管理建議

TNC夏威夷計劃潛水員在夏威夷西島沿岸進行複原力評估。 照片©David Slater

以下是管理人員根據Mcleod等人進行基於彈性的管理的建議。 2019年 文獻

1.保護物種,生境和功能群體的多樣性和冗餘

保護和維護多樣性可以 增強彈性,因為不同的物種和棲息地支持不同的生態過程,從而降低了礁石狀態發生災難性變化的風險。文獻 多樣性包括生態和社會方面,例如生計策略和治理系統的多樣性。 多樣性的每個方面都存在許多複雜性。 例如,通過增加對壓力敏感的珊瑚的數量,促進珊瑚物種的多樣性可能會降低總體珊瑚礁的複原力,並且 草食動物對控制大型藻類的重要性各不相同 取決於地區。 為了最有效地應用RBM,需要進行研究以闡明不同類型的多樣性如何促進生態系統功能和礁石恢復。 保護珊瑚礁多樣性的一般指南(例如,Green and Bellwood 2009)文獻 可以使用,直到獲得更多詳細信息為止。

在夏威夷的卡赫基利草食動物漁業管理區內,完全保護了有益的草食性魚類。 照片©夏威夷DLNR

在夏威夷的卡赫基利草食動物漁業管理區內,完全保護了有益的草食性魚類。 照片©夏威夷DLNR

2.保持連通性

系統連結 可以通過從受影響較小的珊瑚礁中提供珊瑚幼蟲,再播種範圍內的其他珊瑚礁來促進珊瑚礁的恢復。 珊瑚礁與鄰近的海草和紅樹林棲息地之間的聯繫對於珊瑚礁的健康和恢復也很重要。 連通性在支持恢復中的作用取決於當地條件和影響幼體運輸的海洋學因素。 建議優先考慮海洋保護區(MPA)中的高連通性珊瑚礁,並在可能的情況下將此信息與有關氣候變化/漂白暴露的數據配對。 識別連通性的常用方法是高分辨率珊瑚幼蟲擴散模擬。 在沒有可用數據的地方,將連通性納入的一般原則 MPA設計 應該使用。文獻

3.減少局部壓力源以支持珊瑚礁抵抗和恢復

研究表明 減少本地威脅 在某些情況下,可以支撐擾亂後的礁石恢復,並可以支撐抗性珊瑚組合。文獻 例如,養分污染,沉積和物理影響會降低珊瑚的生長速度,增加藻類的生長,並增加珊瑚病和漂白的發生率。 儘管當地的管理行動可能使某些珊瑚礁具有增強的應對氣候影響的能力,但它們無法防止珊瑚礁屈服於極端的氣候影響。文獻 但是,作為包括減緩氣候變化努力在內的一系列更廣泛的管理行動的一部分,應繼續努力控製本地和區域壓力源。

船在礁石上受損。 照片©愛麗絲·勞倫斯/美屬薩摩亞海洋和野生動植物資源部

船在礁石上受損。 照片©愛麗絲·勞倫斯/美屬薩摩亞海洋和野生動植物資源部

4.實施MPA以支持珊瑚礁的複原力,包括保護避難所

海洋保護區是RBM的核心戰略,也是支持礁石復原力的重要工具。 MPA可以幫助減輕當地壓力,恢復珊瑚礁食物網,支持食草,並促進恢復。 但是,全球大多數MPA並未考慮氣候變化的影響,例如,通過包括溫度避難所或支持增加幼體供應的網絡。 為了有效發揮成果管理制, 應設計MPA 管理當地壓力源; 包括全套棲息地類型,以促進多樣性和功能冗餘; 確保健康和退化珊瑚礁之間的連通性,以支持幼體供應; 包括珊瑚庇護所; 並結合了多種熱學原理,以捕獲各種珊瑚組合。 在可能的情況下,MPA設計應吸收當地社區的知識和參與。

5.適應性管理以適應不確定性和變化

注重成果的管理的一個核心要素是適應氣候變化帶來的環境變化。 的關鍵組成部分 適應性管理 包括:1)監測評估; 2)實驗和重新評估的持續循環; 3)參與式方法; 4)利益相關者的不同參與。文獻 進行適應性管理的障礙包括難以把握不確定性; 制度障礙; 監測費用高; 對複雜的生態系統對人類和政策的影響進行建模的能力有限; 實驗設計的約束; 缺乏使用模型來篩選管理策略的方法; 利益相關者的觀點和目標相抵觸; 以及科學家或管理人員的自我服務行為。文獻 特刊 Keith等人總結了解決這些障礙的方法。 2011。文獻

6.優先考慮環境風險低,社會適應能力強的地區

在對注重成果的管理領域進行優先排序時,管理人員應考慮社會,生態和/或經濟目標,風險和收益,管理成功的可行性以及可以接受的權衡取捨。 建議優先考慮環境風險較低的區域,儘管也可以優先考慮環境風險較高的區域。 具有的區域 高社會適應能力 無論如何,都應優先考慮,因為社區必須並且願意遵守保護措施,以使保護行動成功。 已開發出幾種類型的工具來管理戰略決策,例如方案規劃和決策分析,這些工具可用於幫助管理人員進行結構化的過程,以根據潛在的未來情況確定和確定優先領域。

7.納入社會和生態指標,以評估保護規劃和監測中的預警,恢復方式和製度轉變

將復原力納入保護規劃應包括 監測生態和社會復原力指標。 對於生態指標,監測計劃應重點關注評估募集和恢復模式的指標,而不是僅包括靜態的礁石狀態指標(例如,珊瑚覆蓋,魚類豐度),這可能是較差的複原力指標。文獻 社會指標可能包括捕撈技術,市場,人口變化以及治理結構或政策的變化。文獻 將預計的未來風險暴露與抗災力指標數據相結合,可以幫助管理人員繪製出應對氣候變化的相對脆弱性並確定RBM行動的優先級。

8.探索支持彈性的實驗方法

為了使珊瑚礁在預計的氣候變化情景下蓬勃發展,需要在RBM中納入新的干預措施,以支持所有級別的珊瑚復原力(例如遺傳,生境,生態系統)。文獻 新研究已經確定了幾種新興的干預措施,例如管理選擇和育種, 配子和幼蟲的捕獲和播種,珊瑚的低溫保存,基因操作,可控的重新安置和暗礁遮擋。 文獻 建議本地管理機構與研究機構合作,因為本地管理人員可以提供有關當地社會生態環境的信息,並提供有關擴大成功試驗規模的方法的信息。

收集珊瑚產卵以滋養和生長珊瑚,以進行恢復。 照片©Paul Selvaggio

收集珊瑚產卵以滋養和生長珊瑚,以進行恢復。 照片©Paul Selvaggio

9.實施建設社會和生態適應能力的戰略

適應能力是系統,機構,人類和其他生物適應潛在損害,利用機會或對後果做出反應的能力。文獻 注重成果的管理的一個新的優先事項是實施建立社會適應能力的戰略,因為能力增強的社區可能更好地應對資源使用的限制。文獻 策略應設法賦予當地社區權力,以準備和適應礁石資源使用或狀況的變化,文獻 可能包括:支持經濟多樣性和替代生計機會; 加強社交網絡並在珊瑚礁使用者之間共享資源; 並支持傳統知識和資源的共同管理。 文獻

婦女在安達瓦多卡(Andavadoaka)進行試點研究時使用了少年海參。 照片©Garth Cripps / Blue Ventures

10.實施促進適應和轉型的戰略

注重成果的管理要求管理者支持適應和轉型。 對於生態系統,這可能包括在保護區周圍建立緩衝區,以包括物種在未來氣候變化條件下適應和遷移的潛力。 支持多中心治理系統,其特徵是具有多個獨立運行但尋求實現共同目標的治理機構。 這種類型的治理可以幫助社會系統適應和轉變,因為它們可以提供學習的機會,擴大對治理的參與,並鼓勵跨規模的本地知識共享。文獻 如果準備好了,大規模的變化就可以用來觸發轉型行動,例如重新分區或改變漁業管理。文獻

資源焦點:

實現珊瑚礁恢復力和可持續生計。 該《珊瑚礁管理者手冊》概述了對加勒比海珊瑚礁的未來至關重要的主題(即復原力,氣候變化,漁業,生態系統服務,治理,生計和監測),並提供了政策和管理建議。

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別

Management Recommendations

TNC Hawai‘i Program divers conducting a resilience assessment along West Hawai‘i Island coast. Photo © David Slater

Below are recommendations for managers to conduct resilience-based management based on Mcleod et al. 2019: ref

1. Protect a diversity and redundancy of species, habitats, and functional groups

Protecting and maintaining diversity can improve resilience, as different species and habitats support different ecological processes, reducing the risk for catastrophic changes in reef state.ref Diversity includes both ecological and social aspects, such as diversity of livelihood strategies and governance systems. Many complexities exist with each aspect of diversity. For example, promoting coral species diversity may reduce overall reef resilience by increasing the number of stress-sensitive corals, and herbivores’ importance with controlling macroalgae vary depending on the region. To apply RBM most effectively, research is needed to clarify how different types of diversity promote ecosystem functioning and reef recovery. General guidance on protecting coral reef diversity (e.g., Green and Bellwood 2009)ref can be used until more detailed information is available.

Beneficial herbivorous fishes fully protected within the Kahekili Herbivore Fishery Management Area in Hawai‘i. Photo © Hawai‘i DLNR

Beneficial herbivorous fishes fully protected within the Kahekili Herbivore Fishery Management Area in Hawai‘i. Photo © Hawai‘i DLNR

2. Maintain pathways of connectivity

Connectivity can promote reef recovery by providing a supply of coral larvae from less impacted reefs, reseeding other reefs within range. Connections between reefs and adjacent seagrass and mangrove habitats can also be important for reef health and recovery. The role of connectivity in supporting recovery depends on local conditions and oceanographic factors affecting larval transport. It is recommended to prioritize high connectivity reefs within Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) and pair this information where possible with data on climate change/bleaching exposure. A commonly used method to identify connectivity is a high-resolution coral larval dispersal simulation. Where data are not available, general principles for incorporating connectivity into MPA design should be used.ref

3. Reduce local stressors to support reef resistance and recovery

Studies suggest that reducing local threats can, in some cases, support reef recovery following disturbance and may support resistant coral assemblages.ref For instance, nutrient pollution, sedimentation, and physical impacts can reduce coral growth rates, increase algal growth, and increase the incidence of coral disease and bleaching. While local management actions may provide some reefs with improved capacity to cope with climate impacts, they are not able to prevent reefs from succumbing to extreme climate impacts.ref However, efforts to control local and regional stressors should continue as part of a broader suite of management actions that includes climate change mitigation efforts.

Boat damage on a reef. Photo © Alice Lawrence/American Samoa Department of Marine and Wildlife Resources

Boat damage on a reef. Photo © Alice Lawrence/American Samoa Department of Marine and Wildlife Resources

4. Implement MPAs to support reef resilience including the protection of refuges

MPAs are a core strategy for RBM and an important tool to support reef resilience. MPAs can help to reduce local stressors, restore coral reef food webs, support herbivory, and promote recovery. However, most MPAs across the globe have not been designed to consider climate change impacts, for instance by including temperature refugia or networks that support increased larval supply. To be effective for RBM, MPAs should be designed to manage local stressors; include the full suite of habitat types to promote diversity and functional redundancy; ensure connectivity between healthy and degraded reefs to support larval supply; include coral refuges; and incorporate a variety of thermal regimes to capture diverse coral assemblages. Where possible, MPA designs should incorporate local community knowledge and engagement.

5. Manage adaptively to accommodate uncertainty and change

A core element of RBM is adapting to environmental changes that are anticipated under a changing climate. Key components of adaptive management include 1) monitoring and evaluation; 2) a continuing cycle of experimentation and reevaluation; 3) participatory approaches; and 4) diverse stakeholder participation.ref Barriers to conducting adaptive management include difficulty embracing uncertainty; institutional barriers; high monitoring costs; limited ability to model the effects of complex ecological systems on humans and policy; constraints of experimental designs; lack of use of models to screen management policies; conflicting opinions and objectives of stakeholders; and self-serving behavior of scientists or managers.ref A special issue of papers addressing these barriers are summarized in Keith et al. 2011.ref

6. Prioritize areas with low environmental risk and high social adaptive capacity

When prioritizing areas for RBM, managers should consider social, ecological, and/or economic objectives, the risks and benefits, feasibility of management success, and what trade-offs are considered acceptable. It is suggested to prioritize areas with low environmental risk, although prioritizing areas with high environmental risk may also be warranted. Areas with high social adaptive capacity should be prioritized regardless, as communities must be able and willing to comply with protection measures in order for conservation actions to be successful. Several types of tools have been developed for decision-making of management strategies, such as scenario planning and decision analysis, which could be used to help managers with a structured process to identify and prioritize areas based on potential future conditions.

7. Incorporate social and ecological indicators to assess early warnings, recovery patterns, and regime shifts in conservation planning and monitoring

Incorporating resilience into conservation planning should include monitoring both ecological and social resilience indicators. For ecological indicators, monitoring programs should focus on metrics that assess recruitment and recovery patterns rather than only including static measures of reef state (e.g., coral cover, fish abundance), which can be poor indicators of resilience.ref Social indicators may include fishing technologies, markets, demographic changes, and changes in governance structures or policy.ref Combining projected future exposure with data on resilience indicators can help managers to map relative vulnerability to climate change and prioritize RBM actions.

8. Explore experimental approaches to support resilience

For coral reefs to thrive under projected climate change scenarios, new interventions supporting all levels of reef resilience (e.g., genetic, habitat, ecosystem) will need to be incorporated into RBM.ref New research has identified several emerging interventions, such as managed selection and breeding, gamete and larval capture and seeding, coral cryopreservation, genetic manipulation, managed relocation, and reef shading. ref It is recommended that local management agencies engage with research facilities, as local managers can provide information on local social-ecological context and input on methodologies for scaling up successful trials.

Collecting coral spawn to fertilize and grow corals for restoration. Photo © Paul Selvaggio

Collecting coral spawn to fertilize and grow corals for restoration. Photo © Paul Selvaggio

9. Implement strategies to build social and ecological adaptive capacity

Adaptive capacity is the ability of systems, institutions, humans, and other organisms to adjust to potential damage, take advantage of opportunities, or respond to consequences.ref A newer priority of RBM is implementing strategies that build social adaptive capacity, as communities with increased capacity may be better able to cope with restrictions on resource use.ref Strategies should seek to empower local communities to prepare for and adapt to changes in reef resource use or condition,ref and may include: supporting economic diversity and alternative livelihood opportunities; strengthening social networks and sharing resources between reef users; and supporting traditional knowledge and co-management of resources. ref

Women with juvenile sea cucumbers at pilot study, Andavadoaka. Photo © Garth Cripps/Blue Ventures

10. Implement strategies to facilitate adaptation and transformation

RBM calls for managers to support adaptation and transformation. For ecological systems, this may include instituting buffer zones around protected areas to include the potential for species to adapt and move under future climate change conditions. Supporting polycentric governance systems, characterized by multiple governing authorities that function independently but seek to achieve shared goals. This type of governance may help social systems adapt and transform as they can provide opportunities for learning, broaden participation in governance, and encourage local knowledge sharing across scales.ref If prepared for, large-scale changes can be used to trigger transformation actions such as re-zoning or altered fisheries governance.ref

Resource Spotlight:

Towards Reef Resilience and Sustainable Livelihoods. This handbook for reef managers outlines topics critical to the future of Caribbean reefs (i.e. resilience, climate change, fisheries, ecosystem services, governance, livelihoods, and monitoring) and provides policy and management recommendations.