對人類健康的影響

Pipe Steve Spring Marine Photobank

病原體 人類排泄物通過受污染的飲用水、在受污染的土壤中種植的食物、從受污染的水中收穫的海鮮以及在受污染的水中沐浴和娛樂,將疾病傳播給人們。 接觸人類排泄物引起的傳染病包括細菌性沙門氏菌、寄生賈第鞭毛蟲和鉤蟲, 等等. 接觸還會導致耳朵、眼睛或胸部感染以及局部疾病,例如皮疹和皮膚感染。 文獻

污水污染標誌布賴恩·奧爾創意公地

加利福尼亞州聖地亞哥縣海灘上的污水污染警告標誌。 照片 © 布賴恩·奧爾

病原體和傳染病

輪狀病毒,霍亂和傷寒等腹瀉病是與廢水污染相關的主要健康問題,1.6年造成2017萬人死亡。 文獻 症狀包括嚴重脫水和營養不良以及影響兒童的生長和智力發育。 文獻 結果可能是終身健康並發症,並對整個社區造成破壞性後果。 見 斐濟Bavu和Namaqumaqua村莊的案例研究 詳細說明衛生系統的實施,以解決傷寒爆發和廢水污染的其他影響。

牡蠣和其他貝類中的病原體每年引起4萬例甲型和戊型肝炎,其中約有40,000例死亡,另外40,000例因慢性肝損傷而造成的長期殘疾。 文獻 Littman及其同事在2020年對緬甸沿海的最新研究中 文獻 在牡蠣組織、海洋沉積物和海水中鑑定出 5,459 種細菌病原體。 研究人員報告說,在牡蠣樣本中發現的病原體中有 51% 已知對人類健康有害並引起新的關注。 與人類排泄物接觸是一個緊迫的挑戰,特別是在發展中地區,並導致了水、環境衛生和衛生 (WASH) 部門的發展。

抗菌素耐藥性

抗生素抗性病原體(或“超級細菌”)的增加可能是我們面臨的與廢水污染有關的對人類健康影響最大的問題。 每年,抗生素耐藥性可導致700,000人死亡,而由於  在新窗口中打開抗生素管理不善 (即,處方過多的抗生素),缺乏衛生設施,廢水處理不充分以及排放到環境中。 文獻 超級細菌源於過度使用抗生素治療疾病。 隨著耐藥微生物的繁殖,人群對抗生素產生更高的耐藥性。 如果處理不當,這些新的超級細菌就會進入環境。 這是一個危險的疾病、抗生素、混合和暴露的反饋循環。 改善衛生和廢水處理是解決超級細菌威脅的關鍵組成部分,因為廢水處理廠可能是產生這種抵抗力的地方。

其他污染物

除了病原體之外,廢水的其他成分——如高營養濃度、重金屬和新出現的污染物 (CEC)——對人類有害。 CEC 和對人們的影響示例:

  • 重金屬 當人們吃魚和貝類時可以攝入。 隨著時間的推移,金屬會在生物體內累積並對器官造成損害並干擾關鍵的身體功能。 文獻
  • 製藥、個人護理產品和家用清潔產品會擾亂內分泌系統,從而對生殖健康產生負面影響。 文獻
  • 卡列尼亞·布雷維斯(Karenia Brevis)引起赤潮的海洋甲藻會產生短管毒素,這種毒素可以以細小顆粒的形式散佈在空氣中。 這些毒素與哮喘發病率增加有關,在赤潮事件期間因胃腸道疾病而入急診的人數增加了 40%。 文獻
  • 硝酸鹽 在飲用水中會導致 高鐵血紅蛋白血症 在兒童中,身體會產生過多的高鐵血紅蛋白(一种血紅蛋白)並且不能有效地輸送氧氣。 最近的研究將飲用水中的硝酸鹽與成人的結腸癌、卵巢癌、甲狀腺癌、腎癌和膀胱癌聯繫起來。 文獻 實際上,許多研究表明,硝酸鹽的含量低於美國標準的百萬分之十,會增加患癌症的風險。 文獻 丹麥的一項研究報告說,硝酸鹽水平超過百萬分之3.87會增加患結腸癌的風險。 文獻
  • 擬南芥是一種藻類,會產生軟骨藻酸,這種酸會在水生生物中生物積累,並在人類中引起稱為健忘性貝類中毒 (ASP) 的神經系統疾病。 像許多其他藻類傳播的毒素一樣,隨著時間的推移小劑量最終會引起症狀。 就 ASP 而言,這包括癲癇發作、幻覺、記憶力減退和嘔吐。 文獻

除了使人生病外,這些污染物還會危害漁業和珊瑚礁,對依賴它們獲取食物、生計和海岸保護的人們造成進一步傷害。

間接健康後果

露天排便和不安全的衛生設施(沒有燈光或隱私)對女性來說尤其令人擔憂,這為騷擾或暴力創造了機會。 當女孩在月經期間失學或婦女花費過多時間尋找乾淨的飲用水時,衛生設施不足導致的性別差異進一步擴大。

雖然人類原始廢物和經部分處理的廢水對人類健康構成了最嚴重的威脅,但經過處理的廢水的副產品也存在危害。 處置 生物固體 使附近的人群有吸入或攝入空氣傳播的病原體的風險。 文獻

安全衛生的定義是 聯合監測計劃 (JMP)作為解決整個環衛服務鏈的系統。 改善衛生條件包括考慮超出現場遏制範圍的廢物。 在收集和處理過程中或由於缺乏收集和處理而與人類廢物接觸已成為實施衛生解決方案的重要組成部分,越來越少地將這種接觸對人類健康至關重要。 儘管正在取得進展,但世界上大多數人口仍無法獲得適當的衛生設施以保護公共健康。 根據世界衛生組織(WHO)的數據,6年有十分之六的人確實獲得了安全管理的衛生服務。 文獻

全球獲得衛生服務的分類打開IMAGE文件 JMP用於評估衛生干預措施的全球獲得衛生服務的途徑(左圖)和衛生梯(右圖)的細分。 來源: 在新窗口中打開世衛組織和兒童基金會

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Impacts on Human Health

Pipe Steve Spring Marine Photobank

Pathogens from human waste spread diseases to people through contaminated drinking water, food grown in contaminated soils, seafood harvested from contaminated waters, and bathing and recreating in polluted waters. Infectious diseases from exposure to human waste include bacterial salmonella, parasitic giardia, and hookworm, among others. Exposure can also lead to infections in the ears, eyes, or chest and topical ailments, such as rashes and skin infections. ref

sewage contamination sign brian auer creative commons

Sewage contamination warning sign on a beach in San Diego County, California. Photo © Brian Auer

Pathogens and Infectious Disease

Diarrheal diseases, such as rotavirus, cholera, and typhoid, are the dominant health concern related to wastewater pollution, causing 1.6 million deaths in 2017. ref Symptoms include severe dehydration and malnutrition and impairing children’s growth and mental development. ref The result can be lifelong health complications and damaging consequences for entire communities. See the case study from Bavu and Namaqumaqua villages in Fiji detailing the implementation of sanitation systems to address typhoid outbreaks and other impacts of wastewater pollution.

Pathogens in oysters and other shellfish cause 4 million cases of Hepatitis A and E every year, with roughly 40,000 deaths and another 40,000 cases of long-term disability from chronic liver damage. ref In a recent study along the coast of Myanmar, Littman and colleagues (2020) ref identified 5,459 bacterial pathogens in oyster tissue, marine sediments, and seawater. Researchers reported that 51% of the pathogens found in the oyster samples were known to be detrimental and of emerging concern to human health. Contact with human waste represents an urgent challenge particularly in developing areas, and has led to the development of the Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene (WASH) sector.

Antimicrobial Resistance

The increase in antibiotic-resistant pathogens, or “superbugs,” is probably the most concerning human health impact we face related to wastewater pollution. Antimicrobial resistance is responsible for 700,000 deaths annually, a number that is growing because of  opens in a new windowpoor antibiotic stewardship (i.e., over-prescribing antibiotics), lack of sanitation, insufficient wastewater treatment, and discharge into the environment. ref Superbugs originate from the overuse of antibiotics to treat an illness. As the resistant microbes reproduce, the population develops a higher resistance to antibiotics. If not properly treated, these new superbugs make their way into the environment. It is a dangerous feedback loop of disease, antibiotics, commingling, and exposure. Improving sanitation and wastewater treatment is a critical component of addressing the superbug threat because wastewater treatment plants can be a place where this resistance develops.

Other Contaminants

In addition to pathogens, other components of wastewater—like high nutrient concentrations, heavy metals, and contaminants of emerging concern (CECs) - are hazardous to people. Examples of CECs and impacts to people:

  • Heavy metals can be ingested when people eat fish and shellfish. Over time, metals bioaccumulate and cause damage to organs and interfere with critical bodily functions. ref
  • Pharmaceuticals, personal care products, and household cleaning products can disrupt the endocrine system, leading to negative consequences on reproductive health. ref
  • Karenia brevis, the marine dinoflagellate that causes red tides, produces brevetoxins that can disperse as fine particles in the air. These toxins have been associated with increased incidence of asthma, and a 40% increase in emergency room admissions for gastrointestinal disease during red tide events. ref
  • Nitrates in drinking water can cause Methemoglobinemia in children, where the body produces excess methemoglobin (a form of hemoglobin) and cannot deliver oxygen effectively. Recent studies have linked nitrates in drinking water to colon, ovarian, thyroid, kidney, and bladder cancer in adults. ref In fact, numerous studies have shown that increased risk of cancer occurs with nitrates at levels below the U.S. standard of 10 parts per million. ref A Danish study reported increased risk of colon cancer with nitrate levels above 3.87 parts per million. ref
  • Pseudo-nitzchia australiis, a type of algae, produces domoic acid that bioaccumulates in aquatic organisms and causes a neurological disorder called Amnesic Shellfish Poisoning (ASP) in humans. Like many other algae-borne toxins, small doses over time eventually cause symptoms. In the case of ASP, this includes seizures, hallucinations, memory loss, and vomiting. ref

In addition to making people sick, these contaminants jeopardize fisheries and coral reefs, causing further harm to people who depend on them for food, livelihoods, and coastal protection.

Indirect Health Consequences

Open defecation and unsafe sanitation facilities (without lights or privacy) are especially concerning for women, creating opportunities for harassment or violence. Gender disparities resulting from inadequate sanitation are furthered when girls miss school during menstruation or women spend excess time finding clean drinking water.

While raw human waste and partially treated wastewater present the most significant threats to human health, hazards also exist in byproducts of treated wastewater as well. Disposal of biosolids puts nearby populations at risk of inhalation or ingestion of airborne pathogens. ref

Safe sanitation has been defined by the Joint Monitoring Program (JMP) as systems that address the entire sanitation service chain. Improved sanitation includes consideration of waste beyond containment on site. Contact with human waste during collection and treatment, or because of the lack of collection and treatment, has become an important component of implementing sanitation solutions, and minimizing this contact is increasingly recognized as essential for human health. Although progress is being made, most of the world’s population does not have access to adequate sanitation to protect public health. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), nearly 6 in 10 people did have access to safely managed sanitation services in 2017. ref

Breakdown of global access to sanitation servicesopens IMAGE file Breakdown of global access to sanitation services (left image) and the Sanitation Ladder (right image) used by the JMP to evaluate sanitation interventions. Source: opens in a new windowWHO and UNICEF

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »