廢水污染簡介

Pipe Steve Spring Marine Photobank

廢水污染正日益威脅著人類和海洋生物,並構成了全球沿海污染的最大比例。 文獻 在全球範圍內,估計有80%的廢水 其中包括人類污水,未經處理就排放到環境中,向海洋釋放一系列有害污染物,對人類和珊瑚礁造成直接傷害. 文獻 研究表明,由於廢水管理不存在或不充分,廢水污染經常發生在世界各地的珊瑚礁附近。 文獻

術語:污水與廢水

污水 及 廢水 是經常互換使用的術語,但兩者之間有重要區別。 污水 (通過下水道運輸的人類廢物)是 廢水,這是社區或工業用水的總稱。 廢水 包含來自各種家庭,商業或工業來源的溶解和懸浮物,包括化學物質,肥皂,重金屬,營養物質以及來自下水道和非下水道系統(例如化糞池)的廢水。

我們認識到海事管理人員和從業人員可能更熟悉這個術語 污水 在考慮對珊瑚礁的主要影響時, 我們將使用該術語 廢水 貫穿整個工具包,因為它準確地描述了影響珊瑚礁的各種污染源。 使用一致的術語有助於促進與衛生部門等其他部門的伙伴關係。

世界各地的廢水污染

雖然低收入國家的主要沿海城市是廢水污染的重要來源,但高收入國家也不例外。 僅美國每年排放超過 1.2 萬億加侖 出水 (包括未經處理的原污水、雨水徑流和工業廢物)每年進入水道。 文獻

地圖污水污染

有記錄的104個珊瑚礁地區中有112個沿海廢水污染。 資料來源:Wear and Vega Thurber 2015

當廢水進入海洋並與海水混合時,污染物被分散和稀釋。 這導致了“污染的解決方案是稀釋”的持續假設。 然而,新的、不受管制的污染物的增加以及廢水量的增加限制了海洋稀釋這些污染物的能力,並使污染的後果更加嚴重。 地理、人口、基礎設施和氣候變化都會影響廢水污染影響的嚴重程度。 廢水污染可導致( 在新窗口中打開我們共同的海洋):

  • 對珊瑚礁、海草和鹽沼的物理和生物破壞。 文獻
  • 沿海生態系統服務的喪失,例如侵蝕控制、風暴緩沖和幼魚的育苗場。 文獻
  • 有害藻華會殺死海洋生物、關閉海灘並導致人類疾病。 文獻
  • 由病原體、重金屬和有毒化學品引起的人類和動物疾病。 文獻
  • 受污染的漁業,魚類和貝類死亡率增加,物種多樣性減少。 文獻

觀看有關解決海洋污水污染威脅的網絡研討會:

衛生和廢水

儘管正在取得進展,但全球大部分人口無法獲得足夠的衛生設施來保護公眾健康。 根據世界衛生組織的數據,2020 年,世界上 45% 的人口無法獲得安全管理的衛生服務,6% 的人在露天排便。 文獻

2015 年全球衛生覆蓋率 2020 JMP
衛生階梯定義 JMP
按地區劃分的衛生設施覆蓋率細分 JMP

按地區(左上)和衛生階梯定義(右上)劃分的衛生覆蓋範圍。 2015-2020 年的全球衛生覆蓋率(底部)。 資料來源:JMP

水、環境衛生和衛生 (WASH) 部門

與人類排泄物接觸是一項緊迫的挑戰,並導致了水、環境衛生和衛生 (WASH) 部門的發展。 WASH 部門是一個致力於通過公平獲得安全、可靠的飲用水和衛生服務來保護公眾健康和環境的領域。 有許多組織致力於實現這一目標,包括:

  • 全球機構 像世界衛生組織(WHO)、聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)和世界銀行。
  • 政府機構 例如疾病控制和預防中心 (CDC) 和美國國際開發署 (USAID)。
  • 非營利組織 例如世界衛生組織國際社區供水參考中心 (IRC) 和可持續衛生聯盟 (SuSanA)。

雖然廢水污染問題似乎令人生畏,但全球應對這一挑戰的努力導致過去五年中獲得安全衛生設施的人數穩步增加。 這一進展可歸因於:

  • 提高對衛生重要性的認識。
  • 改進衛生系統方面的技術進步,以及
  • 更多幫助社區訪問這些系統的組織。

隨著意識、研究和資金的不斷增長以及 WASH 部門努力的擴大,海洋管理人員可以幫助塑造這些努力,以造福人類和珊瑚礁。

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Wastewater Pollution Introduction

Pipe Steve Spring Marine Photobank

Wastewater pollution is a growing threat to people and marine life and makes up the largest percentage of coastal pollution worldwide. ref Globally, an estimated 80 percent of wastewater – which includes human sewage – is discharged into the environment without treatment, releasing an array of harmful contaminants into the ocean and causing direct harm to people and coral reefs. ref Research shows that wastewater pollution often occurs in proximity to coral reefs around the world due to nonexistent or inadequate wastewater management. ref

Terminology: Sewage vs Wastewater

Sewage and wastewater are terms that are often used interchangeably, but there are important differences between the two. Sewage (human waste transported through sewers) is a major component of wastewater, which is a collective term for the used water of a community or industry. Wastewater contains dissolved and suspended matter from a variety of domestic, commercial, or industrial sources including chemicals, soaps, heavy metals, nutrients, and effluent from sewered and non-sewered systems (like septic treatment tanks).

We recognize that marine managers and practitioners are likely more familiar with the term sewage when considering the major impacts to coral reefs, however, we will be using the term wastewater throughout the toolkit since it accurately describes various sources of pollution impacting coral reefs. Using consistent terminology helps facilitate partnerships with other sectors, like the sanitation sector.

Wastewater Pollution Around the World

While major coastal cities in low-income countries are a significant source of wastewater pollution, high-income nations are not exempt. The United States alone annually discharges more than 1.2 trillion gallons of effluent (including untreated raw sewage, stormwater runoff, and industrial waste) into waterways every year. ref

Map sewage pollution

Documented coastal wastewater pollution in 104 of 112 areas with coral reefs. Source: Wear and Vega Thurber 2015

When wastewater enters the ocean and mixes with seawater, pollutants are dispersed and diluted. This has led to a persistent assumption that “the solution to pollution is dilution”. However, increases in novel, unregulated contaminants as well as increasing volumes of wastewater limit the ocean’s capacity to dilute those contaminants and render the consequences of pollution more severe. Geography, population, infrastructure, and climate change can all influence the severity of wastewater pollution impacts. Wastewater pollution can result in ( opens in a new windowOur Shared Seas):

  • Physical and biological damage to coral reefs, seagrasses, and salt marshes. ref
  • Loss of coastal ecosystem services, like erosion control, storm buffering, and nursery grounds for juvenile fish. ref
  • Harmful algal blooms that kill marine life, close beaches, and cause human disease. ref
  • Human and animal diseases resulting from pathogens, heavy metals, and toxic chemicals. ref
  • Contaminated fisheries, increased fish and shellfish mortality, and reduced species diversity. ref

Watch the webinar on Addressing the Threat of Ocean Sewage Pollution:

Sanitation and Wastewater

Although progress is being made, much of the global population does not have access to adequate sanitation to protect public health. According to the World Health Organization, in 2020, 45% of the world's population did not have access to safely managed sanitation services, and 6% were practicing open defecation. ref

Global Sanitation Coverage from 2015 2020 JMP
Sanitation ladder definitions JMP
Breakdown of sanitation coverage by region JMP

Breakdown of sanitation coverage by region (top left) and sanitation ladder definitions (top right). Global sanitation coverage from 2015-2020 (bottom). Source: JMP

Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene (WASH) Sector

Contact with human waste represents an urgent challenge and has led to the development of the Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene (WASH) sector. The WASH sector is a field dedicated to protecting public health and the environment by providing equitable access to safe, reliable drinking water and sanitation services. There are many organizations that work toward this goal, including:

  • Global agencies like the World Health Organization (WHO), United Nations Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF), and the World Bank.
  • Government agencies like Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and United States Agency for International Development (USAID).
  • Nonprofit organizations like the WHO international Reference Center on Community Water Supply (IRC) and Sustainable Sanitation Alliance (SuSanA).

While the issue of wastewater pollution can seem daunting, the global effort to address this challenge has resulted in a steady increase in the number of people with access to safe sanitation over the past five years. This progress can be attributed to:

  • Increased recognition of the importance of sanitation.
  • Technological advances in improved sanitation systems, and
  • More organizations helping communities access these systems.

As awareness, research, and funding continue to grow and the WASH sector’s efforts expand, marine managers can help shape these efforts to benefit both people and reefs.

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »