彈性

在Kofiau的水域拍攝Fusiliers和健康的硬珊瑚和軟珊瑚。 Kofiau是印度尼西亞Raja Ampat群島的一部分,位於珊瑚三角區,該地區擁有世界上最豐富的海洋物種和珊瑚。 印度尼西亞拉賈安帕地區的人們依靠海洋來獲取食物和收入。 大自然保護協會一直積極與政府,當地社區和其他合作夥伴一起為Raja Ampat提供保護。 由於這個計劃,破壞性捕魚實際上已從當地的科菲奧海洋保護區消失。 圖片來源:Jeff Yonover
珊瑚礁生態系統對全球和局部壓力源的影響更具彈性,能夠更好地抵抗和恢復。

珊瑚礁是地球上最古老的生態系統之一,不僅是生物多樣性的熱點地區,而且還為當地社區提供了無數的服務和經濟效益。

不幸的是,全世界的珊瑚礁正處於危機之中。 在過去的幾十年裡,全球化 壓力源 與氣候變化有關的事件被認為是對珊瑚礁生態系統的重大威脅。 全球和地方壓力因素的結合導致全球珊瑚礁群落減少。

管理人員可以採取行動支持珊瑚礁的恢復力,從而為後代保護這些寶貴的生態系統。 對全球和地方威脅的影響更具彈性的珊瑚礁生態系統更有可能在未來生存。

本節包括有關生態和社會復原力的更多信息,它如何應用於珊瑚礁生態系統,以及提高珊瑚礁對氣候變化的適應能力的管理戰略。

橫幅照片©Jeff Yonover

Resilience

Schooling Fusiliers and Healthy Hard and Soft Corals photographed in the waters at Kofiau. Kofiau is part of the Raja Ampat Islands of Indonesia located in the Coral Triangle, an area containing what may be the richest variety of marine species and corals in the world. The people of Indonesia's Raja Ampat region depend on the sea for both their food and income. The Nature Conservancy has been actively working here with government, local communities and other partners toward Raja Ampat's protection. Because of this program destructive fishing has virtually been eliminated from the local Kofiau Marine Protected Area. Photo Credit: Jeff Yonover
Coral reef ecosystems that are more resilient to the impacts of global and local stressors are better able to resist and recover.

Coral reefs are among the oldest ecosystems on earth, and are not only hotspots for biodiversity, but also provide countless services and economic benefits to local communities.

Unfortunately, coral reefs worldwide are in crisis. Over the last few decades, global stressors related to climate change have been recognized as a significant threat to coral reef ecosystems. The combination of global and local stressors has resulted in declines in reef communities worldwide.

Managers can take actions to support coral reef resilience, thus conserving these valuable ecosystems for future generations. Coral reef ecosystems that are more resilient to the impacts of global and local threats are more likely to survive into the future.

This section includes more information on ecological and social resilience, how it applies to coral reef ecosystems, and management strategies for improving reef resilience to climate change.

 

Banner photo © Jeff Yonover