Two viewings: October 2 at 12:00 pm US EDT; October 2 at 9:00 pm US EDT

Photo @ Nick PolanszkyCoral reefs provide enormous economic value to humanity and are gaining increasing attention from donors, philanthropists, and governments. This webinar will explore the use of Conservation Trust Funds and Impact Investing to support coral reef conservation. Conservation Trust Funds (CTFs) are private, legally independent institutions that provide sustainable financing for biodiversity conservation. Impact Investing is investing in companies, organizations, and funds with the intention of generating measurable social and environmental impact alongside a financial return. Specifically, the webinar will discuss how protected area, national, and regional CTFs can raise, manage, and invest financing for coral reef conservation and restoration. The webinar will also review how impact investing can be used to manage coral reef areas through public private partnerships.

This webinar is sponsored by the International Coral Reef Initiative (ICRI), an informal partnership which strives to preserve coral reefs and related ecosystems around the world, as part of its collaboration with the Conservation Finance Alliance for promoting innovative financing for coral reef conservation.

Presented by: Katy Mathias of the Conservation Finance Alliance and WCS and Nicolas Pascal of Blue finance

Co-sponsored by: OCTO (OpenChannels, The Skimmer, MPA News, EBM Tools Network) and the Reef Resilience Network

This webinar will be offered at two different times:

  • Register for Viewing 2: October 2 at 9:00 pm US EDT, 6:00 pm US PDT; October 3 at 9:00 am Australian WST, 11:00 am Australian EST, 1:00 am UTC)

Resources: 

View previous webinars in this series –

Finance Tools for Coral Reef Conservation: An Overview

Financing Coral Reef Conservation and Management with Tourism-Related Tools

 

Photo @  Nick Polanszky