التبييض الشامل

الشعاب المرجانية نابضة بالحياة في بالاو ، ميكرونيزيا. الصورة © إيان شيف

تبيض المرجان هو استجابة شائعة للشعاب المرجانية التي تتعرض للإجهاد ، والمستعمرات المعزولة أو البقع الصغيرة من الشعاب المرجانية المبيضة ليست بالضرورة مدعاة للقلق. ومع ذلك ، فإن أحداث التبييض الجماعي التي تمتد لعشرات أو حتى مئات (وأحيانًا آلاف) الكيلومترات يمكن أن تؤثر على النظم البيئية بأكملها وتشكل سببًا مهمًا لقلق مديري الشعاب المرجانية وأصحاب المصلحة.

أحداث التبييض الشامل هي في المقام الأول أثار عن طريق درجات حرارة البحر تتجاوز الحد الأقصى المعتاد في الصيف لفترات طويلة (أسابيع). لقد ازداد تواتر وشدة أحداث التبييض الشامل خلال العقود القليلة الماضية ، مما تسبب في تدهور الشعاب المرجانية على نطاق عالمي. من المتوقع أن تحدث هذه الأحداث في كثير من الأحيان مع استمرار ارتفاع درجات حرارة سطح البحر في ظل تغير المناخ العالمي. المرجع

التبييض الشامل في جزر كيبل أستراليا بول مارشال GBRMPA

حدث التبييض الجماعي في جزر كيبل ، أستراليا. الصورة © Paul Marshall / Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority

يمكن أن تختلف شدة التبييض عبر نظام الشعاب المرجانية ، حتى في حالة التبييض الشامل. ستؤثر مجموعة من العوامل على توقيت وشدة التبييض ، خاصة على نطاق الشعاب أو المناطق الفردية. على الرغم من أن ارتفاع درجة حرارة الماء وضوء الشمس الساطع هما السببان الرئيسيان لتبييض الكتلة ، فإن الظروف الهادئة والواضحة مع الحد الأدنى من التيار يمكن أن تؤدي إلى تفاقم التوتر وتكثيف التبييض. قد ينتج عن قلة الرياح والتيارات اختلاط طبقات المياه ، البحار الأكثر وضوحًا ، والتغلغل الأعمق للإشعاع الشمسي (أي كمية الضوء التي تخترق عمود الماء).

خريطة لتوزيع تبيض المرجان عالميا

خريطة لتوزيع تبيض المرجان عالميا. تم تقديم انتشار تبيض المرجان كنسبة مئوية من التجمعات المرجانية التي تبيضت في 3,351 موقعًا في 81 دولة من 1998 إلى 2017. تشير الدوائر البيضاء إلى عدم وجود تبيض. تشير الدوائر الملونة إلى 1٪ تبييض (أزرق) من خلال 100٪ تبييض (أصفر). المصدر: Sully et al. 2019

تعتمد استجابة المجتمع المرجاني للتوتر أيضًا على حالة (عوامل الإجهاد الموجودة مسبقًا) للشعاب المرجانية ووفرة وتكوين الشعاب المرجانية. الشعاب المرجانية التي تسودها أنواع من الشعاب المرجانية المقاومة قد تبيض بشكل أقل حدة ، أو تتبييض لاحقًا ، من الشعاب المرجانية التي تهيمن عليها الأنواع المعرضة للإصابة. قد تكون العوامل التي تقلل من هذه الظروف المجهدة ، مثل الغطاء السحابي أو الرياح القوية أو العواصف الاستوائية كافية لحماية الشعاب المرجانية من الابيضاض.

التنبؤ بأحداث التبييض الشامل

سواء تبيض الشعاب المرجانية خلال أحداث الاحتباس الحراري يعتمد على مجموعة متنوعة من العوامل ، على حد سواء الفيزيائية والبيولوجية. ومع ذلك ، يوفر الارتباط القوي لدرجة الحرارة أساسًا موثوقًا للتنبؤ باحتمالية وتوقيت أحداث التبييض الشامل.

يفتح في نافذة جديدةأسابيع درجة التسخين (DHWs) هو مقياس يستخدمه برنامج مراقبة الشعاب المرجانية التابع للإدارة الوطنية للمحيطات والغلاف الجوي (NOAA) لمساعدة مديري الشعاب المرجانية في جميع أنحاء العالم على مراقبة مخاطر التبييض. نظرًا لأن مخاطر تبيض المرجان يتم تحديدها من خلال كل من حجم الشذوذ في درجة الحرارة ومدته (أي مدى ارتفاع درجة الحرارة عن عتبة التبييض ومدة بقائها فوق هذا الحد) ، يتم استخدام DHWs لتمثيل تراكم الإجهاد الحراري للشعاب المرجانية. يعادل DHW أسبوعًا واحدًا من درجات حرارة سطح البحر أعلى بدرجة واحدة مئوية من الحد الأقصى المتوقع في الصيف. اثنان من DHW يعادلان أسبوعين بدرجة واحدة أعلى من الحد الأقصى المتوقع في الصيف or أسبوع واحد بدرجتين فوق الحد الأقصى المتوقع لفصل الصيف. في 4 DHWs ، أصبحت الظروف مرهقة للشعاب المرجانية ، وأصبحت أحداث التبييض محتملة. من المحتمل أن يحدث الإجهاد الشديد وربما الوفيات عند 8 DHWs أو أكثر.

A الأخيرة يفتح في نافذة جديدةتقرير من قبل برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة (UNEP) استخدم أحدث نموذج مناخي من IPCC لتحديث التوقعات العالمية والإقليمية لبداية التبييض الشديد السنوي (ASB) بين الشعاب المرجانية في العالم. من النتائج الرئيسية للتقرير أن غالبية الشعاب المرجانية (> 80٪) من المتوقع أن تشهد طقوس البحر المتوسط ​​في هذا القرن ، حتى مع الأخذ في الاعتبار التكيف مع المناخ. يمكن أيضًا استخدام الإسقاطات الواردة في التقرير في إدارة وتخطيط الشعاب المرجانية من خلال الإبلاغ عن احتمالية وتوقيت تأثر الشعاب المرجانية أو منطقة الشعاب المرجانية بالتبييض الشديد للشعاب المرجانية. يتم عرض صور الخرائط العالمية على برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة يفتح في نافذة جديدةغرفة حالة البيئة العالمية وطبقات البيانات المتوافقة مع الاستخدام في ArcGIS يمكن تنزيلها.

يوفر يفتح في نافذة جديدةألين كورال أطلس أطلقت نظام مراقبة عالميًا يعتمد على صور الأقمار الصناعية للشعاب المرجانية ، مما جلب أملًا جديدًا لجهود الحفظ. لمعرفة المزيد ، شاهد مقطع الفيديو أدناه الذي تبلغ مدته 5 دقائق والذي يوضح كيفية عمل نظام مراقبة التبييض من أطلس ، وكيفية تصور ذلك ، وكيف يمكنك المساعدة في عملية التحقق من الصحة.

انقر هنا للحصول على معلومات حول مراقبة و إدارة أحداث التبييض.

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Mass Bleaching

Vibrant coral reef in Palau, Micronesia. Photo © Ian Shive

Coral bleaching is a common response of a coral under stress, and isolated colonies or small patches of bleached coral are not necessarily cause for concern. However, mass bleaching events that span tens or even hundreds (and sometimes thousands) of kilometers can affect entire ecosystems and are a significant cause for concern for coral reef managers and stakeholders.

Mass bleaching events are primarily triggered by sea temperatures exceeding the normal summer maximum for prolonged periods (weeks). The frequency and severity of mass-bleaching events have been increasing over the last few decades, causing reef degradation at a global scale. These events are expected to occur even more often as sea-surface temperatures continue to rise under global climate change. ref

Mass Bleaching in the Keppel Islands Australia Paul Marshall GBRMPA

Mass bleaching event in the Keppel Islands, Australia. Photo © Paul Marshall/Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority

Bleaching severity can vary across a reef system, even within a mass bleaching event. A range of factors will influence the timing and severity of bleaching, especially at the scale of individual reefs or areas. While high water temperature and bright sunlight are the primary triggers of mass bleaching, calm and clear conditions with minimal current can exacerbate the stress and intensify bleaching. Lack of wind and currents may result in less mixing of water layers, clearer seas, and deeper penetration of solar irradiance (i.e., the amount of light that penetrates the water column).

Map of the distribution of coral bleaching globally

Map of the distribution of coral bleaching globally. Prevalence of coral bleaching is presented as a percentage of the coral assemblage that bleached at 3,351 sites in 81 countries from 1998 to 2017. White circles indicate no bleaching. Colored circles indicate 1% bleaching (blue) through 100% bleaching (yellow). Source: Sully et al. 2019

The response of a coral community to stress also depends on the condition (pre-existing stressors) of corals and the abundance and composition of corals. Reefs dominated by resistant coral types may bleach less severely, or bleach later, than reefs dominated by susceptible species. Factors that reduce these stressful conditions, such as cloud cover, strong winds, or tropical storms may be enough to protect the corals from bleaching.

Forecasting Mass Bleaching Events

Whether a reef bleaches during warming events depends on a variety of factors, both physical and biological. However, the strong link to temperature provides a reliable basis for predicting the probability and timing of mass bleaching events.

opens in a new windowDegree heating weeks (DHWs) are a metric used by NOAA’s Coral Reef Watch program to help coral reef managers worldwide monitor bleaching risk. Because coral bleaching risk is determined by both the size of the temperature anomaly and its duration (i.e., how far the temperature is above the bleaching threshold and how long it has stayed above that threshold), DHWs are used to represent the accumulation of thermal stress for corals. One DHW is equivalent to one week of sea-surface temperatures one degree Celsius greater than the expected summertime maximum. Two DHWs are equivalent to two weeks at one degree above the expected summertime maximum or one week of two degrees above the expected summertime maximum. At 4 DHWs, conditions have become stressful for corals, and bleaching events become likely. Severe stress and possibly mortality is likely to occur at 8 DHWs or greater.

A recent opens in a new windowreport by the United Nation Environment Programme (UNEP) used the latest climate model from the IPCC to update global and regional projections of the onset of Annual Severe Bleaching (ASB) among the world’s coral reefs. A key result from the report is that the majority of coral reefs (>80%) are expected to experience ASB this century, even considering climate adaptation. Projections from the report can also be used in coral reef management and planning by informing the likeliness and timing at which a reef or reef area will be impacted by severe coral bleaching. Global map images are presented on UNEP’s opens in a new windowWorld Environment Situation Room and data layers that are compatible with use in ArcGIS can be downloaded.

Data from NOAA’s Coral Reef Watch have recently been integrated with the opens in a new windowAllen Coral Atlas to provide a dynamic and comparable bleaching monitoring system. The maps are updated every two weeks and link high resolution satellite imagery with NOAA’s data to identify the bleaching status of different reef regions of the world.

Click here for information on monitoring and managing bleaching events.

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »