مقدمة عن تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي

بايب ستيف سبرينج مارين فوتوبانك

يشكل تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي تهديدًا متزايدًا للناس والحياة البحرية ويشكل أكبر نسبة من التلوث الساحلي في جميع أنحاء العالم. المرجع على الصعيد العالمي ، ما يقدر بنحو 80 في المائة من مياه الصرف الصحي - والتي تشمل مياه الصرف الصحي البشرية - يتم تصريفها في البيئة دون معالجة ، مما يؤدي إلى إطلاق مجموعة من الملوثات الضارة في المحيط والتسبب في ضرر مباشر للأشخاص والشعاب المرجانية. المرجع تظهر الأبحاث أن تلوث المياه العادمة يحدث غالبًا بالقرب من الشعاب المرجانية في جميع أنحاء العالم بسبب عدم وجود أو عدم كفاية إدارة مياه الصرف الصحي. المرجع

المصطلحات: مياه الصرف الصحي مقابل مياه الصرف الصحي

مياه المجاري و مياه الصرف الصحي هي مصطلحات تُستخدم غالبًا بالتبادل ، ولكن هناك اختلافات مهمة بين الاثنين. مياه المجاري (يتم نقل النفايات البشرية عبر المجاري) عنصرًا رئيسيًا في مياه الصرف الصحي، وهو مصطلح جماعي للمياه المستخدمة في المجتمع أو الصناعة. مياه الصرف الصحي يحتوي على مواد مذابة ومعلقة من مجموعة متنوعة من المصادر المحلية أو التجارية أو الصناعية بما في ذلك المواد الكيميائية والصابون والمعادن الثقيلة والمغذيات والنفايات السائلة من أنظمة الصرف الصحي وغير المجاري (مثل خزانات معالجة الصرف الصحي).

نحن ندرك أن المديرين والممارسين البحريين من المحتمل أن يكونوا أكثر دراية بالمصطلح مياه المجاري ومع ذلك ، عند النظر في التأثيرات الرئيسية على الشعاب المرجانية ، سنستخدم المصطلح مياه الصرف الصحي في مجموعة الأدوات لأنها تصف بدقة مصادر مختلفة للتلوث الذي يؤثر على الشعاب المرجانية. يساعد استخدام المصطلحات المتسقة في تسهيل الشراكات مع القطاعات الأخرى ، مثل قطاع الصرف الصحي.

تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي حول العالم

في حين أن المدن الساحلية الرئيسية في البلدان منخفضة الدخل هي مصدر مهم لتلوث مياه الصرف الصحي ، فإن الدول ذات الدخل المرتفع ليست مستثناة. الولايات المتحدة وحدها تفرغ سنويًا أكثر من 1.2 تريليون جالون من تصريف (بما في ذلك مياه الصرف الصحي الخام غير المعالجة ، وجريان مياه الأمطار ، والنفايات الصناعية) في المجاري المائية كل عام. المرجع

خريطة تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي

تم توثيق تلوث مياه الصرف الساحلي في 104 من أصل 112 منطقة بها شعاب مرجانية. المصدر: Wear and Vega Thurber 2015

عندما تدخل مياه الصرف إلى المحيط وتختلط بمياه البحر ، تتشتت الملوثات وتضعف. وقد أدى ذلك إلى الافتراض المستمر بأن "حل التلوث هو التخفيف". ومع ذلك ، فإن الزيادات في الملوثات الجديدة غير الخاضعة للتنظيم وكذلك زيادة أحجام مياه الصرف الصحي تحد من قدرة المحيطات على تخفيف تلك الملوثات وجعل عواقب التلوث أكثر حدة. يمكن أن تؤثر الجغرافيا والسكان والبنية التحتية وتغير المناخ على شدة تأثيرات تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي. يمكن أن يؤدي تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي إلى ( يفتح في نافذة جديدةبحارنا المشتركة):

  • الأضرار المادية والبيولوجية للشعاب المرجانية والأعشاب البحرية والمستنقعات المالحة. المرجع
  • فقدان خدمات النظم البيئية الساحلية ، مثل التحكم في التعرية ، وصد العواصف ، ومناطق تفريخ الأسماك اليافعة. المرجع
  • تكاثر الطحالب الضارة التي تقتل الحياة البحرية وتغلق الشواطئ وتسبب الأمراض البشرية. المرجع
  • أمراض الإنسان والحيوان الناتجة عن مسببات الأمراض والمعادن الثقيلة والمواد الكيميائية السامة. المرجع
  • مصايد الأسماك الملوثة ، وزيادة نفوق الأسماك والمحار ، وانخفاض تنوع الأنواع. المرجع

شاهد الندوة عبر الويب حول معالجة تهديد تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي في المحيطات:

الصرف الصحي والمياه العادمة

على الرغم من التقدم الذي تم إحرازه ، إلا أن الكثير من سكان العالم لا يتمتعون بإمكانية الوصول إلى الصرف الصحي المناسب لحماية الصحة العامة. وفقًا لمنظمة الصحة العالمية ، في عام 2020 ، لم يكن لدى 45٪ من سكان العالم إمكانية الوصول إلى خدمات الصرف الصحي المُدارة بأمان ، وكان 6٪ يمارسون التغوط في العراء. المرجع

تغطية الصرف الصحي العالمية من 2015 2020 JMP
تعريفات سلم الصرف الصحي JMP
توزيع تغطية الصرف الصحي حسب المنطقة JMP

تفصيل تغطية الصرف الصحي حسب المنطقة (أعلى اليسار) وتعريفات سلم الصرف الصحي (أعلى اليمين). تغطية الصرف الصحي العالمية من 2015-2020 (أسفل). المصدر: أحزاب اللقاء المشترك

قطاع المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة

يمثل الاتصال بالنفايات البشرية تحديًا عاجلاً وقد أدى إلى تطوير قطاع المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة (WASH). قطاع المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية هو مجال مخصص لحماية الصحة العامة والبيئة من خلال توفير الوصول العادل إلى مياه الشرب الآمنة والموثوقة وخدمات الصرف الصحي. هناك العديد من المنظمات التي تعمل لتحقيق هذا الهدف ، بما في ذلك:

  • الوكالات العالمية مثل منظمة الصحة العالمية (WHO) ، ومنظمة الأمم المتحدة للطفولة (UNICEF) ، والبنك الدولي.
  • وكالات الحكومة مثل مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) والوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية (USAID).
  • منظمات غير ربحية مثل المركز المرجعي الدولي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية بشأن إمدادات المياه المجتمعية (IRC) والتحالف المستدام للصرف الصحي (SuSanA).

في حين أن قضية تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي قد تبدو شاقة ، فقد أدى الجهد العالمي لمواجهة هذا التحدي إلى زيادة مطردة في عدد الأشخاص الذين يمكنهم الوصول إلى الصرف الصحي الآمن على مدى السنوات الخمس الماضية. يمكن أن يعزى هذا التقدم إلى:

  • زيادة الاعتراف بأهمية الصرف الصحي.
  • التقدم التكنولوجي في تحسين أنظمة الصرف الصحي ، و
  • المزيد من المنظمات التي تساعد المجتمعات في الوصول إلى هذه الأنظمة.

مع استمرار زيادة الوعي والبحث والتمويل وتوسع جهود قطاع المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية ، يمكن للمديرين البحريين المساعدة في تشكيل هذه الجهود لإفادة كل من الناس والشعاب المرجانية.

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Wastewater Pollution Introduction

Pipe Steve Spring Marine Photobank

Wastewater pollution is a growing threat to people and marine life and makes up the largest percentage of coastal pollution worldwide. ref Globally, an estimated 80 percent of wastewater – which includes human sewage – is discharged into the environment without treatment, releasing an array of harmful contaminants into the ocean and causing direct harm to people and coral reefs. ref Research shows that wastewater pollution often occurs in proximity to coral reefs around the world due to nonexistent or inadequate wastewater management. ref

Terminology: Sewage vs Wastewater

Sewage and wastewater are terms that are often used interchangeably, but there are important differences between the two. Sewage (human waste transported through sewers) is a major component of wastewater, which is a collective term for the used water of a community or industry. Wastewater contains dissolved and suspended matter from a variety of domestic, commercial, or industrial sources including chemicals, soaps, heavy metals, nutrients, and effluent from sewered and non-sewered systems (like septic treatment tanks).

We recognize that marine managers and practitioners are likely more familiar with the term sewage when considering the major impacts to coral reefs, however, we will be using the term wastewater throughout the toolkit since it accurately describes various sources of pollution impacting coral reefs. Using consistent terminology helps facilitate partnerships with other sectors, like the sanitation sector.

Wastewater Pollution Around the World

While major coastal cities in low-income countries are a significant source of wastewater pollution, high-income nations are not exempt. The United States alone annually discharges more than 1.2 trillion gallons of effluent (including untreated raw sewage, stormwater runoff, and industrial waste) into waterways every year. ref

Map sewage pollution

Documented coastal wastewater pollution in 104 of 112 areas with coral reefs. Source: Wear and Vega Thurber 2015

When wastewater enters the ocean and mixes with seawater, pollutants are dispersed and diluted. This has led to a persistent assumption that “the solution to pollution is dilution”. However, increases in novel, unregulated contaminants as well as increasing volumes of wastewater limit the ocean’s capacity to dilute those contaminants and render the consequences of pollution more severe. Geography, population, infrastructure, and climate change can all influence the severity of wastewater pollution impacts. Wastewater pollution can result in ( opens in a new windowOur Shared Seas):

  • Physical and biological damage to coral reefs, seagrasses, and salt marshes. ref
  • Loss of coastal ecosystem services, like erosion control, storm buffering, and nursery grounds for juvenile fish. ref
  • Harmful algal blooms that kill marine life, close beaches, and cause human disease. ref
  • Human and animal diseases resulting from pathogens, heavy metals, and toxic chemicals. ref
  • Contaminated fisheries, increased fish and shellfish mortality, and reduced species diversity. ref

Watch the webinar on Addressing the Threat of Ocean Sewage Pollution:

Sanitation and Wastewater

Although progress is being made, much of the global population does not have access to adequate sanitation to protect public health. According to the World Health Organization, in 2020, 45% of the world's population did not have access to safely managed sanitation services, and 6% were practicing open defecation. ref

Global Sanitation Coverage from 2015 2020 JMP
Sanitation ladder definitions JMP
Breakdown of sanitation coverage by region JMP

Breakdown of sanitation coverage by region (top left) and sanitation ladder definitions (top right). Global sanitation coverage from 2015-2020 (bottom). Source: JMP

Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene (WASH) Sector

Contact with human waste represents an urgent challenge and has led to the development of the Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene (WASH) sector. The WASH sector is a field dedicated to protecting public health and the environment by providing equitable access to safe, reliable drinking water and sanitation services. There are many organizations that work toward this goal, including:

  • Global agencies like the World Health Organization (WHO), United Nations Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF), and the World Bank.
  • Government agencies like Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and United States Agency for International Development (USAID).
  • Nonprofit organizations like the WHO international Reference Center on Community Water Supply (IRC) and Sustainable Sanitation Alliance (SuSanA).

While the issue of wastewater pollution can seem daunting, the global effort to address this challenge has resulted in a steady increase in the number of people with access to safe sanitation over the past five years. This progress can be attributed to:

  • Increased recognition of the importance of sanitation.
  • Technological advances in improved sanitation systems, and
  • More organizations helping communities access these systems.

As awareness, research, and funding continue to grow and the WASH sector’s efforts expand, marine managers can help shape these efforts to benefit both people and reefs.

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »