地方威脅

患病的珊瑚,佛羅里達州。 照片©TNC

除了與氣候和海洋變化相關的威脅外,珊瑚礁還受到各種地方和區域威脅的影響。 這些威脅可能單獨發生,也可能與氣候變化協同發生,從而增加珊瑚礁系統的風險。

過度捕撈和破壞性捕撈

不可持續的捕撈已被確定為當地對珊瑚礁的所有威脅中最普遍的。 文獻 世界上超過 55% 的珊瑚礁受到過度捕撈和/或破壞性捕撈的威脅。 過度捕撈(即捕撈的魚超過系統所能支持的數量)會導致魚類種群的減少、整個生態系統的影響以及對依賴人類社區的影響。 破壞性捕魚與某些類型的捕魚方法有關,包括炸藥、刺網和海灘圍網。 這些危害珊瑚礁的不僅是物理影響,還包括非目標物種(包括幼魚)的副漁獲物和死亡率。 閱讀有關威脅和管理策略的更多信息 珊瑚礁漁業工具包.

印度尼西亞的珊瑚礁因捕魚而遭到轟炸。 照片 © Jeff Yonover

污染

傳統上,廢水污染的影響與人類健康有關,但廢水污染對海洋生物的不利影響——以及它們對人類的間接影響——不容忽視。 廢水將病原體、營養物質、污染物和固體輸送到海洋中,從而導致珊瑚白化以及珊瑚、魚類和貝類的疾病和死亡。 廢水污染還會改變海洋溫度、pH 值、鹽度和氧氣水平,從而破壞對海洋生物至關重要的生物過程和物理環境。

珊瑚礁水域的其他污染源包括與農業、採礦和沿海開發等人類活動相關的陸地污染,導致有害沉積物、污染物和營養物質的排放或浸出。 與商業、娛樂和客船相關的海洋污染也可能通過排放受污染的艙底水、燃料、未經處理的污水和固體廢物以及傳播入侵物種來威脅珊瑚礁。 了解更多 廢水污染工具包 或在 廢水污染在線課程.

沿海開發

超過2.5十億人(佔世界人口的40%)居住在海岸的100公里範圍內, 文獻 增加沿海生態系統的壓力。 與人類住區、工業、水產養殖和基礎設施相關的沿海開發會對近岸生態系統造成嚴重影響,尤其是珊瑚礁。 沿海開發的影響可能是直接的(例如填埋、疏浚、珊瑚和採砂用於建築)或間接的(例如沉積物、污水和污染物的徑流增加)。

佛羅里達州蓬塔戈爾達 Carlton Ward Jr 的沿海開發

佛羅里達州蓬塔戈爾達的沿海開發。 照片 © Carlton Ward Jr.

旅遊和娛樂的影響

娛樂活動可以通過以下方式傷害珊瑚礁: 

  • 與水肺、浮潛和踐踏經常發生的步行、觸摸、踢腿、站立或裝備接觸等直接接觸導致珊瑚群破裂和組織損傷
  • 因船錨的疏忽導致珊瑚群的破裂或傾覆和組織損傷
  • 人類餵養或騷擾造成的海洋生物行為變化
  • 遊覽船排放燃料、人類排泄物和灰水造成的水污染
  • 可通過壓載水運輸、遊輪船體污垢和休閒划船污垢傳播的入侵物種
  • 垃圾和碎片沉積在海洋環境中

潛水員踩在珊瑚上。 照片 © Mario Lutz/珊瑚礁世界基金會

珊瑚病

珊瑚病是珊瑚礁上自然發生的過程,但某些因素會加劇疾病並導致爆發。 珊瑚病的爆發會導致活珊瑚覆蓋率總體減少和種群密度降低。 在極端情況下,疾病爆發可以啟動社區從珊瑚為主的社區到藻類為主的社區的轉變。 珊瑚病也可能導致珊瑚種群的重組。

疾病涉及珊瑚宿主、病原體和珊瑚礁環境之間的相互作用。 科學家們正在更多地了解珊瑚病的原因,特別是在確定所涉及的病原體方面。 迄今為止,最具傳染性的珊瑚病是由細菌引起的。 在珊瑚覆蓋率高的地區可以促進珊瑚病的傳播 文獻 以及通過珊瑚捕食,因為捕食者可以通過病原體的口腔或糞便傳播作為載體。 文獻

雖然研究表明珊瑚病的重要驅動因素包括,但珊瑚病爆發的原因很複雜且尚未得到充分了解 氣候變暖、陸上污染、沉積、過度捕撈和娛樂活動造成的物理損害。 文獻

被 Drupella 蝸牛捕食後受骨骼侵蝕帶病影響的 Pocillopora 菌落。 照片 © Hannes Klostermann/Ocean Image Bank

入侵物種

在珊瑚礁上,海洋入侵物種包括一些藻類、無脊椎動物和魚類。 入侵物種是非本地物種。 然而,並非所有非本地物種都是入侵物種。 如果物種由於失去對其種群的自然控制(例如,捕食者)而通過在生態系統中殖民並成為主導地位而造成生態和/或經濟損害,則會成為入侵物種。

引入海洋入侵物種的途徑包括:

  • 船舶交通,如壓載水和船體污垢
  • 水產養殖業務(貝類水產養殖負責通過全球運輸牡蠣殼或其他用於消費的貝類來傳播海洋入侵物種)
  • 漁具和SCUBA漁具(從一個地方移動到另一個地方時通過運輸)
  • 通過管道或故意釋放意外從水族箱中排放

馬尾

馬尾 是一種棕色的肉質大型藻類,如果數量過多,會對珊瑚礁造成不利的生態和經濟影響。

在印太地區,高覆蓋率 馬尾 在退化的珊瑚礁上很常見,通常代表從珊瑚到藻類主導的珊瑚礁系統的相變。 文獻 它們的生殖生物學和形態使它們成為自由空間的優秀殖民者,特別能抵禦熱帶風暴等乾擾。 文獻 當過多時,它們會通過遮蔭、限制珊瑚幼蟲募集的可用空間和傳播病原體來對珊瑚礁產生負面影響。 文獻

在大西洋,有兩種漂浮的 馬尾, 納坦沙門氏菌 及 S.fluitans,導致大量藻類大量繁殖,這在加勒比海和西非海岸線上尤其有害且普遍。 文獻 漂浮的藻墊在北大西洋自然盛行,可為許多魚類、甲殼類動物甚至海龜提供許多生態效益,例如棲息地、食物和育苗場。 文獻 然而,在過去十年中,洋流的變化導致珊瑚礁區域的藻類入侵,導致珊瑚所需的陽光減少,珊瑚礁缺氧缺氧,海灘條件惡劣,對珊瑚礁有害。旅遊產業。 文獻

馬尾藻被沖上加勒比海灘詹妮弗·阿德勒

馬尾 被沖上加勒比海灘。 照片 © 詹妮弗·阿德勒

捕食者爆發

荊棘王冠海星 Warren Baverstock/Ocean Image Bank

在分支領域的荊棘冠海星 . 照片 © Warren Baverstock/Ocean Image Bank

珊瑚捕食者(或“珊瑚食肉動物”)是天然存在的生物,它們以珊瑚為食,以獲取珊瑚的息肉、組織、粘液或上述各項的組合。 此類捕食者通常包括棘皮動物(海星、海膽)、軟體動物(蝸牛)和一些魚類。

Corallivory 是一個常見的過程,在正常條件下,允許生態系統中的自然更新。 然而,當這些捕食者過多時(例如,爆發條件),它們會導致珊瑚覆蓋率顯著下降。

常見的珊瑚掠食者包括:

  • 棘冠海星 (COTS),分佈於整個印度太平洋地區,從紅海和東非海岸,穿過太平洋和印度洋,到中美洲西海岸。 COTS 可能是印度-太平洋地區珊瑚損失的主要驅動因素,尤其是在爆發條件下。
  • Drupella 蝸牛,它們通常生活在整個印度洋 - 太平洋和西印度洋的珊瑚礁中的珊瑚上。
  • Coralliophila 蝸牛,這對於加勒比海珊瑚礁來說往往更成問題,儘管有些物種在太平洋地區很普遍。
por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Local Threats

Diseased coral, Florida. Photo © TNC

Beyond threats associated with climate and ocean change, coral reefs are also affected by various local and regional threats. These threats may occur alone or synergistically with climate change adding to the risks to coral reef systems.

Overfishing and Destructive Fishing

Unsustainable fishing has been identified as the most pervasive of all local threats to coral reefs. ref  Over 55% of the world’s reefs are threatened by overfishing and/or destructive fishing. Overfishing (i.e., catching more fish than the system can support) leads to declines in fish populations, ecosystem-wide impacts, and impacts on dependent human communities. Destructive fishing is associated with some types of fishing methods including dynamite, gill nets, and beach seines. These harm coral reefs not just through physical impacts but also through by-catch and mortality of non-target species including juveniles. Read more about threats and management strategies in the Reef Fisheries Toolkit.

Reef bombed for fishing in Indonesia. Photo © Jeff Yonover

Reef bombed for fishing in Indonesia. Photo © Jeff Yonover

Pollution

Traditionally, impacts from wastewater pollution have been associated with human health, but the detrimental effects of wastewater pollution on marine life – and the indirect impacts they have on people – cannot be overlooked. Wastewater transports pathogens, nutrients, contaminants, and solids into the ocean that can cause coral bleaching and disease and mortality for coral, fish, and shellfish. Wastewater pollution can also alter ocean temperature, pH, salinity, and oxygen levels disrupting biological processes and physical environments essential to marine life. Learn more in the Wastewater Pollution Toolkit.

Other sources of pollution to coral reef waters include land-based pollution associated with human activities such as agriculture, mining and coastal development leading to the discharge or leaching of harmful sediments, pollutants, and nutrients. Marine-based pollution associated with commercial, recreational, and passenger vessels can also threaten reefs by discharging contaminated bilge water, fuel, raw sewage, and solid waste, and by spreading invasive species.

Coastal Development

More than 2.5 billion people (40% of the world’s population) live within 100 km of the coast ref  adding increased pressure to coastal ecosystems. Coastal development linked to human settlements, industry, aquaculture, and infrastructure can cause severe impacts on nearshore ecosystems, particularly coral reefs. Coastal development impacts may be direct (e.g., land filling, dredging, and coral and sand mining for construction) or indirect (e.g., increased runoff of sediment, sewage, and pollutants).

Coastal development in Punta Gorda Florida Carlton Ward Jr

Coastal development in Punta Gorda, Florida. Photo © Carlton Ward Jr.

Tourism and Recreational Impacts

Recreational activities can harm coral reefs through: 

  • Breakage of coral colonies and tissue damage with direct contact such as walking, touching, kicking, standing, or gear contact that often happen with SCUBA, snorkelling, and trampling
  • Breakage or overturning of coral colonies and tissue damage fromnegligent boat anchoring
  • Changes in marine life behavior from feeding or harassment by humans
  • Water pollutionby tour boats through the discharge of fuel, human waste, and grey water
  • Invasive species whichcan be spread through transportation of ballast water, hull fouling of cruise ships, and fouling from recreational boating
  • Trash and debris deposited in the marine environment

Coral Diseases

Coral disease is a naturally occurring process on reefs, but certain factors can exacerbate disease and cause outbreaks. Coral disease outbreaks can lead to an overall reduction in live coral cover and reduced colony density. In extreme cases, disease outbreaks can initiate community phase-shifts from coral- to algal-dominated communities. Coral diseases can also result in a restructuring of coral populations.

Disease involves an interaction between the coral host, a pathogen, and the reef environment. Scientists are learning more about the causes of coral disease, especially in terms of identifying the pathogens involved. To date, the most infectious coral diseases are caused by bacteria. Transmission of coral diseases is facilitated in areas of high coral cover ref  as well as through coral predation as predators can act as vectors by oral or fecal transmission of pathogens. ref

The causes of coral disease outbreaks are complex and not well understood, although research suggests that important drivers of coral disease include climate warming, land-based pollution, sedimentation, overfishing, and physical damage from recreational activities. ref

Pocillopora colony affected by skeletal eroding band disease following predation by Drupella snails. Photo © Hannes Klostermann/Ocean Image Bank

Pocillopora colony affected by skeletal eroding band disease following predation by Drupella snails. Photo © Hannes Klostermann/Ocean Image Bank

Invasive Species

On coral reefs, marine invasive species include some algae, invertebrates, and fishes. Invasive species are species that are not native to a region. However, not all non-native species are invasive. Species become invasive if they cause ecological and/or economic harm by colonizing and becoming dominant in an ecosystem, due to the loss of natural controls on their populations (e.g., predators).

Pathways of introduction of marine invasive species include:

  • Ship traffic, such as ballast water and hull fouling
  • Aquaculture operations (shellfish aquaculture is responsible for the spread of marine invasive species through global transport of oyster shells or other shellfish for consumption)
  • Fishing gear and SCUBA gear (through transport when moving from place to place)
  • Accidental discharge from aquaria through pipes or intentional release

Sargassum

Sargassum are a type of fleshy macroalgae that can have detrimental ecological and economic impacts on coral reefs when overabundant.

In the Indo-Pacific, high percent cover of Sargassum is common on degraded coral reefs and often represents a phase-shift from a coral to algae-dominated reef system. ref Their reproductive biology and morphology make them excellent colonizers of free space and particularly resilient to disturbances such as tropical storms. ref When overabundant, they can negatively impact the reef by shading, limiting space available for coral larvae to recruit, and transmitting pathogens. ref

In the Atlantic, two species of floating sargassum, S. natans, and S. fluitans are responsible for causing large mats of algae blooms which are particularly harmful and prevalent on the Caribbean and West African coastlines. ref Floating algae mats are naturally prevalent in the Northern Atlantic and provide many ecological benefits such as habitats, food, and nursery ground to many species of fish, crustaceans and even sea turtles. ref However, in the last ten years, a shift in oceanic currents has led to an algae invasion in coral reef areas, causing reduced sunlight required by corals and anoxic and hypoxic conditions on reefs and poor conditions on beaches that are detrimental to the tourism industry. ref

Sargassum washed up on a Caribbean beach Jennifer Adler

Sargassum washed up on a Caribbean beach. Photo © Jennifer Adler

Predator Outbreaks

Crown of Thorns starfish David Burdick

Crown-of-Thorns starfish in a field of branching Porites. Photo © David Burdick

Coral predators (or 'corallivores') are naturally occurring organisms that feed on corals for their polyps, tissue, mucus, or a combination of the above. Such predators typically include echinoderms (starfish, sea urchins), mollusks (snails), and some fish.

Corallivory is a common process that, under normal conditions, allows for natural turnover in the ecosystem. However, when these predators are overly abundant (e.g., outbreak conditions), they can cause significant declines in coral cover.

Common coral predators include:

  • Crown-of-Thorns starfish (COTS) which are found throughout the Indo-Pacific region, occurring from the Red Sea and coast of East Africa, across the Pacific and Indian Oceans, to the west coast of Central America. COTS can be a major driver of coral loss in the Indo-Pacific, particularly under outbreak conditions.
  • Drupella snails which are commonly found living on corals in reefs throughout the Indo-Pacific and Western Indian Ocean.
  • Coralliophila snails which are often more problematic for Caribbean reefs, although some species are prevalent in the Pacific.
pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »