選擇彈性指標

珊瑚礁監測,巴爾米拉環礁。 照片©Tim Calver

復原力指標是指有強有力證據表明珊瑚或珊瑚群落抵抗影響或從乾擾中恢復的能力相關的指標,以及可以可靠測量或評估的指標。 科學家優先考慮以下指標和人為壓力因素,認為它們可能對支持珊瑚礁生態系統的恢復力最重要:

表 1. 推薦的彈性指標的描述,以及常用單位和潛在的現場方法列表(來自 Maynard 等人,2017 年)。 指標按感知重要性從高到低排列(McClanahan 等人,2012 年),前六項(粗體)被認為是必不可少的,對於幾乎所有的複原力評估都非常重要。
彈性指標產品描述 可能的方法常用單位
抗性珊瑚物種建造珊瑚礁珊瑚群落的比例由已證實或被認為對熱珊瑚褪色具有相對抗性的物種組成(Marshall和Baird 2000; McClanahan等人,2004)。定時游泳,樣方,腰帶橫斷面,點截距橫斷面社區的百分比
珊瑚多樣性一種定量測量,反映數據集中有多少種不同的珊瑚物種,同時考慮物種分佈的均勻程度。 常用指數表示從社區隨機選擇的兩個物種的概率不同。指數:香農或辛普森指數無單位
草食動物生物量食草魚每單位面積的重量
和無脊椎動物。 可以包括所有主要的食草動物功能組(刮刀,食草動物,挖掘機,瀏覽器)或可以分開這些。
定時游泳,腰帶橫斷面,固定點數kg / 100m2,g / m2
珊瑚病受疾病影響的珊瑚群落的比例。 您可以選擇使用“總患病率”,它將所有疾病和所有珊瑚,或一部分疾病或珊瑚結合起來,以評估特定疾病或特定珊瑚的影響。帶狀橫斷面%(受影響的菌落;'總流行率';即所有或部分疾病相結合)
大型藻類覆蓋物肉質大型藻類(> 5 厘米高)佔用的基質百分比。樣方、照片樣方、帶狀斷面、點截斷面% 底棲群落
招聘職位最近定居的珊瑚的豐度和密度小於2歲。樣方#/ m2
溫度變化溫暖季節的溫度變化。 較高的可變性與抗漂白性有關。遙感,可用於NOAA遙感檔案的4-km分辨率的所有珊瑚礁無單位
草食動物的多​​樣性參見'珊瑚多樣性'描述; 食草魚和無脊椎動物也是如此。 也可以評估以最小豐度存在的關鍵食草動物功能群的數量(例如,刮刀,食草動物,瀏覽器和挖掘機)。定時游泳,腰帶橫斷面,固定點數無單位(多樣性指數),或以最小豐度存在的數字
棲息地/結構複雜性基材的三維性和裂縫和縫隙深度和多樣性。 礁面輪廓距離與直線距離的比值。鏈在基板上m
成熟的殖民地由長壽珊瑚組成的底棲生物群落的比例(即> 10歲)。定時游泳,腰帶橫斷面,固定點數社區的百分比
光(壓力)在暖季期間典型的海洋學條件下每平方米到達基質的光量。需要儀器瓦/ cm2
珊瑚大小級分佈珊瑚在一系列大小等級中的均勻度,包括新兵和成熟的殖民地。定時游泳,樣方,腰帶橫斷面,點截距橫斷面無單位
基材適用性表示珊瑚新兵可用基質的比例適合和不適合珊瑚定居。定時游泳,樣方,腰帶橫斷面,點截距橫斷面無單位
以下人為壓力源也可用作關鍵的複原力指標:

  • 營養素(污染)
  • 沉降
  • 物理人類影響
  • 釣魚壓力
潛水員在佛羅里達群島進行監測潛水。 條紋極用於估計魚類、珊瑚或其他珊瑚礁生物的距離和大小。 照片 © Shaun Wolfe/Ocean Image Bank

潛水員在佛羅里達群島進行監測潛水。 條紋極用於估計魚類、珊瑚或其他珊瑚礁生物的距離和大小。 照片 © Shaun Wolfe/Ocean Image Bank

雖然上述指標列表可用於幫助管理人員優先考慮將哪些指標包括在復原力評估或監測計劃中,但管理人員查看關鍵出版物以確定在當地情況下使用的其他指標也很有用。 文獻

Translate »

Selecting Resilience Indicators

Coral reef monitoring, Palmyra Atoll. Photo © Tim Calver

Resilience indicators are those for which there is strong evidence of a link to the capacity of corals or a coral community to resist impacts or recover from disturbances, and indicators that can reliably be measured or assessed. Scientists have prioritized the following indicators and anthropogenic stressors as likely to be the most important to supporting the resilience of coral reef ecosystems:

Table 1. A description of the recommended resilience indicators, along with common units, and a list of potential field methods (from Maynard et al. 2017). Indicators are ranked from highest to lower perceived importance (McClanahan et al. 2012) and the first six (in bold) are considered essential and will be important to include in nearly all resilience assessments.
Resilience indicatorsDescription Possible methodsCommon units
Resistant coral speciesProportion of the reef-building coral community made up by species that have demonstrated or are thought to be relatively resistant to thermal coral bleaching (Marshall and Baird 2000; McClanahan et al. 2004).Timed swims, quadrats, belt transects, point-intercept transects% of community
Coral diversityA quantitative measure that reflects how many different coral species there are in a dataset, while simultaneously taking into account how evenly the species are distributed. Common indices express the probability that two species selected at random from a community will be different.Indices: Shannon or Simpson's IndexUnitless
Herbivore biomassWeight per unit area of herbivorous fish
and invertebrates. can be inclusive of all major herbivore functional groups (scrapers, grazers, excavators, browsers) or can separate these.
Timed swims, belt transects, stationary point countskg/100m2, g/m2
Coral diseaseProportion of the coral community that is affected by diseases. You may choose to use a ‘total prevalence’, which combines all diseases and all corals, or a subset of diseases or corals to assess effects from a particular disease or on a particular coral.Belt transects% (of colonies affected; a 'total prevalence'; i.e., all or a subset of diseases combined)
Macroalgae coverPercent of substrate taken up by fleshy macroalgae (>5cm high).Quadrats, photo quadrats, belt transects, point-intercept transects% benthic community
RecruitmentAbundance and density of recently settled corals that are less than 2 years old.Quadrats#/m2
Temperature variabilityVariability of temperatures during the warm season. Higher variability has been associated with bleaching resistance.Remotely sensed, available for all coral reefs at 4-km resolution from NOAA remote sensing archivesUnitless
Herbivore diversitySee 'coral diversity' description; same for herbivorous fish and invertebrates. Can also be assessed as the number of key herbivore functional groups present at a minimum abundance (e.g., scrapers, grazers, browsers and excavators).Timed swims, belt transects, stationary point countsUnitless (diversity indices), or number present at a minimum abundance
Habitat/structural complexityThree-dimensionality of the substrate and crack and crevice depth and diversity. Ratio of reef surface contour distance to linear distance.Chain over substratem
Mature coloniesProportion of the benthic community made up by long-lived corals (i.e., >10 years old).Timed swims, belt transects, stationary point counts% of community
Light (stress)Amount of light per square meter reaching the substrate during typical oceanographic conditions during the warm season.Requires instrumentationwatts/cm2
Coral size-class distributionEvenness of corals within a range of size classes that includes recruits and mature colonies.Timed swims, quadrats, belt transects, point-intercept transectsUnitless
Substrate suitabilityRatio expressing available substrate for coral recruits as being suitable and unsuitable for coral settlement.Timed swims, quadrats, belt transects, point-intercept transectsUnitless
The following anthropogenic stressors can also be used as key resilience indicators:

  • Nutrients (pollution)
  • Sedimentation
  • Physical human impacts
  • Fishing pressure

Diver on a monitoring dive in the Florida Keys. The striped pole is used to estimate distance and sizes of fish, corals, or other reef organisms. Photo © Shaun Wolfe/Ocean Image Bank

While the list of indicators above may be used to help managers prioritize which ones to include in a resilience assessment or monitoring program, it is also useful for managers to review key publications to identify additional indicators to use in their local context. ref

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »