the project (Swahili)

opens in a new windowCargill – Red Seaweed Promise

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »