مياه الصرف الصحي في هاواي: التلوث الناجم عن الأرض

 

الموقع:

مقاطعات هاواي ، ماوي ، أواهو وكواشي في هاواي ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

التحدي

على الرغم من أن هاواي حظرت بناء آبار مياه جديدة في عام 2015 ، إلا أن حوالي 88,000 لا تزال قيد الاستخدام في جميع أنحاء الولاية. الآبار عبارة عن حفر تجمع وتحوي مياه الصرف الصحي. عادة ما تكون غير مبطنة ، فهي لا تعالج المياه العادمة بنشاط وهي مصدر لتلوث المسطحات المائية القريبة. في هاواي ، تصب البرك مياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة في البيئة كل يوم ، مما يعرض مياه الشرب للخطر بالإضافة إلى تلويث البيئة البحرية. النظم البيئية القريبة من الشاطئ والشعاب المرجانية معرضة لتدفقات المغذيات التي يمكن أن تسبب المرض ونمو الطحالب في الشعاب المرجانية التي تواجه أيضًا التبييض وآثار الصيد الجائر. تم تصنيف العديد من الشعاب المرجانية حول هاواي على أنها في حالة "رهيبة" من قبل العلماء. تعد الشعاب المرجانية عامل جذب رئيسي للسياح ، ويهدد تدهور صحتهم هذه الصناعة المهمة اقتصاديًا. ترسل آبار المياه ما يقدر بنحو 53 مليون جالون من مياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة إلى البيئة كل يوم في هاواي.

قال ستيوارت كولمان ، الشريك المؤسس لمنظمة مياه الصرف الصحي غير الربحية ومقرها هاواي: "هذا أمر صادم عندما تفكر في أن ما يفرغونه يوميًا أكبر من أسوأ تسرب لمياه الصرف الصحي شهدناه في هاواي على الإطلاق ، والذي كان في وايكيكي في عام 2006". البدائل والابتكار ، في إشارة إلى حادثة تم فيها تصريف 48 مليون جالون من النفايات البشرية في قناة ألا واي. "تم إغلاق جميع الشواطئ على الفور ، وتصدرت عناوين الصحف العالمية. الجميع يتذكر ذلك. هذا يضعها في نصابها الصحيح عندما تعتقد أن أكثر من ذلك يتم إطلاقه كل يوم في هاواي ".

مقطع عرضي بالوعة

تعتبر برك الصرف الصحي في الأساس ثقوبًا في الأرض لتلقي مياه الصرف الصحي ، ولكنها تقدم القليل من المعالجة أو لا تقدم أي معالجة قبل تصريف المياه العادمة. من حوض الصرف الصحي ، يمكن للملوثات مثل مسببات الأمراض والعناصر الغذائية أن تلوث بسهولة طبقات المياه الجوفية والجداول القريبة ، والتي تصب في المحيط. الصورة © مايكل ميزاكابو

إدراكًا لضرورة الاستعجال ، أصدر المشرعون في هاواي في عام 2017 قانونًا يقضي بإلغاء جميع أحواض الصرف الصحي واستبدالها بأنظمة الصرف الصحي بحلول عام 2050. للوفاء بتفويض عام 2050 ، سيتعين استبدال حوالي 3000 حوض مياه سنويًا ، ولكن الوتيرة الحالية أقل بكثير من ذلك ، في حوالي 150 في السنة. ومن تعقيدات هذا التفويض أنه لم يحدد طرق الاستبدال. في هاواي ، نحدد الشروط اللازمة لاستبدال عشرات الآلاف من خزانات الصرف الصحي بأنظمة الصرف الصحي بنجاح. على سبيل المثال ، يجب اختبار الحلول وإثبات فعاليتها في التربة البركانية في هاواي. تجعل التربة البركانية عالية النفاذية في جميع أنحاء الولاية العديد من أنظمة الصرف الصحي غير مناسبة ، مما يتطلب استكشاف خيارات جديدة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يجب أن تكون أنظمة الاستبدال ميسورة التكلفة.

تحتاج قوانين قانون البناء والصحة في هاواي إلى تعديل لمراعاة الأنظمة غير التقليدية. ستتطلب أنظمة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الجديدة معرفة متخصصة من المهندسين والمركبين والقائمين على الصيانة. ومع ذلك ، فإن الوفاء بتكليف الولاية بتحويل ما يقرب من 90,000 ألف برك مياه في العقود الثلاثة المقبلة يمكن أن يخلق ما يصل إلى 2,000 فرصة عمل جديدة.

الإجراءات المتخذة

تم إطلاق بدائل وابتكار مياه الصرف الصحي (WAI) غير الهادفة للربح ومقرها هاواي في يناير 2020 بهدف تحفيز استبدال الأحواض الملوثة بأنظمة بديلة من شأنها حماية جودة المياه.

ساعد WAI في إنشاء hui ، وهو اتحاد من الشركاء ، لمواجهة العديد من هذه التحديات. مع هذا hui ، يقومون ببناء برنامج وظائف على مستوى الولاية ، Work-4-Water ، مع التركيز على استبدال البالوعة. يعمل البرنامج على تهيئة الظروف المواتية لإجراء تحويلات آمنة وفي الوقت المناسب وقانوني. إن إنشاء وعي واسع النطاق بالمشكلة ، والسياسات واللوائح الجديدة ، وجهود تغيير السلوك ، وتدفق التمويل الجديد ، والحلول المعقولة التكلفة والفعالة التي تعمل في ظل الظروف المحلية ، والقوى العاملة الماهرة هي جوانب رئيسية لهذا البرنامج. التحدي الإضافي هو أن الوباء العالمي يتطلب التكيف السريع مع المشهد السياسي الجديد. أصبحت تدفقات التمويل للعديد من المشاريع نادرة وأصبح التركيز على خلق فرص العمل الآن أكثر أهمية للاقتصاد.

سيبدأ برنامج Work-4-Water بإطلاق 400 مشروع تجريبي لاستبدال الأحواض ، منتشرة بين هاواي ، ماوي ، أواهو ، كاواي ، على مدى ثلاث سنوات (2021 إلى 2023). ستستهدف هذه البرامج التجريبية المجالات ذات الأولوية العالية التي حددتها وزارة الصحة في هاواي وستختبر العديد من تقنيات الصرف الصحي الجديدة ، وجمع البيانات عن أدائها.

مواقع تجمع Cess عبر هاواي دوه

حددت وزارة الصحة في هاواي مواقع برك المياه المقدرة بالولاية بـ 88,000. تشير المناطق الصفراء إلى تلك المستهدفة كأولويات للاستبدال. الصورة © وزارة الصحة بولاية هاواي

كجزء من برنامج Work-4-Water ، ستتعاون كليات المجتمع بجامعة هاواي مع مركز أبحاث موارد المياه في هاواي ووزارة الصحة في ولاية هاواي لتوظيف معلمين وممارسين لتدريب الطلاب والعمال النازحين على تركيب نظام الصرف الصحي و اعمال صيانة. ستوفر الفصول التدريب على تركيب وفحص وصيانة أنظمة مياه الصرف الصحي الفردية (IWS) وستتضمن دورات للحصول على الشهادات. سيكون هؤلاء الطيارون بمثابة نموذج لإنشاء برامج تدريبية لآلاف العمال الجدد الذين سيكون لديهم المعرفة والمهارات اللازمة لاستبدال 88,000 بئر هاواي بنجاح.

تشمل التقنيات التجريبية المحتملة اختلافات في الأراضي الرطبة المبنية وكذلك المرشحات الحيوية للحد من النيتروجين أو حدائق المفاعلات الحيوية. تستخدم حلول معالجة مياه الصرف السلبية هذه ، بناءً على بحث من جامعة Stony Brook و The Nature Conservancy ، طبقات من الرمل ورقائق الخشب والفحم الحيوي لإزالة مسببات الأمراض والمواد الكيميائية والمغذيات من مياه الصرف الصحي. بالنسبة للمناطق ذات منسوب المياه الضحلة ، بالقرب من الخط الساحلي ، أو حيث تكون المساحة محدودة ، يمكن استخدام وحدات المعالجة الهوائية. هذه لا تزيل مسببات الأمراض من النفايات فحسب ، بل تقلل أيضًا من النترات والمواد المغذية الأخرى.

تعمل WAI مع Work-4-Water hui وتستخدم العمال الممول من قانون CARES لتكوين قاعدة بيانات لأصحاب المنازل الموجودين في مناطق الأولوية 1-3 (التي تحددها وزارة الصحة بالولاية) ، حيث تشكل مياه الصرف الصحي بالوعة تهديدًا مصادر مياه الشرب والمياه الجوفية والمياه السطحية الحساسة. ستتضمن قاعدة البيانات أيضًا قائمة بمهندسي مياه الصرف الصحي المعتمدين والمقاولين وموردي المعدات والموارد المالية.

تحذير الشاطئ

اللافتة تحذر السباحين من السباحة في المياه الملوثة. الصورة © WAI

اعتبارًا من أكتوبر 2020 ، لا يزال برنامج تحويل البالوعة على نطاق واسع في مرحلة التخطيط والتطوير ولم يتم تنفيذه بعد. يقوم أعضاء Work-4-Water hui حاليًا بالتثقيف والتواصل مع الممولين وأصحاب المصلحة المحليين. إن hui في طور التقدم للحصول على منح اتحادية وحكومية كبيرة لتمويل البرنامج ، بما في ذلك السعي للحصول على تمويل من وزارة العمل ورابطة التنمية الاقتصادية. من المتوقع أن يأتي الجزء الأكبر من الأموال من حزمة التحفيز الثانية للحكومة الفيدرالية للمساعدة في تنمية القوى العاملة.

ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟

في انتظار التمويل الذي سيسمح بتوسيع نطاق الجهود ، تمتلك WAI 10 مشاريع حالية قيد التنفيذ وهي في طريقها للانتهاء قبل فبراير 2021. من خلال هذه المشاريع ، تقدم WAI خيارات تقنية جديدة يمكن أن تغير الصرف الصحي التقليدي. أحد الأمثلة على ذلك هو مشروع WAI التجريبي الذي يستخدم مرحاض Cinderella Incinerator ، وهو نظام بدون ماء يحرق النفايات الصلبة والسائلة لإنشاء رماد خالٍ من مسببات الأمراض وعديم الرائحة. تعمل WAI أيضًا مع Cambrian Innovation لمعالجة تحويل النفايات إلى طاقة لاستعادة المياه وإعادة تدويرها لاستخدامات أخرى.

مرحاض سندريلا

مرحاض محرقة سندريلا مستورد من النرويج ، تم تركيبه في معهد هاواي للأحياء البحرية في خليج كانوهي ، 30 سبتمبر 2020. إنه ينتج رمادًا خاليًا من مسببات الأمراض كمنتج نفاياته الوحيد ، ويعمل بالبروبان ، ويمكن استخدامه بالكامل خارج الشبكة . الصورة © WAI

الدروس المستفادة والتوصيات

لا يزال برنامج WAI يتعلم ويواجه التحديات ويؤسس أفضل الممارسات. يفكر ستيوارت كولمان في هذا الأمر قائلاً: "المشاركة المدنية أمر بالغ الأهمية. إذا كنت تريد حلاً ، فأنت بحاجة إلى إحاطة نفسك بالأشخاص الذين يريدون الحلول. تأسس هذا البلد من قبل أناس وافقوا على فكرة "من قبل الشعب ، من الشعب ، من أجل الشعب" ".

يقدم تشجيعًا متفائلًا ، "اجمع الأشخاص المناسبين معًا ، الذين يمكنهم التفكير خارج الصندوق."

بالإضافة إلى الاعتراف بالحاجة إلى التعاون المستمر ، توضح مشاريع WAI أيضًا الطبيعة التدريجية للتغيير. "ذكر الناس دائمًا بالصورة الكبيرة. من السهل جدًا أن تضيع في التفاصيل. نستمر في تذكير الناس ، "هذه مشكلة كبيرة ، لن تختفي ، لا أحد يفعل أي شيء حيالها ، ونحن بحاجة إلى تحقيق ذلك." ذكر الناس لماذا نفعل ما نفعله. كل شيء عن المياه النظيفة. " - ستيوارت كولمان

ملخص التمويل

برنامج Work 4 Water هو برنامج تجريبي واسع النطاق على مستوى الولاية لإطلاق 4.5 مليار دولار أمريكي لتحسين البنية التحتية وبرنامج التنويع الاقتصادي. التمويل المطلوب لمرحلة التخطيط باستخدام أموال CARES Act: 150,000.00،XNUMX دولار

التمويل المطلوب لثلاث سنوات:
السنة الأولى: 1،6,634,000.00،XNUMX دولار
السنة الأولى: 3،7,583,000.00،XNUMX دولار
السنة الأولى: 2،8,783,000.00،XNUMX دولار
المجموع: 23,000,000.00 دولار أمريكي

المنظمة الرائدة

WAI: بدائل مياه الصرف الصحي والابتكارات

شركاؤنا

جامعة هاواي في مركز أبحاث الموارد المائية في مانوا
برنامج كلية منحة البحر بجامعة هاواي
بدائل وابتكارات مياه الصرف الصحي
كليات مجتمع جامعة هاواي
إدارة الصحة في هاواي - فرع مياه الصرف الصحي
مركز أبحاث الموارد المائية بجامعة هاواي

مصادر

يفتح في نافذة جديدةبدائل مياه الصرف الصحي والابتكار
يفتح في نافذة جديدةاكسليراتور الابتدائية
يفتح في نافذة جديدةالابتكار الكمبري
يفتح في نافذة جديدةضوابط الكتلة الحيوية
يفتح في نافذة جديدةمعلومات عن حوض هاواي الصحي
يفتح في نافذة جديدةنظرة عامة على أنظمة التخلص في الموقع الخاصة بوكالة حماية البيئة

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Sewage in Hawaiʻi: Land-Based Pollution

 

Location

Hawaiʻi, Maui, Oʻahu and Kauaʻi counties of Hawaiʻi, USA

The challenge

Although Hawaiʻi banned the construction of new cesspools in 2015, about 88,000 are still in use across the state. Cesspools are pits that collect and contain sewage. Typically unlined, they don’t actively treat wastewater and are a source of contamination of nearby bodies of water. In Hawaiʻi, cesspools discharge untreated sewage into the environment every day, putting the drinking water at risk in addition to polluting the marine environment. Nearshore ecosystems and coral reefs are vulnerable to influxes of nutrients which can cause disease and algae overgrowth in corals which are also facing bleaching and the effects of overfishing. Several reefs around Hawaiʻi have been categorized as in “dire” condition by scientists. Coral reefs are a major attraction for tourists, and their declining health threatens this economically important industry. Cesspools send an estimated 53 million gallons of untreated sewage into the environment every day in Hawaiʻi.

“That’s shocking when you think about how what they discharge every day is larger than the worst sewage spill we ever had in Hawaiʻi, which was in Waikiki in 2006,” said Stuart Coleman, co-founder of the Hawaiʻi-based non-profit Wastewater Alternatives and Innovation, referring to an incident where 48 million gallons of human waste were discharged into the Ala Wai Canal. “All of the beaches were immediately shut down, it made international headlines. Everyone remembers that. That puts it into perspective when you think that more than that is released every day in Hawaiʻi.”

Cross section of a cesspool

Cess pools are essentially holes in the ground for receiving wastewater, but which offer little to no treatment before wastewater is discharged. From a cess pool, pollutants such as pathogens and nutrients can easily contaminate nearby aquifers and streams, which drain into the ocean. Photo © Michael Mezzacapo

Realizing the urgency, in 2017 Hawaiian legislators passed a law requiring all cesspools be eliminated and replaced by sewer systems by 2050. To meet the 2050 mandate, around 3000 cesspools will need to be replaced annually, but the current pace is far below that, at around 150 per year. One of the complications of this mandate was that it did not specify replacement methods. In Hawaiʻi we are identifying the needed conditions for successfully replacing tens of thousands of cesspools with sewage systems. For instance, solutions need to be tested and proven to work in Hawaiian volcanic soils. The high permeable volcanic soils across the state make many septic systems unsuitable, requiring exploration of novel options. Additionally, the replacement systems need to be affordable.

Hawaiʻi’s building and health code laws need to be adjusted to account for non-traditional systems. New sewage treatment systems will require specialized knowledge from engineers, installers, and maintainers. Fulfilling the state’s mandate of converting nearly 90,000 cesspools in the next three decades could create up to 2,000 new jobs, however.

Actions taken

A Hawaiʻi-based non-profit, Wastewater Alternatives and Innovation (WAI) was launched in January 2020 with the aim of catalyzing the replacement of polluting cesspools with alternative systems that will protect water quality.

WAI helped create a hui, a consortium of partners, to address many of these challenges. With this hui, they are building a statewide jobs program, Work-4-Water, with emphasis on cesspool replacement. The program is working to create enabling conditions for safe, timely, and legal cesspool conversions. Establishing widespread awareness of the problem, new policies and regulations, behavior change efforts, new funding streams, affordable and effective solutions that work under local conditions, and a skilled workforce are major aspects of this program. An additional challenge is that the global pandemic has demanded rapid adaptation to a new political landscape. Funding streams for many projects became scarce and a focus on job-creation is now more critical to the economy.

The Work-4-Water program will start by launching 400 pilot cesspool replacement projects, spread between Hawaiʻi, Maui, Oʻahu, Kauaʻi, over three years (2021 to 2023). These pilot programs will target high priority areas identified by Hawaiʻi’s Department of Health and will test several new sanitation technologies, collecting data on their performance.

Cess pool locations across hawaii doh

The Hawaiʻi Department of Health has mapped the locations of the state’s estimated 88,000 cesspools. Yellow areas indicate those that are targeted as priorities for replacement. Photo © Hawaiʻi State Department of Health

As part of the Work-4-Water program, the University of Hawaiʻi Community Colleges will collaborate with the Hawaiʻi Water Resources Research Center and the State of Hawaiʻi Department of Health to recruit teachers and practitioners to train students and displaced workers for sanitation system installation and maintenance. Classes will provide training for installation, inspection, and maintenance of Individual Wastewater Systems (IWS) and will include certification courses. These pilots will serve as a model for creating training programs for thousands of new workers who will have the knowledge and skills to successfully replace Hawaiʻi’s 88,000 cesspools.

Potential pilot technologies include variations of constructed wetlands as well as nitrogen-reducing biofilters or bioreactor gardens. These passive wastewater treatment solutions, based on research from Stony Brook University and The Nature Conservancy, use layers of sand, wood chips, and biochar to remove pathogens, chemicals, and nutrients from sewage. For areas with shallow water tables, close to the shoreline, or where space is limited, aerobic treatment units can be used. These not only remove pathogens from waste but also reduce nitrates and other nutrients.

WAI is working with the Work-4-Water hui and using CARES Act-funded workers to put together a database of homeowners who are in Priority 1-3 areas (identified by the state Department of Health), where cesspool sewage poses a threat to drinking water sources, groundwater, and sensitive surface waters. The database will also include a list of certified wastewater engineers, contractors, equipment suppliers, and financial resources.

Beach warning

The sign cautions swimmers against swimming in contaminated waters. Photo © WAI

As of October 2020, the large-scale cesspool conversion program is still in the planning and development stage and has yet to be implemented. The Work-4-Water hui members are currently doing education and outreach to funders and local stakeholders. The hui is in the process of applying for large federal and state grants to fund the program, including seeking funding from the Department of Labor and the Economic Development Association. The bulk of the funds are anticipated to come from the federal government’s second stimulus package to help with workforce development.

How successful has it been?

While awaiting funding that will allow efforts to scale up, WAI has 10 current projects in place which are on track for completion before February 2021. Through these projects, WAI is introducing new technology options that could transform traditional sanitation. One example is the WAI pilot project using the Cinderella Incinerator Toilet, a waterless system that burns solid and liquid waste to create pathogen-free, odorless ash. WAI is also working with Cambrian Innovation waste-to-energy treatment that recovers and recycles water for other uses.

Cinderella toilet

A Cinderella Incinerator Toilet imported from Norway, installed at the Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology in Kaneohe Bay, September 30, 2020. It produces pathogen-free ash as its only waste product, is powered by propane, and can be used completely off-grid. Photo © WAI

Lessons learned and recommendations

WAI is still learning, facing challenges, and establishing best practices. Stuart Coleman reflects on this, saying “Civic engagement is critical. If you want a solution, you need to surround yourself with people who want solutions. This country was founded by people who agreed with the idea of ‘by the people, of the people, for the people’.”

He offers optimistic encouragement, “Bring the right people together, who can think outside the box.”

In addition to acknowledging the need for ongoing collaboration, WAI projects also demonstrate the incremental nature of change. “Always remind people of the big picture. It’s so easy to get lost in details. We keep reminding people, ‘This is a big problem, it’s not going away, nobody is doing anything about it, and we need to make this happen.’ Remind people why we are doing what we’re doing. It’s all about clean water.” – Stuart Coleman

Funding Summary

The Work 4 Water program is a large-scale, statewide pilot to launch a $4.5 Billion infrastructure improvement and economic diversification program. Requested funding for the planning phase using CARES Act Funds: $150,000.00

Three-year requested funding:
Year 1: $6,634,000.00
Year 3: $7,583,000.00
Year 2: $8,783,000.00
Total: $23,000,000.00 USD

Lead Organization

WAI: Wastewater Alternatives & Innovations

Partners

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Water Resources Research Center
University of Hawaiʻi Sea Grant College Program
Wastewater Alternatives and Innovations
University of Hawaiʻi Community Colleges
Hawaiʻi Department of Health-Wastewater Branch
University of Hawaii Water Resources Research Center

Resources

opens in a new windowWastewater Alternatives and Innovation
opens in a new windowElemental Excelerator
opens in a new windowCambrian Innovation
opens in a new windowBiomass Controls
opens in a new windowHawaii Department of Health Cesspool Information
opens in a new windowEPA On-Site Disposal Systems Overview

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »