التهديدات المحلية

مرض المرجان ، فلوريدا. الصورة © TNC

بالإضافة إلى التهديدات المرتبطة بالمناخ وتغير المحيطات ، تتأثر الشعاب المرجانية أيضًا بالعديد من التهديدات المحلية والإقليمية. قد تحدث هذه التهديدات بمفردها أو بالتآزر مع تغير المناخ مما يزيد من المخاطر التي تتعرض لها أنظمة الشعاب المرجانية.

الصيد الجائر والصيد المدمر

تم تحديد الصيد غير المستدام باعتباره أكثر التهديدات المحلية انتشارًا للشعاب المرجانية. المرجع أكثر من 55٪ من الشعاب المرجانية في العالم مهددة بالصيد الجائر و / أو الصيد المدمر. يؤدي الصيد الجائر (على سبيل المثال ، صيد أسماك أكثر مما يمكن أن يدعمه النظام) إلى انخفاض في أعداد الأسماك ، وتأثيرات على نطاق النظام الإيكولوجي ، وتأثيرات على المجتمعات البشرية المعتمدة. يرتبط الصيد المدمر ببعض أنواع طرق الصيد بما في ذلك الديناميت والشباك الخيشومية وشباك الشاطئ. هذه تضر الشعاب المرجانية ليس فقط من خلال التأثيرات المادية ولكن أيضًا من خلال الصيد العرضي ونفوق الأنواع غير المستهدفة بما في ذلك الأحداث. اقرأ المزيد عن التهديدات واستراتيجيات الإدارة في مجموعة أدوات مصايد الأسماك المرجانية.

قصف مرجاني للصيد في إندونيسيا. الصورة © جيف يونوفر

نسبة التلوث

تقليديا ، ارتبطت تأثيرات تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي بصحة الإنسان ، ولكن لا يمكن التغاضي عن الآثار الضارة لتلوث المياه العادمة على الحياة البحرية - والتأثيرات غير المباشرة على الناس. تنقل مياه الصرف مسببات الأمراض والمغذيات والملوثات والمواد الصلبة إلى المحيط التي يمكن أن تسبب تبيض المرجان والأمراض ونفوق المرجان والأسماك والمحار. يمكن أن يؤدي تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي أيضًا إلى تغيير درجة حرارة المحيط ودرجة الحموضة والملوحة ومستويات الأكسجين مما يعطل العمليات البيولوجية والبيئات المادية الأساسية للحياة البحرية.

تشمل المصادر الأخرى لتلوث مياه الشعاب المرجانية التلوث الأرضي المرتبط بالأنشطة البشرية مثل الزراعة والتعدين والتنمية الساحلية التي تؤدي إلى تصريف أو ترشيح الرواسب الضارة والملوثات والمغذيات. يمكن للتلوث البحري المرتبط بالسفن التجارية والترفيهية والركاب أن يهدد أيضًا الشعاب المرجانية عن طريق تصريف مياه الآسن الملوثة والوقود ومياه الصرف الصحي الخام والنفايات الصلبة ، وعن طريق نشر الأنواع الغازية. تعرف على المزيد في مجموعة أدوات تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي أو في دورة على الإنترنت حول تلوث مياه الصرف الصحي.

التنمية الساحلية

يعيش أكثر من 2.5 مليار شخص (40٪ من سكان العالم) على بعد 100 من الساحل ، المرجع إضافة ضغط متزايد على النظم البيئية الساحلية. يمكن أن تتسبب التنمية الساحلية المرتبطة بالمستوطنات البشرية والصناعة وتربية الأحياء المائية والبنية التحتية في حدوث تأثيرات شديدة على النظم البيئية القريبة من الشواطئ ، وخاصة الشعاب المرجانية. قد تكون تأثيرات التنمية الساحلية مباشرة (على سبيل المثال ، ردم الأرض ، والتجريف ، وتعدين الشعاب المرجانية والرمال للبناء) أو غير مباشرة (على سبيل المثال ، زيادة الجريان السطحي للرواسب ، والصرف الصحي ، والملوثات).

التنمية الساحلية في بونتا جوردا فلوريدا كارلتون وارد جونيور

التنمية الساحلية في بونتا جوردا ، فلوريدا. الصورة © كارلتون وارد جونيور.

السياحة والآثار الترفيهية

يمكن أن تضر الأنشطة الترفيهية بالشعاب المرجانية من خلال: 

  • كسر مستعمرات الشعاب المرجانية وتلف الأنسجة مع التلامس المباشر مثل المشي أو اللمس أو الركل أو الوقوف أو ملامسة التروس التي تحدث غالبًا مع الغوص تحت الماء والغطس والدوس
  • تكسر أو انقلاب مستعمرات المرجان وتلف الأنسجة بسبب إهمال رسو القوارب
  • التغييرات في سلوك الحياة البحرية من التغذية أو المضايقة من قبل البشر
  • تلوث المياه بواسطة القوارب السياحية من خلال تصريف الوقود والمخلفات البشرية والمياه الرمادية
  • الأنواع الغازية التي يمكن أن تنتشر من خلال نقل مياه الصابورة ، وقاذورات بدن السفن السياحية ، والقاذورات من القوارب الترفيهية
  • النفايات والفضلات المترسبة في البيئة البحرية

غواصو السكوبا يطأون الشعاب المرجانية. الصورة © ماريو لوتز / مؤسسة ريف وورلد

أمراض المرجان

مرض المرجان هو عملية تحدث بشكل طبيعي في الشعاب المرجانية ، ولكن بعض العوامل يمكن أن تؤدي إلى تفاقم المرض وتسبب تفشي المرض. يمكن أن يؤدي تفشي أمراض المرجان إلى انخفاض شامل في الغطاء المرجاني الحي وانخفاض كثافة المستعمرات. في الحالات القصوى ، يمكن لتفشي الأمراض أن يبدأ تحولات طورية مجتمعية من المجتمعات التي يهيمن عليها المرجان إلى الطحالب. يمكن أن تؤدي أمراض المرجان أيضًا إلى إعادة هيكلة مجموعات الشعاب المرجانية.

المرض ينطوي على تفاعل بين المضيف المرجاني ، ومسببات الأمراض ، وبيئة الشعاب المرجانية. يتعلم العلماء المزيد عن أسباب أمراض الشعاب المرجانية ، لا سيما فيما يتعلق بتحديد مسببات الأمراض المعنية. حتى الآن ، تسبب البكتيريا أكثر الأمراض المرجانية المعدية. يمكن تسهيل انتقال أمراض المرجان في مناطق الغطاء المرجاني العالي المرجع وكذلك من خلال الافتراس المرجاني ، حيث يمكن للحيوانات المفترسة أن تعمل كناقلات عن طريق الانتقال الفموي أو البرازي لمسببات الأمراض. المرجع

أسباب تفشي أمراض الشعاب المرجانية معقدة وغير مفهومة جيدًا ، على الرغم من أن الأبحاث تشير إلى أن الدوافع المهمة لأمراض الشعاب المرجانية تشمل ذلك ارتفاع درجة حرارة المناخ، والتلوث الأرضي ، والترسيب ، والصيد الجائر ، والأضرار المادية من الأنشطة الترفيهية. المرجع

تتأثر مستعمرة Pocillopora بمرض تآكل الهيكل العظمي بعد الافتراس بواسطة حلزون Drupella. الصورة © Hannes Klostermann / Ocean Image Bank

الأنواع الغازية

تشمل الأنواع البحرية الغازية على الشعاب المرجانية بعض الطحالب واللافقاريات والأسماك. الأنواع الغازية هي أنواع ليست أصلية في المنطقة. ومع ذلك ، ليست كل الأنواع غير الأصلية غازية. تصبح الأنواع غازية إذا تسببت في ضرر بيئي و / أو اقتصادي من خلال الاستعمار والسيطرة في نظام بيئي ، بسبب فقدان الضوابط الطبيعية على سكانها (على سبيل المثال ، الحيوانات المفترسة).

تشمل مسارات إدخال الأنواع البحرية الغازية ما يلي:

  • حركة السفن ، مثل مياه الصابورة وتلوث بدن
  • عمليات الاستزراع المائي (تربية المحار هي المسؤولة عن انتشار الأنواع البحرية الغازية من خلال النقل العالمي لقواقع المحار أو المحاريات الأخرى للاستهلاك)
  • معدات الصيد ومعدات SCUBA (من خلال النقل عند الانتقال من مكان إلى مكان)
  • التصريف العرضي من الأحياء المائية عبر الأنابيب أو الإطلاق المتعمد

السراغسوم

السراغسوم هي نوع من الطحالب الكبيرة البنية السمين التي يمكن أن يكون لها آثار بيئية واقتصادية ضارة على الشعاب المرجانية عندما تكون وفيرة.

في منطقة المحيطين الهندي والهادئ ، يتم تغطية نسبة عالية من السراغسوم شائع في الشعاب المرجانية المتدهورة وغالبًا ما يمثل تحولًا طوريًا من نظام الشعاب المرجانية إلى نظام الشعاب التي تهيمن عليها الطحالب. المرجع إن بيولوجيا التكاثر الخاصة بهم ومورفولوجيتهم تجعلهم مستعمرين ممتازين للفضاء الحر ومقاومة بشكل خاص للاضطرابات مثل العواصف الاستوائية. المرجع عندما تكون وفيرة ، يمكن أن تؤثر سلبًا على الشعاب المرجانية من خلال التظليل ، والحد من المساحة المتاحة لتجنيد اليرقات المرجانية ، ونقل مسببات الأمراض. المرجع

في المحيط الأطلسي ، نوعان من الطفو السراغسوم, S. natans و S. fluitans، هي المسؤولة عن التسبب في حصائر كبيرة من تكاثر الطحالب التي تكون ضارة بشكل خاص ومنتشرة على سواحل البحر الكاريبي وغرب إفريقيا. المرجع تنتشر حصائر الطحالب العائمة بشكل طبيعي في شمال المحيط الأطلسي وتوفر العديد من الفوائد البيئية مثل الموائل والغذاء ومناطق الحضانة للعديد من أنواع الأسماك والقشريات وحتى السلاحف البحرية. المرجع ومع ذلك ، في السنوات العشر الماضية ، أدى التحول في التيارات المحيطية إلى غزو الطحالب في مناطق الشعاب المرجانية ، مما تسبب في انخفاض ضوء الشمس الذي تتطلبه الشعاب المرجانية وظروف نقص الأكسجين ونقص الأكسجين على الشعاب المرجانية ، فضلاً عن الظروف السيئة على الشواطئ التي تضر بالشعاب المرجانية. مجال السياحة. المرجع

تم غسل Sargassum على شاطئ البحر الكاريبي جنيفر أدلر

السراغسوم جرفتها المياه على شاطئ البحر الكاريبي. الصورة © جينيفر أدلر

تفشي المفترس

نجم البحر على شكل تاج الشوك Warren Baverstock / Ocean Image Bank

نجم البحر على شكل تاج الشوك في مجال التفرع Porites. الصورة © Warren Baverstock / Ocean Image Bank

الحيوانات المفترسة المرجانية (أو "corallivores") هي كائنات طبيعية تتغذى على الشعاب المرجانية من أجل الزوائد اللحمية أو الأنسجة أو المخاط أو مزيج مما سبق. تشمل هذه الحيوانات المفترسة عادة شوكيات الجلد (نجم البحر ، قنافذ البحر) ، الرخويات (القواقع) ، وبعض الأسماك.

Corallivory هي عملية شائعة تسمح ، في ظل الظروف العادية ، بالتحول الطبيعي في النظام البيئي. ومع ذلك ، عندما تكون هذه الحيوانات المفترسة وفيرة بشكل مفرط (على سبيل المثال ، حالات تفشي المرض) ، فإنها يمكن أن تتسبب في انخفاض كبير في الغطاء المرجاني.

تشمل المفترسات المرجانية الشائعة ما يلي:

  • نجم البحر على شكل تاج الشوك (COTS) ، التي توجد في جميع أنحاء منطقة المحيطين الهندي والهادئ ، من البحر الأحمر وساحل شرق إفريقيا ، عبر المحيط الهادئ والمحيط الهندي ، إلى الساحل الغربي لأمريكا الوسطى. يمكن أن تكون COTS محركًا رئيسيًا لفقدان الشعاب المرجانية في المحيطين الهندي والهادئ ، خاصة في ظل ظروف تفشي المرض.
  • Drupella القواقع، والتي توجد بشكل شائع تعيش على الشعاب المرجانية في الشعاب المرجانية في جميع أنحاء المحيطين الهندي والهادئ وغرب المحيط الهندي.
  • Coralliophila القواقع، والتي غالبًا ما تكون أكثر إشكالية بالنسبة للشعاب المرجانية في منطقة البحر الكاريبي ، على الرغم من انتشار بعض الأنواع في المحيط الهادئ.
بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Local Threats

Diseased coral, Florida. Photo © TNC

Beyond threats associated with climate and ocean change, coral reefs are also affected by various local and regional threats. These threats may occur alone or synergistically with climate change adding to the risks to coral reef systems.

Overfishing and Destructive Fishing

Unsustainable fishing has been identified as the most pervasive of all local threats to coral reefs. ref  Over 55% of the world’s reefs are threatened by overfishing and/or destructive fishing. Overfishing (i.e., catching more fish than the system can support) leads to declines in fish populations, ecosystem-wide impacts, and impacts on dependent human communities. Destructive fishing is associated with some types of fishing methods including dynamite, gill nets, and beach seines. These harm coral reefs not just through physical impacts but also through by-catch and mortality of non-target species including juveniles. Read more about threats and management strategies in the Reef Fisheries Toolkit.

Reef bombed for fishing in Indonesia. Photo © Jeff Yonover

Reef bombed for fishing in Indonesia. Photo © Jeff Yonover

Pollution

Traditionally, impacts from wastewater pollution have been associated with human health, but the detrimental effects of wastewater pollution on marine life – and the indirect impacts they have on people – cannot be overlooked. Wastewater transports pathogens, nutrients, contaminants, and solids into the ocean that can cause coral bleaching and disease and mortality for coral, fish, and shellfish. Wastewater pollution can also alter ocean temperature, pH, salinity, and oxygen levels disrupting biological processes and physical environments essential to marine life. Learn more in the Wastewater Pollution Toolkit.

Other sources of pollution to coral reef waters include land-based pollution associated with human activities such as agriculture, mining and coastal development leading to the discharge or leaching of harmful sediments, pollutants, and nutrients. Marine-based pollution associated with commercial, recreational, and passenger vessels can also threaten reefs by discharging contaminated bilge water, fuel, raw sewage, and solid waste, and by spreading invasive species.

Coastal Development

More than 2.5 billion people (40% of the world’s population) live within 100 km of the coast ref  adding increased pressure to coastal ecosystems. Coastal development linked to human settlements, industry, aquaculture, and infrastructure can cause severe impacts on nearshore ecosystems, particularly coral reefs. Coastal development impacts may be direct (e.g., land filling, dredging, and coral and sand mining for construction) or indirect (e.g., increased runoff of sediment, sewage, and pollutants).

Coastal development in Punta Gorda Florida Carlton Ward Jr

Coastal development in Punta Gorda, Florida. Photo © Carlton Ward Jr.

Tourism and Recreational Impacts

Recreational activities can harm coral reefs through: 

  • Breakage of coral colonies and tissue damage with direct contact such as walking, touching, kicking, standing, or gear contact that often happen with SCUBA, snorkelling, and trampling
  • Breakage or overturning of coral colonies and tissue damage fromnegligent boat anchoring
  • Changes in marine life behavior from feeding or harassment by humans
  • Water pollutionby tour boats through the discharge of fuel, human waste, and grey water
  • Invasive species whichcan be spread through transportation of ballast water, hull fouling of cruise ships, and fouling from recreational boating
  • Trash and debris deposited in the marine environment

Coral Diseases

Coral disease is a naturally occurring process on reefs, but certain factors can exacerbate disease and cause outbreaks. Coral disease outbreaks can lead to an overall reduction in live coral cover and reduced colony density. In extreme cases, disease outbreaks can initiate community phase-shifts from coral- to algal-dominated communities. Coral diseases can also result in a restructuring of coral populations.

Disease involves an interaction between the coral host, a pathogen, and the reef environment. Scientists are learning more about the causes of coral disease, especially in terms of identifying the pathogens involved. To date, the most infectious coral diseases are caused by bacteria. Transmission of coral diseases is facilitated in areas of high coral cover ref  as well as through coral predation as predators can act as vectors by oral or fecal transmission of pathogens. ref

The causes of coral disease outbreaks are complex and not well understood, although research suggests that important drivers of coral disease include climate warming, land-based pollution, sedimentation, overfishing, and physical damage from recreational activities. ref

Pocillopora colony affected by skeletal eroding band disease following predation by Drupella snails. Photo © Hannes Klostermann/Ocean Image Bank

Pocillopora colony affected by skeletal eroding band disease following predation by Drupella snails. Photo © Hannes Klostermann/Ocean Image Bank

Invasive Species

On coral reefs, marine invasive species include some algae, invertebrates, and fishes. Invasive species are species that are not native to a region. However, not all non-native species are invasive. Species become invasive if they cause ecological and/or economic harm by colonizing and becoming dominant in an ecosystem, due to the loss of natural controls on their populations (e.g., predators).

Pathways of introduction of marine invasive species include:

  • Ship traffic, such as ballast water and hull fouling
  • Aquaculture operations (shellfish aquaculture is responsible for the spread of marine invasive species through global transport of oyster shells or other shellfish for consumption)
  • Fishing gear and SCUBA gear (through transport when moving from place to place)
  • Accidental discharge from aquaria through pipes or intentional release

Sargassum

Sargassum are a type of fleshy macroalgae that can have detrimental ecological and economic impacts on coral reefs when overabundant.

In the Indo-Pacific, high percent cover of Sargassum is common on degraded coral reefs and often represents a phase-shift from a coral to algae-dominated reef system. ref Their reproductive biology and morphology make them excellent colonizers of free space and particularly resilient to disturbances such as tropical storms. ref When overabundant, they can negatively impact the reef by shading, limiting space available for coral larvae to recruit, and transmitting pathogens. ref

In the Atlantic, two species of floating sargassum, S. natans, and S. fluitans are responsible for causing large mats of algae blooms which are particularly harmful and prevalent on the Caribbean and West African coastlines. ref Floating algae mats are naturally prevalent in the Northern Atlantic and provide many ecological benefits such as habitats, food, and nursery ground to many species of fish, crustaceans and even sea turtles. ref However, in the last ten years, a shift in oceanic currents has led to an algae invasion in coral reef areas, causing reduced sunlight required by corals and anoxic and hypoxic conditions on reefs and poor conditions on beaches that are detrimental to the tourism industry. ref

Sargassum washed up on a Caribbean beach Jennifer Adler

Sargassum washed up on a Caribbean beach. Photo © Jennifer Adler

Predator Outbreaks

Crown of Thorns starfish David Burdick

Crown-of-Thorns starfish in a field of branching Porites. Photo © David Burdick

Coral predators (or 'corallivores') are naturally occurring organisms that feed on corals for their polyps, tissue, mucus, or a combination of the above. Such predators typically include echinoderms (starfish, sea urchins), mollusks (snails), and some fish.

Corallivory is a common process that, under normal conditions, allows for natural turnover in the ecosystem. However, when these predators are overly abundant (e.g., outbreak conditions), they can cause significant declines in coral cover.

Common coral predators include:

  • Crown-of-Thorns starfish (COTS) which are found throughout the Indo-Pacific region, occurring from the Red Sea and coast of East Africa, across the Pacific and Indian Oceans, to the west coast of Central America. COTS can be a major driver of coral loss in the Indo-Pacific, particularly under outbreak conditions.
  • Drupella snails which are commonly found living on corals in reefs throughout the Indo-Pacific and Western Indian Ocean.
  • Coralliophila snails which are often more problematic for Caribbean reefs, although some species are prevalent in the Pacific.
pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »