珊瑚礁生態

多米尼加共和國薩馬納灣星珊瑚群中的許多克隆性息肉。 照片 © Jeff Yonover

珊瑚礁是地球上最有價值的生態系統之一。 雖然它們只覆蓋了大約 0.1% 的海底,但它們是至少四分之一的海洋物種的家園,並支持大約 4,000 種魚類和 800 種珊瑚。 文獻 然而,它們的價值遠遠超出了它們的生物多樣性,因為它們為依賴它們的沿海社區提供了無數的商品和服務。 這些服務的例子包括漁業、旅遊和娛樂、海岸線保護以及藥用化合物的來源。 文獻

珊瑚生物學

珊瑚是刺胞動物門中的活生物體。 珊瑚有兩種主要類型:軟珊瑚和石珊瑚(也稱為“硬”珊瑚)。 石珊瑚目石珊瑚是主要負責通過產生和分泌碳酸鈣(例如 CaCO3,或石灰石)。 大多數造礁珊瑚與稱為蟲黃藻(或 Symbiodiniaceae,以前稱為 Symbiodinium). 這種關係被認為是共生的,珊瑚提供了一個受保護的環境,二氧化碳(CO2)和養分(氮和磷)給藻類,藻類反過來提供氧氣(O2) 和碳通過光合作用輸送給珊瑚,佔珊瑚動物能量需求的 95%。

珊瑚群被認為是模塊化生物,因為它們由重複的形態單位或息肉組成。 這些息肉的排列方式決定了不同的珊瑚群生長形式或形態。 常見的描述性術語包括分枝、柱狀、塊狀、葉狀、層狀、結殼和自由生活。 文獻

分支端口澳大利亞

分枝上有許多克隆性息肉 澳大利亞的殖民地。 照片 © 瑪歌海因

珊瑚可以通過無性繁殖和有性繁殖進行繁殖。 無性繁殖通過出芽發生,其中珊瑚息肉分裂成克隆形成兩個息肉,以及破碎,其中珊瑚群的碎片破裂或分離,然後在合適的條件下重新安置在珊瑚礁上的新位置。 新的和基因上獨特的珊瑚群是通過有性繁殖形成的。 有性繁殖有兩種模式:廣播產卵(珊瑚群在水中釋放精子和卵子)和育雛(在體內受精)。

珊瑚礁

現代珊瑚礁(全新世-人類世)存在於北緯 30 度和南緯 30 度之間的熱帶地區,但有一些例外。 珊瑚通常僅限於這些地區,因為它們與光合蟲黃藻的共生關係需要特定的溫度、光照和鹽度條件。 存在珊瑚礁的主要生物地理區域是大西洋、澳大利亞、印度洋、中東、太平洋和東南亞。 文獻

有四種類型的珊瑚礁:

  • 邊緣礁 生長在海岸線附近並且是發展中最年輕的
  • 堡礁 被稱為潟湖的水體與海岸線隔開
  • 斑礁  是離散的、孤立的珊瑚礁,通常位於邊緣和堡礁之間
  • 環礁 形成於島嶼周圍的大洋礁石上。 隨著時間的推移,該島可能會在地表以下下沉,留下一個環繞中央潟湖的珊瑚礁環。

牙買加東波特蘭魚類保護區的邊緣礁。 照片 © Steve Schill/大自然保護協會

由於光、波浪作用、溫度和沈積作用的差異,珊瑚礁的不同區域被歸類為地貌帶。 這些區域可能因珊瑚礁的類型(例如,邊緣、屏障等)而異,但通常由潟湖、後礁、礁頂、礁坡和前礁組成。 由於不同的環境條件和珊瑚物種的競爭能力,群落組合通常在不同的珊瑚礁區和跨地區有所不同。

生物相互作用 

珊瑚礁群落內有許多影響珊瑚健康和健康的生物相互作用,包括競爭、食草和捕食(即珊瑚食)。 由於物理空間是珊瑚礁的主要限制資源,而珊瑚是固著生物,它們與許多其他底棲生物競爭,包括其他珊瑚、藻類、海綿、水珊瑚(或“火珊瑚”)和軟珊瑚。 在過去的幾十年裡,隨著對珊瑚礁的干擾增加,珊瑚和藻類之間的競爭變得越來越普遍。

健康多樣的食草動物種群在調解珊瑚-藻類競爭中至關重要。 草食性魚類通過為珊瑚補充開放空間和減少對現有珊瑚群落的壓力,在珊瑚礁恢復力方面發揮著重要作用。

捕食珊瑚的生物稱為食珊瑚,會消耗珊瑚組織、粘液和骨骼。 這包括來自幾乎所有分類群的魚類和無脊椎動物,包括魚、蝸牛、蠕蟲和螃蟹。 珊瑚組織或骨骼的損壞需要時間和精力讓珊瑚再生和恢復,導致珊瑚生長速度降低, 文獻 繁殖能力, 文獻 或通過媒介增加珊瑚病。 文獻

以加勒比麋角珊瑚為食的食珊瑚蝸牛 Coralliophila galea 鹿角珊瑚(Acropora palmata),留下白色骨架。 照片©伊麗莎白剃須刀

互聯棲息地

珊瑚礁通常與海草床和紅樹林有關。 這些棲息地可以高度連通,這種連通性對於維持珊瑚礁的健康功能尤為重要。

海草床可以在後礁、潟湖和避風處找到。 它們通過接收和穩定沉積物、營養循環以及為一些魚類和無脊椎動物物種提供育苗棲息地與珊瑚礁相互作用。 文獻 海草床還可以降低珊瑚病的水平。 文獻 紅樹林位於海岸線上,通過穩定陸基沉積物、營養循環和為珊瑚礁生物提供苗圃棲息地與珊瑚礁相互作用。 紅樹林和海草的其他好處包括緩衝海浪和風暴的影響, 文獻 充當碳匯,並減少海洋酸化的影響。 文獻

多米尼加共和國的紅樹林。 照片 © Rachel Docherty/Flickr Creative Commons

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Coral Reef Ecology

Many clonal polyps in a star coral colony, Samana Bay, Dominican Republic. Photo © Jeff Yonover 

Coral reefs are some of the most valuable ecosystems on the planet. While they cover only about 0.1% of the ocean floor, they are home to at least a quarter of all marine species and support approximately 4,000 species of fish and 800 types of corals. ref However, their value extends well beyond their biological diversity, as they provide countless goods and services to the coastal communities that depend on them. Examples of these services include fisheries, tourism and recreation, shoreline protection, and sources of medicinal compounds. ref

Coral Biology

Corals are living organisms in the phylum Cnidaria. There are two main types of corals: soft corals and stony corals (also called ‘hard’ corals). Stony corals of the order Scleractinia are the corals primarily responsible for reef formation through the production and secretion of calcium carbonate (e.g., CaCO3, or limestone). Most reef-building corals have a symbiotic relationship with photosynthetic dinoflagellate algae called zooxanthellae (or Symbiodiniaceae, previously referred to as Symbiodinium). The relationship is considered mutualistic, where the coral provides a protected environment, carbon dioxide (CO2) and nutrients (nitrogen and phosphorus) to the algae, and the algae in turn provide oxygen (O2) and carbon to the coral through photosynthesis, making up 95% of the coral animal's energy needs.

Coral colonies are considered modular organisms because they consist of repeated morphological units, or polyps. The way these polyps are arranged dictates the different coral colony growth forms, or morphologies. Common descriptive terms include branching, columnar, massive, foliose, laminar, encrusting, and free-living. ref

Branching porites Australia

Many clonal polyps on a branching Porites colony in Australia. Photo © Margaux Hein

Corals can reproduce through asexual and sexual reproduction. Asexual reproduction occurs through budding, where a coral polyp divides into clones forming two polyps, and fragmentation, where pieces of coral colonies break or detach and then resettle in a new location on the reef under suitable conditions. New and genetically unique coral colonies are formed through sexual reproduction. There are two modes of sexual reproduction: broadcast spawning (in which coral colonies release sperm and eggs in the water) and brooding (in which fertilization occurs internally).

Coral Reefs

Modern coral reefs (of the Holocene-Anthropocene) exist in the tropics between the latitudes of 30 degrees North and 30 degrees South, with some exceptions. Corals are generally restricted to these areas because their symbiotic relationship with photosynthetic zooxanthellae requires specific temperature, light, and salinity conditions. The major biogeographic regions where coral reefs exist are in the Atlantic Ocean, Australia, Indian Ocean, Middle East, Pacific Ocean, and Southeast Asia. ref

There are four types of reefs:

  • Fringing reefs that grow near the shoreline and are the youngest in development
  • Barrier reefs which are separated from the shoreline by a body of water called a lagoon
  • Patch reefs that are discrete, isolated reefs that are often between fringing and barrier reefs
  • Atolls which form on oceanic reefs that surround islands. The island may subside below the surface over time leaving a ring of reef enclosing a central lagoon.
Fringing reef off the East Portland Fish Sanctuary, Jamaica. Photo © Steve Schill/The Nature Conservancy

Fringing reef off the East Portland Fish Sanctuary, Jamaica. Photo © Steve Schill/The Nature Conservancy

The different areas of a coral reef are categorized into geomorphologic zones due to differences in light, wave action, temperature, and sedimentation. These zones may differ depending on the type of reef (e.g., fringing, barrier, etc.) but generally consist of a lagoon, back reef, reef crest, reef slope, and fore reef. Community assemblages typically vary in different reef zones and across regions due to different environmental conditions and competitive ability of coral species.

Biological Interactions 

There are many biological interactions within coral reef communities that affect the health and fitness of corals including competition, herbivory, and predation (i.e., corallivory). Because physical space is a major limiting resource on reefs, and corals are sessile organisms, they compete with many other benthic organisms, including other corals, algae, sponges, hydrocorals (or ‘fire corals’), and soft corals. Competition between corals and algae is becoming more prevalent with increased disturbances to coral reefs over the last decades.

Healthy and diverse populations of herbivores are critical in mediating coral-algal competition. Herbivorous fishes in particular play an important role in reef resilience by opening space for coral recruitment and reducing stress to existing coral colonies.

Organisms that prey on corals, called corallivores, consume coral tissue, mucus, and skeleton. This includes fishes and invertebrates from nearly every taxonomic group, including fish, snails, worms, and crabs. Damage to coral tissue or skeletons takes time and energy for corals to regenerate and recover, resulting in reduced coral growth rates, ref reproductive ability, ref or increased coral disease through vectoring. ref

The coral-eating snail Coralliophila galea feeding on Caribbean elkhorn coral Acropora palmata, leaving white skeleton behind. Photo © Elizabeth Shaver

The coral-eating snail Coralliophila galea feeding on Caribbean elkhorn coral Acropora palmata, leaving white skeleton behind. Photo © Elizabeth Shaver

Connected Habitats

Coral reefs are often associated with seagrass beds and mangroves. These habitats can be highly connected, and this connectivity can be especially important in maintaining the healthy functioning of coral reefs.

Seagrass beds can be found in the back reef, lagoons, and sheltered locations. They interact with the reef by receiving and stabilizing sediments, nutrient cycling, and providing nursery habitat for some fish and invertebrate species. ref Seagrass beds may also reduce levels of coral disease. ref Mangroves are found on coastlines and interact with reefs by stabilizing land-based sediment, nutrient cycling, and providing a nursery habitat for coral reef organisms. Other benefits from mangroves and seagrasses include buffering the impacts from waves and storms, ref acting as carbon sinks, and reducing impacts from ocean acidification. ref

Mangroves in the Dominican Republic. Photo © Rachel Docherty/Flickr Creative Commons

Mangroves in the Dominican Republic. Photo © Rachel Docherty/Flickr Creative Commons

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »