مرونة

صورة فوتوغرافية لمدرسي المدارس والشعاب المرجانية الصلبة واللينة التي تم تصويرها في المياه في كوفو. Kofiau هي جزء من جزر رجا أمبات بإندونيسيا الواقعة في مثلث المرجان ، وهي منطقة تحتوي على ما قد يكون أغنى مجموعة من الأنواع البحرية والشعاب المرجانية في العالم. يعتمد سكان منطقة رجا أمبات الإندونيسية على البحر في توفير الغذاء والدخل. تعمل Nature Conservancy بنشاط هنا مع الحكومة والمجتمعات المحلية والشركاء الآخرين من أجل حماية رجا أمبات. وبسبب هذا البرنامج ، تم القضاء على الصيد المدمر فعليًا من المنطقة البحرية المحمية في كوفو. الصورة الائتمان: جيف يونوفر
إن النظم الإيكولوجية للشعاب المرجانية الأكثر مرونة في مواجهة تأثيرات الضغوطات العالمية والمحلية هي أكثر قدرة على المقاومة والتعافي.

تعد الشعاب المرجانية من أقدم النظم الإيكولوجية على وجه الأرض ، وليست نقاطًا ساخنة للتنوع البيولوجي فحسب ، بل توفر أيضًا خدمات لا حصر لها وفوائد اقتصادية للمجتمعات المحلية.

لسوء الحظ ، الشعاب المرجانية في جميع أنحاء العالم في أزمة. على مدى العقود القليلة الماضية ، العالمية الضغوطات المتعلقة بتغير المناخ تم الاعتراف بها كتهديد كبير للنظم الإيكولوجية للشعاب المرجانية. وقد أدى مزيج من الضغوطات العالمية والمحلية في انخفاض في المجتمعات المرجانية في جميع أنحاء العالم.

يمكن للمديرين اتخاذ إجراءات لدعم مرونة الشعاب المرجانية ، وبالتالي الحفاظ على هذه النظم الإيكولوجية القيمة للأجيال القادمة. إن النظم الإيكولوجية للشعاب المرجانية الأكثر مرونة في مواجهة آثار التهديدات العالمية والمحلية من المرجح أن تستمر في المستقبل.

يتضمن هذا القسم مزيدًا من المعلومات حول المرونة البيئية والاجتماعية ، وكيفية تطبيقه على النظم الإيكولوجية للشعاب المرجانية ، واستراتيجيات الإدارة لتحسين مقاومة الشعاب المرجانية لتغير المناخ.

صورة بانر © Jeff Yonover

Resilience

Schooling Fusiliers and Healthy Hard and Soft Corals photographed in the waters at Kofiau. Kofiau is part of the Raja Ampat Islands of Indonesia located in the Coral Triangle, an area containing what may be the richest variety of marine species and corals in the world. The people of Indonesia's Raja Ampat region depend on the sea for both their food and income. The Nature Conservancy has been actively working here with government, local communities and other partners toward Raja Ampat's protection. Because of this program destructive fishing has virtually been eliminated from the local Kofiau Marine Protected Area. Photo Credit: Jeff Yonover
Coral reef ecosystems that are more resilient to the impacts of global and local stressors are better able to resist and recover.

Coral reefs are among the oldest ecosystems on earth, and are not only hotspots for biodiversity, but also provide countless services and economic benefits to local communities.

Unfortunately, coral reefs worldwide are in crisis. Over the last few decades, global stressors related to climate change have been recognized as a significant threat to coral reef ecosystems. The combination of global and local stressors has resulted in declines in reef communities worldwide.

Managers can take actions to support coral reef resilience, thus conserving these valuable ecosystems for future generations. Coral reef ecosystems that are more resilient to the impacts of global and local threats are more likely to survive into the future.

This section includes more information on ecological and social resilience, how it applies to coral reef ecosystems, and management strategies for improving reef resilience to climate change.

 

Banner photo © Jeff Yonover