علم البيئة الشعاب المرجانية

العديد من الاورام الحميدة المستنسخة في مستعمرة مرجانية نجمية ، خليج سامانا ، جمهورية الدومينيكان. الصورة © جيف يونوفر

تعد الشعاب المرجانية من أكثر النظم البيئية قيمة على هذا الكوكب. في حين أنها تغطي حوالي 0.1 ٪ فقط من قاع المحيط ، إلا أنها موطن لربع الأنواع البحرية على الأقل وتدعم ما يقرب من 4,000 نوع من الأسماك و 800 نوع من الشعاب المرجانية. المرجع ومع ذلك ، فإن قيمتها تمتد إلى ما هو أبعد من تنوعها البيولوجي ، حيث إنها توفر سلعًا وخدمات لا حصر لها للمجتمعات الساحلية التي تعتمد عليها. تشمل أمثلة هذه الخدمات مصايد الأسماك والسياحة والترفيه وحماية الشواطئ ومصادر المركبات الطبية. المرجع

بيولوجيا المرجان

المرجان كائنات حية في شعبة القراصات. هناك نوعان رئيسيان من الشعاب المرجانية: الشعاب المرجانية الناعمة والمرجان الصخري (وتسمى أيضًا الشعاب المرجانية "الصلبة"). الشعاب المرجانية الحجرية من رتبة Scleractinia هي الشعاب المرجانية المسؤولة بشكل أساسي عن تكوين الشعاب المرجانية من خلال إنتاج وإفراز كربونات الكالسيوم (على سبيل المثال ، CaCO3، أو الحجر الجيري). تمتلك معظم الشعاب المرجانية التي تبني الشعاب المرجانية علاقة تكافلية مع طحالب دينوفلاجيلات التمثيل الضوئي التي تسمى zooxanthellae (أو Symbiodiniaceae ، والتي كان يُشار إليها سابقًا باسم Symbiodinium). تعتبر العلاقة متبادلة ، حيث يوفر المرجان بيئة محمية ، وثاني أكسيد الكربون (CO2) والمواد المغذية (النيتروجين والفوسفور) للطحالب ، والطحالب بدورها توفر الأكسجين (O2) والكربون إلى الشعاب المرجانية من خلال التمثيل الضوئي ، مما يشكل 95٪ من احتياجات الطاقة لحيوان المرجان.

تعتبر المستعمرات المرجانية كائنات معيارية لأنها تتكون من وحدات مورفولوجية متكررة أو سلائل. الطريقة التي يتم بها ترتيب هذه الأورام الحميدة تملي أشكال نمو مستعمرات المرجان المختلفة ، أو الأشكال. تشمل المصطلحات الوصفية الشائعة التفرع ، والعمودي ، والضخم ، والورقي ، والرقائقي ، والغلاف ، والحياة الحرة. المرجع

المتفرعة porites أستراليا

العديد من الاورام الحميدة النسيليه على المتفرعة Porites مستعمرة في أستراليا. الصورة © Margaux Hein

يمكن أن تتكاثر الشعاب المرجانية من خلال التكاثر اللاجنسي والجنسي. يحدث التكاثر اللاجنسي من خلال التبرعم ، حيث تنقسم البوليبات المرجانية إلى حيوانات مستنسخة مكونة سلليتين ، والتفتت ، حيث تتكسر أو تنفصل قطع من المستعمرات المرجانية ثم تستقر في مكان جديد على الشعاب المرجانية في ظل ظروف مناسبة. تتشكل مستعمرات مرجانية جديدة وفريدة من نوعها وراثيا من خلال التكاثر الجنسي. هناك طريقتان للتكاثر الجنسي: التبويض عبر البث (حيث تطلق المستعمرات المرجانية الحيوانات المنوية والبيض في الماء) والحضنة (حيث يحدث الإخصاب داخليًا).

الشعاب المرجانية

توجد الشعاب المرجانية الحديثة (من عصر الهولوسين والأنثروبوسين) في المناطق المدارية بين خطي عرض 30 درجة شمالاً و 30 درجة جنوباً ، مع بعض الاستثناءات. تقتصر الشعاب المرجانية بشكل عام على هذه المناطق لأن علاقتها التكافلية مع zooxanthellae التمثيل الضوئي تتطلب درجة حرارة وضوء وظروف ملوحة معينة. المناطق الجغرافية الحيوية الرئيسية حيث توجد الشعاب المرجانية موجودة في المحيط الأطلسي وأستراليا والمحيط الهندي والشرق الأوسط والمحيط الهادئ وجنوب شرق آسيا. المرجع

هناك أربعة أنواع من الشعاب المرجانية:

  • الشعاب المرجانية التي تنمو بالقرب من الشاطئ وهي الأصغر سنًا في التنمية
  • الحاجز المرجاني والتي تفصلها عن الشاطئ مسطح مائي يسمى بحيرة
  • الشعاب المرجانية أن هي شعاب مرجانية منفصلة ومعزولة غالبًا ما تكون بين الشعاب المرجانية والحاجز
  • الجزر التي تتشكل على الشعاب المحيطية التي تحيط بالجزر. قد تنحسر الجزيرة تحت السطح بمرور الوقت تاركة حلقة من الشعاب المرجانية تحيط ببحيرة مركزية.

شعاب مرجانية قبالة محمية شرق بورتلاند للأسماك ، جامايكا. الصورة © Steve Schill / The Nature Conservancy

يتم تصنيف المناطق المختلفة للشعاب المرجانية إلى مناطق جيومورفولوجية بسبب الاختلافات في الضوء ، وحركة الأمواج ، ودرجة الحرارة ، والترسيب. قد تختلف هذه المناطق اعتمادًا على نوع الشعاب المرجانية (على سبيل المثال ، الهدب ، الحاجز ، إلخ) ولكنها تتكون عمومًا من بحيرة ، وشعاب مرجانية خلفية ، وقمة مرجانية ، ومنحدر مرجاني ، وشعاب مرجانية. تتنوع التجمعات المجتمعية عادةً في مناطق الشعاب المرجانية المختلفة وعبر المناطق بسبب الظروف البيئية المختلفة والقدرة التنافسية للأنواع المرجانية.

التفاعلات البيولوجية 

هناك العديد من التفاعلات البيولوجية داخل مجتمعات الشعاب المرجانية التي تؤثر على صحة ولياقة الشعاب المرجانية بما في ذلك المنافسة والحيوانات العاشبة والافتراس (أي المرجان). نظرًا لأن الفضاء المادي هو مورد مقيد رئيسي للشعاب المرجانية ، والشعاب المرجانية كائنات حية لاطئة ، فإنها تتنافس مع العديد من الكائنات القاعية الأخرى ، بما في ذلك الشعاب المرجانية الأخرى والطحالب والإسفنج والشعاب المرجانية (أو "الشعاب المرجانية النارية") والشعاب المرجانية اللينة. أصبحت المنافسة بين الشعاب المرجانية والطحالب أكثر انتشارًا مع الاضطرابات المتزايدة للشعاب المرجانية على مدى العقود الماضية.

تعد التجمعات الصحية والمتنوعة من العواشب أمرًا بالغ الأهمية في التوسط في المنافسة بين الطحالب المرجانية. تلعب الأسماك العاشبة على وجه الخصوص دورًا مهمًا في مقاومة الشعاب المرجانية من خلال فتح مساحة لتجنيد الشعاب المرجانية وتقليل الضغط على المستعمرات المرجانية الموجودة.

الكائنات الحية التي تتغذى على الشعاب المرجانية ، والتي تسمى corallivores ، تستهلك الأنسجة المرجانية والمخاط والهيكل العظمي. وهذا يشمل الأسماك واللافقاريات من كل مجموعة تصنيفية تقريبًا ، بما في ذلك الأسماك والقواقع والديدان وسرطان البحر. يستغرق تلف الأنسجة المرجانية أو الهياكل العظمية وقتًا وطاقة لتجديد الشعاب المرجانية وتعافيها ، مما يؤدي إلى انخفاض معدلات نمو المرجان ، المرجع القدرة الإنجابية ، المرجع أو زيادة أمراض المرجان من خلال ناقلات الأمراض. المرجع

الحلزون يأكل المرجان Coralliophila galea يتغذى على مرجان Elkhorn الكاريبي Acropora palmata، تاركا وراءها هيكل عظمي أبيض. الصورة © إليزابيث شيفر

الموائل المتصلة

غالبًا ما ترتبط الشعاب المرجانية بأحواض الأعشاب البحرية وأشجار المانغروف. يمكن أن تكون هذه الموائل مرتبطة بشكل كبير ، ويمكن أن يكون هذا الاتصال مهمًا بشكل خاص في الحفاظ على الأداء الصحي للشعاب المرجانية.

يمكن العثور على أسرة الأعشاب البحرية في الشعاب المرجانية الخلفية والبحيرات والمواقع المحمية. تتفاعل مع الشعاب المرجانية من خلال تلقي الرواسب وتثبيتها ، ودورة المغذيات ، وتوفير موائل حضانة لبعض أنواع الأسماك واللافقاريات. المرجع قد تقلل طبقات الأعشاب البحرية أيضًا من مستويات أمراض المرجان. المرجع تم العثور على أشجار المانغروف على السواحل وتتفاعل مع الشعاب المرجانية من خلال تثبيت الرواسب الأرضية ، ودورة المغذيات ، وتوفير موائل حضانة لكائنات الشعاب المرجانية. تشمل الفوائد الأخرى لأشجار المانغروف والأعشاب البحرية التخفيف من آثار الأمواج والعواصف ، المرجع العمل كبالوعات للكربون ، والحد من الآثار الناجمة عن تحمض المحيطات. المرجع

المانغروف في جمهورية الدومينيكان. الصورة © Rachel Docherty / Flickr Creative Commons

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Coral Reef Ecology

Many clonal polyps in a star coral colony, Samana Bay, Dominican Republic. Photo © Jeff Yonover 

Coral reefs are some of the most valuable ecosystems on the planet. While they cover only about 0.1% of the ocean floor, they are home to at least a quarter of all marine species and support approximately 4,000 species of fish and 800 types of corals. ref However, their value extends well beyond their biological diversity, as they provide countless goods and services to the coastal communities that depend on them. Examples of these services include fisheries, tourism and recreation, shoreline protection, and sources of medicinal compounds. ref

Coral Biology

Corals are living organisms in the phylum Cnidaria. There are two main types of corals: soft corals and stony corals (also called ‘hard’ corals). Stony corals of the order Scleractinia are the corals primarily responsible for reef formation through the production and secretion of calcium carbonate (e.g., CaCO3, or limestone). Most reef-building corals have a symbiotic relationship with photosynthetic dinoflagellate algae called zooxanthellae (or Symbiodiniaceae, previously referred to as Symbiodinium). The relationship is considered mutualistic, where the coral provides a protected environment, carbon dioxide (CO2) and nutrients (nitrogen and phosphorus) to the algae, and the algae in turn provide oxygen (O2) and carbon to the coral through photosynthesis, making up 95% of the coral animal's energy needs.

Coral colonies are considered modular organisms because they consist of repeated morphological units, or polyps. The way these polyps are arranged dictates the different coral colony growth forms, or morphologies. Common descriptive terms include branching, columnar, massive, foliose, laminar, encrusting, and free-living. ref

Branching porites Australia

Many clonal polyps on a branching Porites colony in Australia. Photo © Margaux Hein

Corals can reproduce through asexual and sexual reproduction. Asexual reproduction occurs through budding, where a coral polyp divides into clones forming two polyps, and fragmentation, where pieces of coral colonies break or detach and then resettle in a new location on the reef under suitable conditions. New and genetically unique coral colonies are formed through sexual reproduction. There are two modes of sexual reproduction: broadcast spawning (in which coral colonies release sperm and eggs in the water) and brooding (in which fertilization occurs internally).

Coral Reefs

Modern coral reefs (of the Holocene-Anthropocene) exist in the tropics between the latitudes of 30 degrees North and 30 degrees South, with some exceptions. Corals are generally restricted to these areas because their symbiotic relationship with photosynthetic zooxanthellae requires specific temperature, light, and salinity conditions. The major biogeographic regions where coral reefs exist are in the Atlantic Ocean, Australia, Indian Ocean, Middle East, Pacific Ocean, and Southeast Asia. ref

There are four types of reefs:

  • Fringing reefs that grow near the shoreline and are the youngest in development
  • Barrier reefs which are separated from the shoreline by a body of water called a lagoon
  • Patch reefs that are discrete, isolated reefs that are often between fringing and barrier reefs
  • Atolls which form on oceanic reefs that surround islands. The island may subside below the surface over time leaving a ring of reef enclosing a central lagoon.
Fringing reef off the East Portland Fish Sanctuary, Jamaica. Photo © Steve Schill/The Nature Conservancy

Fringing reef off the East Portland Fish Sanctuary, Jamaica. Photo © Steve Schill/The Nature Conservancy

The different areas of a coral reef are categorized into geomorphologic zones due to differences in light, wave action, temperature, and sedimentation. These zones may differ depending on the type of reef (e.g., fringing, barrier, etc.) but generally consist of a lagoon, back reef, reef crest, reef slope, and fore reef. Community assemblages typically vary in different reef zones and across regions due to different environmental conditions and competitive ability of coral species.

Biological Interactions 

There are many biological interactions within coral reef communities that affect the health and fitness of corals including competition, herbivory, and predation (i.e., corallivory). Because physical space is a major limiting resource on reefs, and corals are sessile organisms, they compete with many other benthic organisms, including other corals, algae, sponges, hydrocorals (or ‘fire corals’), and soft corals. Competition between corals and algae is becoming more prevalent with increased disturbances to coral reefs over the last decades.

Healthy and diverse populations of herbivores are critical in mediating coral-algal competition. Herbivorous fishes in particular play an important role in reef resilience by opening space for coral recruitment and reducing stress to existing coral colonies.

Organisms that prey on corals, called corallivores, consume coral tissue, mucus, and skeleton. This includes fishes and invertebrates from nearly every taxonomic group, including fish, snails, worms, and crabs. Damage to coral tissue or skeletons takes time and energy for corals to regenerate and recover, resulting in reduced coral growth rates, ref reproductive ability, ref or increased coral disease through vectoring. ref

The coral-eating snail Coralliophila galea feeding on Caribbean elkhorn coral Acropora palmata, leaving white skeleton behind. Photo © Elizabeth Shaver

The coral-eating snail Coralliophila galea feeding on Caribbean elkhorn coral Acropora palmata, leaving white skeleton behind. Photo © Elizabeth Shaver

Connected Habitats

Coral reefs are often associated with seagrass beds and mangroves. These habitats can be highly connected, and this connectivity can be especially important in maintaining the healthy functioning of coral reefs.

Seagrass beds can be found in the back reef, lagoons, and sheltered locations. They interact with the reef by receiving and stabilizing sediments, nutrient cycling, and providing nursery habitat for some fish and invertebrate species. ref Seagrass beds may also reduce levels of coral disease. ref Mangroves are found on coastlines and interact with reefs by stabilizing land-based sediment, nutrient cycling, and providing a nursery habitat for coral reef organisms. Other benefits from mangroves and seagrasses include buffering the impacts from waves and storms, ref acting as carbon sinks, and reducing impacts from ocean acidification. ref

Mangroves in the Dominican Republic. Photo © Rachel Docherty/Flickr Creative Commons

Mangroves in the Dominican Republic. Photo © Rachel Docherty/Flickr Creative Commons

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »