الحد من التلوث البيئي باستخدام حلول الصرف الصحي اللامركزية للمراحيض في الموقع في دار السلام ، تنزانيا

 

الموقع:

دار السلام ، تنزانيا ، شرق إفريقيا

التحدي

في دار السلام ، 10٪ فقط من السكان موصولين بشبكة الصرف الصحي. يستخدم غالبية السكان أنظمة في الموقع ، حيث يستخدم 20٪ من إجمالي الأسر خزانات الصرف الصحي في الموقع بينما يستخدم 70٪ الباقيون مراحيض في الموقع. يعد الصرف الصحي غير الكافي سببًا أساسيًا وراء تفشي الكوليرا الممتد الذي أدى إلى حدوث أكثر من 10,000 حالة تم الإبلاغ عنها ومعدل وفيات بنسبة 1.6٪ بين عامي 2015 و 2017. ويحتاج حوالي 90٪ من سكان دار السلام إلى دفع تكاليف خدمات تفريغ الحفرة أو خزانات الصرف الصحي. خدمات تفريغ الحفر الحالية إما صهاريج فراغ باهظة الثمن أو ممارسات إفراغ ذاتي غير آمنة. حتى في حالة استخدام صهاريج التفريغ ، غالبًا ما يتم إلقاء الحمأة بشكل غير قانوني في المسطحات المائية أو الحقول ، بسبب العدد المحدود لمواقع معالجة الحمأة. من الممارسات غير الآمنة الشائعة "تقيؤ" محتويات حفرة المراحيض في البيئة ، حيث تتدفق إلى المياه السطحية والجوفية. تشير التقديرات إلى أن ما يقرب من 60٪ من الأنظمة الموجودة في الموقع تستخدم طريقة "التقيؤ" للإفراغ.

مجرى ملوث بدار السلام

تيار نموذجي في دار السلام ملوث بحمأة البراز والنفايات الصلبة. الصورة © جاكلين توماس

هناك كمية كبيرة من التلوث البرازي الذي يدخل جنوب غرب المحيط الهندي قبالة دار السلام ، عبر الجداول والأنهار الرئيسية التي تتدفق عبر المدينة. في الوقت الحالي ، هناك بيانات محدودة عن الأحمال الميكروبية ومسببات الأمراض المرتبطة بهذا التلوث. يحيط بدار السلام عدد من النظم البيئية للشعاب المرجانية التي تعد موائل بحرية مهمة لصيد الأسماك والسياحة البيئية. هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من العمل لتنفيذ حلول الصرف الصحي التي تحمي صحة السكان المحليين والنظم البيئية الساحلية.

الإجراءات المتخذة

جلوبر إزالة الحمأة

إفراغ حفرة المراحيض في دار السلام باستخدام مضخة يدوية من نوع Gulpher. الصورة © جاكلين توماس

بدأ المشروع بعنوان أنظمة الصرف الصحي اللامركزية لدار السلام ('DEWATS for Dar') لمعالجة نقص خدمات الصرف الصحي الآمنة للأنظمة في الموقع في دار السلام. كان تدخل الصرف الصحي الذي تم اختياره للتنفيذ بمثابة توسيع نطاق خدمة مثبتة لإفراغ المراحيض ومعالجة / نقل الحمأة باستخدام نموذج ريادة الأعمال الاجتماعية. يستخدم برنامج "DEWATS For Dar" أدوات إفراغ المراحيض المصنعة محليًا ، والنقل البسيط ، والموقع اللامركزي لمعالجة الحمأة. تم تصميم نظام معالجة الحمأة من قبل منظمة Bremen Overseas Research & Development Association (BORDA). يعتمد تصميم المحطة على المعالجة البيولوجية باستخدام الهضم اللاهوائي ومراحل معالجة إضافية لإنتاج مياه الصرف الصحي الآمنة. لا تستخدم محطة المعالجة الكهرباء أو أي موارد إضافية أخرى للعمل (الماء أو المواد الكيميائية). مخرجات DEWATS عبارة عن غاز حيوي للطهي ، وحمأة جوامد حيوية مجففة ومخلفات سائلة معالجة للزراعة.

تم بناء محطتين جديدتين لخدمة منطقتين حضريتين في منطقة دار السلام. خدم كل مصنع ما يقرب من 3,000 أسرة ، ويتراوح عدد سكانها من 18,000 إلى 30,000 شخص لكل نظام. كان عملاء خدمة التحصيل مستوطنات غير رسمية ورسمية. تم تحقيق تكاليف تفريغ ميسورة التكلفة باستخدام تقنيات تفريغ مناسبة محليًا ومكيفة بما في ذلك مضخات Gulper اليدوية وأنظمة التفريغ الصغيرة على الدراجات النارية ذات العجلات الثلاث. كانت هناك رسوم خدمة يتم التفاوض عليها على أساس الدخل حيث يقوم العملاء الأكثر ثراءً بتقديم الدعم المتبادل للعملاء الأفقر. تم تخفيض التكلفة الإجمالية للمعالجة عن طريق خفض تكاليف النقل من خلال مسافة أقصر من محطة النقل إلى المنازل ومن خلال بيع المواد الصلبة الحيوية من محطة DEWATS / محطة النقل.

التجريب من خلال الشاشة

تحميل الحمأة البرازية في محطة المعالجة اللامركزية لمياه الصرف الصحي بدار السلام. الصورة © جاكلين توماس

تم قياس مخرجات "DEWATS for Dar" من حيث جودة مخرجات المعالجة (النفايات السائلة والمواد الصلبة الحيوية) ، وتحسين صحة الإنسان ، والحد من التلوث البيئي والفوائد الاقتصادية (العمالة) في المجتمعات التي تم بناؤها فيها. بدأ المشروع في عام 2016 وانتهى في عام 2020 بتسليم تشغيل المحطات لمشغلي البلدية المحلية. من خلال توفير خدمة تفريغ ومرفق معالجة الحمأة البرازية ، يمكن تحسين صحة المجتمع والبيئة بشكل عام ، حيث يمكن أن تقلل حالات التفريغ غير الآمن في الشوارع وتلوث المسطحات المائية (الجداول والأنهار). ومع ذلك ، كان هذا يعتمد على معدل قبول ومتابعة خدمات العلاج ، والتي تباينت خلال فترة التنفيذ.

ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟

نجح المشروع في بناء وتشغيل مرفقين جديدين للمعالجة. أظهرت النباتات أنها تقلل بشكل كبير من الأحمال الميكروبية ومسببات الأمراض من حمأة البراز الخام. نظرًا لتقليص الأطر الزمنية لمراحل العملية ، كان من الصعب قياس أي تحسينات في صحة الإنسان أو صحة البيئة. هذا يرجع إلى حجم الاستخدام. بمرور الوقت مع استخدام المزيد من الأسر لخدمات نظام المعالجة ، من المتوقع أن تكون هناك تحسينات قابلة للقياس في صحة الإنسان وتقليل أحمال التلوث في الأنهار التي تمر عبر تلك المجتمعات. رفع المشروع الوعي بشأن حلول معالجة الصرف الصحي. من خلال تسليم المرفق إلى البلدية المحلية ، يمكن الاستمرار في تشغيل أنظمة العلاج.

الدروس المستفادة والتوصيات

  • استغرقت المراحل الأولية من التشاور مع أصحاب المصلحة وقتًا أطول بكثير مما كان مخططًا له في الأصل. ويرجع ذلك إلى وجود فراغ في السياسة فيما يتعلق بعمليات الموافقات اللازمة لبناء محطة المعالجة هذه على الأراضي العامة.
  • تعني مرحلة التشاور الأطول أن التشغيل الكامل للمحطتين كان لمدة عام واحد فقط قبل انتهاء المشروع. كان من الصعب للغاية قياس أي نتائج لعمليات المحطات في مثل هذه الفترة الزمنية القصيرة.
  • كانت إدارة المشروع معقدة بشكل استثنائي واستغرقت الكثير من الوقت والمهارة والطاقة أكثر مما توقعته المنظمة غير الحكومية المنفذة.
  • تم توظيف القوى العاملة لإدارة المصانع براتب بدلاً من تحفيزها للعمل بناءً على عدد العملاء الذين تمت خدمتهم. وهذا يؤدي إلى ضعف عرض الخدمات وعدم الاتساق في الرسوم المفروضة. كانت هذه نقطة مهمة ردعت المزيد من أعضاء المجتمع من استخدام خدمة التفريغ.
  • اكتمل التسليم إلى البلدية المحلية ، ومع ذلك ، كانت هناك بعض المخاوف بشأن استمرار تشغيل المصنع على النحو الأمثل.

ملخص التمويل

كانت هيئة التمويل هي وزارة التنمية الدولية البريطانية (DFID) وتم تنفيذ المنحة من خلال يفتح في نافذة جديدةصندوق ابتكار التنمية البشرية (HDIF).

المنظمات الرائدة

يفتح في نافذة جديدةالمنظمة الرئيسية المنفذة: جمعية بريمن للتنمية الخارجية (بوردا)
يفتح في نافذة جديدةجهة التقييم: معهد إيفاكارا الصحي (IHI).

شركاؤنا

أنظر فوق

مصادر

يفتح في نافذة جديدةDEWATS لموقع مشروع دار

المستخدم / كاتب التعليق

يفتح في نافذة جديدةالدكتورة جاكلين توماس

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Reducing Environmental Pollution Using Decentralized Sanitation Solutions for On-Site Latrines in Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

 

Location

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, East Africa

The challenge

In Dar es Salaam only 10% of the population is connected to the sewer network. The majority of the population use on-site systems, with 20% of total households using on-site septic tanks and the remaining 70% using on-site pit latrines. Inadequate sanitation is an underlying cause behind the extended cholera outbreak that resulted in over 10,000 reported cases and a mortality rate of 1.6 % between 2015 and 2017. About 90% of Dar es Salaam residents need to pay for pit or septic tank emptying services. Current pit emptying services are either expensive vacuum tankers or unsafe self-emptying practices. Even if vacuum tankers are used sludge is frequently illegally dumped into water bodies or fields, due to the limited number of sludge treatment sites. One common unsafe practice is to ‘vomit’ the contents of the pit latrine into the environment, where they flow into surface and ground water. It is estimated that nearly 60% of the on-site systems are using the ‘vomiting’ method of emptying.

polluted stream in dar es salaam

A typical stream in Dar es Salaam contaminated with fecal sludge and solid waste. Photo © Jacqueline Thomas

There is large quantity of fecal pollution entering the Southwest Indian Ocean off Dar es Salaam, via the main streams and rivers that flow through the city. Currently, there is limited data on microbial and pathogen loads associated with this pollution. Surrounding Dar es Salaam, there are a number of coral reef ecosystems that are important marine habitats for both fishing and eco-tourism. More work is needed to implement sanitation solutions that both protect the health of the local population and the coast ecosystems.

Actions taken

glupher removing sludge

Emptying a pit-latrine in Dar es Salaam using a Gulpher hand pump. Photo © Jacqueline Thomas

The project titled Decentralised Sanitation Systems for Dar Salaam (‘DEWATS for Dar’) was initiated to address the lack of safe sanitation services for on-site systems in Dar es Salaam. The sanitation intervention selected for implementation was an up-scale of a proven latrine emptying and sludge treatment/transfer service using a social entrepreneurship model. ‘DEWATS For Dar’ uses locally manufactured latrine emptying tools, simple transportation and a decentralized sludge treatment site. The sludge treatment system was designed by the NGO Bremen Overseas Research & Development Association (BORDA). The plant design is based on biological treatment using anaerobic digestion and additional treatment stages to produce safe effluent. The treatment plant uses no electricity or other additional resources to function (water or chemicals). The DEWATS outputs are biogas for cooking, dried sludge bio-solids and treated effluent for agriculture.

Two new plants were built to serve two urban subwards of Dar es Salaam. Each plant serviced approximately 3,000 households, with a population range from 18,000-30,000 people per system. The clients for the collection service were both informal and formal settlements. More affordable emptying costs were achieved by using locally appropriate and adapted emptying technologies including Gulper hand pumps and small vacuum systems on three-wheeled motorcycles. There were income-based negotiated service fees whereby wealthier clients cross-subsidized services for poorer clients. The total cost of treatment was reduced by lowering transport costs by having a shorter distance to the DEWATS/transfer station to the households and through sales of the bio-solids.

empyting through screen

Loading the faecal sludge into the Decentralised Wastewater Treatment Plant in Dar es Salam. Photo © Jacqueline Thomas

‘DEWATS for Dar’ outputs were measured in terms of the quality of treatment outputs (effluent and biosolids), human health improvements, reductions in environmental pollution and economic benefits (employment) in the communities in which they were built. The project commenced in 2016 and concluded in 2020 with a handover of the operation of the plants to local municipality operators. By providing an emptying service and treatment facility for fecal sludge the overall community and environmental health could be improved, as it can reduce the instances of unsafe emptying into the streets and contamination of water bodies (streams and rivers). However, this was dependent on the rate of acceptance and up-take of the treatment services, which varied over the implementation period.

How successful has it been?

The project was successful in building and operating the two new treatment facilities. The plants were shown to significantly reduce the microbial and pathogen loads of the raw fecal sludge. Given the reduced timeframes for the operation stages, it was difficult to measure any improvements in the human health or environmental health. This is due to the scale of use. Over time as more households use the services of the treatment system, it is anticipated there will be measurable improvements in human health and a reduction of pollution loads in the rivers running through those communities. The project raised awareness regarding sanitation treatment solutions. By handing over the facility to the local municipality, treatment systems can continue to be operated.

Lessons learned and recommendations

  • The initial stages of consultation with stakeholders took a significantly longer time than originally planned. This is because there was a policy void with respect to approvals processes needed to build such a treatment plant on public land.
  • The longer consultation stage meant that the full operation of both plants was only for 1 year before the conclusion of the project. It was very difficult to measure any outcomes of the plants’ operations in such a short space of time.
  • The project management was exceptionally complex and took a lot more time, skill and energy than the implementing NGO had anticipated.
  • The workforce to run the plants was employed on a salary rather than being incentivized to work based on the number of clients serviced. This lead to poor offering of services and inconsistency in fees charged. This was a significant point that deterred more members of the community from using the emptying service.
  • The handover to the local municipality was complete, however, there were some concerns if they would continue to run the plant optimally.

Funding summary

The funding body was the UK Department for International Development (DFID) and grant implementation was through the opens in a new windowHuman Development Innovation Fund (HDIF).

Lead organizations

opens in a new windowImplementing Lead Organization: Bremen Overseas Development Association (BORDA)
opens in a new windowEvaluation Organization: Ifakara Health Institute (IHI)

Partners

See above

Resources

opens in a new windowDEWATS for Dar Project Website

Written by: opens in a new windowDr. Jacqueline Thomas

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »