تجديد المياه الجوفية في مقاطعة أورانج

 

الموقع:

مقاطعة أورانج ، كاليفورنيا هي منطقة حضرية تقع على ساحل المحيط الهادئ ، جنوب مقاطعة لوس أنجلوس. يبلغ عدد سكانها 3 ملايين نسمة اعتبارًا من عام 2010 ، وهي ثالث مقاطعة في ولاية كاليفورنيا من حيث عدد السكان.

التحدي

تشتهر مقاطعة Orange County Water District (OCWD) ببنائها ، في عام 1976 ، واحدة من أولى المنشآت في الولايات المتحدة لتحويل مياه الصرف الصحي إلى مياه نقية. وضع هذا المشروع الأولي ، المسمى Water Factory 21 ، الأساس لتوسع عام 2008 في أكبر نظام متقدم لتنقية المياه في العالم لإعادة استخدام المياه الصالحة للشرب. في حين لم يتم تصور المشروع في البداية مع مراعاة صحة المحيطات ، فقد وفر مليارات الجالونات من مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة من تصريفها في المحيط ، مع توفير المياه النظيفة لمئات الآلاف من الأشخاص في منطقة معرضة للجفاف.

بحلول منتصف السبعينيات ، بعد أن شهدت طفرة سكانية وزيادة الطلب على المياه ، تم سحب طبقة المياه الجوفية العذبة الجوفية في مقاطعة أورانج. كانت المياه المالحة من المحيط تتسرب إلى الداخل ، مما يشكل تهديدًا لإمدادات مياه الشرب في المقاطعة. قرر قادة OCWD بناء مصنع يمكنه تنقية مياه الصرف الصحي بالمقاطعة بحيث يمكن لـ OCWD إعادة المياه المعالجة إلى طبقة المياه الجوفية ، حيث تعمل كحاجز وتجنب تسرب المياه المالحة.

كان المصنع ، المعروف باسم Water Factory 21 ، قادرًا على إنتاج حوالي 15 مليون جالون من المياه النظيفة يوميًا. مع نمو عدد سكان المقاطعة ، وتم سحب المزيد والمزيد من المياه من طبقات المياه الجوفية ، استمر تسرب المياه المالحة يمثل مشكلة. كان الجفاف شائعًا أيضًا ، مما أدى إلى نقص متكرر في المياه. في ذلك الوقت ، كانت إمدادات المياه في المقاطعة تأتي من المياه الجوفية ، نهر سانتا آنا ، كما تم استيرادها بتكلفة كبيرة من نهر كولورادو ومن شمال كاليفورنيا. لم يكن استيراد المزيد من المياه يمكن الاعتماد عليه في أوقات الجفاف.

كانت هناك مشكلة أخرى تواجه المقاطعة وهي أن أنبوب المصب الكبير ، الذي يرسل مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة من محطة المعالجة إلى المحيط ، قد وصل إلى طاقته. إذا تم توسيع مصادر المياه لتتناسب مع الطلب ، فلن يكون الأنبوب قادرًا على التعامل مع الحجم الإضافي.

قام قادة OCWD بتقييم خطط التوسع المختلفة ، بحثًا عن الخيار الأكثر تكلفة والذي من شأنه أيضًا دعم إمدادات المياه حتى أثناء فترات الجفاف ، وفي النهاية تصور مشروع نظام تجديد المياه الجوفية (GWRS). بموجب هذه الخطة ، دخلت OCWD في شراكة مع مقاطعة Orange County Sanitation District (OCSD) لبناء أكبر نظام متقدم لتنقية المياه في العالم لإعادة استخدام مياه الشرب.

الإجراءات المتخذة

أصبح المرفق الذي بناه OCWD و OCSD قيد التشغيل في عام 2008 وكان قادرًا في البداية على إنتاج 70 مليون جالون من المياه النظيفة يوميًا. في عام 2015 ، تم توسيع المصنع لإنتاج 100 مليون جالون يوميًا ، ويخضع المصنع حاليًا لتوسيع آخر سينتج 130 مليون جالون يوميًا في عام 2023.

كيف يعمل

قبل الذهاب إلى محطة التنقية ، تخضع مياه الصرف الصحي أولاً لعملية معالجة أكثر نموذجية تسمى المعالجة الثانوية ، والتي تشمل شاشات القضبان ، وغرف الحصى ، والمرشحات المتقطرة ، والحمأة المنشطة ، وأجهزة التصفية والتطهير. بعد اكتمال هذه العملية ، يتم إرسالها إلى مصنع GWRS. تم تصميم المصنع من قبل شركة CDM Smith الهندسية ، ويستخدم المصنع عملية تنقية من ثلاث خطوات.

1 - الخطوة الأولى هي الترشيح الدقيق ، الذي يعتمد على ألياف مجوفة صغيرة من البولي بروبلين ، تشبه القش ، مع ثقوب صغيرة في الجوانب يبلغ قطرها 0.2 ميكرون (1/300 قطر شعرة الإنسان). عن طريق سحب المياه من خلال الثقوب إلى مركز الألياف ، يتم تصفية المواد الصلبة العالقة ومسببات الأمراض من الماء.

التقطير الدقيق

يتضمن الترشيح الدقيق استخدام ألياف مجوفة صغيرة من مادة البولي بروبيلين ، تشبه القش ، مع ثقوب في الجوانب يبلغ قطرها 0.2 ميكرون (1/300 قطر شعرة الإنسان). عن طريق سحب المياه من خلال الثقوب إلى مركز الألياف ، يتم تصفية المواد الصلبة العالقة ومسببات الأمراض من الماء. الصورة © مقاطعة أورانج ووتر ديستريكت

2 - خلال الخطوة الثانية ، يخضع الماء للتناضح العكسي ، حيث يتم دفع المياه المضغوطة عبر غشاء دقيق يزيل مسببات الأمراض والمواد الكيميائية ، بما في ذلك المستحضرات الصيدلانية.

التناضح العكسي

بعد الترشيح الدقيق ، يخضع الماء للتناضح العكسي ، حيث يتم دفع المياه المضغوطة عبر غشاء دقيق يزيل مسببات الأمراض والمواد الكيميائية ، بما في ذلك المستحضرات الصيدلانية. الصورة © مقاطعة أورانج ووتر ديستريكت

3 - تتضمن الخطوة الثالثة معالجة نهائية بالأشعة فوق البنفسجية التي تطهر الماء عن طريق تغيير طبيعة الحمض النووي لأي مسببات الأمراض المتبقية ؛ يستخدم بيروكسيد الهيدروجين أيضًا لإزالة الحديد والعفص والمواد العضوية منخفضة الوزن الجزيئي من خلال عملية أكسدة متقدمة ، والتي تكسر الروابط الجزيئية للملوثات المتبقية. تُضاف المعادن مرة أخرى إلى الماء لتثبيته وتثبيت الرقم الهيدروجيني ، قبل دخوله نظام التوزيع.

الضوء فوق البنفسجي GWRS (UV)

العلاج النهائي بالأشعة فوق البنفسجية يطهر الماء عن طريق تغيير طبيعة الحمض النووي لأي مسببات الأمراض المتبقية ؛ كما يستخدم بيروكسيد الهيدروجين لإزالة الحديد والعفص والمواد العضوية منخفضة الوزن الجزيئي من خلال عملية أكسدة متقدمة ، والتي تكسر الروابط الجزيئية للملوثات المتبقية. الصورة © مقاطعة أورانج ووتر ديستريكت

تتجاوز المياه المعالجة بواسطة GWRS اللوائح الحكومية والفيدرالية الخاصة بمياه الشرب. (لمزيد من التفاصيل الهندسية ، راجع يفتح في نافذة جديدةجولة فنية في نظام تجديد المياه الجوفية.) تخضع المياه المعالجة والمياه الجوفية والسطحية لمراقبة مكثفة في  يفتح في نافذة جديدةمعمل جودة المياه فيليب ل. أنتوني، حيث يتم اختباره لأكثر من 500 مركب (تنظم وكالة حماية البيئة 90 مركبًا فقط ، مما يترك آلاف المواد الكيميائية غير منظمة). يقوم المعمل باختبار المياه من حوالي 1,500 موقع في جميع أنحاء الحوض ، ويحلل أكثر من 20,000 عينة كل عام ويبلغ عن أكثر من 400,000 نتيجة. يوفر OCWD أيضًا اختبارًا إقليميًا لأكثر من 200 بئر لمياه الشرب لمزودي مياه الشرب المحليين.

بعد العلاج ، يتم حقن حوالي ثلث الحجم الناتج في الآبار العميقة على طول الساحل ، مما يشكل حاجزًا للمياه العذبة ضد تسرب مياه البحر ، ويستخدم الباقي للمساعدة في تجديد حوض المياه الجوفية في مقاطعة أورانج. يحدث هذا من خلال السماح للمياه بالتجمع في أحواض كبيرة ثم تتسرب عبر الرمال والحصى عبر الجاذبية للتخزين النهائي في طبقة المياه الجوفية الجوفية. في حين أن عملية الترشيح يمكن أن توفر ترشيحًا إضافيًا ، في حالة OCWD ، تم بالفعل تنقية المياه إلى مستويات قريبة من التقطير ، وهذه الخطوة هي إلى حد كبير طبقة إضافية من الحماية التي يفرضها منظمو مياه الشرب في كاليفورنيا. يوفر هذا أيضًا فائدة نفسية ، حيث يساعد على تهدئة نفور المستهلك من استخدام المياه المعاد تدويرها لزيادة مصادر مياه الشرب التقليدية. يقوم تجار التجزئة بسحب المياه من الحوض عبر أكثر من 400 بئر وتوصيلها إلى المستهلكين.

ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟

يوفر البرنامج حاليًا 100 مليون جالون يوميًا ، وهو ما يكفي من المياه لتلبية احتياجات 850,000 ألف شخص. يوفر حوض المياه الجوفية في مقاطعة أورانج حوالي 77 ٪ من إجمالي إمدادات المياه إلى 2.5 مليون شخص يعيشون في شمال ووسط مقاطعة أورانج. يخضع المصنع حاليًا لتوسعة أخرى ، من المتوقع أن تصل طاقتها الإنتاجية إلى 130 مليون جالون يوميًا في عام 2023.

في حين أن هذا النظام قد بدأ في المقام الأول لتأمين المياه النظيفة للاستخدامات السكنية والتجارية ولم يبدأ بدافع القلق بشأن تأثير تصريف مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في المحيط ، فمنذ إنشائه في عام 2008 ، حقق النظام مع ذلك ما يقدر بـ 329 مليار جالون من المياه النظيفة المعاد تدويرها. كان من المحتمل أن يتم تصريف جزء كبير من هذه المياه في البحر إذا لم يتم بناء وتنفيذ النظام.

لا يزال النظام يخلق مجرى نفايات. تنتج عملية التنقية 85 بالمائة من المياه النظيفة من حيث الحجم ، في حين يتم إرسال 15 بالمائة مرة أخرى إلى OCSD لتتم معالجتها بشكل أكبر. في هذه المرحلة يبدو مثل الشاي المثلج الداكن. يتم فصل المواد الصلبة ونقلها إلى مكب الأرض. ما تبقى لا يزال يتم تصريفه في المحيط من خلال أنابيب المصب ، والتي تأخذ المياه خمسة أميال إلى المحيط على عمق مائتي قدم تحت سطح الماء.

كما يحصد OCSD الميثان والهيدروجين. يستخدم الهيدروجين للسيارات الهيدروجينية ، وهناك محطة شحن عند البوابة الأمامية.

لقد عملت GWRS كنموذج لأماكن أخرى ، مما يدل على أن إعادة تدوير المياه يمكن أن يكون مفيدًا ويصبح مقبولًا على نطاق واسع كحل لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في منطقة حضرية كبيرة غنية نسبيًا. تعاونت المنطقة مع سنغافورة ، التي شيدت وتستخدم الآن ما لا يقل عن ثلاثة مصانع أصغر باستخدام تقنية مماثلة ، وتدرس العديد من المدن في جميع أنحاء كاليفورنيا والولايات المتحدة والعالم الآن ما إذا كان استصلاح مياه الصرف الصحي يمكن أن يعمل لصالحهم.

الماء المقطر

تُضاف المعادن مرة أخرى إلى المياه النقية لتثبيتها وتثبيت درجة الحموضة قبل دخولها إلى نظام التوزيع. الصورة © مقاطعة أورانج ووتر ديستريكت

الدروس المستفادة

  • لا يمكن أن يتوقف التواصل مع الجمهور أبدًا ، ويجب أن يكون مبكرًا ومتكررًا. تعلمت مقاطعة أورانج من الإخفاقات المبكرة في سان دييغو في عام 1994 ، ولوس أنجلوس في عام 2000 ، حيث حاول كلاهما اجتياز برامج إعادة تدوير المياه وفشلا. في لوس أنجلوس ، لعبت تصورات العدالة الاجتماعية دورًا ، حيث كان من المقرر أن تتلقى المناطق الفقيرة المياه المعاد تدويرها. قامت سان دييغو منذ ذلك الحين ببناء محطة لتحلية المحيطات (أغلى ثمناً وتستهلك الكثير من الطاقة).
  • استثمرت OCWD في العمل مع المدارس لإشراك الأطفال ، بما في ذلك مهرجان المياه السنوي لطلاب الصف الخامس والسادس والفصول الدراسية الموجهة للشباب ، والتي يتم تدريسها من خلال كليات المجتمع المحلي ؛ تقدم المقاطعة جولات مجانية في المصنع للجمهور ؛ موقع الويب معقد ، مع شروحات ومقاطع فيديو مبسطة ، بالإضافة إلى مكتبات تحتوي على تقارير أكثر تعمقًا.
  • لقد لقي نظام GWRS استقبالًا جيدًا للغاية. ومن بين 158 مقالاً عن العملية نُشرت في الدوريات بين عامي 2000 و 2016 ، لم تكن هناك تغطية سلبية صفرية ، واعتبرت غالبية المقالات إما محايدة (72٪) أو إيجابية (28٪).
  • كان تعليم الموظفين الذين يديرون المصنع كيفية التحدث علنًا عن عملهم دون المصطلحات ، وجعلهم يقومون بالتوعية والعروض التقديمية ، بدلاً من شركات العلاقات العامة ، فعالاً. أصدرت ولاية كاليفورنيا مؤخرًا قانونًا يسمح للمنشأة بتعبئة جزء صغير من المياه المنتجة هناك ، مما يعني أنه يمكن للموظفين إحضار المياه إلى المهرجانات والمعارض المجتمعية حتى يتمكن الناس من رؤية المياه نظيفة فوارة. الخوف من شرب المياه المعاد تدويرها يتناقص مع الألفة.
  • يوفر وجود طبقة مياه جوفية حيث يمكن إعادة ضخ المياه ميزة نفسية لتهدئة النفور العام. كما أنه يوفر طبقة إضافية من الحماية لضمان اختلاط المياه المعاد تدويرها بالمياه الجوفية الأصلية.
  • أدت التحسينات في تكنولوجيا الأغشية إلى خفض تكلفة الطاقة للتناضح العكسي بنسبة 75٪ منذ السبعينيات.
  • كثيرًا ما يسأل الناس لماذا لا تقوم المقاطعة بتحلية مياه المحيط. إن تنقية المياه المالحة أكثر صعوبة وأكثر تكلفة من تنقية مياه الصرف الصحي. تحتوي مياه المحيط على حوالي 35,000 جزء في المليون من الأملاح ، في حين أن مياه الصرف الصحي تحتوي على أقل من 2000 جزء في المليون.
  • إنه مشروع مالي كبير ، بتكاليف تقترب من مليار دولار ، وتقديرات القيام بنفس البرنامج اليوم تقترب من ملياري دولار.
  • بمرور الوقت ، تم تنقيح اللوائح حيث جاءت البيانات من منشآت مثل GWRS. عندما بدأ البرنامج لأول مرة ، طلب قسم كاليفورنيا لمياه الشرب تخزين المياه تحت الأرض لمدة ستة أشهر ، مما خلق بعض التحديات الهندسية والبنية التحتية. الآن ، تم تقليل وقت التخزين تحت الأرض إلى ثلاثة أشهر.

ملخص التمويل

تبلغ التكلفة الإجمالية المقدرة لإنشاء GWRS ما يقرب من 1 مليار دولار (973 مليون دولار ، مع 481 مليون دولار في تكاليف البناء للمرفق الأولي 70 مليون جالون في اليوم). تم دفع هذا بمبلغ 135 مليون دولار في شكل قروض اتحادية منخفضة الفائدة و 167 مليون دولار في قروض حكومية منخفضة الفائدة ، مع منح تشكل الفارق ، بما في ذلك 90 مليون دولار من الإعانات من الوكالات ، بما في ذلك إدارة الموارد المائية في كاليفورنيا ، وحماية البيئة. الوكالة ، منطقة متروبوليتان ووتر بجنوب كاليفورنيا ، وغيرها.

استيراد المياه من أماكن أخرى يكلف حوالي 1,000 دولار لكل قدم. في حين أن تكلفة المياه المنتجة في GWRS هي 525 دولارًا للفدان مع الإعانات ، أو 850 دولارًا للفدان للقدم دون دعم.

المنظمات الرائدة

منطقة الصرف الصحي في مقاطعة أورانج ومنطقة المياه في مقاطعة أورانج

شركاؤنا

CDM Smith (هندسة)
بلاك اند فيتش (الهندسة)

المصادر

يفتح في نافذة جديدةتغطية الصحف لإعادة تدوير المياه الصالحة للشرب في نظام تجديد المياه الجوفية في مقاطعة أورانج كاونتي

يفتح في نافذة جديدةمقاطعة مقاطعة أورانج للصرف الصحي

يفتح في نافذة جديدةمقاطعة مقاطعة أورانج للمياه

: فيديو يفتح في نافذة جديدةجولة افتراضية: نظام تجديد المياه الجوفية

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Orange County Groundwater Replenishment

 

Location

Orange County, California is an urban area located on the coast of the Pacific Ocean, south of Los Angeles County. With a population of 3 million people as of 2010, it is California’s third most populous county.

The challenge

Orange County Water District (OCWD) is known for having built, in 1976, one of the first facilities in the US for turning wastewater into purified water. This initial project, called Water Factory 21, laid the foundation for a 2008 expansion into the world’s largest advanced water purification system for potable reuse. While the project was not initially conceived with ocean health in mind, it has saved billions of gallons of treated wastewater from being discharged into the ocean, while also providing clean water for hundreds of thousands of people in a drought-prone area.

By the mid-1970s, after experiencing a population boom and increased demand for water, Orange County’s underground fresh water aquifer had been drawn down. Saltwater from the ocean was seeping inland, posing a threat to the county’s drinking water supply. OCWD leaders decided to build a plant that could purify the county’s wastewater so that OCWD could inject the treated water back into the aquifer, where it acted as a barrier and staved off salt water intrusion.

The facility, known as Water Factory 21, was able to produce about 15 million gallons of clean water per day. As the county’s population grew, and more and more water was being withdrawn from underground aquifers, saltwater intrusion continued to be a problem. Drought was also common, resulting in frequent water shortages. At the time, the county’s water supply came from groundwater, the Santa Ana River, and was also imported at a significant cost from the Colorado River and from northern California. Importing more water was not as dependable during times of drought.

An additional problem facing the county was that a large outfall pipe, which sent treated wastewater from a treatment plant out into the ocean, had reached capacity. If water sources were expanded to match demand, the pipe would not be able to handle the additional volume.

OCWD leaders weighed different expansion plans, looking for the most affordable option that would also shore up the water supply even during droughts, eventually conceiving of the Groundwater Replenishment System project (GWRS). Under this plan, the OCWD partnered with the Orange County Sanitation District (OCSD) to build the world’s largest advanced water purification system for potable reuse.

Actions taken

The facility built by OCWD and OCSD became operational in 2008 and was initially able to produce 70 million gallons of clean water per day. In 2015, the plant was expanded to produce 100 million gallons per day, and the plant is currently undergoing another expansion which will produce 130 million gallons per day in 2023.

How it works

Before going to the purification plant, wastewater first undergoes a more typical treatment process called secondary treatment, which includes bar screens, grit chambers, trickling filters, activated sludge, clarifiers and disinfection. After this process is completed, it is sent to the GWRS plant. Designed by the engineering firm CDM Smith, the plant uses a three-step purification process.

1 – The first step is microfiltration, which relies on tiny polypropylene hollow fibers, similar to straws, with tiny holes in the sides that are 0.2 micron in diameter (1/300 the diameter of a human hair). By drawing water through the holes into the center of the fibers, suspended solids and pathogens are filtered out of the water.

Microfiltration

Microfiltration involves the use of tiny polypropylene hollow fibers, similar to straws, with holes in the sides that are 0.2 micron in diameter (1/300 the diameter of a human hair). By drawing water through the holes into the center of the fibers, suspended solids and pathogens are filtered out of the water. Photo © Orange County Water District

2 – During the second step, the water undergoes reverse osmosis, where pressurized water is forced through a fine membrane that removes pathogens and chemicals, including pharmaceuticals.

Reverse Osmosis

After microfiltration, the water undergoes reverse osmosis, where pressurized water is forced through a fine membrane that removes pathogens and chemicals, including pharmaceuticals. Photo © Orange County Water District

3 – The third step involves a final treatment with ultraviolet light, which disinfects the water by denaturing the DNA of any remaining pathogens; hydrogen peroxide is also used to remove iron, tannins and low molecular weight organics through an advanced oxidation process, which breaks the molecular bonds of remaining contaminants. Minerals are added back into the water to buffer it and stabilize the pH, prior to entering the distribution system.

GWRS Ultraviolet light  (UV)

A final treatment with ultraviolet light disinfects the water by denaturing the DNA of any remaining pathogens; and hydrogen peroxide is also used to remove iron, tannins and low molecular weight organics through an advanced oxidation process, which breaks molecular bonds of remaining contaminants. Photo © Orange County Water District

GWRS treated water exceeds state and federal regulations for drinking water. (For more engineering details, see opens in a new windowGroundwater Replenishment System Technical Tour.) The  treated water, groundwater and surface waters are subject to extensive monitoring at the  opens in a new windowPhilip L. Anthony Water Quality Laboratory, where it is tested for more than 500 compounds (the EPA only regulates 90, leaving thousands of chemicals unregulated). The lab tests water from approximately 1,500 locations throughout the basin, analyzes more than 20,000 samples each year and reports more than 400,000 results. OCWD also provides regional testing of more than 200 drinking water wells for local drinking water providers.

After treatment, about one-third of the volume produced is injected into deep wells along the coast, forming a freshwater barrier against seawater intrusion, and the remainder is used to help replenish the Orange County Groundwater Basin. This occurs by allowing the water to pool in large ponds and then percolate through sand and gravel via gravity for eventual storage in an underground aquifer. While the percolation process can provide additional filtration, in the case of OCWD the water has already been purified to near-distillation levels, and this step is largely for an additional layer of protection mandated by drinking water regulators in California. This also provides a psychological benefit, helping to allay consumer aversion to use of recycled water to augment traditional drinking water sources. Retailers withdraw the water from the basin through over 400 wells and pipe it to consumers.

How successful has it been?

The program currently supplies 100 million gallons per day, which is enough water to serve the needs of 850,000 people. The Orange County groundwater basin provides about 77% of the total water supply to 2.5 million people living in north and central Orange County. The plant is currently undergoing another expansion, which is expected to bring capacity up to 130 million gallons per day in 2023.

While this system was initiated primarily to secure clean water for residential and business use and was not initiated out of concern for the impact of treated wastewater discharge into the ocean, since its inception in 2008, the system has nonetheless created an estimated 329 billion gallons of recycled clean water. A significant portion of that water would likely have been discharged to the sea if the system had never been built and implemented.

The system does still create a waste stream. The purification process creates 85 percent clean water by volume, whereas 15 percent is sent back to OCSD to be further processed. At this point it looks like dark iced tea. Solids are separated and taken to a land fill. What is left is still discharged into the ocean through outfall pipes, which take the water five miles out into the ocean at a depth of two hundred feet below the surface of the water.

OCSD also harvests methane and hydrogen. The hydrogen is used for hydrogen cars, and there is a charging station at the front gate.

The GWRS has served as a model for other places, demonstrating that recycling water can work and become widely accepted as a wastewater treatment solution in a relatively affluent major metropolitan area. The district has collaborated with Singapore, which constructed and now uses at least three smaller plants using similar technology, and numerous cities across California, the US and the world are now considering whether wastewater reclamation could work for them.

Purified Water

Minerals are added back into the purified water to buffer it and stabilize the pH, prior to entering the distribution system. Photo © Orange County Water District

Lessons learned

  • Public outreach can never stop, and it has to be early and often. Orange County learned from early failures in San Diego in 1994, and Los Angeles in 2000, where both tried to pass water recycling programs and failed. In LA, social justice perceptions played a role, as it was poorer areas that were slated to receive the recycled water. San Diego has since built a (more expensive, energy-intensive) ocean desalinization plant.
  • OCWD has invested in working with schools to engage kids, including an annual water festival for 5th and 6th graders and classes geared at young adults, taught through local community colleges; the District offers free tours of the plant to the public; the website is sophisticated, with simplified explanations and videos, as well as libraries of more in-depth reports.
  • The GWRS has been extremely well-received. Of 158 articles about the operation published in periodicals between 2000-2016, there was zero negative coverage, with the majority of articles deemed either neutral (72%) or positive (28%).
  • Teaching the staff who run the plant how to speak publicly about their work without jargon, and having them do the outreach and presentations, rather than PR firms, has been effective. California recently passed a law that allows the facility to bottle a small portion of the water produced there, which means staff can bring the water to festivals and community fairs so people can see that the water is sparkling clean. The fear of drinking recycled water decreases with familiarity.
  • Having an aquifer where the water can be reinjected provides a psychological advantage for allaying public aversion. It also provides an additional layer of protection insuring the recycled water mixes with native groundwater.
  • Improvements in membrane technology have reduced the energy cost of reverse osmosis by 75% since the 1970s.
  • People often ask why the county doesn’t desalinate ocean water. It’s more challenging and more expensive to purify salt water than to purify sewage. Ocean water has about 35,000 ppm of salts, whereas sewage has less than 2000 ppm.
  • It is a large financial undertaking, with costs close to $1 billion, and estimates for doing the same program today are closer to $2 billion.
  • Over time, regulations have been refined as data has come in from facilities like the GWRS. When the program first started, the California Division of Drinking Water required the water to be stored underground for six months, which created some infrastructure and engineering challenges. Now, the underground storage time has been reduced to three months.

Funding summary

The total estimated cost of GWRS construction is nearly $1 billion ($973 million, with $481 million in construction costs for the initial 70 million gallons per day facility). This was paid for by $135 million in low-interest federal loans and $167 million in low-interest state loans, with grants making up the difference, including $90 million dollars in subsidies from agencies, including the California Department of Water Resources, the Environmental Protection Agency, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California, and others.

Importing water from elsewhere costs approximately $1,000 per acre-foot; whereas the cost of water produced at GWRS is $525 per acre-foot with subsidies, or $850 per acre-foot without subsidies.

Lead organizations

Orange County Sanitation District & Orange County Water District

Partners

CDM Smith (engineering)
Black and Veatch (engineering)

Resources

opens in a new windowNewspaper Coverage of Potable Water Recycling at Orange County Water District’s Groundwater Replenishment System

opens in a new windowOrange County Sanitation District

opens in a new windowOrange County Water District

Video: opens in a new windowVirtual Tour: Groundwater Replenishment System

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »