新興管理解決方案

水下污水管。照片 © Grafner/iStock

創新技術的發展和對傳統系統的改進提供了增強的廢水處理方法。其中一些新的管理策略旨在提高處理效率,改善排放水的質量,或從廢水中回收的寶貴資源中產生利潤。 

提高化糞池系統的效率

化糞池系統的廣泛使用導致了各種改進的發展,以滿足獨特的處理需求。這些額外的處理步驟可確保進入環境的廢水更加乾淨。由於這些系統通常與井配合作為飲用水源,這也提高了飲用水的品質。處理需求可包括提高系統的容量和效率或減少養分負荷。這些系統改進變得越來越普遍,甚至在一些特別容易受到廢水影響的地方也是必要的。

室式化糞池系統是傳統礫石/石頭化糞池設計的替代方案,它更容易建造,但效果不佳。在室系統中,排水場由一系列被土壤包圍的封閉室組成。廢水通過化糞池,然後進入化糞池,土壤中的微生物有助於清除病原體。

室化糞池系統美國環保署

室化糞池系統。 資料來源:美國環保署

集群或社區化糞池系統通過合併來自一組房屋的廢水來提高廢水處理的效率。 每個房子都有自己的化糞池,提供初步處理。 流出物匯集在一起並流過一個共享的排水區。 這些系統在房屋彼此靠近的農村、不斷發展的社區中效果最佳。

集群化糞池系統

集群化糞池系統。 資料來源:美國環保署

包括砂濾器在內的新型化糞池系統技術正在提高污水排放前去除營養物的能力。如下圖所示,砂濾器比傳統系統更昂貴,但可以幫助減輕附近水體的營養水平。

砂濾化糞池系統

砂濾化糞池系統。 資料來源:美國環保署

在水生生態系統對營養物污染特別敏感的地方,好氧處理裝置提供集中處理廠使用的小規模處理。 添加氧氣會增加細菌活動以降低營養水平。 一些系統有額外的處理罐,帶有消毒步驟以去除病原體。

好氧處理機組

好氧處理裝置。 資料來源:美國環保署

看到 來自紐約長島的案例研究 描述了用淺浸場的氮減少系統替換舊的化糞池系統的努力,該系統可以防止廢水中約95%的氮進入集水區並允許地下水蓄水層補給。

資源回收系統

資源回收是指從人類排泄物中捕獲和再利用水和固體。資源回收策略的好處包括去除對人類和海洋健康有害的營養物質和污染物,以及從廢物中回收寶貴的資源。它們也可以作為不存在的衛生系統來實施,或改進/替換過時的處理系統。資源回收的一些策略包括:

  • 淡水回收 用於灌溉和其他非飲用水用途,這也可以減少未來衛生和處理所需的水。
  • 生物固體 當按照適當的標準處理時,作為肥料添加到土壤中(例如, 循環生物固體 美國西雅圖,利用微生物和熱量消化,製造出一種用於花園和森林的產品)。
  • 微濾, 反滲透, UV 製造可飲用的飲用水(例如 橙縣水區的地下水補充系統 用於美國洛杉磯的飲用水)。
  • 通過產生沼氣 厭氧消化 和甲烷捕獲-大型廢水處理廠通常採用它來回收資源、處理生物固體和減少溫室氣體排放。

資源回收作為小型分散系統和大型集中處理廠的解決方案越來越受到關注。

以下更詳細地介紹了三個專案或操作,提供了小型基於容器的解決方案和大型市政規模創新的範例。

在海地,非政府組織 土壤(可持續有機綜合生計) 正在應用資源回收技術來提供貨櫃衛生和農業肥料。該系統為那些無法使用的人安全地提供貨櫃廁所,並提供了污染和侵蝕的解決方案。 SOIL 每週收集這些容器,以轉移尿液並將固體廢物與水道隔離並預防疾病。然後 SOIL 將廢棄物運送到堆肥設施,並按照世界衛生組織規定的標準進行處理。成品肥料出售給農民,以提高農作物產量並減少侵蝕。

SOIL 基於容器的衛生和資源回收過程圖示

SOIL 基於容器的衛生和資源回收過程示意圖。 資料來源:土壤

基礎設施往往受到該地區地形的限制。漂浮區、洪氾區、不透水土壤和沿海地區可能使許多系統的實施變得困難。 HandyPod 是一個低成本系統,由三個連接的容器組成,可逐步處理廢水並將其排放到水生或陸地環境中。請參閱 柬埔寨洞里薩湖(Tonle Sap Lake)和緬甸因達吉湖(Indawgyi)的案例研究 描述了開發和實施 Wetlands Work 的 Handypods.

HandyPod 系統。資料來源:濕地工作

HandyPod 系統。資料來源:濕地工作

理想情況下,資源回收透過完全閉環系統從廢棄物中創造價值,如 Sedron Technologies 的例子 Janicki Omni 處理器。 Omni Processor 吸​​收人類排泄物和垃圾,並將其轉化為電力和乾淨的飲用水。它的運作原理就像一個蒸汽發電廠、一個焚化爐和一個水過濾系統合而為一。儘管該系統仍然是塞內加爾達喀爾的原型,但它展示了抵消與營運(因為它自己產生運行能源)和自然資源投入(因為污水和垃圾免費)相關的成本的潛力。在達卡的第一年,Omni Processor 處理了大約 700 噸糞便污泥。認識到建造該系統的初始成本較高,Omni Processor 有望取代未來為世界各地的城市提供服務的大型廢水處理廠。

Janicki Omni 處理器。 資料來源:Janicki 生物能源

Janicki Omni 處理器。 資料來源:Janicki 生物能源

最近的創新

  • 土工布砂濾器 其工作原理是首先使水流過土工織物和塑膠材料,然後流過沙子以進行額外的過濾。該系統提供了現場化糞池系統的替代方案。
  • 生物反應器花園 在土壤和植被中使用自然過程(反硝化生物反應器)來清潔來自化糞池系統的水。花園透過三層植物減少了廢水的主要成分:氨、硝酸鹽、磷和細菌。頂層分解污染物和自然生物,中間層將氨轉化為硝酸鹽,第三層含有木片和生物炭,將硝酸鹽轉化為無害的氮氣。生物反應器花園已在夏威夷和帛琉得到有效利用,參見 山脊到珊瑚礁 有關這些項目的更多資訊。
  • 玻璃濾光片 使用碎玻璃,包括從啤酒和酒瓶中回收的玻璃,作為分子篩來處理廢水。玻璃過濾系統可用於多種應用,包括過濾飲用水和處理工業水。這項技術已在歐洲取得進展,包括蘇格蘭的 Dryden Aqua 工廠。
  • 蚯蚓養殖 依靠使用蠕蟲去除廢水中的污染物。由此產生的水可以重新用於農業,並且還可以產生有價值的土壤。該系統由一層裝有木屑、蚯蚓和微生物的層、第二層碎石和用作排水盆的第三層組成。有關該系統的更多信息,請閱讀 這個案例研究 夏威夷的蚯蚓養殖。

基於自然的解決方案

基於自然的解決方案 是保護、永續管理和​​恢復自然和改良生態系統以應對社會挑戰的行動。在廢水方面,基於自然的解決方案是指有計劃和有計劃地使用生態系統和生態系統服務,以改善水質或水量,並增強對氣候變遷的抵禦能力。 文獻 對於廢水污染,基於自然的解決方案使用植物和微生物等策略來分解、吸收、捕獲和/或氧化污染水中的污染物,因為它在環境中流動。這些自然過程有效地捕獲和過濾受污染的地表水和地下水,包括降雨造成的污染徑流,然後再排入海洋。

基於自然的解決方案還包括人工濕地、生物窪地、活性碳沉積物、沉澱池、河岸緩衝區等。這些策略可以透過降低流速並將基於自然的解決方案與集中式或分散式系統的額外處理步驟相結合,提供與氧氣和微生物的擴展相互作用,從而增強病原體的去除。與其他處理技術相比,它們還具有提供棲息地以支持生物多樣性、支持娛樂(包括漁業和旅遊業)以及美學效益的額外好處。

 

探索這三個範例,以更仔細地了解基於自然的解決方案:

  1. In 波多黎各GuánicaBay綠色基礎設施,包括香根草雨水花園,用於對化糞池排放物進行額外處理,加強污染物去除,並顯著減少進入海灣的廢水量。
  2. In 美屬薩摩亞、生物炭(由有機物產生的木炭)和香根草用於控制侵蝕和去除養分。
  3. 多明尼加共和國,人工濕地(淺水體或礫石或工程介質填充盆地,種植有適合水流的植物)被用來幫助解決捕獲和處理廢水的巨大需求。

制定和實施廢水法規

法律、法規和規範可以是減輕廢水污染的高效解決方案,但制定、修改或影響可能具有挑戰性。與監管相關的廢水策略的例子包括: 文獻

  • 設置 廢水排放標準, 這是調節和減少廢水污染的最常見方法之一,但可能很複雜,並且產生所需數據是一項艱鉅的任務。
  • 決定 治療水平目標,其中為每個處理階段(一級、二級、三級)設定了污染減少目標。
  • 設置一個 污染物負荷削減目標,其中製定了一項政策,提出了隨著時間的推移減少污染物的具體目標(例如,減少至少 50% 的過量營養物質和其他化學物質)。

廢水管理的法規和政策將根據地方、區域和國家的努力以及社會、環境和政治背景而有所不同。探索 22-28 頁 海洋廢水污染從業者指南 詳細了解區域和國家層面的現有框架,例如永續發展目標 (SDG),以及在嘗試制定、修訂或影響廢水處理法律、法規或規範時需要考慮的不同行動。例子包括:考慮陸地污染和水質法律和法規,編寫國家立法以改善水質,以及製定投票倡議以資助廢水和廢棄物管理基礎設施。另外,請參閱 協作版區塊 有關跨部門協調和廢水污染綜合方法的更多信息,請參閱該工具包。

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Emerging Management Solutions

Underwater sewer pipe. Photo © Grafner/iStock

The development of innovative technologies and improvements to conventional systems offers enhanced methods for treating wastewater. Some of these new management strategies are aimed at increasing treatment efficiency, improving the quality of discharge water, or generating profit from a valuable resource recovered from wastewater.

Increasing Efficiency of Septic Systems​

Widespread usage of septic systems has resulted in the development of a variety of modifications which address unique treatment needs. These additional treatment steps ensure that the wastewater that enters the environment is cleaner. Since these systems are usually paired with wells as a source of drinking water, this improves the quality of drinking water as well. Treatment needs can include increasing the capacity and efficiency of the systems or reducing nutrient loads. These system improvements are becoming more and more common, and even required in some places that are especially vulnerable to wastewater impacts.

A chamber septic system is an alternative to the traditional gravel/stone septic design, which is easier to construct, but not as effective. In a chamber system, the drainfield is made up of a series of closed chambers surrounded by soil. Wastewater moves through the septic tank and then into the chambers, where microbes in the soil help to remove pathogens.

Chamber septic system US EPA

Chamber septic system. Source: US EPA

A cluster or community septic system increases the efficiency of wastewater treatment by combining the wastewater from a group of houses. Each house has its own septic tank providing initial treatment. The effluent comes together and flows through a shared drainfield. These systems work best in rural, growing communities with houses near each other.

Cluster septic system

Cluster septic system. Source: US EPA

New septic system technologies including sand filters are increasing the capacity for nutrient removal from effluent prior to discharge. Sand filters, as shown in the diagram below, are more expensive than conventional systems but can help mitigate nutrient levels in nearby water bodies.

Sand filter septic system

Sand filter septic system. Source: US EPA

In places with aquatic ecosystems that are particularly sensitive to nutrient pollution, aerobic treatment units offer a small-scale version of the treatments used at centralized treatment plants. Adding oxygen increases bacterial activity to reduce nutrient levels. Some systems have additional treatment tanks with a disinfection step to remove pathogens.

Aerobic treatment unit

Aerobic treatment unit. Source: US EPA

See the case study from Long Island, New York describing efforts to replace old septic systems with nitrogen reducing systems with shallow leach fields that can prevent approximately 95% of nitrogen from wastewater effluent from entering the watershed and allow groundwater aquifers to recharge.

Systems for ​Resource Recovery

Resource recovery refers to the capture and reuse of water and solids from human waste. Benefits of resource recovery strategies include removing nutrients and contaminants that are hazardous to human and ocean health and recovering valuable resources from waste. They can also be implemented as a sanitation system where one didn’t exist or improve/replace an outdated treatment system. Some strategies for resource recovery include:

  • Freshwater reclamation for irrigation and other non-potable uses, which can also reduce water needed for future sanitation and treatment.
  • Biosolids added to soil as fertilizer when treated to appropriate standards (for example, Loop Biosolids Seattle, USA which uses microbes and heat for digestion to create a product to use in gardens and forests).
  • Microfiltration, reverse osmosis, and UV to create potable drinking water (for example used by Orange County Water District’s groundwater replenishment system for drinking water in Los Angeles, USA).
  • Biogas generation through anaerobic digestion and methane capture—often employed by large scale wastewater treatment plants to recover resources, treat biosolids, and mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

Resource recovery is gaining traction as a solution for both small, decentralized systems and large, centralized treatment plants.

Three projects or operations are presented in more detail below, offering examples of small, container-based solutions and large, municipal scale innovation.

In Haiti, the non-governmental organization SOIL (Sustainable Organic Integrated Livelihoods) is applying resource recovery technology to provide container-based sanitation and agricultural fertilizer. This system safely provides container-based toilets to those without access and offers a solution to pollution and erosion. SOIL collects the containers weekly to divert urine and isolate solid waste from waterways and prevent illnesses. SOIL then transports waste to a composting facility where it is treated to standards defined by the World Health Organization. The finished fertilizer is sold to farmers to increase their crop yields and reduce erosion.

Illustration of the SOIL container-based sanitation and resource recovery process

Illustration of the SOIL container-based sanitation and resource recovery process. Source: SOIL

Infrastructure is often constrained by the topography of the region. Floating areas, floodplains, impermeable soils, and coastal zones can make it difficult to implement many systems. The HandyPod is a low cost system that consists of three connected containers that gradually treats wastewater and discharges it either into an aquatic or land environment. See the case study from Tonle Sap Lake, Cambodia and Lake Indawgyi, Myanmar describing the development and implementation of Handypods by Wetlands Work.

The HandyPod system. Source: Wetlands Work

The HandyPod system. Source: Wetlands Work

Ideally, resource recovery creates value from waste through an entirely closed loop system, as exemplified by Sedron Technologies’ Janicki Omni Processor. The Omni Processor takes in human waste and garbage and turns it into electric power and clean drinking water. It works like a steam power plant, an incinerator, and a water filtration system combined into one. Though still a prototype in Dakar, Senegal, the system demonstrates the potential to offset costs associated with operations (since it produces its own energy to run) and natural resource inputs (since sewage and trash are free). In its first year in Dakar, the Omni Processor processed an estimated 700 tons of fecal sludge. Recognizing the high initial costs to build this system, the Omni Processor is a prospective replacement for large scale wastewater treatment plants serving cities around the world in the future.

Janicki Omni Processor. Source: Janicki Bioenergy

Janicki Omni Processor. Source: Janicki Bioenergy

Recent Innovations

  • Geotextile sand filters work by moving water first through a geotextile fabric and plastic material and then through sand for additional filtration. This system provides an alternative to onsite septic systems.
  • Bioreacter gardens use natural processes (denitrying bioreactors) in soil and vegetation to clean water coming from septic systems. The gardens reduce the primary components of wastewater: ammonia, nitrate, phosphorous, and bacteria through three layers of plants. The top layer breaks down pollutants and natural organisms, the middle layer converts ammonia into nitrate, and a third layer contains wood chips and biochar to convert nitrate into harmless nitrogen gas. Bioreactor gardens have been used effectively in Hawai‘i and Palau, see Ridge to Reefs for more information on these projects.
  • Glass filters use crushed glass, including recycled glass from beer and wine bottles, as a molecular sieve to treat wastewater. The glass filtration system can be used in multiple applications, including to filter drinking water and treat industrial water. This technology has been gaining ground in Europe, including in the Dryden Aqua plant in Scotland.
  • Vermiculture relies on the use of worms to remove contaminants from wastewater. The resulting water can be reused for agriculture and a valuable soil is also produced. The system consists of a layer with wood shavings, earthworms, and microbes, a second layer of crushed rock, and a third layer which serves as a drainage basin. For more information on this system read this case study on vermiculture in Hawai‘i.

Nature-based Solutions

Nature-based Solutions are actions to protect, sustainably manage, and restore natural and modified ecosystems that address societal challenges. In a wastewater context, Nature-based Solutions refer to the planned and deliberate use of ecosystems and ecosystem services to improve water quality or quantity, and to increase resilience to climate change. ref For wastewater pollution, Nature-based Solutions use strategies such as plants and microbes to break down, absorb, trap, and/or oxygenate pollutants in contaminated water as it moves through the environment. These natural processes effectively capture and filter contaminated surface and groundwater, including polluted runoff from rainfall, before it is discharged into the ocean.

Nature-based Solutions also include constructed wetlands, bioswales, activated charcoal deposits, settlement ponds, riparian buffer zones, and more. These strategies can enhance pathogen removal by providing extended interaction with oxygen and microbes by slowing down flow rates and coupling the Nature-based Solutions with additional treatment steps from a centralized or decentralized system. They also have the added benefit of providing habitat to support biodiversity, supporting recreation (including fishing and tourism), and aesthetic benefits over other treatment technologies.

 

Explore these three examples for a closer look at Nature-based Solutions:

  1. In Guánica Bay, Puerto Rico, green infrastructure, including a vetiver grass rain garden, was used to provide additional treatment to septic tank discharge, enhancing contaminant removal and significantly reducing the volume of wastewater entering the bay.
  2. In American Samoa, biochar (charcoal produced from organic matter) and vetiver grass were used for erosion control and to remove nutrients.
  3. In the Dominican Republic, a constructed wetland (a shallow water body or gravel or engineered media filled basins vegetated with plants that are adapted for water flow) was used to help address the significant need to capture and treat wastewater.

Establishing and Implementing Wastewater Regulations

Laws, regulations, and codes can be highly effective solutions to mitigate wastewater pollution, but can be challenging to create, amend, or influence. Examples of regulation-related wastewater strategies include: ref

  • Setting wastewater discharge standards, which is one of the most common approaches to regulating and reducing wastewater pollution but can be complex and generating the data required is a massive undertaking.
  • Determining treatment level targets, where a target reduction of pollution is set for each treatment stage (primary, secondary, tertiary).
  • Setting a pollutant load reduction target, where a policy is created calling out a specific goal to lessen pollutants over time (e.g., reduce at least 50% of excess nutrients and other chemicals).

Regulations and policies to manage wastewater will vary based on local, regional, and national efforts as well as the social, environmental, and political context. Explore pages 22-28 of A Practitioner's Guide to Ocean Wastewater Pollution to learn more about existing frameworks at the regional and country-level, such as the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), as well as different actions to consider when trying to create, amend, or influence wastewater laws, regulations, or codes. Examples include: considering land-based pollution and water quality laws and regulations, writing national legislation to improve water quality, and developing ballot initiatives to fund wastewater and waste management infrastructure. Also, see the Collaboration section of this toolkit for more information on coordinating across sectors and an integrated approach to wastewater pollution.

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »